Disc Golf Store
Beacon, NY 
Beacon Glades Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 205ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
mysterious course

1    6/29/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Rplus84
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.3 Years
Pros: -parking lot next to 1st and 18th tee
-practice basket
-rubber tees
-well individually marqued
-bathrooms
-good use of elevation
-benches on every hole
-nice place to have a picnic
-overall great vibe
Cons: -rubber tees should be longer
-mosquitos
-10 min away from i-84
Other Thoughts: my favorite course this far…3 open holes and the woods does not have much vegetation… this course is special, it contains these abandoned cabins which adds to a unique feeling in the sport… definitely worth the trip… i met someone there who belongs to the local club that maintains the course and he was very nice to show me some tips about the game and the course… i wish this course was closer to me… with better tees and longer open holes this course would be a 5.0 in my opinion… i hope to play here again soon...

Great Wooded Course

5+    5/11/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: beacon1b
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful woods, views, and unique atmosphere
Well connected holes, mostly short wooded holes but a few open, long holes
Cons: Not all tees are in the best shape, but all have at least tee pads. Gets muddy after the snow melts and extended rainy periods
Other Thoughts: I can't believe the last review was in January of 2013?! If you last played here in 2012, you will hardly recognize the place! There are many tee pads now, and the course has been cleaned up by the locals. A couple of tournaments are now held (June and October), and a weekly doubles tournament is held Wednesday afternoons in the Spring/Summer (starting at ~6pm)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A good course...someday.

1    10/20/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: adevuyst
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Signage throughout, albeit temporary. Varied terrain. Accuracy comes into play on most holes. Nice baskets. No poison Ivy to speak of which I was surprised about. Not a lot of gratuitous trekking. All in all a fun course to play if you're in the area.
Cons: Tee pads are natural which is sometimes nice but they're a little rough. A LOT of crap laying around; sticks, boulders, other junk. I found a baby shoe on 9 that scared the hell out of my girlfriend...It's hard to walk from one hole to the next without stabbing yourself in the shin with a stick or tripping over something. Just needs a lot of natural debris clearing. I've wandered out of there with many a bruise and/or scrape.
Other Thoughts: This spot is worth popping by if you're in the area, I wouldn't say it deserves more than an hour and a half drive as it stands. It's in the making and set on a very cool piece of land, so I'm sure by the time it's settled and done in a few years it will be pretty sweet. The course has a cool spooky feel, with a lot of old abandoned cabins, and chapel, a mosquito ridden pool and what looks like an alter near 3's basket.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course!

1    11/4/2012   11/4/2012
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is nestled on the edge of the Hudson Highlands at the site of an old (church?) camp. It's primarily set in the woods and on sloped ground, though 3 of them are set in an open field bordered by woods. One of these (hole 3) was very picturesque, with a giant flag pole waving old glory in the center of the fairway, with the basket perched beyond and below the autumn colors of the hills above.

The course is somewhat challenging as you are going either up and down that hill for more than half the course. The wooded fairways are tight enough to force some controlled shots, though most of these wooded holes are not that long.

The baskets are still new, in great shape, and the signs on the tees are very helpful. Navigation was fairly straight forward, but in a couple of places I used the provided map from the box at the start of the course.

Cons: There's a 5 hole run (7-11) that gives a little dejà vu, as you go uphill, then downhill, rotating like this every hole. They are very similar lengths, too. I think this may be resolved, as the kind local I played with told me they are considering lengthening a couple into par 4's.

The field holes could use a little more challenge - almost too wide open (hole 4 is an exception - the rough to the left forced me to pitch out which was acceptable risk/reward).

The tee pads are natural - not really a con, but many of them need to be flattened (especially when the throws are going up or downhill), and something to cover up exposed tree roots.
Other Thoughts: I played with a couple of locals who were super nice and made me feel welcome. They promoted their weekly scramble (doubles) that they have in the summer time.

The course was very quiet for a mild fall Sunday afternoon.

Overall, an enjoyable fun course that the new guys will find very challenging, and experienced players will enjoy but not feel too taxed

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Road Trip Stop But Needs Work

