Fremont, OH 
Walsh Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: vectortec Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 347ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pleasant Surprise

2-4    5/3/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: Derek B
Played: 102  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: 1) Concrete pads
2) Tee signs
3) Most holes allow for a decent lefty or righty throw
4) Elevation changes
5) Highlight hole: 9
Cons: 1) No diagram of hole on tee sign
2) Only 1 set of pads
3) Navigation issue from 4-5 and 5-6
4) Course map on bulletin board is upside down
5) No trash cans on course (not a biggie for me though)
Other Thoughts: Wow, what a little gem in the middle of nowhere. This is probably the best 9 hole course that I've ever played. Good property with elevation changes and scenic views of Fremont and the Sandusky River.

The course is a little bit harder than a beginner course, so it has some challenge to it, but it's not so hard that a beginner wouldn't enjoy it. Hole 9 is an amazing ace bomb from up on a hill shooting down to the ground.

My main complaint is that it took us a few to find hole 5 and hole 6, although the different colored pointers on the basket cages led us in the right direction, so it wasn't a huge deal. If you download or print out the map before you go, you'll save yourself 5 minutes or so.

Overall, I am thoroughly impressed with this course and will return. I hope they make it 18 holes someday. There's a bunch of woods to the right of hole 6 that would be great if the park owns it.



5+    4/30/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: vectortec
Played: 78  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: Nice mix of open and tight, woods holes
New tee pads and Mach 2 baskets
Good signage and next tee markers are accurate
Not Very Busy
Real elevation, which is rare for DG in these parts
Cons: Could use benches.
Course is muddy in the spring
Other Thoughts: Fun, intermediate, challenge in a nice park. The brush on a couple holes can be thick. I almost listed this as a con, but this is DG, so test yourself. Concrete tee's are adequate for the distances. The use of elevation is enjoyable and not overwhelming or ridiculous. #9 is a great downhill bomb 370 feet or so, and is an awesome way to finish the round.

 Walsh Park

1    5/31/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: hoyle7780
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 22.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Close to rt 20
2. Can get in a round in under 30 min
3. Some decent elevation & tight fairways.
4. Brand new baskets
Cons: 1. Confusing Layout - Course starts at the base of a hill and shoots up to a hidden basket in THICK uncut brush. Next 2 holes the fairways are on top of eachother.
Several Blind holes & tee boxes can make for allot more walking.
2. Park Useage - Course weaves through a portion of the river area but utilizes none of the cool hills to create rollaways or elevated tee pads on holes 4 & 5. After that you weave through a HEAVILY used walking trail. The holes basically took over this walking trail and the locals still use it as such so beware.
Spoke with a few local residents that were not to happy with the fact the course eliminated there walking/running path.

Hole #9 - Again the course is still raw with no tee signs but 9's tee box is hidden in the brush off hole 8's basket, so beware.
Easy to lose discs.



Other Thoughts: Weather it be the limitations of the park, or the lack of creativity on the designers part this course lacked allot of use of the land available. Holes 6-7-8 Basically overrun a Tree Lined Running Trail and can be dangerous if you dont have a spotter or dont walk up the fairway to make sure your clear.
This course has potential, The tee boxes were roped off & looked like concrete was about to be poured any day now. With tee-signs and mabey a course map would make it a much more enjoyable first time playing.
The biggest negative was the vibe I got from the local residents, they clearly did not want this course in this particular area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Work in progress

1    2/22/2012   2/22/2012
Review By: ejvogie
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New courses are ALWAYS good, even if they're only 9 holes.

Decent elevation, especially for NW Ohio. And it's used fairly well.

New Mach 2s.

Scenic view of the Sandusky River.

Good mix of wooded and open holes.
Cons: Long-ish walks between a few holes, nothing TOO extremely far though.

Overly punitive rough, possibility of losing discs on 7 out of 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: There is a map by the practice basket, but it's not oriented correctly. I took a picture with my phone, but had to hold my phone upside down to navigate.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.