Disc Golf Store
Pickerington, OH 
Sycamore Creek Church Share
Uploaded By: jcf5083 Hole #14 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Groovy Pads, Man!

2-4    8/10/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 163  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Sycamore Creek Church DGC has been upgraded to 18 holes, with excellent, new signage (about half of the holes are just a hair longer than previously listed), large, level, concrete tee pads (including a monster sized tee on 11!) which have been grooved for excellent traction, and quality DGA Mach V baskets. It's a very fun play for the Recreational to Intermediate player to go for a score in the 40's, compared to somewhat tougher courses. Folks at this skill level should be able to get 2's and 3's all day long out here, because even the two holes over 400 feet are open, with generous fairways, and the holes demanding a line through the woods are fair, shorter, and the greens are approachable. You have a decent mix of left to right, straight, and right to left options. A couple of holes toward the end are actually quite scenic, with 16's slope down to the creek-crossing bridge and the lightly guarded green, and 17's pond-side tee, where you can chose the tougher left side line or the right side, with an easily reachable water carry.

Maintenance toward the church (park in the rear, and see the new map added here on DGCR) is really quite good, while the woods and field beyond seem to rely a little more on the conscientiousness of the disc golfers themselves to properly dispose of their empties. There are trash cans out there (please use them, folks!), and some nice benches.

In all, this makes for a nice second-tier course right in Pickerington (along with Simsbury), and playing both in a day is easy, enjoyable, and rewarding for the mid-level player.
Cons: The first obvious issue shows up on hole three, as you look downhill towards what turns out to be the 16th basket. With the third tee sign currently lying down, it just points out the fact that the course needed a map for first timers, so I went ahead and drew one up.

Big arms will only have a few opportunities to air it out, and precision experts won't find this course overly taxing. Once you've reached Advanced skill levels, it might not be your cup of tea. That's not to say that the edges in the field and wooded rough won't be a little hard on casual level players, either. It's really a mid-skill level course, so know what to expect.

I've played here once when it was damp, and once extremely dry. It's better dry. The low areas can get marshy and muddy, and attract bugs.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned above, folks who carry in here need to do a better job of carrying it out, or cleaning it up, please. And they might want to consider respecting this course because it is on church property, after all!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 yuck

5+    6/15/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: TinyNinja
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: decent tee pads
scenic
Cons: overgrown grass has eaten TWO of my discs
TICKS. TICKS EVERYWHERE
trash
Other Thoughts: They need to mow/cut down all of the crap that is in the out of bounds areas. I've lost two discs now (my beloved Innova Eagle on 3 and my TeeBird plus mold on 4) due to the grass being out of control.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Challenging

1    5/24/2014   5/25/2014
Review By: wkelly42
Played: 22  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete pads.
Good challenge, even on short holes.
Clear signs (with a couple of exceptions).
Cons: Trash. Need more trashcans, but also need more respectful people.
Ticks.
What I call "Columbus Par" (short par 4s and 5s).
Other Thoughts: Not a lot that I would consider cons, but not perfect either. Could be a challenge to anyone that doesn't have a forehand game (thankfully, I've finally developed one, and it helped). Hole three could be a problem (the basket you see is hole 7's), but others have covered that detail here, so it wasn't a problem for me.

There are some BRUTAL doglegs on this course (#6, I'm looking at YOU) that add to the challenge. I have trouble understanding why 13 is a par 5 (noodle arm me birdied it twice easily with only a midrange and putter), but it helped me out in the Birdie Bash, so I won't complain. I agree with other reviewers that the trash on the course is pathetic -- the church is letting you play in their backyard, people -- show some respect!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice improvement

5+    9/25/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: isukatdg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete Teepads
Neatly Mowed
New Signage
Cons: Trash everywhere
Vandalism
Other Thoughts: The course is up to par finally. There is still a trash issue, and kids coming out to tear up the place. Brand new signage is nice, making the course comprehensible. Keep em coming!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Immensely Improved

2-4    9/12/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: Woliver.4
Played: 31  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads now
Well trimmed fairways
Good course to practice shorter technical shots
A few holes where you can air it out
Good course for first timers and beginners
Cons: Sometimes layout is confusing
Course has the tendency to be muddy
Rough tends to be long (watch your disc) (bug spray would be a suggestion)
Other Thoughts: This course looks and plays much better now that they have done some renovations. I would suggest checking it out again if you have not played it for a while as it was a fun experience.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Promising Crap

5+    8/10/2013   8/17/2013
Review By: ForehandAnhyzer
Played: 12  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2013
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Decent bit of land
-Concrete Tees are now in
-Behind a church
-You pretty much can ace run every hole
-Some pretty shots
Cons: -You pretty much can ace run every hole
-Very confusing to follow and navigate
-No trash cans
-No water
-Course is typically mistreated and people don't treat it with respect and there is trash everywhere
-Signs are destroyed and crappy
-Often has huge groups of ill-mannered kids.
-Behind a church
Other Thoughts: I completely re-did my review following the 2013 Ace Race. They had the course in good shape and there was minimal trash and destruction. Hopefully this carries through. The addition of concrete tees is nice, however, they are not uniform and one or two may actually be a bit dangerous at times.

