Layout Extinct

Fort Collins, CO 
Edora Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18   (Taken 10/2007)
Practice Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    11/26/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Huge concreate tee boxes. Nice variety of shots. The course is in a real nice city park.
Cons: Some parts of the course can be hard to navigate. They could use some signs.
Other Thoughts: Real fun course, just needs some signs to navigate the course and tee box signs would be nice.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course Bring a Map and Good Technique!

1    8/20/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 48  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 9.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee pads are 10-12 feet long, allowing for a good solid run up on a level surface. Tees are marked with large 4X4 posts. The park is clean and well maintained. Restrooms with running water are on site. Mature trees, proximity to roads, fences, and the creek in play on a few holes add to the challenge of this course. Trash bins at several tees. Some rolling hills throw enough elevation into the mix to add some difficulty but there's nothing that's extremely scary. Hole distances and shots are well varied. A couple signature holes; in particular, 16 requires the player to land their drive in a 10' diameter circle around the basket from 184' or else take a penalty stroke. 17 is also a signature hole with a long 656' bomb downhill with a road on one side and a fence on the other both OB. I found the locals to be very friendly and courteous. The layout flows through the course nicely and ends very close to where you started. Parking is also convenient. Very close to Wright Life, a great local disc retailer! Support your local disc shops!!!
Cons: Baskets were often hard to see and there were no signs at the tee pads showing the line that a player would hope to throw. A few carpet tee pads (on 6 and 16, I hope they're temporary!) were not in good shape. Navigation was difficult for a first timer. Download the map and refer to it your first time. From what I understand, the course has undergone a significant layout change lately and some holes and even some tees are misnumbered. Download a map or grab a guide your first time. Fairways on 2 and 4 cross (bad!). Some holes were close enough to roads that it could be potentially dangerous for motorists. I appreciate the challenge of OB roads but also am wary about the danger of flying discs that close to roads (or a skate park or tennis courts for that matter). That being said, players should exercise the control that this course demands.
Other Thoughts: Edora park is a wonderful course and one of the better courses I've played along CO's front range. The navigation issue isn't so much a con for me, but something first timers should be aware of. As long as players here are courteous, observant, and keeping errant shots under control, this will be a great play. Keep it dry and control your lie!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Since I Never Played The Old Design!

1    7/17/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Since I seem to be the first reviewer who hadn't played the previous older design, I can give you an totally unbiased prospective without any of the "I liked the old # 12 better."

Edora Park is large sprawling city park. Just finding the proper entrance street is a task in itself. I was lucky to hook up with three locals so didn't have to worry about navigating this expansive course. The sturdy posts are there in which to attach the tee signs. I'm sure they're coming. The larger than large concrete pads provide more than ample run-up.
The course in it's current configuration forces you to utilize every kind of throw to score well, rollers, hysers, anhysers, etc. However, it's not an extremely difficult course to score well on as it's geared towards the solid recreational player. Advanced/Pro players will eat this course for lunch but the rest of us can still compete here and enjoy the experience. I believe that's part of her attraction.
There are a couple of close to epic downhill tosses. The island hole is great fun and of course, # 18 is a challenge and a half, as well as a great finishing hole for casual play and tournies alike.
Cons: Edora would be tough to navigate for the first time player. The lack of signage is a concern at this time. I hope it's installed sooner than later. This is a high usage course so disc golfers will have peacefully co-exist with the other park users. That means occasionally having a little patience with those not aware of what we're doing out here and maybe playing around them at times.
Other Thoughts: I loved my experience here. This is a lovely green, well manicured park with rolling hills. It was meant to have a disc golf course and should be embraced and appreciated. I treasure the fact that players of almost all ability levels can play and enjoy this course. Edora is on top of the Ft. Collins disc golf scene and has the other courses surrounding her to compliment it. When you add them up, Ft. Collins is extremely well represented and stand tall knowing what she has accomplished disc golf wise.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I think a small plane could land on these tee boxes!

2-4    7/16/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Edora Park has some of the longest concrete tees I have ever seen on a golf course. Some tees may stretch up to 20 feet, which is excessive but appreciated on the longer drivable holes. The park is neatly manicured and houses tennis courts, baseball fields, a big skatepark, huge horseshoe pit areas, and bmx bike trails. It also has the basic amenities you would expect to find in a city park, and with its central Fort Collins location you can expect this place to stay busy at all hours of the day. Also, there is a bathroom location near the start of #5.

Holes are marked and range from 140 to almost 500 feet. Plus there is a great intermixing of tree obstacles and water hazards (most of which still have a fair chance of getting your disc back if you don't mind getting wet.) The trees are big and provide decent shade in the summer heat, and the park itself is open and beautiful. Most holes play straight, but with the option of alternate pin locations, Edora can change things a bit to stay fresh and feeling new. Concerning the redesign, the biggest pros are a bigger parking area in relation to the start and end of the course, and well as the signature hole becoming the last and makes for a strong finish.

BEST HOLE/S: #2; #18
Cons: The biggest con may be that Edora is arguably the best course within the Fort Collins area - so it is busy. Unless you've come early, you can expect a round to go over two hours, which I am not a fan of doing. If you hate crowds or just want to get in a quick round, I would suggest playing the much shorter Cache La Poudre Junior High course northwest in La Porte, or the many nine courses that now litter the area. If you're looking for more open length, then go west and the play the Hughes Stadium Course.

