Rockford, IL
Rockford University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Btassone6 Hole #11 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 280ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good Job for the Club Here

1    8/4/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a decent variety of lines here. Hole 2 is a fun downhill shot. 6 is a good forced low line straight shot. The elevated basket on hole 7 is very cool and you can tell some work went into the construction of it. Hole 8 is unique in that the best line is a roller or a stall backhand flex shot. It is nice the green is nicely cleaned out. 9 is a good wooded tunnel hole.

There is a nice lounge area by 13's tee area.

There are solar charged lights on all the baskets for glow golf. Awesome!
Cons: This course could have been designed to use the land a little better. For example, on hole 1, the elevation does not really come into play because of the pin placement. Try placing it farther back and on the edge of the hill or a little down the slope.

This course is very short and there are not concrete tees. Navigation can be a little tricky at times. This course does not offer a lot of challenged for pros.

The tee on 10 is kinda funky and the step up onto the tee could mess with you.
Other Thoughts: It's awesome that the college's club got this course put in. It will expose the sport to tons of people.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Back to School

1    8/8/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a shorter college campus course. It's a very unique setting as it plays around and near parts of campus. There is a good variety of holes from open to in the woods. Minor elevation comes into play.

Hole #1 is located near the Blanche Walker Burpee Center. There is a practice basket near the #1 tee. It's a Silver basket unlike the rest of the Orange DGA Mach 2's which look sweet!

Basic tee signs and course directional arrows. I only had to use my map one time and that was from the walk from #9 to #10. For the most part the course flows very well considering they had to work around the campus.

Several benches, logs, and sitting areas.

Each basket is equipped with lights that have a solar panel. It made me want to go back and play this course at night.

I thought the local college guys that built and maintain this course did a good job with creativity. The elevated basket on #7 was pretty cool. I like how they made the path walk thru the brick wall from #8 to #9. The sitting area on #13 was pretty cool too.

Hole #2 is a fun hole to throw. Elevated tee above the trees. I'd guess the pin is 20 to 25 feet below.

This is a great beginner course and will expose many on campus. As an experienced player I enjoyed the course and environment.
Cons: The tee pads are the are my biggest problem with the course. The first half of the course have a mix of carpet and rubber. They are in pretty bad shape. The second half of the course has very small concrete tee pads. They are raised off the ground and some are hard to throw from.

I played on a day when there was very little foot traffic around campus. With holes playing over roads/sidewalks and between buildings that could be a problem.
Other Thoughts: This course makes me want to go back to school! This would have been super fun to have in the college days.

I went back and forth on the rating of this course. I feel the 2.5 is a little low for a dry day and a 3.0 is high if there is rain. The tee pads do affect this course rating quite a bit for me. I ended up going on the high side since I had a great time.

Make a day out of Rockford disc golf if you are traveling thru. I think this course is worth playing along with both courses at Anna Page.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Decent college course

1    7/4/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a small college campus. There is a nice mix of technical wooded shots and some holes that are a little more open. The tighter shots need a nice mix of left and right turning shots, and offer enough rough on some holes to punish errant shots.

There are some fun elevation changes on a few holes, especially the first two. The rest of the course has several rolling hills and the elevation is used pretty well to mix things up. The tee signs are pretty good, and the baskets are pretty much brand new and catch great.
Cons: There are a ton of safety issues here. Many holes throw over walking paths and campus roads, and others play around and near academic buildings and dorms. On a day when school is in session, there are several holes that would not be safely playable, and even on a quiet day there could be some issues. Some of the holes play way too close to each other, which is an even bigger issue on a course that likely attracts newer players.

The course is designed for beginners, it's pretty short and at least half the holes play fairly open with no punishment for a shanked drive. I like seeing that on a campus course but it still means the course ends up lower on my personal rating scale.

