Loris, SC 
Loris Nature Park Share
Uploaded By: Hubie Hole #9 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
worst course I've ever played

1    5/27/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: chattdiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There was a playground my 7yr old stepson and I used when we decided this course was completely unplayable.
Cons: The course started ok until hole 4. There is no signage to assist in locating tee pads or baskets. There wasn't even a "Next Tee --->" stickers on the basket poles. Maybe I am just lucky in chattanooga. Even the worst course here would have those.
Other Thoughts: Worst of all, after skipping several holes and attempting to backwards walk the course to find tee pads and baskets we found a nice tree near the playground with 7 or 8 of the 4x4 wood posts, that marked tee pads, pulled out of the ground and in a pile. It was very upsetting since I was traveling with my family for a memorial day week in myrtle beach. I have played disc golf for over 10 yrs and traveled to play many courses in the southeastern U.S. and this course was by far the worst I've seen. Don't waste your time! Loris nature park dgc is aweful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lots of potential, but has issues

1    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: scpeterson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The holes are very challenging. As a relatively novice player, I saw how playing this course, under good conditions, could really improve a person's game. The fairways are narrow and feature "S" curves that challenge you to plan your shots well and encourage a variety of throwing styles.
Cons: The signage is weak; some holes had diagrams and some didn't. Hole 18 appears to use the same basket as hole 1, but it's not clear. Our experience with the course was not good because the area has received a lot of rain recently, and that made for very swampy conditions, resulting in holes 5 and 6 being unplayable, We tried to retrace from hole 11 and found the way to hole 10 blocked by standing water, so we skipped holes 5 - 10, assuming the holes in the woods on the east side of the park were unplayable. The standing water also promoted mosquitoes, lots and lots of mosquitoes. There were also many, many gnats, that made it difficult to focus on your shots. Since the holes are challenging, you need to spend time working out your shot, but the bugs made it hard to concentrate and resulted in several hurried shots.
Other Thoughts: I really felt that the course has a lot of potential, but couldn't rate it high based on the conditions I found on this day. We drove an hour to play it, but couldn't play 6 holes due to the conditions, While I know the area doesn't get this much rain all the time, it's too bad that the course retains so much water. If I were to hear that conditions improved, I would consider playing it again so I could compare and contrast my experiences.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bug Hell

1    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 60  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It was fine here and there.
Cons: I have to start with the amount of bugs that were all around you once you started walking into the woods on #3. I have never seen more bugs than on the tee area of #4. 5 and 6 were unplayable. You literally needed a jet ski to maneuver 5 and a bubble to protect you from the bugs. The basket on 5 was also a small gust away from being on the ground. 7,8,9,10, we could not get to because of the water so we are assuming they were also unplayable. 18 was difficult to find and then unclear what the sign was telling us.
Other Thoughts: My group used bug spray before we started thinking we would be fine but boy were we wrong. Bugs everywhere. If there was not as much standing water the course probably would of been a solid 2.5 - 3 rating. But the unplayable holes paired up with the bugs made the experience one of the worst I have had.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bug Haven

1    7/8/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: Bigpan50
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some holes were okay.
Cons: Where to begin. Holes 5 and 6 were completed flooded and unplayable. 7-10 were most likely unplayable as well. There was too much water to even be able to find them.
Then there was the problem of the mosquitoes and other bugs. My God. They were everywhere. We used bug spray, but still got eaten alive. There was also an extraordinarily large amount of spider webs. They did not seem to catch any bugs, but they did get on my face and arms a lot.
Other Thoughts: This course might be alright if it isn't flooded. I'm not sure if the bugs are as bad if it isn't flooded. Be prepared for a horrible time if there is any water. You have been warned.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs more improvement

1    9/14/2012   9/14/2012
Review By: s17kramer
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really cant find any pros for this course at all.
Cons: The mosquitoes are really bad here. The holes are way to short unless its literally your first time playing. Definitely not a good course to play with the kids and adults running around. Not to many holes are clearly marked. I had to waste time looking for some of the holes, and as far as I saw I couldn't find an 18th hole.
Other Thoughts: I will probably never come back to this course again unless I hear that it has improved drastically.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Improved, but there's still work to do

1    7/16/2012   7/26/2012
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They've fixed my concerns with the old layout -- the repetition on the back nine is gone, the dangerous hole next tot he playground is gone.

The course is much more challenging now with the open holes gone. They're putting in new tee signage that looks great -- once it's on every hole, this will be an easy course to navigate.

Some of the greens are evil -- you can be within the 10m circle and still not have a clear shot at the basket. This makes you plan out your approaches more than a regular course, and while others may gripe about it, I love it -- if nothing else, it gives me an excuse for that bogey!!
Cons: Natural tees -- not a huge problem for me, but it makes it tougher to find the next tee when you're playing through the woods, especially when the tee markers as just 4x4s driven into the ground.

I really don't like the holes playing through the dog park. Even though it looks like the dog park is never used, it only takes one unfortunate experience to cause problems for the course.
Other Thoughts: I really like the new layout better than the old one in general. It fits my game better, and with the work the local club is doing, I can see this course getting to 3 or 3.5 stars by the next time I play here. It's about the only option if you're staying in North Myrtle (though I may play the course at Socastee next year just out of curiosity).


