White Settlement, TX 
Saddle Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #1 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 305ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Long Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Plesant Surprise

1    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: Tiny
Played: 34  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Normally I do a 1-10 list of stuff I like. Let's change the format.

I pull up expecting a bad course, but it is just a disc golf course, which is awesome compared to a lot I've played. There is ALOT of shots needed, including the following, hyzers, straight shots, hyzer spikes, hyzer flips, anhyzers, flex shots, and even a thumber if you prefer that to hyzerflips.

It's well groomed on a lot of the holes, others would be hard to groom due to the terrain. There is a lot of hiking involved on this course, so bring water! I loved the hiking, makes disc golf so much more enjoyable to me.

Last but not least, low traffic on the course when I played. Not too many chuckers aimlessly chucking discs while I'm finishing the hole.
Cons: There's a couple, The teepads could actually be concrete instead of dirt that is rocky. A couple of them I decided throwing on the side of it was safer.

The signs were hard to read and both pin locations aren't marked, so scouting the holes in necessary.

Some of the spots where you need to cross the creek, there is very few ways to do so, a lot of them you just have to trek around or chance getting your feet wet. This place could use some big rocks in the places where you cross or small discreet bridges, I'd love to keep it mostly natural, because that's what it mostly is atm.
Other Thoughts: I'll play here again, and soon. A lot of the holes are short and I've been working on teeing off with my putters. It's a solid course, bring a map, you will get lost.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Saddle Hills

2-4    3/4/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging, technical course.
Cons: Very difficult to find your was around. Make sure you take a map - even then you will still get lost at least once. Extremely overgrown in some spots.
Other Thoughts: I will never play this course in the spring or summer again. I lost two discs on this course, both in spots that I thought for sure I would be able to find the disc. Its just way too overgrown and it eats discs. Only go when the vegetation is dead i.e. fall or winter. But it is a fun course, offering a lot of riskreward, and some good elevation and obstacles.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings

1    4/13/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I pulled up in the parking lot, it looked like another mediocre park course. I was very pleasantly surprised when the course went back into the woods. Several holes play with very tight lines through dense scrubby trees. Some of these play along a small creek, adding some cool looking shots and some fun risky greens.

A few of the holes play more open, and have more distance in play. Some steep hills add some fun downhill shots and some tricky uphill shots. The park style holes at the beginning and end provide a nice contrast to the wilder holes in the middle, and have enough trees and water in play to keep things interesting.
Cons: Navigation is rough here, there are some longer walks, the tees aren't marked and the course plays in three different sections of the park with road crossings between. Even with the course map there was some frustrating wandering to find all the holes, and more walking to figure out where to throw since there are no tee signs.

The tees are really rough, with many that are rocky or rutted and simply don't provide a good throwing surface. Some areas of the course were pretty overgrown when I played, and offered chances to lose a disc in the middle of the fairway. A few holes in the middle felt like simple wide open filler holes that didn't fit with the character of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor is high here, there are several really cool holes bringing water and elevation into play. Beginners may find this course a bit tough, with some punishing rough and a few longer holes. More experienced players will enjoy the variety of challenges here. This would be a great course to have locally, it was a little frustrating for a traveling player without a guide but still well worth the stop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good only small let down

1    6/21/2012   6/22/2012
Review By: Discengineer
Played: 67  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has come a long ways from a 9 hole course about 6 months back. But lets just say this is a very good course of change up shots, elevation, creek. My only hang ups are no Concrete pads, 13,14 really suck mainly 14 its a disc eater/loser way over grown and very hard to hit. 13 straight up hill fun but to many stick tights. Needs some weedeater. Hole 9 Took awhile to find and figure out
Cons: No Concrete Tees
Hole 9 Took awhile to find
Need a map
14 is bad
Other Thoughts: Was a very fun course just needs a little more traffic but will come back to this one. Majority of it is great

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Brandon Melton Does it Again

1    5/8/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Kuel
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: Variety of shots needed. I threw every disc in my bag, literally, I've never been able to say that before. Very secluded feel once you get away from the main park. Some good risk/reward shots in the meat of the course of that help keep rounds interesting.
Cons: TAKE THE MAP YOUR FIRST TIME. My buddy and I spent 30 minutes looking for the pin on 9, after we mistakenly threw at 12's pin. Still very new and needs to be broken in some more (So go play it). The fairway is a little tight on 17 (next to Clifford) but it could be seen as just another challenge to the course. Some holes could also use some OB clarification.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. My score on this course was exactly what I scored at Z-Boaz, which I had played immediately prior. 14 is not even funny.

