North Port Charlotte, FL 
North Charlotte Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: BJ White Hole #13 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 303ft.   3 / 338ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    3/8/2015   3/17/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique aesthetic on a tight course through a palm forest. I found the fairways to be very fair and where the lines were constricting, there was rarely any obstacles to disrupt a shot on the right line. Very important on a course where the underbrush off the fairway can get thick. And the lines are nice, a variety of finishes to each direction and a handful of holes with double bends. I think it is one of those course that would be enjoyed more by successive plays. But the aesthetic, which may be common in the area, was new to me. I haven't seen palms so dense before so that they would line the fairways the same way pines would on a course farther to the north. It's definitely the most memorable feature of the course.
While a few open shots, and one long water carry, provide additional variety, the course is mostly these technical holes that can really punish bad throws and, more often than not, reward caution. Lots of places where there is a safe shot that you now you can leave in the fairway but will leave you settling for par at best. A more aggressive shot might give a chance at birdie but also a chance of not hitting a tight line and being buried in shule. Good stuff.
Baskets are good and occasionally holes have two. Tees are good. Navigation from basket to tee is easy. For a player of some experience, there is not much to dislike here. There may not have been a single hole that blew me away, but the overall consistency and quality of the course is quite high.
Cons:
The obvious issue is how far 18 leaves you from 1. I'm not sure if it's possible to add holes that play back to the lot but it is a long gap. Other than that, there were a few holes I was iffy about. There is nice flick shot that plays next to the outfield fence of a baseball field. Not a true hazard but at a course that was otherwise clear of interference with other park activities, I wonder if there was another way to do that. I also didn't really care for 10. The majority of the course plays through such natural terrain that it is jarring to play down a corridor that preexisted the course. Now, I tend to dislike this type of hole more than most, and there is only one of them, but is flow interrupting.
Additionally, better signage would help. The tees are easily identifiable but the posts note only the distance. At a wooded course with many baskets that aren't visible from the tee, (and some fairways have second curves) I would really like to see a picture of the hole shape.
North Charlotte is a course that would slot in a 3.75 for me if that was an option. Very good course but, similar to Magnolia, not one that will really stand out if one has played outside of Florida. There isn't really a signature hole. And there isn't really any elevation.
Other Thoughts:
There are separate tees on some holes. There are a few times where these are used well, such as 16. The long tee here is along carry over a pond that is home to a gator. Beautiful and challenging shot. The short tee is far enough to the right that it avoids forcing a player to carry any of it. There are other occasions where an additional tee makes a difficult hole easier for a new player. But there are a bunch of times where playing from the added tee ruins the flow of the hole and the original design is just superior.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

great example of SW FL DG

2-4    3/5/2015   3/7/2015
Review By: blazerico
Played: 202  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: dedicated land for dg is always a good thing. there is no reason for anyone else to be on the course, so you won't have to deal with walkers, bikers, etc.
tight and technical but mostly fair, no impossible fairways
Cons: finding hole 1, even with a map was kinda a pain. even had a hard time finding #1 the second time I played, haha. I didn't detract from my rating because of the elusiveness of #1 though.
Other Thoughts: i love how all FL courses have bathrooms with running water.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice...BUT

1    3/4/2015   3/4/2015
Review By: adkponds
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A nice layout from what little we were able to find of this course.
Cons: The cons greatly outweighed the pros from our perspective. Never found #1, actually never found the front nine. There was one sign from where we parked pointing you to the first tee but we never found it. Actually ran in to two others that were also playing here for the first time also. They asked us where #1 was, we answered you tell us and we'll both know. So we actually walked backwards from #18 trying to see if we could make any progress from there. Multiple tees with posts pointing you this way and that way. Unfortunately you never knew where the disc catchers were unless you walked part of the holes too see what direction you have to throw the disc. So we were only able to retrace our steps to #12. Have to say it was very disappointing as we expected much more from this complex.
Other Thoughts: Please at least direct people to the start in a far more efficient and well marked signs. Layout of each hole at the tee box would be extremely helpful. Maybe a kiosk with detail would help people, seems from previous reviews a number of people couldn't find the start. Will be back again, just to challenge myself and see if I can find tee box #1

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beware the Rough!

