Sanborn, IA 
Miller Park Share
Uploaded By: Pembertonian Hole #9 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 351ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Excellent

1    8/17/2014   8/17/2014
Review By: Jrdn0711
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good baskets.
Nice teepads.
Good variation in holes.
Fair amount of trees.
Fair pars.
Cons: Takes a while to play.
Unclear of where to throw sometimes.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course. If I had this course in my home town, I would play it all the time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/18/2013   10/23/2013
Review By: dgking
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course can have two different attitudes on any given day. Those that have good technical skills will shine on this course as most of the shots require a mix of finesse, accuracy, and distance. This course will show you your weaknesses. There are a mix of wooded and open fairways. Mandos and OB can also ruin an otherwise decent round.
Cons: Sometimes there is park traffic on the course, although it can be easily avoided.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good course with challenge and variety

1    8/11/2013   8/12/2013
Review By: govigsfly
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course with great variety - Mid and long distance, shots with lots of trees and other are wide open. Nice use of small hills on the back nine (one basket sits on top of a steep mound).
Nice map and sign to explain course.
Cons: Some of the back nine have areas you can lose a disc (though not too bad if you are careful).
People and cars in the park could effect your shots (my friend actually hit someone when throwing).
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun 18 basket course with lots of variety and challenge for leisure players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 HomeCourt Baby!

2-4    10/3/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: musclehed03
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I regard this as my Home court. it is closest to my house and i play it often. there is some technical holes in the front nine. there was definitely some thought in the first nine holes. there is also a long bomb shot where u can let some discs fly from the tee.
Cons: Really don't like how the back nine was just thrown in there with out very much thought. you have to walk pretty far in between holes and that makes the other holes longer? there is a hole that spans across a "bowel" that is kind of lame. There is a lot of out of bounds areas, i guess since this is a shared park with many other things that is ok, but if you don't want me using a line to get through then plant a tree, or some other kind of natural barrier. not a sign, or an electric fence! stay away from the electric fence that goes around the waste water treatment lagoon! How's that for a Hazzard?!
Other Thoughts: I play this often, while i complain about the back nine, i will continue to play this as it is close to my house and it has 18 holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good course in small town!

1    7/28/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: FredHJ12
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice and detailed sign at the start of the course.
-Tee signs are top notch. They even show where the next tee is.
-Tee boxes are in good condition.
-Baskets are in great condition, especailly the new ones on the back 9.
-The park appears to be maintained and the grass appears to be cut regularly.
-Front 9 is shaded, while the back 9 is more open.
-The trees are put to good use as obstacles.
-Despite this, the chance of losing a disc in a tree is slim.
-The back 9 has some very nice bomb shots, especially hole 18, which is around 450 feet.
-You can put all of your discs to good use here because of the variety of trees and brush on the front 9, and wide open space on the back 9.
-Better chance of getting an ace here than most places.
-You won't have to worry about heavy course traffic.
Cons: -When wet and rainy, the course was extremely muddy.
-The fairways on the front 9 somewhat intersect, but it is not much of a hassle even with a bit of traffic.
-The back 9 is miserable on a windy day. Granted, I am a beginner, but I think that intermediates and experts alike may find trouble. Absolutely no tree cover, and it is rather easy to completely let one fly into the bean field or the sewer nearby.
-I personally didn't think the back 9 was necessary. It is on a hill that has very good frolf potential, but I don't think it was put to good enough use.
Other Thoughts: This was a rather nice course, and a lot of people will really enjoy the back 9 that was just put in!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 9 in the land of city park 9s

1    6/15/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Huge map at the start with scorecards
-Signs on every hole as well as the scorecard
-Nice cement tees
-Nice baskets in good shape
-Good length and variety of length. Only one real open and straight shot.
-Great flow, always know where the next tee is, especially if you check the map
-Shouldn't lose a disc here
-A lot of trees that require shot shaping and low, fast throws.
-Looks like there is a good support group for this course. Leagues and tourneys held here.
-Well maintained and clean city park
-Course doesn't really interfere with any other part of city park.
-A few ace run holes but they aren't just straight and open, you have to hit the right line first!
-This is a pretty small town so you are probably going to have the course to yourself as I did.
Cons: -Just 9 holes, maybe expand onto that hill next to the park!
-Pretty flat, not too much challenge from the elevation.
-Even with the trees you didn't have to shape your shots any certain way, there was always multiple ways to the basket
Other Thoughts: Iowa seems to have more 9 hole courses in small towns than any other state. Many of them seemed to be loved and well designed. This course was a good challenge and I would say is designed for the intermediate level. A bit easy for a pro and a bit hard for a beginner. Beginners would benefit from playing this course. I don't think it would be too frustrating. If you for some reason happen to be in the area I would play here but don't drive from some far off distance for it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/28/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: Discin'Pidgeon
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Overall good 9 hole course. The first couple of par 3's have some good length and tree cover, so if you have a bad drive could be looking at a bogey. Hole 8 is a bit tricky with all of the trees but they kept it short to make it manageable. also good length on the last hole. If your around the area its a good play.
Cons: most of the holes are straight and there isn't much shot variety. the par 4's are somewhat short and easy to birdie.
Other Thoughts: well kept! its got a golf course right by it where you can eat. also a park so the kids can play there with restrooms. real easy to find from parking lot its a fun play!

 Course for the straight shots

1    9/5/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: tlandegent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are clearly marked. Bathrooms are very accessible. Great course map at the information booth including score cards. At each tee the par, distance, and a map complete with markings for out-of-bounds are present.
The course is unique because of the ground cover. Nearly every (except for #9) hole has tree cover. Some start right away with tree cover, others are clear but the basket is surrounded by young trees. The course is a quick play with some shot variety. Elevation is flat, but the course is well-mowed and maintained.
Cons: Because the course is compact, stray shots would easily interfere with other holes.
The three 4-par holes, all sub 400 ft. could have been 3 par.
Other Thoughts: The tree cover is mostly young trees, but it still makes for a challenging game if your straight game is not up to par. Deciding between overhand and straight shots on the holes was a challenge too. Overall a good course especially because the shots required were different from most other courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, But Not Great Niner

1    4/20/2010   4/21/2010
Review By: DiSCRoCKeR
Played: 107  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy flowing rec 9 in a nicely kept park. There are cement tees and signs for all holes. Camping and a ball golf course located in the same park.
Cons: No alternate pin placements. Tee placement in conjunction to some of the holes could have been planned out much better to make for nicer lines to the baskets. Some small picnic shelters are in the fairway of holes 2 and 5. Flat, flat, and more flat. A few easy par 4s, all of the holes should be par 3.
Other Thoughts: Worth stopping by for a quick nine if you're in the area, but not really worth traveling to unless you live close by.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 awsome corse

5+    7/26/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: aendorf
Played: 46  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great corse, very well kept, a wide varity of leanth and accurcy all holes have numbers on the tees and the baskets, a detailed map at the start of the course, score cards avalible at the first tee each tee has a hole map on which basket and hazards

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.