Disc Golf Center
North Port Charlotte, FL 
North Charlotte Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #16 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 238ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16A (Long Tee) Basket to Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Beware the Rough!

2-4    11/27/2014   11/27/2014
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 47  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: The biggest pro - once you spend 30 minutes looking for the first tee - is that the course is a breeze to navigate. Stevie Wonder could find his way around without use of a cane.

The tee signs and distance were plentiful, though I wish it had pics of the holes. on the front 9, a lot of the holes you have no idea where the basket is. I had to walk up and back several times to find it.

And as my title mentions, get off into the palmettos and good luck. I spent lots of time digging through palmetto's trying to find plastic I'd advise throwing something bright - blue, pink, orange - but not green!

On the front 9, it seemed to be a majorly lefty friendly course. 3-9 all seemed to finish left.

The back 9 was my favorite. More open. You could grip-and-rip on several holes - if you have an average arm. Long arms would over throw the holes.

Being a tight course, you don't need many discs. I essentially played with a buzz, sidewinder and one stable fore-hand disc. Could easily play with just a buzz and putter.
Cons: The worst - and this is huge - is finding the first tee.I came from out of town with limited time to play and it took me over 30 minutes to find it. I found what I thought was the parking lot - had a sign mentioning the course - but was by hole 16. Later I found a sign pointing to hole 1...a quarter mile away! You either park at the first tee and walk a quarter mile to your car when done. Or park by 18 and walk a quarter mile to start.

But after looking at an aerial view, it would be tough to finish back at 1

I also found 1-2 being ridiculously tight, basically a hope and pray hole. No direct line to the basket. 3-9 were the same basic shot over and over. Not much to brag about.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth playing, I'm sure locals have found all the limited lines to hit on the front 9. But the repetitious shots on the front 9 lowered my rating.

Good as it could be

1    4/28/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: amcnutt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well placed. Challenging. Well maintained. Most have alternate tees or pins. Well marked. You can't go wrong. Picnic tables. Trash cans every other hole. Plenty of parking.
Cons: No long holes. No elevation change, but how could there be in Florida.
Other Thoughts: Bring a towel. The dew last long. The pin at 10 is closest to restroom with water.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Twin of N Watertower course!

1    2/16/2014   2/17/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful park that is primarily for baseball, this course has a section all to itself. You will play through palm trees and palmettos on a medium scale (lengthwise), but on a slightly advanced scale tecnique-wise. The course starts with a few very thickly wooded and tight holes, then progress to fairways that are narrow, but with trees lining the edges of the fairways. Eventually, you will break out into grassy fairways - a few which are bordered by watery canals (they were dry in the winter).

The design was well balanced and fair. Good throws are rewarded, bad ones can be brutal to recover from. The use of multiple pins (in the ground, not ones that rotate) and multiple tee pads on some of the holes add variety. I like that the additional tee pads don't necessarily add length - they change the shot altogether.

Good vibes - the course is quite well-maintained - even to the point that somebody spray painted remaining tree stumps so that nobody trips over them. Also, the people on the course were very friendly - everyone I ran into was welcoming.

Navigation was pretty easy (once you find the first hole) - "Next tee" signs everywhere.
Cons: I would have not found the first tee if it hadn't been for these reviews here. Soooo - I will repeat - enter the park at the north entrance and go down the paved path between the first 2 baseball fields - you will find the first tee down to your left. Somebody please put a kiosk here!

Blind pins - this isn't a huge issue, but it is frustrating for a first timer to have to walk up on so many holes - signs would alleviate this.
Other Thoughts: Although there are no real "Wow factor" holes here, I certainly thought this place was solid and I will certainly try to play here if I return.

A WTF moment - the benches were graffiti'd but I noticed that the name of the club that was playing that very day had wrote their name on a bench - don't disrespect your own course guys!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