The tees are pretty bad. The front 9 has carpet tees, many of which aren't very level and have loose threads that can catch on your feet. The back 9 has concrete pads, but there tiny and slightly elevated above the ground so they don't offer room for a runup. A couple are pointed in odd directions, which is extra awkward on tiny pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice beginner course on a day when the campus is too crowded, the lengths are reasonable but there's a good variety of hole shapes and foliage. More experienced players will find the course fairly straightforward and a little on the easy side but it does have some fun shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

1    7/4/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on and around a college campus, complete with school buildings and dorms. Definitely a possibility for interference if the timing is bad. But, other than student/pedestrian traffic, there shouldn't be any other activities.
- Part of the course winds through a forested area, which definitely forces lines and has punishing rough. #3 plays around a giant patch of bushes, either right or left. #4 is a RHFH hyzer shot with trees on the right and woods on the left. #5 is a sharp RHBH hyzer or flex shot through the trees, #6 is a tunnelish shot with a pit running across the fairway, #7 is a very tight hyzer shot that kinks a bit at the end, and #8 is a low ceiling shot that ends in the woods. All of these holes require a clean, accurate shot to stay out of nasty rough and avoid a bogey.
- A lot of other shots incorporate trees to force line shaping. #9 is a short shot through a dense grove of skinny trees. A few lines are available, including a RHBH anny. #12 is a sharp hyzer around the woods and through a grouping of trees, #13 plays straight between two rows of larger trunks, #14 is a longer RHBH anny shot with lots of pines near the basket, #15 is a tight line between two rows of trees, and #18 is a bomber shot with a wall of trees to get over from the tee. All of these holes offer multiple lines to get to the basket, some easier than others.
- Pretty decent elevation changes here and there, #1 plays slightly up from hilltop to hilltop, and #2 is a significant downhill shot. #3 is uphill around the bushes, and #11 through #13 are slightly uphill. #10 is slightly downhill with a low ceiling off the tee, and #14 is a long, gradually sloping downhill shot. Adds challenge and fun going up and down.
- Good mix of hole lengths. As usual, the tighter holes are the shortest, and most holes are around 300', but #18 is a true bomber at 506' with lots of trouble to get into.
- Practice basket on a hillside is in a good position to work on tough putts. (Not to be confused with the basket for #18).
- Good signage and baskets, teepads are a work in progress. Hopefully they are done sooner than later; some are pretty rough or oddly placed. Navigation can be tricky, check out the map or grab one by the first tee.
Cons: - With the course set on the college campus, there are is a LOT of pavement, roads, gravel, buildings, etc. etc. to contend with. Adds some challenge with artificial OB, but it's not pretty and isn't friendly to plastic.
- Overall, a little bit on the short side at 273' per hole. Six of the holes are under 225'; and a lot of the longer holes are downhill as well. Bigger arms won't be using many drivers.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a fun course that has a great mix of wooded holes, and holes with lots of mature trees. Enough elevation changes to keep things interesting, with some challenging lines and holes. Beginners might find it a little tough due to some thick patches of rough, but otherwise it's good. More advanced players should be able to score very well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Harvey Dent or Two-Face?

1    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rockford College DGC has a split personality. At its best (holes 3-13) it is a solid, fun course. It's not terribly long or super-duper hard, just a fun mix of heavily and moderately wooded shots that provide some very good golf. Hole #3 shoots across what looked like a closed service road uphill to a hidden pin. Holes #4 and #5 are twin wooded holes and hole # 6 is a fun moderately wooded park-style shot. Hole #7 has a short pedestal placement using a spool to lift the basket up. #8 shoots across a road, but it looked like a low-use service road. The path from 8 to 9 takes you through a cool archway saved from a demolished academic building at the old campus location, and #9 is another fun park-style shot. #10 is a fairly open tee shooting to a wooded pin and #11 shoots uphill near the dorms. #12 and #13 shoot over and around what looks to be a closed service road. While not terribly long (the longest shot in this part of the course is 311') there are enough trees to keep it interesting. There were a few spots where my pathetic forehand cost me a stroke, so you need to bring a good mix of shots here. Most of the pads on the front 9 were rubber mats, but the footing was OKish. It is the fun Harvey Dent portion of the course.
Cons: Holes #1-2 and #14-18 have the usual campus course problem of being crammed into places a disc golf shot shouldn't be. A lot of them are cool shots, but add in the usual college campus pedestrian traffic and they are possibly dangerous. Hole # 1 shoots over a main walkway and hole #2 shoots over a main campus road. Both are fun shots (# 1 is an elevated tee shooting to a plateau basket and #2 is a 325' elevated tee shot to a basket tucked into an open area surrounded by heavy woods) but add in some pedestrians and traffic and the shots are out of place. Holes #14-17 are worse as they shoot all around what looked like dorms to the right and a road to the left. You can easily hit buildings, cars, pedestrians and other disc golfers (the tee for #16 is in #15's fairway and you can easily be hit playing any of holes #15-#18 by shots from other holes.) Again, a lot of them were fun holes. They just don't work with the setting and each other. Add in the weird, short v-shaped concrete tees on most of the holes #10-18 and you have the Two-Face portion of the course.

