Layout Extinct

Fort Collins, CO 
Edora Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #13 (Taken 10/2007)
3 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket (old #18)



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Definitely Worse

1    7/17/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The ones that are from the old course are still good.
Even the new holes are fun.
Good challenge, mixing distance and obstacles.
No holes to feed money to the neighbor kids who swim for discs.
Cons: What the heck did they do to this course?!
There's no signage to help navigate the reorganized holes.
The reorganization seems un-necessary and not all that well thought-out. You can change where number 1 is and keep the same basic hole-progression.
16 is weird.
Other Thoughts: Bureaucracy ruins more things.
I don't at all blame the DG club that probably maintains this thing, but it's definitely worse than the old course.
I'll still play it while I'm in FoCo.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    11/26/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Huge concreate tee boxes. Nice variety of shots. The course is in a real nice city park.
Cons: Some parts of the course can be hard to navigate. They could use some signs.
Other Thoughts: Real fun course, just needs some signs to navigate the course and tee box signs would be nice.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Busy, busy, busy course

2-4    10/10/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 20  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix of uphill/downhill shots. It will challenge your depth perception.

Love the amount of obstacles on the course. Only a few water holes, but they are well used.

The tees are mostly concrete. It has 1-2 awkward felt pads that are hard to spin on, but they are better than most dirt tees.
Cons: Crazy busy. It is a full park and is surrounded by fields, pool/ice center, tennis courts, horseshoe pit, etc. It is one of Ft. Collins' most popular parks, and can sometimes be hard to find a hole that doesn't have a family playing around it. Also, it is very popular for other golfers, so you can be waiting a while here and there.

While the tees are concrete, they are way too long. At almost 20 feet, they are the longest tees I've played off of.

The course layout is crazy. Unless you have the phone app, a map, or a player that plays it regularly, you will probably get lost. Some of the tees are entire parking lots away from the hole you just finished.

Other Thoughts: The 16th hole is VERY odd. It is quite short (<200 feet) but has a novelty. It has a ring around it that you have to land it, or it is OB, and you have to throw from the drop zone. Most DG'ers complain about it, but it was fun for me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    8/18/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Bigben932
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging, long course. 18 holes or varying length, obstacles, distances, and abilities,

A great challenge for intermediate, experienced, and skilled players
Cons: had to climb a tree almost 50+ feet.
took over 2 hours to complete with a partner(not sure if this is a con)
Other Thoughts: Not recommended for beginners or for people who do not have accurate distance throw down. Long hole, very spread out course. Has a bathroom and water fountain near by. Can be frustrating if your stuck behind slow people or being rushed by more talented players

You must Have a map with you or you will not figure out this course.
Play time 2hrs +, Score: 5 over Par first time(with 1mulligan every 9 ;-)

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

FoCo's Best

1    9/22/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 344  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some of the tee pads were like 30 feet long. I only use about a third of that but it's gotta be a pro to somebody.
-Creek is used for challenge
-The little bit of elevation allows for some fun throws up and down hill as well as for a few slightly tricky greens.
-Fairly good variation in hole length. I almost aced a few and had some pretty long approach-second shots on other holes.
-Baskets are old but in good shape.
-Friendly locals
-The grass is nice and green. Park is well maintained.
-Practice basket
-To add to the limited challenge they put some holes near the road or parking lots for some OB opportunity.
-Plenty of other amenities that don't interfere with disc golf; bike trail, skate park, horseshoes, tennis courts, baseball fields, bathrooms.
Cons: -The layout is bad. Longer walking distance a lot of the time. 2 and 4's fairways cross like an X. Some baskets are too close to other baskets even though this park is huge. Roads bisect the course in a few areas. It is hard to follow. Print the map on this site for sure. There were no maps available when I was there.
-This course was crowded, mostly with rec players and families.
-I wasn't overly pressed to get a 3 ever. I recorded no 4s. It simply wasn't challenging. It was one of those courses where it is slightly too long to get a 2 for me on most holes. Also, if you hit a tree near the tee, it was very easy to recover with a decent second shot to still have an easy putt for 3.
-Some of the tees were carpet pad things.. They worked just fine but I thought I would note that somewhere.
-You could lose a disc in a tall pine or in the creek/weeds. Especially on the right side of hole 5. I saw a few people looking in there.
Other Thoughts: For some reason I had really high expectations for this course. It is only rated 3.29 so they shouldn't have been that high. Once I figured out the course layout I did have a pleasant round. It was just frustrating having to deal with that at the beginning. Like I said before, print the map on this site! Park in the parking lot to the North of the horseshoes and the first tee is by the horseshoes. Stop at Wright Life before your round for some new plastic/gear. Good store and good people. This is the best course within Ft Collins and I would recommend it first to anybody with limited time!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

