Layout Extinct

Fort Collins, CO 
Edora Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18   (Taken 10/2007)
Practice Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Revised Again

1    10/9/2011   1/13/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 95  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new layout keeps a lot of the good holes that we have all come to love playing this course. There are still incredible amenities as this course sits in a very nice city park that includes the EPIC ice arena and swimming pools. There is a lot of history to this course and an incredible disc golf community that keeps this place alive. In town there is the incomprable Wright Life disc golf store with Bill Wright who along with the club has done so much for this course. The holes themselves are still fun and require a number of different shots. The end of the course finishes with two of my favorite holes, which is good even though the old 18 (still there) was plenty memorable in itself. There are not many walks that difficult to figure out with a map. The course has nice tee pads though some of the new holes were still missing tee pads the last time I was there. The basket are older but still good and consistent throughout the course.
Cons: The flow of those course is rather confusing, especially if you played the old layout as the first tee was the old hole 4. They did this to get you to park in a differen lot but it really messes up the flow of the course including two trips across the street to play holes on the opposite side of the street. The new holes, all of them, are lame in comparison to some of the old holes. Complex shots were replaces with simpler shots. Old hole two was wonderful and the new hole on the same land is a RHBH hyzer shot with a few branches in the way. This course seems to get more and more traffic at it everytime I play. With the new layout and the confusion that this causes with the strange walks from some holes. There are a couple of holes that might be discouraging for newer players but know that you will always find newer players on the course.
Other Thoughts: This is still a great course that I will play over other courses in the area when I am in the area. I really do not like the redesign which is at least the second redesign of this courses long history. I was sad to find out the the origional layout was even better than the one that I like. It is a good course that is worth playing. Even if you are playing this course for the first time, you will want a map to figure out a couple of the walks between holes. If you are playing this course again for the first time you will definitly want a map.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Help Save this Course

2-4    10/10/1999   1/10/2012
Review By: ro66yb
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Fun course with many kinds of shots needed. I play this course every time I pass through Colorado.
Other Thoughts: This course is in danger of being reduced to 9 holes. If you have played it, or have plans to, consider signing this petition: http://www.change.org/petitio...rt-collins-co#

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Course decline

5+    1/2/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well manicured park course except a couple of holes on the back side. Quite a bit of shot variety. Bathrooms open in the Summer. Easy to find people to join up with and play around.
Cons: Heavy traffic. Tons of people come out to play this course and you may end up waiting 10-15 minutes to tee off. The course has been redesigned and I'm not sure if it's for the best.
Other Thoughts: This is a course everyone should play. It is like one of those cult classic movies that everyone should try at least before it's no long recognizable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

5+    8/25/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: hotdoglady
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course that recently got a great upgrade. Several new holes including an "island" hole on the back nine - makes it a lot of fun! Need a new map? here is a link:

http://s1228.photobucket.com/...edoramap3.jpg
Cons: This course can get very busy on weekends, and summer evenings. Tuesday and Thursday evenings are league nights (not a bad thing but if looking to get a fast round in - might want to play on a different night).
Other Thoughts: Fun Course, easy to follow after your first time through - water comes into play - and lots of fun!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my CO favorites

5+    8/1/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is immaculately maintained, concrete pads, plenty of trees for both shade & challenging shots, elevated tee shots and baskets...
Cons: Nothing really negative to say about this course perhaps other than it would be nice to know where the next hole is if you were like me and did not print a map your very first time out there.
Other Thoughts: If you've never played here before, this is one of the best in CO! Be sure to print a course map beforehand though...

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Edora Park

2-4    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 29  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/3/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) really nice tees (concrete, long, great grip)
2) well mowed and manicured
3) water comes into play on holes 2, 4, 5, and 18
4) for the most part keeps away from the rest of the park
5) quite a few different shots and hole types
6) made a very good course with the land they had

Cons: 1) confusing as a first timer
2) not much in the way of trees (i like moderately/heavily wooded courses most), but they did really good with what they had to work with
3) only decent sized hills are on holes 1, 2, 4, 6, and 17 (new layout)
Other Thoughts: overall it was a great course, but as i said it can be very confusing to navigate as a first timer (even with the map)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Fun

2-4    8/10/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 119  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of great holes. The holes make great use of the obstacles in the park has to offer. These obstacles include trees, elevation, the side of a rec center and a river.
-Lots of changes in elevation and a very good variety in distance, with some shorter holes and some holes that just let you let it rip.
-The baskets are in great shape and catch very well
-Very nice concrete teepads
-Facilities such as restrooms and benches on the course
-The course has quite a few different tee positions for each hole which varies the course up over many rounds
Cons: -This course gets really crowded, and the park also gets really crowded with non disc golfers so you have to watch people walking over the fairways that aren't playing. Also a couple of the faiirways cross so when it gets really crowded you have to watch for people crossing other holes.
-The course flow can be kinda hard to follow at times, as some of the holes can be quite a bit of a walk away and many of the holes don't point toward the next hole it can be very hard at times to find the next hole if you haven't played it before
-Many of the holes are missing their tee signs currently missing so it becomes even harder to follow the flow of the course and know the layout of the holes ( I think this is because a sign said they were slightly redesigning the course so they might be replacing the tee signs to change with the redesign.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and one of the best in the Northern Colorado are and definitely worth a trip up to play, but I don't suggest playing on the weekends as it gets really really crowded, This course is a really fun course but with some flaws it is still worth playing though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.