Victoria, TX 
Riverside Park Share
Uploaded By: Lead pipe Hole #7
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    7/2/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: Kovar34
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good clean course. Very well kept. Lots of varity with the course. Some easy, some not so easy. A lot of long shots that were fun to play.
Cons: There is only one basket per hole. They have removed the multiple pins on the different holes. They change it to 21 holes. Not the 18 with A B and C holes. The map was not updated to reflect that.
Other Thoughts: All in all it is a wonderful course. I would recommend it to anyone who is in the area. I am going to try to play thir course everytime i am in town Even with the map not updated it was pretty easy to navigate. Just watch out for the river. It can easily take your disk!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside In Victoria

1    12/27/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 1/14/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An interesting 21 hole course in this park. The holes have been renumbered to incorporate an alternate hole and the course itself also has two alternate holes for 23 holes to play. Lots of challenges here. More than a couple of opportunities to lose your disc in the Guadalupe.River. I could question the lengths shown on some of the hole signs (especially the 700' hole) but regardless, some are long and give you ample opportunity to "air out" a disc. Decent navigation, the signs point the way. Tough to get lost on this course. The baskets are in decent shape for the most part. Lots of O.B. areas, but, with one exception on hole 13, plenty of room to throw and go. Only two baskets on holes 7 and 18 sit directly on the brink to tempt you to throw your disc in the drink. Otherwise plenty of room and quite a few birdie and ace opportunities here.
Cons: In the middle of a sixty-mile stretch to find another course in any direction (excepting Beeville). Too little variety. (They could have mixed it up more.) The signs show multiple pin placements, but I only saw one basket on each hole. Alternate holes were difficult to find, even with a map. I couldn't find them myself. Too many open holes. More trees needed. Most baskets need renumbering. A lot had the wrong numbers on them. Holes 10 & 12 have tee signs missing.
Other Thoughts: This place was a fun place to play and a nice diversion for a couple of hours on my trip to Houston from Corpus. I would recommend it to any disc golfer. Now especially since the course has been redone it is a great place to play. All baskets are now Discatcher baskets with the Mach-3 baskets on the front 9 being replaced recently with all Innova Discatcher baskets.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A 'Texas Sized' Course

5+    9/24/2011   11/19/2011
Review By: Mind Expansi0n
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New teesigns make it fairly easy to find your way around the course (first timers should still take a map), several 400+ft holes and lots of space for driving will test and improve your long-range game, very little 'dense' undergrowth makes for forgiving placements and minimal loss of discs, a decent use of OB and hazards with the river and the small park road, and a friendly low-traffic atmosphere. Local DG'ers were all very friendly and willing to play a round or show some local course knowledge.
Cons: Teepads are pretty beat up, baskets are showing major wear and damage in some cases (basket #3's chains were hanging off and rusted last time I was there - for example), the landscape doesn't provide much variety - hence the holes get a bit repetitive and if you don't have some experience (300ft+ drives) you may have a long day here. Also some bad erosion starting to happen along the Riverbed and small creeks in the park is changing the feasibility of some holes (such as #7).
Other Thoughts: Difficult: Intermediate - Pro. All in all, a pretty decent place to play DG - it has it's quirks but it's a big course for a big park in a big state. I think the course not only forces you to 'up' your game in terms of distance, but also gives you many opportunities to use your midranges to either drive on the shortest holes or approach/upshots on your way to the basket. There is a zoo (yes, lions, monkeys, etc.) directly next to the course - the lions live behind basket #4 ... beware.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Rather Blah...

1    5/9/2010   5/13/2010
Review By: skinner21
Played: 22  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very well spread out in a mutiuse park that is well maintained in terms of landscaping. You have no chance at hitting other discers because the holes are nowhere near each other. the tee pads were nice concrete and were pretty large. There are alternate pin placements that have markers placed in them so that the tee signs that are present are more clear. There is a map of the course posted on the bulletin board. Without this map or a guide, there is no chance of navigating this course.

This is the only course for a few hours in every direction.
Cons: This course plays very long, which normally isn't a con for me, but there were no technical holes or short ones to change things up all on this course. Every hole is long and wide open. It is basically 21 holes of grip and rip. By the end it gets pretty boring. There is no thought into how to throw a hole. Take that and the fact that I don't have a big arm and I didn't enjoy this course a lot.

Navigation at this course is horrible. Most of the tee signs are missing and there are no "next tee" markers to help guide you to the next hole, which could be anywhere with how these holes are spaced. I had to take a picture of the map on my phone and had to use it often during the round. Half of the tee signs are missing, but the ones that are there are decent.