2-4    11/27/2014   11/27/2014
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest pro - once you spend 30 minutes looking for the first tee - is that the course is a breeze to navigate. Stevie Wonder could find his way around without use of a cane.

The tee signs and distance were plentiful, though I wish it had pics of the holes. on the front 9, a lot of the holes you have no idea where the basket is. I had to walk up and back several times to find it.

And as my title mentions, get off into the palmettos and good luck. I spent lots of time digging through palmetto's trying to find plastic I'd advise throwing something bright - blue, pink, orange - but not green!

On the front 9, it seemed to be a majorly lefty friendly course. 3-9 all seemed to finish left.

The back 9 was my favorite. More open. You could grip-and-rip on several holes - if you have an average arm. Long arms would over throw the holes.

Being a tight course, you don't need many discs. I essentially played with a buzz, sidewinder and one stable fore-hand disc. Could easily play with just a buzz and putter.
Cons: The worst - and this is huge - is finding the first tee.I came from out of town with limited time to play and it took me over 30 minutes to find it. I found what I thought was the parking lot - had a sign mentioning the course - but was by hole 16. Later I found a sign pointing to hole 1...a quarter mile away! You either park at the first tee and walk a quarter mile to your car when done. Or park by 18 and walk a quarter mile to start.

But after looking at an aerial view, it would be tough to finish back at 1

I also found 1-2 being ridiculously tight, basically a hope and pray hole. No direct line to the basket. 3-9 were the same basic shot over and over. Not much to brag about.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing, I'm sure locals have found all the limited lines to hit on the front 9. But the repetitious shots on the front 9 lowered my rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good as it could be

1    4/28/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: amcnutt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well placed. Challenging. Well maintained. Most have alternate tees or pins. Well marked. You can't go wrong. Picnic tables. Trash cans every other hole. Plenty of parking.
Cons: No long holes. No elevation change, but how could there be in Florida.
Other Thoughts: Bring a towel. The dew last long. The pin at 10 is closest to restroom with water.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Twin of N Watertower course!

1    2/16/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful park that is primarily for baseball, this course has a section all to itself. You will play through palm trees and palmettos on a medium scale (lengthwise), but on a slightly advanced scale tecnique-wise. The course starts with a few very thickly wooded and tight holes, then progress to fairways that are narrow, but with trees lining the edges of the fairways. Eventually, you will break out into grassy fairways - a few which are bordered by watery canals (they were dry in the winter).

The design was well balanced and fair. Good throws are rewarded, bad ones can be brutal to recover from. The use of multiple pins (in the ground, not ones that rotate) and multiple tee pads on some of the holes add variety. I like that the additional tee pads don't necessarily add length - they change the shot altogether.

Good vibes - the course is quite well-maintained - even to the point that somebody spray painted remaining tree stumps so that nobody trips over them. Also, the people on the course were very friendly - everyone I ran into was welcoming.

Navigation was pretty easy (once you find the first hole) - "Next tee" signs everywhere.
Cons: I would have not found the first tee if it hadn't been for these reviews here. Soooo - I will repeat - enter the park at the north entrance and go down the paved path between the first 2 baseball fields - you will find the first tee down to your left. Somebody please put a kiosk here!

Blind pins - this isn't a huge issue, but it is frustrating for a first timer to have to walk up on so many holes - signs would alleviate this.
Other Thoughts: Although there are no real "Wow factor" holes here, I certainly thought this place was solid and I will certainly try to play here if I return.

A WTF moment - the benches were graffiti'd but I noticed that the name of the club that was playing that very day had wrote their name on a bench - don't disrespect your own course guys!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

