Webster, MA 
Webster Fish and Game Club Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton   (Taken 5/2012)
Rules Sign



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
No fish or game, but beer and disc golf

2-4    11/8/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 117  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You're going to enter an old bar that looks like a trailer from the outside, and some 60-year-old locals with thick Massachusetts accents will be sipping light-bodied lagers while you pay the bartender for your round. This is the most unique start to a round I've had.

The first two holes were a little underwhelming, and I was thinking, "This is it?" But then the elevation kicked in. About 2/3 of the holes have a decent up or down factor.

All of the holes are in the woods, and you can tell some thought was put into the design. Most of the holes have multiple lines with varying degrees of difficulty (I believe the designers created Newton Hill and Pyramids as well, and probably others). One or two holes have a creek that would usually come into play, but the drought this fall means there is no creek right now.

There is a nice mix of birdie runs and challenging par 4's. There are two consecutive very short holes (one is a ridiculous 110 feet). The first is a big up-and-down hole over a hump where a birdie is tough. The 110-foot hole is super easy to birdie, and you'll only fail if you go for the ace and fade into the rough on the slope. The par 4's require distance and good placement.

Navigation is pretty good. All of the baskets have bricks in the ground with arrows pointing you in the right direction (similar to Maple Hill). Tee pads are rubber and level.
Cons: Hole 6 is along a marsh, and my drive shanked into the marsh, so a lost disc is a possibility (it wasn't a great drive). The leaves were really thick when I was there, and I searched over 30 minutes for a disc under the leaves before finding it, but this is the reality of a New England wooded course in November.

Despite the woods, it doesn't feel very secluded, with houses along some of the fairways and the highway nearby.

The holes are generally all good, but there isn't a real signature hole.
Other Thoughts: To get to hole 1, walk straight back behind the bar past the basket (that's #18) and the slide.

You can bring beer on the course if you buy it in the bar. The only options were Bud and Bud Lite in cans, unless you want to carry a draft with you. I love the visual of someone cursing after their X-step knocks over their cup of Sam Adams.

The cost is $5 per round. The price is comparable to Maple Hill ($10 per day) and Pyramids ($10 per day, or $6 for one round), which are better courses, but I am glad to see private courses investing in disc golf. This is the future of the sport, and my two rounds were certainly worth $10.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great technical course

5+    10/17/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: akaczowka
Played: 37  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very unique course that rewards players who have a versatile drive.
Great pads with brooms at every tee.
Excellent baskets.
Very friendly bar with cheap drinks.
Plenty of trash cans, which makes for a very clean course.
Good use of mandatory on holes 12 and 18.
Good use of elevation changes.
Cons: I can't play it everyday... or can I?
Other Thoughts: The course is well developed at this point and was up to snuff enough that the VibrAM had a round here, but the man behind the curtain is still busy making additions and improvements.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice course and people

1    8/17/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: sega
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Love the tees, well marked (except finding the first hole), people were very nice.
Cons: Finding the first hole wasn't easy, but after that no problems.
Other Thoughts: Scorecard has a bad mistake on it ... but kinda funny. The front nine pars (3, 3, 3, 3, 4, 3, 3, 3, 3) add up to 28 (8x3 + 4) ... but the card shows par on the front nine to be 32. I am just learning to play and was wondering how i scored just 2 over par (34) ... but when I re-checked I was 6 over - still pretty good for only my 4th round ever.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

So much potential

1    6/22/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: HomemadeBasket
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great baskets, really new, excellent condition.
Great pads, all in excellent shape with brooms on most holes.
Good range of short and long holes.
Great mix of shots.
There is a bar.
Lots of trash cans.
The bar has a surprisingly clean bathroom.
A nice piece of property to play some disc golf.
Cons: The tee signs lack a layout of the hole.
Hole one.
Next tee direction could be improved.
Other Thoughts: Really fun place to spend a day playing.
Hole one had me thinking I might want my $5 back, but after that the course starts to really shine. One is too jammed in were it is.
Everything is in really good shape.
They do need to get some nice tee signs.
Or at least get some sort of layout posted on the holes.
The pros by far out weigh the cons on this one.
Stop by, have a beer, and play a round.
Life is good!