1    8/25/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: TBabb
Played: 49  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just 3 miles off I-84, this was an easy stop on a recent road trip I made. The setting is extremely unique, on an abandoned camp. The baskets look brand new and many have ribbons tied to the chains to aid visibility from the tee. Signs are at each tee, but some of them are temporarily mounted. Some old chairs and benches are stationed at tee pads to take a breather. The course flows nicely and navigation is easy (though the walk from 5 to 6 tricked me a bit. Tons of elevation changes, both uphill and downhill. 18's basket brings you right back to the parking lot. Most holes are in the woods and very tight technical shots, but there are 3 open field grip-'n-rips. Signature holes are 6 and 18 with abandoned cabins in play.
Cons: Foliage is out of control. Lots of poison ivy and thorny bushes in play are potential dangers, as well as tall grass. Fairways could use more definition. The tee pads could be more level; some are better than others. It would be nicer to have a few longer holes and more curves on some holes. Bugs were really bad when I played, but I'm sure that's variable.
Other Thoughts: Most cons are fixable. This has the potential to be a 3.5 or 4 star course. And since it's so close to the freeway, it's bound to get a lot of traffic. If they could weed-whack it and improve the tees it would be a huge improvement. From what I can tell, the course has a lot of solid local support and many reviewers claim it's "constantly improving." I'm excited to see how these improvements come about and will update next time I play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good stuff

1    7/31/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: murf1087
Played: 102  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Requires all types of throws. Several birdie chances. Several different lines can be played.
Cons: Broken glass, beehives in the cabins, debris and dangerous hanging branches. Course needs better upkeep. Downed power line on hole 7!
Other Thoughts: I had an excellent time at the course. Quite a nice gem tucked away back there.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great work in progress

1    7/7/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: codyds
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Makes great use of elevation changes, offering unique angles
-Mostly wooded, but a few open holes for those that are long off the tee
-Could make use of the cabins/buildings in the future, which would be awesome
-Shorter holes seem to be appropriately snug
Cons: -Longer holes feel like they don't have a clear fairway, could use maybe a tree or two knocked down to provide a distinct lane off the tee
-Tee pads could use a permanent solution. Many have roots and knots littered amongst them while others could use better leveling. Also, the rocks lining the front of the boxes seemed to be hazard for someone like me off the tee
-Couldn't find a hole marker on #6 (I think). I might be blind, though.
Other Thoughts: I understand this course is very much a work in progress. When it is finished, this rating would have been an easy 4 out of 5. Some of the brush clearing that has been done is still in piles which can make finding a disc hard (red DX Shark lost left on 11 if anyone is reading...), so I imagine that will disappear soon. The holes are very well marked and pretty easy to navigate, so once this course is fully primped, it will make a great course. A lot of mid-range shots in the woods, so it won't discourage many newbies.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Getting better all the time

1    5/13/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: HoosickTony
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 20.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Atmosphere: UNREAL and unique. Throwing with a run-up out from under a pavillion? Hucking between cabins? Using a mid-range teeing downhill 350+feet and going past the hole? A ship's mast as a field obstacle? SICK.

2. Use of terrain: Up and down and all around, with lots of optical illusions caused by the topography and the REAL BIG TREES. Bring good footwear.

3. Balanced design: Tight holes, left turns, right turns, S-turns, straight slots, open field bombs, low ceilings, tomahawk shots... everything you can imagine.

4. Potential for greatness: superb. There is a solid group of locals cutting and raking and improving, so this course is only going to get better as they polish the rough edges off it, and once they put in real tee pads and signage, it will be a 4.5 star course.

5. Course flow: Excellent. Comes right back to where you started after going here and there and everywhere, and the tees are easy to find from the previous hole basket location.
Cons: A. Needs more clearing.

B. Needs signage.

C. Dirt tee areas.
Other Thoughts: The course as it stands is a 3.5 star course, but I am giving it 4 stars because I know it will deserve them after the local guys have their first tournaments and get the signs taken care of and the tee areas improved, which I can see will be by the end of the summer.

This course is well worth the drive from over from the Thruway to play, and I can't wait to come back. KUDOS!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    3/10/2012   3/12/2012
Review By: DrThunder
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really dug the strange atmosphere of this course due to it being on the property of a closed down camp. Eery, quiet and very cool. There is an awesome downhill shot that I thought was one the coolest holes i've thrown on. Great views on high elevation holes.
Cons: Too many uphill holes, tees not marked or numbered easy to that should be worked on. Lack of Par notifications.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Under construction, will be GREAT

1    12/1/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: Morgan Wright
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 43.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/7/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The parcel of land is great, there is potential for a great course here. Lots of elevation and LOTS of acreage. Huge elevation, goes up the side of Mount Beacon and down again. Pins are all installed, Discatchers are pro level pins. Very nice. Hole 1 is right by the parking lot, easy access from the car, and it finishes up same place.
Cons: "Under construction" means the pins are in so the course is playable, and the fairways are marked out, but are not cleared yet. Trees, dead branches hanging down, vines in the fairway. But crews are out working on it and trees are being dragged out of fairways as we speak. The tee pads are just rough spots marked out on the ground, not even level yet, but I'm sure there will be proper concrete tees in time.
Other Thoughts: I'm giving this a 3 for now but I'll be back to raise it to 4 or more since I believe this chunk of land is worthy of a top level course when it's finished. I wish I lived closer so I could show up with chain saw and rip some timber.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.