#18 is actually a nice 500' hole with a cool pin placement that works fairly well with the surrounding campus once you get away from the spike hyzer shots from #17 aimed at you while you tee. It should probably be counted with the "good" part of the course.
Other Thoughts: The course has Mach V's with LED lights attached to the tops for night golf.

The flow is generally good, but you have a long walk past several buildings to get from #9 to #10. Some directional signage would help there.

The rough on the wooded holes could stand to be thinned out, but that is typical of new wooded courses.

The course rates higher on fun factor than it does for difficulty. It's a basic par 54 design.

All in all, I was pleasantly surprised by this course. There was a lot of good with this course and the good seems to outweigh the bad. The students who worked on this project did a pretty darned good job. The front 9 fits into the campus and will mostly be playable anytime, but to play all 18 you would want to avoid playing while classes are meeting.

*I promise not to write any more course reviews while watching "The Dark Knight"*

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Rockin it at Rockford

1    6/16/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) DGA Signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, a map and sponsors
2) Nice elevation change on a handful of the holes.
3) Orange powder coated Mach V baskets with # plates facing the tees.
4) Solar LED lights installed on top of most of these baskets. How cool would that be to go out and play some glow disc golf after a house party!
5) Logs had been cut up and place in areas for seating around some of the tees. Nice use of fallen wood if you ask me.
6) Directions are helpful in a few spots helping you on a few of the longer walks.
7) Excellent variety of terrain and foliage density. This was a little surprising for me with this being a school course. The course flows well through a large portion of the campus and it feels pretty natural.
8) Excellent balance of shots needed to play well on this course. You have to bring everything you have got.
9) Pretty good variety of hole distances with some 100's, 200's, 300's and ending with a long 500' hole. You will need to throw a nice variety of shots because of the variety.
10) Concrete tees in a few locations, and it looks like they are doing more.
11) Unique elevated basket set above a large wire spool.
12) Lions Den in between #9 and 10. . . this is not a strip club it is a place to buy food and beverages.
Cons: 1) There were quite a few places where you throw really close to roads and sidewalks and often times even crossing those paths. This would be dangerous not only for other people walking on the campus but also the vehicles driving on the roads.
2) The course goes in close to a couple of residence halls which might cause some issues with people.
3) The only garbage can I can remember was on #4, which is funny because it is in the woods and far away. Perhaps the college didn't want garbage cans out on the campus part of the course for fear they would be messy and need to be cleaned up.
4) #6 green looks like it would be wet during certain times of the year. I played in the beginning of a drought so it wasn't an issue but it looks like it might be nasty in the spring or after heavy rains.
5) The course is still a little rough in a few places. There are trippers all over and it needs to be beat down a little bit and mulch applied to make a nice clean fairway.
6) Tees are currently rubber and some of them are slippery. While these are better than worn out turf they are not my ideal. Some of the holes do have concrete installed so I am sure this con will disappear in no time.
7) A real safety issue is how the tee for #16 is absolutely in play on #15. There was plenty of room for that tee to move to the other side to avoid being in a throwing lane.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty surprising course. It was better than I would have expected for a small college, but the property really is ideal for disc golf. The variety and the terrain coupled with good design makes all of the holes fun to throw and challenging. It needs a little more work and I think it will be a solid 3.5 disc course but in its current state I am only able to give it a 3.0 rating. Nice work Rockford College and the local club, keep it up and you will have a great course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Secondary Rockford Course

