Brevard, NC 
The Wilds Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #3 (Taken 5/2014)
-- / --   4 / 219ft.   -- / --   3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice casual course

1    5/19/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 48  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Beautiful piece of land, with mountains all around you. The tee signs are very professional made, which is a nice touch. It's pretty short, so if you're staying at the camp it would be a fun little outing.
Cons: No tee pads and the baskets are small and a bit wobbly. You play around a lot of the buildings, which is a bit nerve wracking in that you think you're going to knock out a window or hit a passing kid.
Other Thoughts: They've done a nice job with the course. Would be great fun if you want to casually play at camp. Could use some work (hardware, hole designs) if they want it to be a serious course, but that's probably not the goal.

Open, yet closed course.

5+    6/14/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: coachedge
Played: 56  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2013
Pros: Well-marked course with a well-written map/scorecard. This course is easy enough for a beginner (intentionally over-parred), yet challenging enough to be fun for an experienced player. There is a good variety of left turn, right turn, upward throw, downward throw, long, and short baskets. Due to other camp events, the course takes on additional obstacles and hazzards at certain times which add to its variety and difficulty.
Cons: Currently, the baskets, though full size, have single chains made of plastic which did not contain some of my longer or harder putts. Because of the camp layout (disc golf is a bonus, not a priority), sometimes the holes become too difficult to play without interupting something else.
Other Thoughts: Currently, the course is closed to the public and can only be played by those at the camp or their invitees. Holes 1, 4, and 8 are open, holes 6 and 7 have fairways along treelines, and holes 3 and 5 have "tunnel" fairways where a straight shot is needed until the green. Hole 2 can only be approached from the front as it is enclosed by bushes on the left, right, and back. Holes 1, 2, and 9 are set on inclined greens (the hole 9 basket is angled away from the incline). Holes 3, 6, and 7 are backed up to a ten-foot dropoff of the creek bank. Overputting may get you a bogey and/or get you wet. All-in-all, I spent several days working on beating the course record. 13-under is reported as the course record on the map/scorecard, but a 14-under was reported from an experienced disc golfer from earlier this summer. I was able to get to -15, but a -18 may be possible with long drives on the two par 5 holes. With the forgiving openess of many holes allowing for different throwing styles, this course was a lot of fun and can be played quickly enough to run through it in about 30 minutes.

 

1    3/24/2011   3/10/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 42  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/31/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: i recently played this course, and ive moved my rating up a little bit. the guy i played with a friend who lives in the wilds and he had made up a "back 9" which had a bunch of long shots, as opposed to the "front 9" which are fairly short, with the exception of a few holes. if you overshoot the 3rd hole, your gonna be in the river. i think its the 7th hole? but it is a very short toss around a gazebo, you need some good hyzer, but if you overdo it, your going in the river.
Cons: the baskets have plastic chains, so your disc doesnt drop in very easily. its a private course, made more or less for the campers.
Other Thoughts: overall, now that i played it again, with the addition of some newly styled holes, not too bad of a course. i rated this a 1 the first time, but i think its a little bit better than that.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 2/12/2013 Designer Response by: crusadersounds
As both parTake30 and coachedge mentioned, our baskets have had plastic chains. This is no longer the case as they are now powder-coated metal chains.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.