2-4    12/8/2013   12/10/2013
Review By: jselleh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight technical course,makes you really think about your shot before you commit,nice cement T pads,pretty well marked.
Cons: None that I can think of except you may need a machete if you end up in the jungle.Watch for fire ants and if near the water the occasional gator.
Other Thoughts: Very different than the southwest courses I normally play.locals were very helpful especially getting my disc out of a palm tree,Thanks man did not get your name but appreciated the help.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/26/2013   2/27/2013
Review By: boursin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2014
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is clean well maintained and pretty. Multiple tee pads and pins give alot of variety to playing. Concrete tee pads are awesome. Easy to find your way around once you find hole #1. The friendliest players around and they are always willing to show you around or they will ask you to join them. Larger groups let you play through.Very tight on most hole with a few open holes. very pretty scenery,no houses or other impediments except on #11 where there is a ball field on the left side(only a really poor shot will have you landing in the ball field. there are mini statues and and little gnomes and frogs spread throughout the course just look around and you will see them. Do not take the gnomes it will bring you bad luck. Great league play as well.
Cons: Need a sign for hole number one. And a course map for each hole would be nice for newer plaerys to find the baskets
Other Thoughts: In the last year this course has become very busy and rightly so it is a great course even though it lacks elevation. It will test your course management. Precise throws are needed. Be careful when you throw into the palmettos your legs could get scratched up..."so throw strait" Come and enjoy one of the finest courses in all of Florida

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Solid SW Florida Course

5+    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Set in an area of the park dedicated to disc golf.

+ Most holes have multiple concrete tees and about half have two permanent baskets.

+ The course flows well and is very easy to navigate.

+ The course plays through the woods, comes out to go around a small lake, and then finishes back in the woods.

+ Restrooms located at the baseball area and the soccer area.

+ Friendly locals and a solid league.

+ Food available while baseball games are going on.
Cons: - "The Walk" There is a long walk between hole 1 and hole 18 with a massive parking lot inbetween them.

- Hole 1 hard to locate. Enter the park at the 1st entrance, follow the sidewalk that goes between the two baseball fields on the right until a wide dirt trail heads off to the woods.

- Two of the holes are a little too close to the baseball fields.

- The tee signs only list hole # and distance. 1st timers will have to walk some of the fairways to find the baskets.

- Alcohol banned at the park, but enforcement seems to be a low priority.

Other Thoughts: Overall an improvement over the previous course layout. Multiple tees/pins make it possible to play the course several different ways.

The "locals", the league and the tournaments mostly meet and start at hole 16, located by the soccer fields.

This is a fun and challenging course! The positives far outwiegh the negatives. Come and play it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 "The Preserve"

1    4/4/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight fairways force to to hold back on distance for accuracy or risk leaving the fairway for a few more feet.
several hole shad 2 tee pads, 2 baskets, or both. Hole 7 had 3 tee pads.
Hole 16 has 4 different ways to play over the water with various levels of risk.
Baskets in good shape with big visable number plates and bright pink tape to make them more visable.
Navigation was pretty easy with signs pointing to the next tee.
Cons: Hole 1 needs a mando, unless they want half of the players to hoss the high hyser route instead of the intended path. No ob or mando marked. No sign to first tee and no signage guiding you back to the parking lot after hole 18
5 minute walk back to the car after the round.
Practice area has been removed, so there is no where to warm up or practice putting like there used to be.
Tee signs were just hole number and distance, no idea where the blind baskets were.
Course is too tight to be beginner friendly and the narrow shots get repetative.
Hole 11 has the baseball field on the left. Calling it a safety hazard is a little drastic since only a truely bad shot will go over the fence, but it is a possibility.
Other Thoughts: there are no longer any signs that a disc golf course is present. Softball players used to ask what the baskets were and it would get a conversation started, now the course is hidden.
The course has improved, but I guess I was hoping for more since they had a chance to learn from the past and get tons of feedback.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Much Improved North Charlotte

1    2/2/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Tee posts have Hole and distances listed including all basket locations in the distances . . . no map is available of the hole but at least it helps as a directional.

2) Garbage cans available in a few places on the course as well as benches for sitting.

3) More diverse property from the original design on this property . . . water was brought into play, some more open grass holes were brought into play, and a variance in the foliage type as opposed to just tunnel type shots through palms and smaller trees, the new property takes you into a very mature portion of the woods on this course.

4) Tight wooded holes obviously mean a high level of challenge .. . and wooded is more fun than wide open. Beginners won't like it but I am no beginner anymore. I always would prefer being challenged over bored. I love this type of course because it absolutely puts a premium on placement. You can risk the driver up the middle attempting to park the hole . . .but a midrange 50' shorter might be the best play.

5) Excellent variety on this course . . . even moreso than the original design. There is tight woods, moderately wooded, and fairly open holes.

6) Excellent variety in shots needed on this course. While most holes are tight and challenging, there is a good variety of shots needed to score well here.

7) Distance variation was moderately acceptable. While there are only a couple of true placement holes that become par 4's . . .you do still need to plan on what disc you feel most comfortable with.