Concerning the redesign, Edora didn't fix its flow problems, but rather made things a bit more spread out and complicated. First timers will definitely want to bring a map or consult the one located at the bridge between the parking lot and #1. And truly, most of the redesign was changing three holes, and renumbering the rest. In addition, I wasn't a huge fan of the "new" holes. #6 literally flies the tennis courts, #12 and #7 share a pin, and #16 I assume plays as an island hole, but without and proper signage the casual player would have no idea. And although I love the island idea, it should have some sort of relief tee for players who can't hit the small mulched area.

Of course, much of the transitions and confusion could be fixed if some proper signage was put into place. The expensive concrete and posts are in, so spend the bucks - install some quality signs at each tee, as well as some transition signs in area such as #13 to #14 or #15 to #16. These are small things that would make a huge difference to the traveling player.

WORST HOLE/S: #11; #16
Other Thoughts: Edora Park still serves as the perennial northern Colorado course, and is a mainstay in longevity for the Fort Collins crowd. For being built in 1989, it has maintained its challenge factor whereas many courses its age have become short, easy, and obsolete. I don't give that credit to the redesign, which seemed to be a wash of pros and cons. However, there is still no singular wow moment where I felt this course set itself apart from other courses I've played. It simply plays consistent and strong, but won't take your breath away.

If I had time, I would still prefer to drive the 30 miles into the mountains and hit courses like Sundance Trail Ranch DGC or Beaver Meadows DGC, but this is still a place I would be happy to have as a home course. Bottom line is if you don't mind the crowds and have your map handy - I promise you'll walk away satisfied with your experience.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Revised Again

1    10/9/2011   1/13/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 95  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new layout keeps a lot of the good holes that we have all come to love playing this course. There are still incredible amenities as this course sits in a very nice city park that includes the EPIC ice arena and swimming pools. There is a lot of history to this course and an incredible disc golf community that keeps this place alive. In town there is the incomprable Wright Life disc golf store with Bill Wright who along with the club has done so much for this course. The holes themselves are still fun and require a number of different shots. The end of the course finishes with two of my favorite holes, which is good even though the old 18 (still there) was plenty memorable in itself. There are not many walks that difficult to figure out with a map. The course has nice tee pads though some of the new holes were still missing tee pads the last time I was there. The basket are older but still good and consistent throughout the course.
Cons: The flow of those course is rather confusing, especially if you played the old layout as the first tee was the old hole 4. They did this to get you to park in a differen lot but it really messes up the flow of the course including two trips across the street to play holes on the opposite side of the street. The new holes, all of them, are lame in comparison to some of the old holes. Complex shots were replaces with simpler shots. Old hole two was wonderful and the new hole on the same land is a RHBH hyzer shot with a few branches in the way. This course seems to get more and more traffic at it everytime I play. With the new layout and the confusion that this causes with the strange walks from some holes. There are a couple of holes that might be discouraging for newer players but know that you will always find newer players on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is still a great course that I will play over other courses in the area when I am in the area. I really do not like the redesign which is at least the second redesign of this courses long history. I was sad to find out the the origional layout was even better than the one that I like. It is a good course that is worth playing. Even if you are playing this course for the first time, you will want a map to figure out a couple of the walks between holes. If you are playing this course again for the first time you will definitly want a map.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Help Save this Course

2-4    10/10/1999   1/10/2012
Review By: ro66yb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Fun course with many kinds of shots needed. I play this course every time I pass through Colorado.
Other Thoughts: This course is in danger of being reduced to 9 holes. If you have played it, or have plans to, consider signing this petition: http://www.change.org/petitio...rt-collins-co#

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Edora Park

2-4    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 29  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) really nice tees (concrete, long, great grip)
2) well mowed and manicured
3) water comes into play on holes 2, 4, 5, and 18
4) for the most part keeps away from the rest of the park
5) quite a few different shots and hole types
6) made a very good course with the land they had

Cons: 1) confusing as a first timer
2) not much in the way of trees (i like moderately/heavily wooded courses most), but they did really good with what they had to work with
3) only decent sized hills are on holes 1, 2, 4, 6, and 17 (new layout)
Other Thoughts: overall it was a great course, but as i said it can be very confusing to navigate as a first timer (even with the map)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun

2-4    8/10/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 118  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of great holes. The holes make great use of the obstacles in the park has to offer. These obstacles include trees, elevation, the side of a rec center and a river.
-Lots of changes in elevation and a very good variety in distance, with some shorter holes and some holes that just let you let it rip.
-The baskets are in great shape and catch very well
-Very nice concrete teepads
-Facilities such as restrooms and benches on the course
-The course has quite a few different tee positions for each hole which varies the course up over many rounds
Cons: -This course gets really crowded, and the park also gets really crowded with non disc golfers so you have to watch people walking over the fairways that aren't playing. Also a couple of the faiirways cross so when it gets really crowded you have to watch for people crossing other holes.
-The course flow can be kinda hard to follow at times, as some of the holes can be quite a bit of a walk away and many of the holes don't point toward the next hole it can be very hard at times to find the next hole if you haven't played it before
-Many of the holes are missing their tee signs currently missing so it becomes even harder to follow the flow of the course and know the layout of the holes ( I think this is because a sign said they were slightly redesigning the course so they might be replacing the tee signs to change with the redesign.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and one of the best in the Northern Colorado are and definitely worth a trip up to play, but I don't suggest playing on the weekends as it gets really really crowded, This course is a really fun course but with some flaws it is still worth playing though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.