Pickerington, OH
Sycamore Creek Church Share
Uploaded By: jcf5083 Hole #8 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  Work In Progress

1    12/1/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: ryankh87
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A few challenging holes.
Good beginner course
New Baskets
Well built bridges over creeks
Cons: Semi-confusing first time out
Couldn't find 16's basket (hope it wasn't stolen), and by extension missed throwing on 17.
Sign for hole 5 from what I assume was the original 9 layout added to confusion.
Ambiguous tee areas
Other Thoughts: It is always appreciated when anyone installs a course and opens it to the public. If I had any suggestions for this course it would be to set up some tee pads even with a couple of 2x4's in the ground. I would also color code some of the holes where baskets are very close together to avoid some of the confusion. It has been said before that if you have some time to kill it is a decent play, which it is, but if it has been raining the mud gets pretty crazy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A little more to Sycamore

1    12/3/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Holes
Family Friendly
Not Difficult
Good mix of wooded to open
Decent elevation changes
Taken care of
Nice signs
Cons: Can get muddy
Can be a little problem navigating some of the newer holes but it's well posted so eventually you figure out where your going
Not for advanced players
Other Thoughts: I love the new holes and I love the new layout. I thought it was cool how they set up the new stuff to weave in and out of the old stuff. It's great to have another 18 hole course around.

The new course starts out with the same original first 4 holes as the old course. Then you break off with a few new wooded one then out again into a big open field. Some times I got a little confused at this point of the course your in a pretty big open field with several baskets in site. Everything is well marked though so you figure it out quick enough. Then you finish up with the final 3 holes from the old course. I really like the changes

Even though the threw in a few 400-500 footers this course is still very much a family course and a beginner course. I would say it is still less challenging then Blendon. If I were to compare it with another local course I would say it's very similar to Sunbury in both distance and skill level. If your an experienced player looking for a challenge I would skip this one.

Even though I said it wasn't challenging, that doesn't mean it's not fun. So hit it up. It's a good time. Good job guys

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great day today

5+    12/3/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: valiant
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New baskets. Good use of the land. Good variety of holes and shots. No crowds.
Cons: Muddy. A few holes hard to figure out the flow pattern to connect the next hole. The signs are not all exact on their maps.
Other Thoughts: After the new holes have a chance to regrow next year, my review score will go up.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice new 18

1    11/24/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: All Day
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good balance of left to right, right to left, wooded, and wide open.

Fairly well maintained, and newly added 9 holes make this a whole new course, obviously.

Not very busy, but that could change once everyone realizes this is 18 now.
Cons: Gravel or dirt tees get muddy and slick. If you're not careful on some holes, you could pull something.

A bit of confusion on some baskets--could definitely benefit from numbered baskets. Some old tee numbers still remain as of now, two posts showing hole 5, etc.

Beer cans and trash in several areas despite trash cans.

Drainage is a problem so leave your white shoes at the house.
Other Thoughts: Breath of fresh air after recent addition of 9 holes. Several aceable holes, and some will challenge good amateurs. Pros won't fall in love with this one compared to 18 hole at Simsbury Park in Pickerington, but overall fun course. Several "Blendon-like" wooded holes were added, which gives this course a little bit of everything, even if it is a bit short.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.