Shelby, NC 
Crest High School Share
Uploaded By: Zanders22 Hole #5 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Quite good for nine holes

1    7/22/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: Cmdrmack
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seems like the first thing most people say about 9 hole courses is "Makes a good use of limited space." This one is no exception. The holes have some variety, they take you on a half-decent walk, and you're not in anybody's way most of the time.

This one has a good mix of wooded and open shots, and some very tight squeezes. All the holes are quite doable, making it a good course on which to learn if you're a beginner.

Holes 5, 6, and 7 were my favorites. Hole 5 lets you open up with a longer drive and then a really cool approach on a basket just inside the woods. Hole six is a straight shot, and a rather short one, but the trees and undergrowth on this wooded hole make it much more interesting. Hole 7 is the same, with a slight elevation change.
Cons: Making one's way from hole 1 to hole 2 is a little odd if you've never been there before. One of the other reviewers tipped me off that it was at the other end of the path between the softball field and the tennis courts.

Hole 2 is right along the highway, so RHBH and LHFH throwers beware of traffic.

Hole 5 throws across a soccer practice field, so that hole would be completely shut down if people were using that field.

Some tall and thorny weeds on Hole 8 ended up eating my Innova Goblin. Very sad. It's a tight squeeze between the weeds, and I had a terrible throw.
Other Thoughts: I'm normally resentful of courses where I lose discs. I think it's quite impolite for a course to do that.

This one however, is good for a short course, in spite of my terrible play today. It is my hope that the Athletic Department at this school is using the course to also teach students to play disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent school course

2-4    3/29/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Crest High School has a decent nine-hole layout. I was more impressed with the top-notch athletic facilities (hello big money) than anything else here.
- There are some nice holes here, which break up an otherwise monotonous course. #5 is a legitimately fun and challenging hole. It's a 450 foot, downhill layout. It's a blind tee shot across a field and down a slight hill. The challenge is in your approach shot. The basket is hidden in a narrow open in the woods, so your tee shot has to be strategically placed in order to have a shot to the basket. First time I played this layout, I didn't know that, so I had to essentially waste a stroke getting in the correct position so I could reach the basket. This hole offers a true mix of distance and accuracy, something you don't often see in a course of this level.
- There's a little variety here. Key word is little. A couple holes (#5 & 8) have some nice elevation; two are true wooded holes (#6 & 7); and the others are all predominantly open and flat. Two holes are shorter than 150 feet and four are longer than 350 feet, so there are a couple chances to throw driver.
- Baskets are in good shape. There are nice tee signs and very easy to spot from far away.
- Course is easy to navigate with one exception. Going from hole #1 to #2 tee, you have a long walk between the tennis courts and softball field. The tee for #2 is right next to the main road.
- The facilities at this school are impressive. From the football field to football field house, tennis courts to baseball and softball field. All have some money poured into them. When you pull into the parking lot, you see a ball field. I thought this was well kept baseball field. Turns out it's actually the softball field. I've never seen a high school have such a great softball field. All around, these were very impressive venues indeed.
Cons: There were only several small things to point out about this course.
- There were too many open, flat holes. It's what you would probably expect for a school course except there did seem to be more land to expand/add challenge to the layout. For example, move the tee pad back on #8, to make the tee shot even more challenging. It's currently an uphill, 202 foot, dogleg right hole. This was probably the second best hole on the course, in terms of layout, but it still didn't offer much challenge. Pushing the tee pad back, would up the risk/reward factor big time.
- Along those lines, it was disappointing that the two wooded holes were the two shortest on the course. Again, there was more room behind them to easily add some more length. With these two holes, even a bad tee shot should lead to a relatively easy up-and-down to save par.
- The tee for #2 is somewhat close to the main road - Old Boiling Springs. The layout is a dogleg right, away from the road, and the road isn't normally that busy, so it "shouldn't" be a problem. That said, if you're tee shot gets away from you, it won't take much to be landing on, or across, the road.
Other Thoughts: All, in all, this is about what you'd expect for a school course. There are some challenges, but it's mainly aiming for beginner/casual players.
- It is nice to see how prominently featured this course is throughout all of the athletic fields. Some schools seemingly dump a course in the back of the campus, away from everything else. So it was nice to see how the baskets weaved through everything. This can only help expose students to the game.
- This is a quick course to play. I played through twice in about 45 minutes. The worst part of the course might be the walk back from hole #9 across the parking lot, back to the first tee.
- If you're in the area, and are looking to play a course, I'd play Gardner-Webb before this one. There's nothing at this course you won't find at most places. Now, (hypothetically) if the school ever poured some of that athletic budget into the course, it would be interesting to see how good it could get.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/29/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: wyatt_hamrick
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I go to crest and i am in love with disc golf its a easy course to play and it allows me to be able to play whenever i want to.
Cons: the managing of this course is terrible its grown up at s lot of the holes
Other Thoughts: good to go if you live near not worth a far drive to get there

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the trip

2-4    3/26/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: brockkcorb
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has 1 good hole.
Cons: The course weaves around buildings and busy roads.
Other Thoughts: 1) Start from the parking lot, throw to a basket that sits underneath bleachers. Potential to hit people is there. Possible to throw into the stadium(s) and tennis courts.
2) Hard to find from basket 1. Right next to the road. Miss left you are in the road, miss right and you are in the softball field.
3) Miss right and you are in the softball field. Also goes around a baseball batting cage. Terrible idea for this hole.
4) The woods right next basket are full of trash and litter. If you go past there is a fenced in field.
5) The best hole here. Really good hole.
6) 100 foot ace run
7) 100 foot ace run
8) Short uphill shot. Teepad is rotting plywood.
9) The basket is right next to a very busy parking lot. Lot's of potential for hitting people and cars.

I don't know who designed this, but it's a waste of baskets.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.