Kirkland, WA 
Northwest University DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheSinator Hole #4 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 180ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

5+    9/20/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: pnwooki
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -quick after work course.
-good practice course for beginners to intermediates to work on keeping drives straight and low.
-pretty course on a quite college campus.
-recently played there and lost a disc in a bit of underbrush, got a call from a security guard letting me know he found my disc and it will be waiting for me at the security office.
-course can be altered to be more challenging on the fly. the baskets for 4,5,6 are close together and can be mixed up for a bit of a challenge. i like to shoot for 6 from the 5 tee pad for ex.
Cons: -natural tee pads are twisted/rolled ankles waiting to happen (when possible shoot from street or sidewalk)
-it is on a college campus so if you are working on your drives, kids passing by may pick up your disc.
-a sign pointing from the 3rd basket to the 4th tee could be useful for people who have never played the course.
Other Thoughts: the little cafe by the 2 tee is pretty decent and has some good coffee

Holes 8&9 now MOVED

5+    8/1/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: bizweasel
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are looking for a course on the Eastside to play during a summer lunch hour and want some time left over to actually eat lunch in that hour, this course is great. For what's really a very small course it has pretty good variety. Most of the holes are pretty straight so LH/RH or FH/BH don't really come into play but at least half the holes have significant treecover that will keep you low and tight.
Some interesting potential to work on your skips and rollers here.
Campus is very pretty. The little creek besides #3 is cute.
GREAT quality baskets. And pretty good placements of those baskets in situ.
Great place to take your kids along, you will all have fun.
Cons: They need to seriously rethink their teepad strategy. Or lack thereof. I've taken another reviewer's advice and throw from either a sidewalk or the street whenever I can. Both to avoid falling over and to not do further excavation of the sad looking dirt pits that pass as 'tees' here.
The course is SUPER short. Even for a short thrower you do end up wishing there was something longer than ... 225 feet.
Other Thoughts: The previous holes 8 and 9 are OUT now. These used to be by a building that was northeast of Hole 2. Hole 8 was many people's favorites even after it was shortened. It's too bad 8 got changed but 9 is no great loss. The new 8 and 9 are just uphill from 7 and seem awfully crammed in and short. If you've played the old 8, you might be disappointed by the change.
However the new 8+9 are still somewhat fun, with new 8 being a FH flip and 9 being a fun skipper.
A few other minor course changes that happened recently are that tee for #2 moved right/downhill (probably to avoid a roof) and tee/basket for #5 were reversed, not sure why, but the #5 basket is in a tricky/fun location now guarded by a couple small trees and close to a fence.
Because of the usage of the campus it's sort of a summer and evenings place to play, you might feel out of place otherwise.
Watch out for students and others just hanging out, who are maybe not so aware that there are flying discs loose on their campus.
I mentioned lunch ... I recommend the food counter at Metropolitan Market about a mile north ... and the gelato there, mmm.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner course

1    2/2/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Lackychams
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very short, not very technical, course is well maintained and the baskets are noticeable.

very easy to find and parking wasnt that bad, even though it was a wet and cold morning i had a blast.
Cons: natural tee boxes made it a muddy day,
the course isnt really marked where to go after so defiantly download the course map or print it out.
Other Thoughts: being from out of town, this was a great course and easy to find but took me a few minutes to find hole one, it was wet so i dont recommend going at 8 am or wearing the wrong shoe.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    1/12/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained - the grass was trimmed and all of the baskets look as new as when they were installed.
Great variety of holes - up hills; down hills; left hyzers; right hyzers; short holes; long holes; tree cover; wide open - a little bit of everything!
Great ace potential!
Beautiful location!
Cons: No tee boxes - luckily it was frozen out, so I had no problems with footing, but I can see where there could be some added difficulty when the course is wet.
Course is located in and around the buildings of an active university. as such I can see that there might be some issues with pedestrian traffic during school hours. I went on a saturday, so it was not too busy.
Course layout hard to navigate for the first time without a map.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course to play! Not too far off the the I-405, so it was easy to find, even for an out-of-towner. I was worried about restroom facilities since it was a saturday, but found that the chapel building between holes 3 and 4, was open and the restrooms were right inside the door. I'm not sure if there were other buildings that were available, but it is a possibility.
Hole #1 really set the stage for a fun day, with it starting on high ground, and ending on high ground, but with a huge depression in between. I really had to push it to get all the way across to the other side!
If it's your first time, be sure to print out the course map. Even though there is blue tape on the basket, pointing to the next hole, many times, there was a building or two between them, and you could wander around a bit looking for your next tee. One person I talked to said he finally had to walk the course backwards to find the tee box for hole 8. I found it with no problem, because I had a map :)
Hole #4 is the shortest, but don't think it's an easy ace, as you are shooting it blind around a copse of trees. I thought I actually aced it because I heard the chains but when I walked around, I found the disk on the ground next to the basket :(
I will definitely be back to play it again!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great Beginner Course