2-4    6/30/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: CzTeacherMan
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Front 9 are new with great baskets (tees are rubber/carpet for the moment, sounds like there's plans to put concrete pads in soon). Back 9 are older, concrete pads, well constructed. Very interesting shots, overall. Hole 1 shoots from one hill to another, Hole 2 shoots over a roadway but very downhill. Hole 3 has been temporarily moved to work around summer brush. Holes 4-8 are good in the woods, some narrow fairways requiring skill. Back 9 play through the campus with tricky shots.
Signage is great, be sure to pay attention
Cons: Wooded holes are very wooded. Difficult to find stray discs. I've lost 3 in one season. Definitely not a forgiving course for stray discs.
Difficult to find a way from some holes (particularly 9-10)
Other Thoughts: Overall a decent course, but Anna Page is WAY better. Good for a quick round, just keep your discs in play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great 18

1    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: ltkettch17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Rockford College is a beautiful campus and the disc golf course seems to fit in seamlessly. Although the distances seem short, most of the holes are up-hill or the baskets can't be seen from the tee. Each of the tees has a map that shows where the next hole is from the basket - pay attention to these.
The baskets themselves are the best I've ever seen. Bright orange baskets and tops. Some of them look like they have solar powered LED lights on them for night play.
Hole 7 has an elevated basket - the basket bottom is about 6' off the ground, very cool!
Cons: I decided to skip hole #3. It was basically straight uphill of very deep rough. I was playing by myself and did not want to spend forever looking for my driver. They really need to carve a fairway up the hill to make this more playable. (Holes 4 and 5 were carved right out of the woods, so I don't see why this would be a problem).
There's quite a distance between several of the holes, 5-6, 8-9, and 9-10 especially. If you didn't pay close attention at your tee shot, there's no other signage to point you in the right direction.
There's several holes where you can't see the basket from the tee. Although this adds to the challenge, it felt like an annoying recurring theme.
Tee pads are just rubber on the front nine (but concrete on the back).
Other Thoughts: Many of the holes had garbage cans and places to sit at near the tees and baskets. However, I noticed quite a few beer bottles and cans on the front nine (mostly in the cans, but it was. I know it's a college campus, but I don't really want to go to a course when I know people are drinking while playing. Save that kind of thing for after the round...
All in all, great course I would recommend for all skill levels. I will definitely play again when I have time in Rockford.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/9/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Hinduannex
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: back 9 is awesome.
great holes,thoroughly thought out.
baskets are in great shape.
leds on the basket are also nice.
scorecards provided.
1 and 2 probably my favorite holes but there are a lot of nice ones here.
Cons: Some holes play close to dorm rooms.buddy hit one on number 2
Some holes play very close to roadways which either beats up your disc or potentially is takin out a car.
Friend almost hit the security car,thank god for a tree.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course,goes with anna page on my top courses in this area,definately worth checking out

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    1/4/2012   1/4/2012
Review By: Corack
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course. Good signage with easy to spot bright orange baskets. The course is well laid out, and easy to follow. Nice well kept campus grounds. Just challenging enough to make you think about some of your shots. Should be a beautiful course to play in the summer.
Cons: There wasn't much activity on the day I played but I can see how it could easily become distractive. It was also odd that one hole played across the campus road. These weren't major cons just something to be aware of.
Other Thoughts: Not sure how late your allowed to play the course. Would like to find out if its alright to play the course at anytime of the night. If there is enough lighting. I liked the fact that at Hole 1 there was a box with score cards available, that was a nice touch.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.