not good, at all

1    9/5/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: NoahPeterson
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.7 Years
5 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The park is well maintained. At least they put in a course!
Cons: Forget trying to figure this mess out. Frustrating layout. Under the bridge, over the street, across the parking lot...totally unnecessary in this HUGE park. But when nothing is marked what does any of that matter. At this point, even the locals don't know the flow. Not fun, not cool. It's a real shame, because it seems like all the elements for a great course are there. But as for walking on and having a good game. Not going to happen. Fun doesn't happen when you don't know where you're going or what basket to shoot at. And the baskets do have numbers, they just don't mean anything. Terrible course.
Other Thoughts: I did see some signs for a benefit tournament for the course. Maybe the locals can get enough going to fix this thing. I'd be interested in trying it again after some signage was installed. But I don't see it happening. The talk on the street is this was great when they opened it. With periodic "redesigns" this thing gets worse every year.

5 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course Bring a Map and Good Technique!

1    8/20/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 48  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 9.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads are 10-12 feet long, allowing for a good solid run up on a level surface. Tees are marked with large 4X4 posts. The park is clean and well maintained. Restrooms with running water are on site. Mature trees, proximity to roads, fences, and the creek in play on a few holes add to the challenge of this course. Trash bins at several tees. Some rolling hills throw enough elevation into the mix to add some difficulty but there's nothing that's extremely scary. Hole distances and shots are well varied. A couple signature holes; in particular, 16 requires the player to land their drive in a 10' diameter circle around the basket from 184' or else take a penalty stroke. 17 is also a signature hole with a long 656' bomb downhill with a road on one side and a fence on the other both OB. I found the locals to be very friendly and courteous. The layout flows through the course nicely and ends very close to where you started. Parking is also convenient. Very close to Wright Life, a great local disc retailer! Support your local disc shops!!!
Cons: Baskets were often hard to see and there were no signs at the tee pads showing the line that a player would hope to throw. A few carpet tee pads (on 6 and 16, I hope they're temporary!) were not in good shape. Navigation was difficult for a first timer. Download the map and refer to it your first time. From what I understand, the course has undergone a significant layout change lately and some holes and even some tees are misnumbered. Download a map or grab a guide your first time. Fairways on 2 and 4 cross (bad!). Some holes were close enough to roads that it could be potentially dangerous for motorists. I appreciate the challenge of OB roads but also am wary about the danger of flying discs that close to roads (or a skate park or tennis courts for that matter). That being said, players should exercise the control that this course demands.
Other Thoughts: Edora park is a wonderful course and one of the better courses I've played along CO's front range. The navigation issue isn't so much a con for me, but something first timers should be aware of. As long as players here are courteous, observant, and keeping errant shots under control, this will be a great play. Keep it dry and control your lie!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Since I Never Played The Old Design!

1    7/17/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since I seem to be the first reviewer who hadn't played the previous older design, I can give you an totally unbiased prospective without any of the "I liked the old # 12 better."

Edora Park is large sprawling city park. Just finding the proper entrance street is a task in itself. I was lucky to hook up with three locals so didn't have to worry about navigating this expansive course. The sturdy posts are there in which to attach the tee signs. I'm sure they're coming. The larger than large concrete pads provide more than ample run-up.
The course in it's current configuration forces you to utilize every kind of throw to score well, rollers, hysers, anhysers, etc. However, it's not an extremely difficult course to score well on as it's geared towards the solid recreational player. Advanced/Pro players will eat this course for lunch but the rest of us can still compete here and enjoy the experience. I believe that's part of her attraction.
There are a couple of close to epic downhill tosses. The island hole is great fun and of course, # 18 is a challenge and a half, as well as a great finishing hole for casual play and tournies alike.
Cons: Edora would be tough to navigate for the first time player. The lack of signage is a concern at this time. I hope it's installed sooner than later. This is a high usage course so disc golfers will have peacefully co-exist with the other park users. That means occasionally having a little patience with those not aware of what we're doing out here and maybe playing around them at times.
Other Thoughts: I loved my experience here. This is a lovely green, well manicured park with rolling hills. It was meant to have a disc golf course and should be embraced and appreciated. I treasure the fact that players of almost all ability levels can play and enjoy this course. Edora is on top of the Ft. Collins disc golf scene and has the other courses surrounding her to compliment it. When you add them up, Ft. Collins is extremely well represented and stand tall knowing what she has accomplished disc golf wise.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I think a small plane could land on these tee boxes!