5+    8/8/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: fruggiedesh
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well kept grounds. No trash, mowed grass, etc.
Variety of shots for a short, 9-hole course.
Easy parking/access when NWU is not in session (summer).
Nice baskets.
Ace runs!
Never crowded during the summer.
Cons: Bordering on too short.
Par 4 #8 should be a par 3.
Some tees are far from previous pin.
Parking is tough during the school year (permit only on campus).
Dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice, clean course close to Seattle. I have played a number of rounds with younger players and beginners and it is a good fit for them. There is limited underbrush, which means limited time hunting for/losing discs even on the most errant throws. Many of the dirt tee pads are worn or muddy during rain. I tend to throw from the roads or sidewalks adjacent to the dirt when possible. I nearly always chat with security when I play and they are friendly and curious about the sport of disc golf.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Try my alternate tees for a slight challenge

2-4    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: TheSinator
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are many pros about this course:
- cool, new baskets with the uni's logo on them
- beautifully manicured lawns
- some really nice, picturesque holes (mainly #1 and #8)
- indicators on each tee sign that show were the next hole is
- pretty good elevation changes
- nice mix of RHFH and RHBH shots
Cons: Teepads - The tees are basically a worn-out patch of dirt. They are uneven and some have roots in them. All the more reason to play the "blue tees" I suggest below.

It's also kind of a con that this course cannot be played when students are in session as people would definitely get in the way on Holes #1-2, 8.

Aside from #8, which any self-respecting player should play as a Par 3, this course doesn't have much length. In fact, 5 of the holes play under 200 ft--Yikes! (Below I've listed some alternate tee spots and will hopefully be able to upload some photos of these tee spots soon.)
Other Thoughts: I don't know why people hate on 9-holers like this, giving low ratings. If this were an 18-holer, it'd have a much higher rating. When potential players are checking out the course, they know it's a 9-holer, so why give it a low rating on top of that? It doesn't describe the course well.


For those wanting more of a challenge, here are my ideas for alternate tee pads that make the course a little longer/harder/different:

#1 - Play as is. (Optional tee: If the rock wall to the right of the fairway is extended backwards, tee of behind that--next to the parking lot. This brings the OB volleyball courts into play more, as well as the elevated walls.)

#2 - Back up about 40 feet, so that you're teeing off underneath the tree at the corner of the building, bringing an uphill teebox into play, along with the branches of the overhanging tree, as well as the bush next to the original "red" tee.

#3 - Back up 20-30 feet until you're on the other side of the road. Tee off from behind the sidewalk. (This doesn't really bring any trees into play--just adds some much-needed length.)

#4 - All you need to do on this is back up 5-10 feet to bring the low-hanging tee tree into play.

#5 - Back up ~30 feet and tee off from behind the brick wall, bringing some low-hanging trees into play. (Just don't hit the lightpost)

#6 - Back up if you want, but you could play this as is.

#7 - Play as is.

#8 - Play as is (awesome hole!)

#9 - Walk west down the sidewalk until you're on the other side of the parking lot. Tee off from underneath the tree next to the basketball course (play the parking lot as OB--almost like the parking lot is a river or lake). This brings a lot more trees into play, plus the OB. Obviously, you can't use this tee when there are cars there.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 College Pitch & Putt Course Only With A Personality!

1    4/15/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As sillybizz so clearly explains, most college courses all seem cut from the same mold. Most of them seem that they were designed by someone from the intramural department with no clue whatsoever about disc golf. NWDGC breaks the mold in while it is still short, (it's mostly a pitch and putt) the elevation, the unique challenge for most every hole and overall tranquililty of the campus gives the entire experience a positve feel. I just kind of liked everything about the campus and playing here. # 3 plays slightly uphill next to a little stream and waterfall in a valley. Kinds of gives it a Japaneese Water Garden feel to it. You can almost feel the Zen! You're welcome to park on campus if there's a spot available. I saw neighbors walking onto campus, playing the course, almost using the campus like a neighborhood park.
The baskets are nice and new with blue rims with the college logo on the side. Navigation was fairly simple for me, playing here for the first time this morning. There are plenty of ACE Ops here.
Cons: The teepads are dirt and not particularily level. Most of the holes don't require a run-up but the pads would probably get a little messy during our mostly rainy season.
The course is not to going to challenge most players. Many holes are under 200' but at least most of these offer some uniqueness whether it's a low ceiling or low lying branches right in front of the basket.
Other Thoughts: I like that on a Sunday morning, I saw a neighbor with his two young sons playing. It gave me a chance to educate him a little bit on where to buy some decent discs and let him and his sons try throwing mine.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome lunch break course

