Disc Golf Store
White Settlement, TX 
Saddle Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #18 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 315ft.   3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Pretty good

2-4    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of large piece of land out there. Like the elevation changes and wooded sections of the course. A good challenge from the yellow and white tees. Shorter doesn't necessarily mean easier! Lots of different looks and shots to use. Glad to see them make this 18. Even on some of the open holes, they did a good job of protecting the baskets with trees or bushes. As long as you're putting alright, you should be able to at least par most of them. Lots of trash cans, so it isn't as dirty as some wooded courses you find.
Cons: Pretty grown over.. I can see how it would be hard to keep mowed/trimmed. A little tough to navigate, not impossible at all, but first timers will do a lot of looking around for tee pads and baskets. I think it's hole 10, but you throw right through the power line wires that go into the ground. Not a big deal, just didn't make a lot of sense to us. Not a lot of complaints.
Other Thoughts: We drove around the block to park in the parking lot, but we saw others park in the street along the 1st hole and that seemed ok. There's gas stations in the neighborhood so you can buy your drinks when you get out there. Worth the drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Superb

1    3/13/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: Smickie
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Alot of variety! The different changes in elevation, tough shots in the woods, and a few birdie chances made this course a very welcome treat. It definitely rivals Z-Boaz. Used every shot in my bag.
Cons: Only thing I can think of is that some of the holes on the back nine could use some maintenance. it gets pretty rough in some spots.
Other Thoughts: I had an excellent time out here. Met a guy named Tony at hole one who was happy to show me the course. It was very helpful because the course is a little difficult to navigate your first time. I will be returning to play Saddle Hills again and again. Definitely worth the drive!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there.

5+    12/31/2011   12/31/2011
Review By: cosmic womb
Played: 74  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Now it is 18! The new nine added much needed distance that wasn't possible with the first nine.
Great variety and lots of looks to challenge and add to the overall experience.
Cons: Need concrete pads, creek crossings, and some paths(especially the elevated holes) need some work which is in the works.
Other Thoughts: The land was going to waste and not the best for anything but for what there was to work with nothing but positives for the city as well as the disc golf community.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

could be a great course

5+    12/26/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 212  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great course design & flow
-land is well utilized
-huge variety in tee shots
-dual tees on most holes
-dual basket positions on most holes
-water, elevation, blind baskets
-creek is calm and shallow
-nice neighborhood, right off the highway
-kiosk at start of course (map doesn't have new holes yet)
-detailed signs w/ map & distances (no signs yet on the new holes)
Cons: -hole 5 is gone since the path along the creek has collapsed
-still no proper tee pads; rocky & uneven, especially on the back 9
-blind tee shot on #3 could hit #4 tee
-difficult paths and hills for those balance-challenged
-water crossings can be flooded in wet season
-water crossings on back 9 have few places to cross, needs bridges or stepping stones
-a few areas prone to getting muddy/swampy
-no restrooms or water fountains
-until signs go in on the new holes, navigation will be tricky for first timers
Other Thoughts: When this was only 9 holes, it was by far the most fun 9-hole course I had played. Now, with 18 holes this could be one of the premiere courses in Ft. Worth. The course makes great use of the land, which is well suited to creating a variety of unique fairways and obstacles. For those familiar with the original course, the new 9 holes are between 5 and old hole 6. After crossing the creek to basket 5, continue ahead to find the tee for the new hole 6. Hole 14 will spit you out very close to the old hole 6.

The creek that runs through the park comes into play on 1, 5, 8, 9, 12, 15, 18 and maybe 4 & 8 but it is easy to retrieve discs from it. Major elevation changes on 1, 3, 4, 12, 13, 14, 16 as well as rolling hills and drop offs around many greens make elevation a big factor here. Hole 13 is an insanely steep but short uphill shot.

The old 9 was on the shorter side but the new holes add some great distance shots. Holes 9, 12, 14 are long par 4's, each over 500' from the longs. There are dirt tees with painted markers. The pathways are starting to become worn but some are still a bit treacherous, particularly the path down the hill on #4, the path along the creek on #5, and the climb up the hill on #13. The paths are not worn in yet on the new 9 and dry creek crossings are badly needed on 9 and 12.

The old tee setup no longer applies. The tee posts have been repainted so that the long tees are all gold and the shorts are white. (They used to be mixed, the originals were gold and the new were white. Some golds were long, some whites were long.) Many of the alternate tees also offer a significantly different look at the fairway and change the way the hole plays.

This course has never been busy in the past. Once the word gets out about this course, and the new 9 holes in particular, I think it may divert some traffic from Z-Boaz. I think the new holes really bump up the variety (which was already great), the distance (which was needed), and the legitimacy of a full 18 holes. This course rivals Z-Boaz and personally, I think it is better!

*Update*
Until the finishing touches are finally put in on this course it will remain the redheaded stepchild of Ft. Worth DG. The tees are a pain on the back 9 and hole 5 has been pulled since the path next to the creek eroded. This course really needs some love and fundraising.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Course now has 18 holes!

5+    11/28/2011   11/29/2011
Review By: roadshow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you play the original 9 from both teeboxes it's a fun little course. The new 9 adds a new feel to the course.
Cons: The new 9 still needs a little work which they are doing. So a little more time and it'll be great. Some of the new holes are easy to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Now that this course is 18 holes I hope more people check it out.
You start out on the same #1 and after hole 5 take a left to go back to the new # 6. From there it flows pretty well. The original #6 is now #15.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.