Right now, the course has won me over, the Ace Race did the trick. But will it last? Treat it with respect, people!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Getting better

5+    6/14/2014   8/8/2013
Review By: Nasty Nate
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Is right by the Disc Golf Mart
-Has nice trees and is a decent park area
-Good course to introduce n00bs to the game
-Finally got concrete tees and new tee signs
-Course has improved recently
-Has a decent array of challenges
Cons: -Needs more trash cans
-Sometimes a bit confusing to navigate
-Often busy and can get crowded
Other Thoughts: The course has seen much improvement lately and also seems to be getting better care. It has come a long way from its humble beginnings and is now a decent little disc golf course. It's a good beginner course and also has challenges for more experienced players.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sweet Course, with minor troubles

5+    5/12/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: NinaD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short course, great for an after work round in the summer.
Good variety of shots (open field, woods, water and mixed lengths).
Permanent baskets.
Pretty scenery.
Grass is kept mowed.
Cons: Natural tee pads that get mucky and slippery at times.
Lots of broken glass (although the church youth group does pick in up from time to time).
No garbage cans.
Signs are often damaged.
Hard to navigate on your first couple of visits.
Can get very congested if busy.
TONS of poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is a sweet, well designed course. It is nice and short if you want to head out after work in the summer and get a quick round in. The holes are well placed with lots of different shots to take. Left, right, woods, fields, short and longs. The church tries it's best to maintain the course, it is always mowed and in pretty good shape as far as vegitation goes. Over all I feel that this is a very good course.
The CONS are that some of the people using this course are not at all respectful. More often than not there are large amounts of broken glass all over the place. The tee signs get ripped off and posts are busted on a few holes. The church youth group tries to clean this up, but it gets ahead of them. It is sad that a few crappy people are making the course ugly and even slightly dangerous for those of us that want to go out and enjoy it. Also, the church is maintaining this course and letting us play for free, so people should try a little harder to be tidy out there. Right now it is cleaned up, hopefully it will stay glass free this summer. Tee pads can get really slippery, but a rumor is going around that concrete pads are coming. If you are allergic to poison ivy be VERY careful, it is everywhere in the woods and growing up a lot of the trees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A nice warm-up...

2-4    9/14/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2014
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Beginner friendly

* Nice, high quality baskets

* Second course in Pickerington provides a good warm-up before you go play Simsbury.

* Concrete tee pads are in
Cons: * NO trash cans means tons of trash all over course

* concrete tees seem a couple feet shorter than I'm used too

* Poorly marked layout leads to lots of hunting for the next tee.

Other Thoughts: I want to like this course, I really do. And it has tons of potential. However, the people who play this course are clearly a problem. The first thing we noticed about this course was a ridiculously high number of broken beer bottles around some of the baskets. In addition, several signs had been ripped down, and replaced by laminated paper signs. One of these had been torn in half and left lying on the ground. To me this shows that the church is TRYING to keep the course up, but the idiots playing the course are a problem. In fairness, having a trash can every few holes would alleviate some of the issues with trash. However, I fail to understand why people cant haul their trash out with them, and REALLY can't understand why someone would buy a 12 pack of Bud Light Platinum and proceed to smash every bottle over a basket, leaving tons of blue glass lying around. Due to the amount of trash, and overall poor repair, I wonder if the church will keep the course open.

update: Concrete tees are in, and there was little glass to be found during the Ace Race. I'll play this course again in a few weeks, and if it's still clean I'll give it another 1/2 point bump.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    11/20/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: Django
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ace runner
tech anhyzer RHBH shots
lots of small window shots
elevation variation
wonderful short-to-long hole variations
manicured nicely
Cons: lots of trash on course
no tee pads
redundant walking on some holes
signage distance incorrect on several holes

Other Thoughts: today was my first round out here. i enjoyed the layout of the course, got to throw lots of magics, rhynos, rocs, coyotes and king cobras, like the tight lines and smooth turnover opportunities. i would love to see teepads and better signage. i did hit a mulligan ace on 8 and threw relatively well. i give it a strong 2.5 and would love to give it higher......and with a little more work it could easy

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.