5+    3/9/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: mr.radon
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good for working on your short game.
Excellently maintained course with brand new disk catchers.
Few people on the course - you can play at your pace.
Close by in Kirkland with excellent parking. (don't park in faculty spots) I asked a few faculty and they said as long as there are more than one empty spot, don't hesitate to park on campus.
You can get a latte between rounds next to the tee for hole 2, plus it has a rest room.
Motivation - if you are lacking in your short game this is perfect. Every hole can be birdied and some can be aced!
Cons: No tee boxes. Adding tee boxes would be a great Boy Scout project for some aspiring Eagle Scout. However most tee shots don't require run ups, so if they are muddy practice your stationary throw.
Be careful no one is on the course, during class changes you may have to wait for people to clear when they take short cuts across holes 2 and 7.
Other Thoughts: Others mention that there are cars near some holes (5&9). Be careful if you can't control your disks. Holes 5 is a short blind hole around a tree with parking spaces parallel to the left. A bad backhand or a forehand fade skip can end up in the street, but the hole is so short. Hole 9 - the cars are parked on the right (perpendicular parking). Bad bounce off a tree, but once again a very short hole.
Here is my perfect game...
Hole #1 is straight forward - be careful to avoid the volleyball players. Aim slightly right so the disk will fade close to the hole.
Hole #2 throw a controlled backhand for a possible ace or try a tomahawk/thumber throw which will always get close to the basket.
Hole #3 another controlled backhand for an easy ace/birdie.
Hole #4 another backhand avoiding the tree, which fades right for a easy birdie.
Hole #5 easy forehand, blind ace shot!
Hole #6 a hard backhand with a fade towards the hole for a birdie.
Hole #7 a hard forehand just under the branches will get you to the pin and a well earned birdie.
Hole #8 is long, has a building on your right and many trees; a gem. Hit a long low straight forearm shot with a fade after passing the first big trees. A good second shot will get you an easy birdie.
Hole #9 an easy forehand will fade into an ace.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly enjoyable

1    1/30/2012   1/31/2012
Review By: b-mart
Played: 45  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets on this course are the biggest pro by a long shot. They're so new that the tone of disc-on-chain actually sounds funny. Navigation isn't too bad, considering that there are signs at each tee. Some form of signage to lead you to the next tee (and to tee 1) would be a nice touch for first timers. This is a great course to introduce people to the game. The holes are short (laughably so at times), but provide enough challenge for anyone to work on their mids and putts. Since it's a college campus, the upkeep of the grounds is top notch. You also can see a lot of potential for playing here as a safari course. They did pretty well with what they had here. There's plenty of use of elevation and a few reasonably tight windowed shots.
Cons: It feels like the designer was half asleep when they designed the place. I found myself creating new holes in my mind by the time I'd played three holes (to an easy two under par I might add). There is a lot of potential here. Holes 8 and 9 almost feel like they were thrown on as an afterthought, but are two of the better holes on the course. Hole 5 is probably the worst hole here. Not only is it so short that I nearly aced it with a nonchalant backhand, but it's dangerously close to a row of parked cars (which I had to putt while leaning against). Being a course aimed at beginners, that's just not intelligent. I would also prefer it if they used the woods between 6 and 7 more, instead of throwing around them. That said, hole 7 is a great challenge and probably my favorite hole on the course.

The flow here is just wrong. Any time you have to walk across another fairway to get to a hole there's something wrong there. This course will never be overcrowded with players though... Just college students at select times of the day.
Other Thoughts: With the rumors of the demise of Blyth Park, this might become my new go to course in the summer evenings to work on my game (sans drives). It's no Blyth or Silver Lake, but it's fun and will still stretch you enough to improve your skill set.

It's listed as a private course on here, but I wouldn't let that phase you. There's plenty of parking available in the neighborhood across the street, and nobody seemed to mind us being there. If anything they would stop and watch what we were doing, meaning that it's a great place for us to be ambassadors for the game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/4/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course on a college campus. Most of these straight forward college courses are open, short and usually all the same like they came off an assembly line but this course looks a little different. First off there are hills and the course uses them by making you throw up and down and on the sides of hills. Holes like number three are deceptive in that it looks very short and it is but the small climb in elevation may make your putter or mid come up shorter than expected. The reverse can be said about holes like number four that are slightly downhill and short with a low ceiling but sailing past the basket 100 feet is easy to do. Speaking of low ceiling I like some of the low ceiling approaches to this place like hole number seven which is a classic keep it under the branches skip shot or my favorite a roller.
Cons: Most college courses that I have played bring the buildings dangerously into play on the course and this place is no exception. It's not incredibly dangerous here but errant shots from noobs are going to hit things and lets face the fact that the majority of people playing here will be college students who are noobs.

Hole eight is a good hole but hardly a par four for anyone who can throw more than 300 feet or so. The hole is probably 380 feet with some good trees blocking your path but it is downhill and very reachable in one throw. My problem with this hole is that you are forced to take the path to the right which is clearly more open and just a smarter play all around and there is potential here for a great split fairway, if the basket was moved up the hill a little more it might force you to choose the left or right side. It would also be nice if some of the hanging bush on that left side were trimmed up like the right side to open that area and make for a better hole.

The tee areas are muddy and destroying the pretty grass here. Most of the time I found a solid alternative in throwing from the sidewalk and this is possible on just about every hole out here and I would encourage people to do so.
Other Thoughts: This is a surprisingly good little practice course on campus that is lots of fun for your short game practice. There are enough obstacles, elevation, and variety of throw style here to keep you busy and having fun for a while. We didn't have any trouble finding things with the exception of the jump from three to four and seven to eight, so the map is still desired for these two sections but once you do it once you have it.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.