8) No shortage of challenge on this course. Bring you're a game and try to stay on the fairway or you will be punished. With 12 holes in the 200-300' range I would expect some birdie chances, but this round I didn't make any birdies. I putted pretty well so that means the drives are really challenging.

9) Nice concrete teepads are always welcome . . . they may get sandy from time to time but I'd rather that than throw from the dirt.

10) Water in play on a few holes (and a couple of areas that look like there would be water during the rainy period.

11) Baskets are in good condition and they have the number late in yellow which helps make them more visible.

12) Good directionals to help you get between holes. They are consistently made so it is easier to find and follow them.

13) This is an active park, baseball fields, sidewalks for a nice stroll, Veteran's Memorial, and bathrooms located somewhere on site. I didn't personally see them but others have listed them as available.
Cons: 1) Very long walk from #18 back to where you would park to walk to #1. Not a big deal but worth mentioning. I guess it gives you time to ponder lost shots.

2) This course is far from being beginner friendly because it is so tightly routed through the woods.

3) Very confusing course . . . some holes have multiple tees . . . and some have multiple baskets (and by multiple I mean multiple INSTALLED baskets). You could play any number of different holes on this course which is kindof out of the ordinary.

4) Lacking tee signs . . . which would really help the flow and the first time through the course. Distance and hole # are present but that doesn't help the shot execution.

5) I normally am not a fan of artificial mandos . . . but hole #1 needs one. I saw the gap out to the right of the trees but didn't feel it was fair for me to toss out a big hyzer and skip the dogleg in the fairway. I instead chose to try and thread the needle with an S curve as the hole seemed to be designed.

6) Relatively flat course but there are small undulations and mounds that come into play, but nothing that I would call elevation change, just simple grade changes.

7) This course still have that punishing Florida touch which can irritate me . . . I am not sure if it is because it is challenging and very punishing when you get off the fairway, but the tightness along with no way to escape some bad throws gets a little frustrating hole after hole.

8) Kiosk and First Tee sign is needed because there is no easy way to spot the beginning of the course. You are much more likely to see one of the later holes before #1 and it is so far removed from #1 you might get confused.
Other Thoughts: I definitely feel like the re-design has improved this course overall . . .the variety improved and the challenge seemed to be more fair and consistent . I enjoyed this new course much more than the last design . . . but they both are/were solid designs. This course just simply has better design and variety. It's a shame this course is so far removed from other courses otherwise I would look to this area as a small disc golf destination. I know the pros to cons make this look like a bad course, but in my opinion the positives far outweigh the cons here. This is a solid course with constant challenge and I would be happy to play this course most days.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/18/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: tiger5
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'd say this course is between a 4.0 and 4.5. There is a practice basket and the only thing really holding this course back is the signage. I ran into two locals and played with them, otherwise is would have been a long day trying to fine out where the baskets were. Other than that I thought it was a great course with a lot of well designed holes. Water came into play a little bit and made things interest.
Cons: Make sure you throw some brightly colored plastic, spend a good bit of time looking for another guys black disc in the all the shadowy brush. Even the bright discs were tough to fine sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time playing this course, heard there was a tournament there a week or two before, wish I had known, I'll be back to play this one anytime I'm in SW Florida.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Except for # 2

5+    1/6/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: KGB84
Played: 107  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Cement tees (Holes 9,12,13,15,16 have 2 tees & 7 has 3 tees)
- Nice Mach 3 baskets (Holes 4,6,8,9,10,16 have 2 baskets)
- Tee signs ( Hole # & Distances)
- Next tee signs
- Trash cans everywhere
- Picnic tables all along the course
- Well maintained park
- Plenty of parking
Cons: - Hole #1 kind of hard to find ( Between two baseball fields)
- No course map
- Hole layout is not on tee signs
- The walk from #18 basket to #1 tee is way too long
- Hole #2 is not a legit hole at all. You shouldn't have to lay-up on a hole that's less than 300ft. Clear a fairway please!!!
- A local named Sal ( Seriously avoid this guy at all cost. Trust me!)
Other Thoughts: I played this course before the redesign and thought it was just fine. However, the new layout is much, much better than the previous. There is a very even balance of hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots. The variance in the distances is perfect. There is also a good balance of open and wooded holes. After that you have the extra tees and extra baskets. Good times!!!
This is an overall great course. I recommend any disc golfer to check this course out at least once.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.