2-4    12/8/2013   12/10/2013
Review By: jselleh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight technical course,makes you really think about your shot before you commit,nice cement T pads,pretty well marked.
Cons: None that I can think of except you may need a machete if you end up in the jungle.Watch for fire ants and if near the water the occasional gator.
Other Thoughts: Very different than the southwest courses I normally play.locals were very helpful especially getting my disc out of a palm tree,Thanks man did not get your name but appreciated the help.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/26/2013   2/27/2013
Review By: boursin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2015
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: TURN OFF US41 (TAMIAMI TRAIL) ONTO ODONNAL STREET. TAKE THE FOURTH TURN/STREET TO YOUR RIGHT-do not count the parking lot at the Chiropractors office-which is directly off US41.....-(WHERE YOU FIRST SEE THE BASEBALL FIELDS TO YOUR RIGHT). THERE IS A SIGN AT THE TURN THAT SAYS DISC GOLF HOLE ONE. PARK WHERE YOU LIKE. OK TO FIND HOLE #1- LOOK FOR THE BASEBALL FIELD WITH THE LARGEST BACKSTOP OF ALL OF THE FIELDS'-IT IS VERY LARGE- this is the first field to your right when you pull into the park. Walk towards the field GO DOWN THE THIRD BASE LINE WHERE THERE IS SIDEWALK THAT TURNS INTO A DIRT PATH.THAT IS WHERE HOLE #1 IS. I HOPE THIS HELPS The course is clean well maintained and pretty. Multiple tee pads and pins give a lot of variety to playing. Concrete tee pads are awesome. Easy to find your way around once you find hole #1. The friendliest players around and they are always willing to show you around or they will ask you to join them. Larger groups let you play through.Very tight on most hole with a few open holes. very pretty scenery,no houses or other impediments except on #11 where there is a ball field on the left side(only a really poor shot will have you landing in the ball field. there are mini statues and and little gnomes and frogs spread throughout the course just look around and you will see them. Do not take the gnomes it will bring you bad luck. Great league play as well.
Cons: Need a sign for hole number one. And a course map for each hole would be nice for newer plaerys to find the baskets
Other Thoughts: In the last year this course has become very busy and rightly so it is a great course even though it lacks elevation. It will test your course management. Precise throws are needed. Be careful when you throw into the palmettos your legs could get scratched up..."so throw strait" Come and enjoy one of the finest courses in all of Florida

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Solid SW Florida Course

5+    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 40.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Set in an area of the park dedicated to disc golf.

+ Most holes have multiple concrete tees and about half have two permanent baskets.

+ The course flows well and is very easy to navigate.

+ The course plays through the woods, comes out to go around a small lake, and then finishes back in the woods.

+ Restrooms located at the baseball area and the soccer area.

+ Friendly locals and a solid league.

+ Food available while baseball games are going on.
Cons: - "The Walk" There is a long walk between hole 1 and hole 18 with a massive parking lot inbetween them.

- Hole 1 hard to locate. Enter the park at the 1st entrance, follow the sidewalk that goes between the two baseball fields on the right until a wide dirt trail heads off to the woods.

- Two of the holes are a little too close to the baseball fields.

- The tee signs only list hole # and distance. 1st timers will have to walk some of the fairways to find the baskets.

- Alcohol banned at the park, but enforcement seems to be a low priority.

Other Thoughts: Overall an improvement over the previous course layout. Multiple tees/pins make it possible to play the course several different ways.

The "locals", the league and the tournaments mostly meet and start at hole 16, located by the soccer fields.

This is a fun and challenging course! The positives far outwiegh the negatives. Come and play it!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 "The Preserve"

1    4/4/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 229  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 8.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight fairways force to to hold back on distance for accuracy or risk leaving the fairway for a few more feet.
several hole shad 2 tee pads, 2 baskets, or both. Hole 7 had 3 tee pads.
Hole 16 has 4 different ways to play over the water with various levels of risk.
Baskets in good shape with big visable number plates and bright pink tape to make them more visable.
Navigation was pretty easy with signs pointing to the next tee.
Cons: Hole 1 needs a mando, unless they want half of the players to hoss the high hyser route instead of the intended path. No ob or mando marked. No sign to first tee and no signage guiding you back to the parking lot after hole 18
5 minute walk back to the car after the round.
Practice area has been removed, so there is no where to warm up or practice putting like there used to be.
Tee signs were just hole number and distance, no idea where the blind baskets were.
Course is too tight to be beginner friendly and the narrow shots get repetative.
Hole 11 has the baseball field on the left. Calling it a safety hazard is a little drastic since only a truely bad shot will go over the fence, but it is a possibility.
Other Thoughts: there are no longer any signs that a disc golf course is present. Softball players used to ask what the baskets were and it would get a conversation started, now the course is hidden.
The course has improved, but I guess I was hoping for more since they had a chance to learn from the past and get tons of feedback.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.