There is a lot of trash on the course from non dgers using the park. The picnic tables and garbage cans were overflowing with trash. These picnic tables and grills have the possibility of getting in the way of dgers.

The course is totally flat, even though there is a river that runs through the course. No attempt was made at all to incorporate the river or anything into the design of the course. It's just flat with some mature trees spread through the park. So much more could have been done with this park but they left it forgettable.
Other Thoughts: I was in Victoria visiting family and was glad to be able to get a round in, but I was expecting a little more from this course. I will play it again if I am every in the area, but don't go out of your way to play this course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, but honestly not all that memorable

2-4    2/26/2010   3/5/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.6 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Good size concrete tees on all 21 holes. Dual pin positions on about 1/3 of the holes and what's nice about them is that they actually change the way the hole plays vs. just adding/subtracting length. This course is typical of what one finds in Texas: long and mostly open. The average hole length varies from 372' to 403' depending on which pin positions are in play. If you're a grip n' rip player you should love this course. The baskets are a mix of brands but generally are in good shape and catch well enough, but beware the shallow trays on some baskets. A restroom facility is conveniently located at the intersection of holes #2, #13, and #18. Minimal blind holes (only #12) are a wise choice at this popular multi-use park. Being the only course within 30mi means this course gets a lot of play and attention from the local club. Convenient parking that the course loops back on mid-way through.
Cons:
The tee markers are generally pretty lame with no consistent information. Basically they're just short posts painted white to assist in seeing the tee pad from a distance. There's a lot of walking between holes. There's significant lost disc potential on hole #7 when playing the road as OB (as you're supposed to). Erosion and lost tree(s) have taken their toll on this course, specifically on #7 to minimize the landing zone of a shot near the basket. This multi-use park will have some holes with interference from other park patrons. This course places a huge premium on being able to throw long and straight, about 15 of the 21 tee shots are preferably long, straight drives.
Other Thoughts:
The three extra holes fit in here: hole "A" plays between #11/#12, hole "B" & "C" play between #15/#16. Even when the pins are in the shortest position big arms have advantage over technical players because most holes are pretty open. The Texas Zoo abuts the course on holes #4 & #5 offering the unique opportunity to be putting on #4 with a wolf staring you down directly behind the basket! And keep your drive low on #5 or it can sail over the fence and give some animal a new chew toy.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A Pro Says Flat Out Fun

5+    11/3/2009   11/3/2009
Review By: Mr. C
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a monster. With several huge holes at sea level (3 over 600 feet), you've done a days work if you par it. And even the shorter holes demand disc selection, skill, and putts. I was flat out challenge. This is one of the best designed (and fair in my opinion) pro level disc courses I've ever played and I've played in over 30 pro tournaments.
Cons: It's really too bad that this course isn't better kept up. With some time and energy and money you could have great signage, different pin placements, maps, new baskets, straight baskets, no trash, benches. Everything's there:bathrooms, community board, parking, trees, views, the river, great layout.
Other Thoughts: This could be a legendary Texas course in a backwater Texas town (Victoria?). I'm just passing through, on my way to play in Austin, and bam! - I play Riverside Park three rounds until I finally shot even. Crazy!!! So, locals a shout out. Step it up! Get the Chamber involved. Get the City involved. Parks and Rec. Club members. Whatever. It's a gem only if you keep it polished!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Riverside Park

1    5/26/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: lohrtom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some super long baskets (if that is your thing). The tee boxes have concrete pads. Lots of shade (it was 93F when I played). Most of the holes have a marker with map but a few are missing.
Cons: I went the day after Memorial day and the park area where the first few baskets are nearly made me not play. There was TONS of trash on the ground. The amount that makes you want to give up on humanity. But after hole 5 it was clean and very nice. I blame the trash on irresponsible Memoial Day picnickers.
Other Thoughts: Some holes are along the Guadalupe River with steep banks. Don't use a disc on these holes you cannot afford to lose.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome..

1    2/1/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: jlow54
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great views of the river, you can see the zoo and the holes are well layed out, need i say more?
Cons: If you throw your disc in the river I hope you werent too attached to it because you WILL NOT get it back...
Other Thoughts: Bring your big guns I know my destroyer and wraith got an amazing workout has great mix of long and midrange holes...ideal course for an avid player...

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    10/16/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sweeness!! Lots of different shots that rewards the player with alot of shots in thier bag. Lots of boomers and lots of Rocs, need I say more. Good shade. Never real busy so you can play at your own pace. Good views of the river. Worth the stop
Cons: Kind of hard to navigate the first time out. No pictures on the tees so a little confusing, but after play you will get it and love it.
Other Thoughts: Good break in the drive from Dallas to Corpus

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.