 Pretty good

2-4    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of large piece of land out there. Like the elevation changes and wooded sections of the course. A good challenge from the yellow and white tees. Shorter doesn't necessarily mean easier! Lots of different looks and shots to use. Glad to see them make this 18. Even on some of the open holes, they did a good job of protecting the baskets with trees or bushes. As long as you're putting alright, you should be able to at least par most of them. Lots of trash cans, so it isn't as dirty as some wooded courses you find.
Cons: Pretty grown over.. I can see how it would be hard to keep mowed/trimmed. A little tough to navigate, not impossible at all, but first timers will do a lot of looking around for tee pads and baskets. I think it's hole 10, but you throw right through the power line wires that go into the ground. Not a big deal, just didn't make a lot of sense to us. Not a lot of complaints.
Other Thoughts: We drove around the block to park in the parking lot, but we saw others park in the street along the 1st hole and that seemed ok. There's gas stations in the neighborhood so you can buy your drinks when you get out there. Worth the drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

could be a great course

5+    12/26/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 213  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great course design & flow
-land is well utilized
-huge variety in tee shots
-dual tees on most holes
-dual basket positions on most holes
-water, elevation, blind baskets
-creek is calm and shallow
-nice neighborhood, right off the highway
-kiosk at start of course (map doesn't have new holes yet)
-detailed signs w/ map & distances (no signs yet on the new holes)
Cons: -hole 5 is gone since the path along the creek has collapsed
-still no proper tee pads; rocky & uneven, especially on the back 9
-blind tee shot on #3 could hit #4 tee
-difficult paths and hills for those balance-challenged
-water crossings can be flooded in wet season
-water crossings on back 9 have few places to cross, needs bridges or stepping stones
-a few areas prone to getting muddy/swampy
-no restrooms or water fountains
-until signs go in on the new holes, navigation will be tricky for first timers
Other Thoughts: When this was only 9 holes, it was by far the most fun 9-hole course I had played. Now, with 18 holes this could be one of the premiere courses in Ft. Worth. The course makes great use of the land, which is well suited to creating a variety of unique fairways and obstacles. For those familiar with the original course, the new 9 holes are between 5 and old hole 6. After crossing the creek to basket 5, continue ahead to find the tee for the new hole 6. Hole 14 will spit you out very close to the old hole 6.

The creek that runs through the park comes into play on 1, 5, 8, 9, 12, 15, 18 and maybe 4 & 8 but it is easy to retrieve discs from it. Major elevation changes on 1, 3, 4, 12, 13, 14, 16 as well as rolling hills and drop offs around many greens make elevation a big factor here. Hole 13 is an insanely steep but short uphill shot.

The old 9 was on the shorter side but the new holes add some great distance shots. Holes 9, 12, 14 are long par 4's, each over 500' from the longs. There are dirt tees with painted markers. The pathways are starting to become worn but some are still a bit treacherous, particularly the path down the hill on #4, the path along the creek on #5, and the climb up the hill on #13. The paths are not worn in yet on the new 9 and dry creek crossings are badly needed on 9 and 12.

The old tee setup no longer applies. The tee posts have been repainted so that the long tees are all gold and the shorts are white. (They used to be mixed, the originals were gold and the new were white. Some golds were long, some whites were long.) Many of the alternate tees also offer a significantly different look at the fairway and change the way the hole plays.

This course has never been busy in the past. Once the word gets out about this course, and the new 9 holes in particular, I think it may divert some traffic from Z-Boaz. I think the new holes really bump up the variety (which was already great), the distance (which was needed), and the legitimacy of a full 18 holes. This course rivals Z-Boaz and personally, I think it is better!

*Update*
Until the finishing touches are finally put in on this course it will remain the redheaded stepchild of Ft. Worth DG. The tees are a pain on the back 9 and hole 5 has been pulled since the path next to the creek eroded. This course really needs some love and fundraising.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.