Sanborn, IA 
Miller Park Share
Uploaded By: Pembertonian Hole #3 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 326ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 HomeCourt Baby!

2-4    10/3/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: musclehed03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I regard this as my Home court. it is closest to my house and i play it often. there is some technical holes in the front nine. there was definitely some thought in the first nine holes. there is also a long bomb shot where u can let some discs fly from the tee.
Cons: Really don't like how the back nine was just thrown in there with out very much thought. you have to walk pretty far in between holes and that makes the other holes longer? there is a hole that spans across a "bowel" that is kind of lame. There is a lot of out of bounds areas, i guess since this is a shared park with many other things that is ok, but if you don't want me using a line to get through then plant a tree, or some other kind of natural barrier. not a sign, or an electric fence! stay away from the electric fence that goes around the waste water treatment lagoon! How's that for a Hazzard?!
Other Thoughts: I play this often, while i complain about the back nine, i will continue to play this as it is close to my house and it has 18 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 9 in the land of city park 9s

1    6/15/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Huge map at the start with scorecards
-Signs on every hole as well as the scorecard
-Nice cement tees
-Nice baskets in good shape
-Good length and variety of length. Only one real open and straight shot.
-Great flow, always know where the next tee is, especially if you check the map
-Shouldn't lose a disc here
-A lot of trees that require shot shaping and low, fast throws.
-Looks like there is a good support group for this course. Leagues and tourneys held here.
-Well maintained and clean city park
-Course doesn't really interfere with any other part of city park.
-A few ace run holes but they aren't just straight and open, you have to hit the right line first!
-This is a pretty small town so you are probably going to have the course to yourself as I did.
Cons: -Just 9 holes, maybe expand onto that hill next to the park!
-Pretty flat, not too much challenge from the elevation.
-Even with the trees you didn't have to shape your shots any certain way, there was always multiple ways to the basket
Other Thoughts: Iowa seems to have more 9 hole courses in small towns than any other state. Many of them seemed to be loved and well designed. This course was a good challenge and I would say is designed for the intermediate level. A bit easy for a pro and a bit hard for a beginner. Beginners would benefit from playing this course. I don't think it would be too frustrating. If you for some reason happen to be in the area I would play here but don't drive from some far off distance for it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/28/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: Discin'Pidgeon
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Overall good 9 hole course. The first couple of par 3's have some good length and tree cover, so if you have a bad drive could be looking at a bogey. Hole 8 is a bit tricky with all of the trees but they kept it short to make it manageable. also good length on the last hole. If your around the area its a good play.
Cons: most of the holes are straight and there isn't much shot variety. the par 4's are somewhat short and easy to birdie.
Other Thoughts: well kept! its got a golf course right by it where you can eat. also a park so the kids can play there with restrooms. real easy to find from parking lot its a fun play!

 Course for the straight shots

1    9/5/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are clearly marked. Bathrooms are very accessible. Great course map at the information booth including score cards. At each tee the par, distance, and a map complete with markings for out-of-bounds are present.
The course is unique because of the ground cover. Nearly every (except for #9) hole has tree cover. Some start right away with tree cover, others are clear but the basket is surrounded by young trees. The course is a quick play with some shot variety. Elevation is flat, but the course is well-mowed and maintained.
Cons: Because the course is compact, stray shots would easily interfere with other holes.
The three 4-par holes, all sub 400 ft. could have been 3 par.
Other Thoughts: The tree cover is mostly young trees, but it still makes for a challenging game if your straight game is not up to par. Deciding between overhand and straight shots on the holes was a challenge too. Overall a good course especially because the shots required were different from most other courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.