Kirkland, WA 
Northwest University DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheSinator Hole #9 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 174ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    9/20/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: pnwooki
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -quick after work course.
-good practice course for beginners to intermediates to work on keeping drives straight and low.
-pretty course on a quite college campus.
-recently played there and lost a disc in a bit of underbrush, got a call from a security guard letting me know he found my disc and it will be waiting for me at the security office.
-course can be altered to be more challenging on the fly. the baskets for 4,5,6 are close together and can be mixed up for a bit of a challenge. i like to shoot for 6 from the 5 tee pad for ex.
Cons: -natural tee pads are twisted/rolled ankles waiting to happen (when possible shoot from street or sidewalk)
-it is on a college campus so if you are working on your drives, kids passing by may pick up your disc.
-a sign pointing from the 3rd basket to the 4th tee could be useful for people who have never played the course.
Other Thoughts: the little cafe by the 2 tee is pretty decent and has some good coffee

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Holes 8&9 now MOVED

5+    8/1/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: bizweasel
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you are looking for a course on the Eastside to play during a summer lunch hour and want some time left over to actually eat lunch in that hour, this course is great. For what's really a very small course it has pretty good variety. Most of the holes are pretty straight so LH/RH or FH/BH don't really come into play but at least half the holes have significant treecover that will keep you low and tight.
Some interesting potential to work on your skips and rollers here.
Campus is very pretty. The little creek besides #3 is cute.
GREAT quality baskets. And pretty good placements of those baskets in situ.
Great place to take your kids along, you will all have fun.
Cons: They need to seriously rethink their teepad strategy. Or lack thereof. I've taken another reviewer's advice and throw from either a sidewalk or the street whenever I can. Both to avoid falling over and to not do further excavation of the sad looking dirt pits that pass as 'tees' here.
The course is SUPER short. Even for a short thrower you do end up wishing there was something longer than ... 225 feet.
Other Thoughts: The previous holes 8 and 9 are OUT now. These used to be by a building that was northeast of Hole 2. Hole 8 was many people's favorites even after it was shortened. It's too bad 8 got changed but 9 is no great loss. The new 8 and 9 are just uphill from 7 and seem awfully crammed in and short. If you've played the old 8, you might be disappointed by the change.
However the new 8+9 are still somewhat fun, with new 8 being a FH flip and 9 being a fun skipper.
A few other minor course changes that happened recently are that tee for #2 moved right/downhill (probably to avoid a roof) and tee/basket for #5 were reversed, not sure why, but the #5 basket is in a tricky/fun location now guarded by a couple small trees and close to a fence.
Because of the usage of the campus it's sort of a summer and evenings place to play, you might feel out of place otherwise.
Watch out for students and others just hanging out, who are maybe not so aware that there are flying discs loose on their campus.
I mentioned lunch ... I recommend the food counter at Metropolitan Market about a mile north ... and the gelato there, mmm.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    1/12/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained - the grass was trimmed and all of the baskets look as new as when they were installed.
Great variety of holes - up hills; down hills; left hyzers; right hyzers; short holes; long holes; tree cover; wide open - a little bit of everything!
Great ace potential!
Beautiful location!
Cons: No tee boxes - luckily it was frozen out, so I had no problems with footing, but I can see where there could be some added difficulty when the course is wet.
Course is located in and around the buildings of an active university. as such I can see that there might be some issues with pedestrian traffic during school hours. I went on a saturday, so it was not too busy.
Course layout hard to navigate for the first time without a map.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun little course to play! Not too far off the the I-405, so it was easy to find, even for an out-of-towner. I was worried about restroom facilities since it was a saturday, but found that the chapel building between holes 3 and 4, was open and the restrooms were right inside the door. I'm not sure if there were other buildings that were available, but it is a possibility.
Hole #1 really set the stage for a fun day, with it starting on high ground, and ending on high ground, but with a huge depression in between. I really had to push it to get all the way across to the other side!
If it's your first time, be sure to print out the course map. Even though there is blue tape on the basket, pointing to the next hole, many times, there was a building or two between them, and you could wander around a bit looking for your next tee. One person I talked to said he finally had to walk the course backwards to find the tee box for hole 8. I found it with no problem, because I had a map :)
Hole #4 is the shortest, but don't think it's an easy ace, as you are shooting it blind around a copse of trees. I thought I actually aced it because I heard the chains but when I walked around, I found the disk on the ground next to the basket :(
I will definitely be back to play it again!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Beginner Course

5+    8/8/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: fruggiedesh
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well kept grounds. No trash, mowed grass, etc.
Variety of shots for a short, 9-hole course.
Easy parking/access when NWU is not in session (summer).
Nice baskets.
Ace runs!
Never crowded during the summer.
Cons: Bordering on too short.
Par 4 #8 should be a par 3.
Some tees are far from previous pin.
Parking is tough during the school year (permit only on campus).
Dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice, clean course close to Seattle. I have played a number of rounds with younger players and beginners and it is a good fit for them. There is limited underbrush, which means limited time hunting for/losing discs even on the most errant throws. Many of the dirt tee pads are worn or muddy during rain. I tend to throw from the roads or sidewalks adjacent to the dirt when possible. I nearly always chat with security when I play and they are friendly and curious about the sport of disc golf.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 College Pitch & Putt Course Only With A Personality!

1    4/15/2012   4/15/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As sillybizz so clearly explains, most college courses all seem cut from the same mold. Most of them seem that they were designed by someone from the intramural department with no clue whatsoever about disc golf. NWDGC breaks the mold in while it is still short, (it's mostly a pitch and putt) the elevation, the unique challenge for most every hole and overall tranquililty of the campus gives the entire experience a positve feel. I just kind of liked everything about the campus and playing here. # 3 plays slightly uphill next to a little stream and waterfall in a valley. Kinds of gives it a Japaneese Water Garden feel to it. You can almost feel the Zen! You're welcome to park on campus if there's a spot available. I saw neighbors walking onto campus, playing the course, almost using the campus like a neighborhood park.
The baskets are nice and new with blue rims with the college logo on the side. Navigation was fairly simple for me, playing here for the first time this morning. There are plenty of ACE Ops here.
Cons: The teepads are dirt and not particularily level. Most of the holes don't require a run-up but the pads would probably get a little messy during our mostly rainy season.
The course is not to going to challenge most players. Many holes are under 200' but at least most of these offer some uniqueness whether it's a low ceiling or low lying branches right in front of the basket.
Other Thoughts: I like that on a Sunday morning, I saw a neighbor with his two young sons playing. It gave me a chance to educate him a little bit on where to buy some decent discs and let him and his sons try throwing mine.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.