2-4    7/16/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Edora Park has some of the longest concrete tees I have ever seen on a golf course. Some tees may stretch up to 20 feet, which is excessive but appreciated on the longer drivable holes. The park is neatly manicured and houses tennis courts, baseball fields, a big skatepark, huge horseshoe pit areas, and bmx bike trails. It also has the basic amenities you would expect to find in a city park, and with its central Fort Collins location you can expect this place to stay busy at all hours of the day. Also, there is a bathroom location near the start of #5.

Holes are marked and range from 140 to almost 500 feet. Plus there is a great intermixing of tree obstacles and water hazards (most of which still have a fair chance of getting your disc back if you don't mind getting wet.) The trees are big and provide decent shade in the summer heat, and the park itself is open and beautiful. Most holes play straight, but with the option of alternate pin locations, Edora can change things a bit to stay fresh and feeling new. Concerning the redesign, the biggest pros are a bigger parking area in relation to the start and end of the course, and well as the signature hole becoming the last and makes for a strong finish.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #18
Cons: The biggest con may be that Edora is arguably the best course within the Fort Collins area - so it is busy. Unless you've come early, you can expect a round to go over two hours, which I am not a fan of doing. If you hate crowds or just want to get in a quick round, I would suggest playing the much shorter Cache La Poudre Junior High course northwest in La Porte, or the many nine courses that now litter the area. If you're looking for more open length, then go west and the play the Hughes Stadium Course.

Concerning the redesign, Edora didn't fix its flow problems, but rather made things a bit more spread out and complicated. First timers will definitely want to bring a map or consult the one located at the bridge between the parking lot and #1. And truly, most of the redesign was changing three holes, and renumbering the rest. In addition, I wasn't a huge fan of the "new" holes. #6 literally flies the tennis courts, #12 and #7 share a pin, and #16 I assume plays as an island hole, but without and proper signage the casual player would have no idea. And although I love the island idea, it should have some sort of relief tee for players who can't hit the small mulched area.

Of course, much of the transitions and confusion could be fixed if some proper signage was put into place. The expensive concrete and posts are in, so spend the bucks - install some quality signs at each tee, as well as some transition signs in area such as #13 to #14 or #15 to #16. These are small things that would make a huge difference to the traveling player.

WORST HOLE/S: #11; #16
Other Thoughts: Edora Park still serves as the perennial northern Colorado course, and is a mainstay in longevity for the Fort Collins crowd. For being built in 1989, it has maintained its challenge factor whereas many courses its age have become short, easy, and obsolete. I don't give that credit to the redesign, which seemed to be a wash of pros and cons. However, there is still no singular wow moment where I felt this course set itself apart from other courses I've played. It simply plays consistent and strong, but won't take your breath away.

If I had time, I would still prefer to drive the 30 miles into the mountains and hit courses like Sundance Trail Ranch DGC or Beaver Meadows DGC, but this is still a place I would be happy to have as a home course. Bottom line is if you don't mind the crowds and have your map handy - I promise you'll walk away satisfied with your experience.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Upgrades leave two holes in need

5+    2/25/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course design is improved from the old. Pin to tee is shorter than in the old design. If you are coming from the old layout its confusing because the old holes are still there and in play. 3 new holes added. 16 is a island hole (if your disc doesn't land on the island you have to rethrow from the drop area) which is a fun addition. Hole 18 is a great ending. This is THE marquee course in the Northern Colorado Foothills and is worthy of that title and should be kept as such.
Cons: Holes 2 and 4 cross making the lines a bit hazardous to walk for people on the other hole. Give it a good "fore" before throwing just in case. This is the only knock on the course. I hate hole 14 with D pin location. Watch out for walkers this is a public park and as much as we would all like to think we have ace on shots its better to wait than hit a walker in the head. 8's tee points at 10's tee. Its a clear shot if yours goes that way just let the people at 10's tee know. They are likely paying some level of attention to begin with.
Other Thoughts: The new holes are all good additions to an already high level course adding new shots and skills. This is a high traffic and high play course as the only mature 18 hole course in Northern Colorado, not in the mountains. I do miss the old hole 2. The most generic of the new holes does not replace the quality of that shot given its on the same land. I am however a fan of replacing the old lake hole which had become more of a business for many an entrepreneurial local kid than a quality hole.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.