Beacon, NY 
Beacon Glades Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
eerily awesome

1    6/21/2015   11/1/2015
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 149  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.2 Years
Pros: - fun elevation and variety. A few open holes, but mostly wooded. Up and down. Left and right.
- plays through an abandoned campground. How often do you get to do that? Super fun.
- short and medium hole distances, though nothing crazy long which might be a plus to some.
- great signage and easy navigation.
- nice level rubber mats.
- easy to access the course
- nice kiosk and parking lot
- area is designated to disc golf. No randoms to accidentally hit or get sued from, lol
- seems like a safe enough area as well. Not going to get your car broken into like some places I've been
- greens are all fair and well placed
- fairways were all fair.
Cons: -hole 17 seems like you have to have something like a zone bagged. It forces a tiny downhill flex shot and seems almost gimmicky.
- you can literally break through a window if you have a horrible noob shot.
- for a couple of the holes I wasn't sure if I was playing in someone's backyard or not.
- the rough didn't always punish enough I thought, but some will see this as a plus and certainly this wasn't always true.
- the only open holes went back and forth across the same field, but to be fair it is the only place to put the open shots. Just stinks that they are all grouped together. I don't actually fault the course here. It is what it is.
Other Thoughts: This place is definitely unique. Playing over a now felted firepit and through cabins is awesome. Great bombers and finesse alike. This is a great "fun" course. It's not epic and it doesn't make you throw every shot in the world, but it definitely isn't boring. I'd be happy and proud to show this course off it was my home course.

Played The Glades

1    8/15/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: BPC2000
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good elevation changes
Discatcher Pro baskets in good shape and stand out nicely in the woods
Rubber matt tee boxes on dirt are mostly level and clearly defined with signage
Good mix of open grass fairway holes early and tighter wooded holes later in the course
Wooded fairways were cleared and pathways were defined to help with navigation
Interesting setting in and around a former camp with buildings coming into play on some holes
Its a nice up and down hike with most holes playing on a hillside in the woods.
NIce hike with LOTS of benches for a quick rest at the tee boxes.

Cons: Course map here on DGCR needs updating as holes 1 & 2 have been changed to 17 & 18. The old Hole #3 is now Hole #1. I did not see a basket near the pool as indicated here.

Signage could be more complete throughout the course, but not terrible. Most Hole descriptions & directions are there, but first timers might do a little searching.

Hills might a be Con for some people if you dont feel like climbing.

Other Thoughts: This was a fun round for me. You can tell the locals are enthusiastic about their course, which usually equals out to a better experience. With a little fine tuning I think this course is easily a 4.0 or better!

The highlight of this course for me were the elevation changes. It is a factor on most of the holes, and it adds to the strategy of shot selection and power selection. The same distance going either uphill or downhill needs to be played differently.

Hole 1 is cleverly laid out as your tee shot must sail between two large tree trunks just off the tee into an open field, where the center of the fairway is marked by a large nautical style flagpole. The old summer camp buildings on a lot of the holes add to the uniqueness of the course too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beacon Glade Reiview

1    7/23/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: reichmusic
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great creativity in course design
-variety of shots/distances/elevation/
-lots of benches/shade and bag hooks
-unique setting with a ghost town feel with abandoned cabins
Cons: -it's seems as some of the holes have been changed since the major overhaul and building of signs (contradicting distances/pin locations- Still decent enough to navigate
- needs tape on the baskets to show which way next box is- Think about first timers playing without a guide.
-hole one has been moved- there was a sign stating this but no directions as to where the new one was. It took us some wondering Around.
-some really short tee pads, and one dirt uphill rooted pad that needs to be leveled.

Other Thoughts: This is a great course- and the apparent renovations have been a much needed improvement. It's a must play in the area. It's more of an intermediate to a advanced course. Beginners will find the open holes to be quite lengthy, and you will meet a lot of trees. Still worth playing though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

mysterious course

2-4    6/29/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Rplus84
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2015
Pros: -parking lot next to 1st and 18th tee
-practice basket
-rubber tees
-well individually marqued
-good use of elevation
-benches on every hole
-nice place to have a picnic
-overall great vibe
Cons: -rubber tees should be longer
-compacted... baskets r too close to the next tee
-10 min away from i-84
Other Thoughts: nice short course... 3 open holes and the woods does not have much vegetation... this course is special, it contains these abandoned cabins which adds to a unique feeling in the sport... definitely worth the trip... i wish this course was closer to me... Tees need some work though and many r too close to the previous basket... played a tournament here and it was great... i will play here again soon...

Great Wooded Course

5+    5/11/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: beacon1b
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful woods, views, and unique atmosphere
Well connected holes, mostly short wooded holes but a few open, long holes
Cons: Not all tees are in the best shape, but all have at least tee pads. Gets muddy after the snow melts and extended rainy periods
Other Thoughts: I can't believe the last review was in January of 2013?! If you last played here in 2012, you will hardly recognize the place! There are many tee pads now, and the course has been cleaned up by the locals. A couple of tournaments are now held (June and October), and a weekly doubles tournament is held Wednesday afternoons in the Spring/Summer (starting at ~6pm)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A good course...someday.

