Malcolm, NE 
Larry Murray Park Share
Uploaded By: Chained Evil Hole #8 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Malcolm---In the middle

1    4/17/2015   4/20/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 298  Reviewed: 140  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: This is a well maintained course set in a small town park that is very nice.
Beginner friendly course or advanced players can work on their midrange game here. Disc loss should be nil. Rounds will play quickly as well.
There are some good lines here that will challenge but not frustrate. Good mix of short and moderate length holes.
Also there are other amenities like a playground and a gazebo.
Hole observations:
1-mostly open with the basket protected
2-nice tunnel shot, favorite hole for me
3-plays over the bridge seen in the photos
4-is uphill and you have a gap to hit
5-straight shot that is open
6-blind basket from the tee that dog legs to the right
7-open and straight
8-low ceiling with the basket in a draw
9-has a few trees to navigate mid fairway
Cons: The highway is pretty close to holes 1, 5, and 7 so pay attention.
Toe boards might be hard to find if the grass is thick, the course was well mowed upon my visit and they were all visible.
Hole 3 is close to a bridge and hole 8 is close to a gazebo so pay attention and make sure before you throw.
The park can get crowded with other park goers so keep an eye out.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun small town course that uses all of the park as best it can. This would be a place to take your family for a quick round or someone that wants to learn the game.
This isn't a grip and rip style course so if you are looking for that you will have to keep on driving.
This is a good warm up course to go play before you play a course like nearby Roper in Lincoln or Plum Creek in Seward.
I enjoyed my round here and I wished more small towns would install nice courses like this to get more players involved in the game.


5+    10/19/2014   10/26/2014
Review By: bigchiz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.8 Years
Pros: Usually a quiet park. Hole 2 is a nice tunnel shot with danger on the left.
Cons: Finding the parking lot is tricky. Hole 3 throws over the playground. Hole 4 is a blind shot towards the highway. Hole 5, need to time shots with traffic on the highway. Hole 8 has a gazebo next to the fairway.
Other Thoughts: When a family is using the gazebo and playground one needs to be cautious. ... Lippy's BBQ is only 3 blocks away! The park is very well kept.

Fun small course & great BBQ

1    4/26/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: theheartbreakkid
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course.
Not many people around this small park.
Quiet.
Nice baskets.
Surprising hole diversity for a small course.
Great BBQ nearby.
Cons: Tee placements are hard to find and are in the fairways of other holes. Spent a fair amount of time wandering around looking for the next tee. Fortunately, a couple others were playing and helped us out.
Course is next to a highway, so don't throw into passing cars!
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed my time here. Although this park is very small, it has a good amount of diversity for the amateur/ intermediate player. I drive past this place all the time to get BBQ, and I will definitely be back again to play this course. Also, the day we played it was very windy and my game was terrible! I dig little courses like this.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A fun Gem

5+    3/9/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: CGChase
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging skill shots.
Good variety.
Exceptionally well maintained.
Enjoyable setting.
Never crowded.
Cons: Poor course map.
Sometimes difficult to find T's
No really long, open shots.
Other Thoughts: It is incredible how much course the village of Malcolm has put into this tiny area. I love the #3 shot through the trees and over the bridge, avoiding the playground. Such a small park with so many blind shots. The course is very well set up and is just flat out fun to play. Great course for working on skill shots.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

5+    3/15/2014   3/16/2014
Review By: Taterus
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Never anybody else playing when I've gone. Nice par 3's with various semi challenging tosses. South wind is blocked by tree line on south side of course. A quiet park.
Cons: Next to highway (Speed Limit is 25 through the area) still a highway though with not much traffic. Playground on hole 3 to fly by.
Other Thoughts: This is my go to course when it's a little windy for the more open courses in town. Plus, good getaway from crowds. Did someone say Beer 30? Don't Drink and Drive. There is a nice little gazeebo to eat the BBQ from Libby's just a few blocks away.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fore!

2-4    7/1/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is well maintained. The course was freshly mowed, and trees are all trimmed. It is a variety of shot types including one brutal left handed hole (#6). It would be hard to lose a disc here. The baskets are new, even though they aren't the highest quality, they have no physical damage. Also, it is in the village of Malcolm, so you get the small town charm.
Cons: The biggest downside is Hole 3. While it is cool throwing over a bridge, there is a playground that is also in the way. If any kid is playing, lookout! Furthermore, the course doesn't have all of the tee markers.

Hole 2 is a bit scary because there is a parking lot 20 feet behind the basket.

Hole 4 and Hole 1 are gone. Maybe temporarily, but not there when I played.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great backyard course. By that I mean, I would be more than happy to have it out of my backyard. I also mean that I wouldn't necessarily go out of my way for the course either. If you get bored of Max and Tierra for the 40th time, go try this one. You can do a round in less than 15 minutes if you really want.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Heads up!

1    1/21/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: JAAAKE
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Solid baskets.
Close parking.
Risk-reward shots.
Easy in an enjoyable way.
Mature trees.
Well maintained.
Great course for the size of the area.
Cons: Short course.
Highway traffic in play.
Playground in play.
Tees are 4x4 posts buried in the dirt horizontally.
Wind can be a factor.
Other Thoughts: Neat little course tucked into this town. I would feel uncomfortable playing this with children playing on the equipment. This course is excellent for as small as the park is.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Small and Fun

2-4    1/21/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: 888HUSKERS
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 44.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A small but beautiful park which is well kept which makes for a short but enjoyable round. The park is well maintained by the town of Malcom and seems to be in a lot better shape than most small town parks in Nebraska.

The catchers are Mach 2 catchers with the signs on top which indicate which hole they are supposed to be. This made navigating the course a little easier considering the tees were marked by painted planks of wood anchored into the ground.

Little to no chance of loosing a disc at this course but yet it is small and fun enough that it would be an enjoyable place to work on your game without the fear of loosing a disc or having to worry about any serious distance while your throwing. You could play this course over and over in a short period of time and not feel wore out.
Cons: No vertical tee signs or concrete teepads which sometimes made finding the next tee a bit hard especially on hole 4 where the teepad is a wood plank on a slope facing away from the basket on hole 3.

Holes 5 and 6 are very close to the highway coming in to town so be mindful of cars before throwing while playing these holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is not a challenge for a more experienced player but would be enjoyable for anyone working on their short to midrange game or looking for a good place to have a disc golf family outing for everyone.

Holes 1, 5, 7, and 9 have no trees that really come into play. Holes 2, 3, 4, 6, and 8 have a lot more trees that come into play and provide a bit more of a chance to work on throwing hyzers, anhyzers, or thumbers.

I personally will revisit this course more in the future because it will be a great place to have a short but fun round while working on learning how to be a better disc golfer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.