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Bug Spray

1    6/14/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: EagleZT
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice clean park. Lots of families out and there is some separation from the playground so kids dont get hurt. There are blue Discatcher baskets that are easily viewable.
Cons: Bring DEET bug spray. My wife and I got absolutely slaughtered even with it on. The mosquitoes were huge.

The course really seems "lost." Wooden signs that mark the beginning of a hole with no teepads, no next tee signs, no signs indicating the direction of the hole in which to throw. Its hard to see those wooden tee signs in the woods. There were some tough lines to the holes that I felt were unfair. I believe that the course doubles as a nature trail so its hard to imagine trying to hit 5-10' gaps consistently. There were also no mando lines so you could literally throw however you want.
Other Thoughts: Some serious work along the lines of adding signage and doing some maintenance to the course would seriously benefit it.

Given that its a good course to test your hyzer/anny shots as well as stretching out your midranges/putters. I would prob say if you can crush a mid over 250' your fine leaving the drivers at home.

This course to me is passable, but just by a hair. I probably wont play it again when I return to the beach.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Short unorganized course

1    5/26/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: Nickkelley
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/28/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was very interesting to say the least.
Cons: Where to begin. The only course markings were wooden posts to mark the tees. Some of these were just leaning against a tree. All the holes were very short. Some holes had no real fairways. I shouldn't have to make it through a 5 foot gap in the trees. I love wooded courses but this was ridiculous. Other holes had 75 degree turns about 30 out from the tee. This made no sense to me. One hole almost went over the swing area. If there had been any kids playing I would not have thrown the hole. The course just seems to have been put up along a hiking trail with no real work trying to make a fairway. This also meant there was people out walking there.
Other Thoughts: After hole 13 I was too frustrated to finish. Hole 14 was in a fenced in area but I couldn't find the tee. I'm not sure how big the actual park is but it probably would have been better to try and put a nice 9 hole up instead of cramming 18 into the small space. I love to see new courses but this one would probably deter new players from really enjoying the game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 What an improvement

1    10/11/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new layout really gives the course some much needed character. I was extremely glad that I got to play here before I moved. Major props to the locals that helped to redesign this course!
-Good fun factor
-The old map is still there, but there was talk of putting in a new map.
-Numbered tee markers, natural Tee's
-Porto in the parking lot and Garbage cans are located throughout the course. There is also a shelter house a the start of the course.
-Some of the paths are layered with woodchips.
-First 6 holes are still the same, after hole 6 the new course veers off into the woods. Continuing on through a wooded strategy course.
-Majority of the front 9 winds through the woods, giving the player a chance to curve their lines along the paths in the trees.
-The back 9 is more open, but still require a player to choose their lines.
-A course like this, will help introduce the sport to the Town of Loris as well as people in the Grand Strand. (Myrtle Beach area)
-Great for Beginners or the casual player
-Hole #3 tee has been moved 90 degrees to the right. Making the line a little straighter. (This was the hole I called "The Question Mark" hole.)
-A course like this, will help introduce the sport to the Town of Loris as well as people in the Grand Strand. (Myrtle Beach area)
-The new wooded holes add a great element requiring strategic approaches.
-I do like the new 18. Long distance finishing hole that throws off of the levy.
-Loris hosts a league and some weekly meetups, as well a lot of friendly locals that play here.
-The tree's are not as dense as they used to be. The new layout plays through the woods, but it's not like the old disc eating trees that line the old fairways.

For what it's worth

-Playground ...that is no longer next to hole 7
-Dog Park*


Cons: -No defined tee area, just a marker to tee off near.
-Some of the course plays through the park area, so you may have to play around some foot traffic.
-Course plays through the dog park*. (Albeit, In the year and a half I played here, I never once saw anyone using it.)
-After school lets out, there can be a bunch of students milling around the park. (School is across the street)
Other Thoughts: I'm very glad I got to play the new layout before I moved to Florida! Brad Bass has really taken the helm and done a great job with the redesign, as well as working with the county to oversee the course. I feel as if this course went from a plain course, to a more challenging course. The new layout adds a good strategy to the course, and gives a healthy challenge. I realize that the old #18 was in an inconvenient location, but I will miss the pond shot. :)

You may want to pick up a snack and something to drink on your way to the course. There aren't a lot of stores nearby. Any kind of footwear should be fine here, but I wouldn't recommend sandals. The brush here can be brutal on skin. Bugs aren't too bad here, but bringing bug spray can't hurt.

I know that Loris is a healthy drive from Myrtle Beach, but the locals here are really nice and a lot of fun to play with. If you can, try to catch one of their doubles nights. You'll have a good time!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course

5+    11/15/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: Brad bass
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love wooded courses. This course is clean and well kept by the locals and there always working to improve it. Nice baskets shelters to eat under and a water fountain near holes 14/15. Very easy to navigate (map in bulletin board).
Cons: Natural tees bother some people and parking can be limited at times and when you do park make sure to stay on the right side if you can ( near the shelter) because number 13 plays close to the cars.
Other Thoughts: Love it, locals are always working to improve. On it's way to a truly great course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.