1    10/20/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: adevuyst
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage throughout, albeit temporary. Varied terrain. Accuracy comes into play on most holes. Nice baskets. No poison Ivy to speak of which I was surprised about. Not a lot of gratuitous trekking. All in all a fun course to play if you're in the area.
Cons: Tee pads are natural which is sometimes nice but they're a little rough. A LOT of crap laying around; sticks, boulders, other junk. I found a baby shoe on 9 that scared the hell out of my girlfriend...It's hard to walk from one hole to the next without stabbing yourself in the shin with a stick or tripping over something. Just needs a lot of natural debris clearing. I've wandered out of there with many a bruise and/or scrape.
Other Thoughts: This spot is worth popping by if you're in the area, I wouldn't say it deserves more than an hour and a half drive as it stands. It's in the making and set on a very cool piece of land, so I'm sure by the time it's settled and done in a few years it will be pretty sweet. The course has a cool spooky feel, with a lot of old abandoned cabins, and chapel, a mosquito ridden pool and what looks like an alter near 3's basket.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course!

1    11/4/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is nestled on the edge of the Hudson Highlands at the site of an old (church?) camp. It's primarily set in the woods and on sloped ground, though 3 of them are set in an open field bordered by woods. One of these (hole 3) was very picturesque, with a giant flag pole waving old glory in the center of the fairway, with the basket perched beyond and below the autumn colors of the hills above.

The course is somewhat challenging as you are going either up and down that hill for more than half the course. The wooded fairways are tight enough to force some controlled shots, though most of these wooded holes are not that long.

The baskets are still new, in great shape, and the signs on the tees are very helpful. Navigation was fairly straight forward, but in a couple of places I used the provided map from the box at the start of the course.

Cons: There's a 5 hole run (7-11) that gives a little deją vu, as you go uphill, then downhill, rotating like this every hole. They are very similar lengths, too. I think this may be resolved, as the kind local I played with told me they are considering lengthening a couple into par 4's.

The field holes could use a little more challenge - almost too wide open (hole 4 is an exception - the rough to the left forced me to pitch out which was acceptable risk/reward).

The tee pads are natural - not really a con, but many of them need to be flattened (especially when the throws are going up or downhill), and something to cover up exposed tree roots.
Other Thoughts: I played with a couple of locals who were super nice and made me feel welcome. They promoted their weekly scramble (doubles) that they have in the summer time.

The course was very quiet for a mild fall Sunday afternoon.

Overall, an enjoyable fun course that the new guys will find very challenging, and experienced players will enjoy but not feel too taxed

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Road Trip Stop But Needs Work

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 53  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just 3 miles off I-84, this was an easy stop on a recent road trip I made. The setting is extremely unique, on an abandoned camp. The baskets look brand new and many have ribbons tied to the chains to aid visibility from the tee. Signs are at each tee, but some of them are temporarily mounted. Some old chairs and benches are stationed at tee pads to take a breather. The course flows nicely and navigation is easy (though the walk from 5 to 6 tricked me a bit. Tons of elevation changes, both uphill and downhill. 18's basket brings you right back to the parking lot. Most holes are in the woods and very tight technical shots, but there are 3 open field grip-'n-rips. Signature holes are 6 and 18 with abandoned cabins in play.
Cons: Foliage is out of control. Lots of poison ivy and thorny bushes in play are potential dangers, as well as tall grass. Fairways could use more definition. The tee pads could be more level; some are better than others. It would be nicer to have a few longer holes and more curves on some holes. Bugs were really bad when I played, but I'm sure that's variable.
Other Thoughts: Most cons are fixable. This has the potential to be a 3.5 or 4 star course. And since it's so close to the freeway, it's bound to get a lot of traffic. If they could weed-whack it and improve the tees it would be a huge improvement. From what I can tell, the course has a lot of solid local support and many reviewers claim it's "constantly improving." I'm excited to see how these improvements come about and will update next time I play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good stuff

1    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: murf1087
Played: 147  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Requires all types of throws. Several birdie chances. Several different lines can be played.
Cons: Broken glass, beehives in the cabins, debris and dangerous hanging branches. Course needs better upkeep. Downed power line on hole 7!
Other Thoughts: I had an excellent time at the course. Quite a nice gem tucked away back there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great work in progress

1    7/7/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: codyds
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Makes great use of elevation changes, offering unique angles
-Mostly wooded, but a few open holes for those that are long off the tee
-Could make use of the cabins/buildings in the future, which would be awesome
-Shorter holes seem to be appropriately snug
Cons: -Longer holes feel like they don't have a clear fairway, could use maybe a tree or two knocked down to provide a distinct lane off the tee
-Tee pads could use a permanent solution. Many have roots and knots littered amongst them while others could use better leveling. Also, the rocks lining the front of the boxes seemed to be hazard for someone like me off the tee
-Couldn't find a hole marker on #6 (I think). I might be blind, though.
Other Thoughts: I understand this course is very much a work in progress. When it is finished, this rating would have been an easy 4 out of 5. Some of the brush clearing that has been done is still in piles which can make finding a disc hard (red DX Shark lost left on 11 if anyone is reading...), so I imagine that will disappear soon. The holes are very well marked and pretty easy to navigate, so once this course is fully primped, it will make a great course. A lot of mid-range shots in the woods, so it won't discourage many newbies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.