3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Southwick makes me happy

5+    10/20/2012   10/21/2012
Review By: JAKE master
Played: 37  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: new course to the area, offers a great variety of fun and challenging holes both longer and shorter. grippy tee pads, and we played them wet and covered in leafs. trash cans on some holes, booze at the on site bar. nice use of technical wooded fairways and use of water hazards. every tee pad now has a broom available, and the club does a great job clearing the pads in winter
Cons: course is very playable but still in developement. tee signs currently display hole number, par, and distance written in marker. An addition marker line could be helpful in showing the intended flight path. not many seats, i think the cross sections of logs are intended for seating and i got some sap on my pants... bew hew. i did not have a map and if i was not playing with someone who had played prior it might have taken a bit to find some of the next holes, but majority were easily found.
Other Thoughts: i truly enjoyed playing this course. it was a quick round even for being my first time there. it seemed every t box i stepped into wondering, how is this going to happen, but always seemed to sneak through the fairways. the name of the game is control shots. it was hilly and wooded but not overly so for either. easily could play 2nd round, exertion wise. $5 a round not terrible, $10 a day... i just assume play maple. im hoping the
pay to play is more due to course development, in terms of tee sign upgrades and basket costs than profitability. Add better T signs, next hole signs, a few trash cans and its got potential for Excellent. Add addition layouts and your creeping to Phenomenal.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Webster Disc and Chain Club

1    6/17/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: Dylan Courtney
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Webster Fish and Game is a Jason Southwick designed course right off 395 with a club/pub on site. Driving here is very easy and there is plenty of parking. The course is located adjacent to their private pond which makes for nice views but it does not really come into play unless you really mess up. There is a beautiful creek that runs through the middle of the course which comes into play on multiple holes. We actually stopped to take a picture of ourselves on the little bridge. It is relatively wide and very shallow making for fun casual lies (we had multiple deuces on 17 from the creek).

Tee pads are perfectly level rubber. Baskets are brand new Chainstars. Holes are mostly wooded which will provide nice shade on hot days. There is a good mix of straight, left, and right turning holes. The short length of most holes makes it a decent beginner course. Throwers with less control will hit some trees along the way, but that is good for learning and breaking in plastic. Great use of elevation. Brush has been cleared extensively and there were people working on the course while we were there. Drinks can be purchased in the bar and you can just walk right out the door and onto the course with them ($2.50 Bud cans were our choice).
Cons: Full signage is not installed quite yet, only distances, so you'll have to walk a few of the blind holes the first time through. $10 a day is a little steep (compared to Maple Hill/Pyramids for example) for the following reasons: There is only 1 (short) layout, no pro shop, and you can't bring your own beer. Hopefully after they recoup their startup costs they will add additional tees/pins and a pro shop. The pub/club could use some updating after that. I can't remember seeing any trash cans on the course b/c I am a carry-in/carry-out guy but those are always nice.
Other Thoughts: The par 4's are certainly 3-able. The 110 foot hole 14 is really a par 2 putter ace run. That being said, these are 3 of my favorite holes. Don't let my small list of cons stop you. This place is pretty awesome and we will be back many times in the future. Probably the closest course off the highway I've been to along with Wickham. It is $5 for one round if you're trying to play multiple courses or are short on time.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

2-4    5/25/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: Osmo
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 5/28/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner friendly with alot of short holes while still being technical enough to not be TOO easy. Long holes mixed in to the course that are par 4 but still within range for noodle arms to par them. Hole 14 is a hilarious ace run hole at 110 feet. Alot of holes nicely placed along the stream to give you the nice babbling brook sound effect. Very wooded but has been thinned previously in the past to give it a much more open feel even while you feel that you are deep in the woods.
Cons: No signs or next hole signs, but I didnt deduct for this as it is a new course and those will come in the next few weeks im sure. Pro level players may find the course too easy. The swampy pond along the course means LOTS of bugs. Bug spray is a MUST for this course.

Still needs alot of feet walking the course to pound out some paths.
Other Thoughts: Great local course for me and adds another option to the many courses within 25 miles of Webster.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.