Kingman, AZ 
Haulapai Mtn. Park - Deer Canyon Share
Uploaded By: Havasu Chain Rattler Hole #9 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 132ft.   3 / 107ft.   3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Personable Mountain Course Along I-40!

1    3/11/2016   3/14/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Haulapai Mountain Park is located right off I-40 up in the mountains in Northern Arizona. The course is situated right next to the road and the hole # 2 tee pad is visible from the road. There is a $7 day use fee. The terrain is rough and fairly hilly although most holes are on fairly flat ground. Spotters are recommended are some holes. Although distances are short (All 9 holes are under 158' from the short BLUES. 160 to 236' on the middle REDS and 173 to 333' on the long YELLOWS). The pads are natural marked with these metal colored orbs, like on a ball golf course. The tee signs are the old school plexiglass models showing the three tee pads. The baskets are new DGA models. I loved the navigational aids of having three different colored wooden blocks pointing to the next tee.

This course has personality. It isn't bland at all. # 6 is just a simple 174' steep uphil but two bad rollaways later, I carded a double bogie five. # 7 is 185' uphill and across a valley, another interesting hole and # 8 is 202' across the side of the hill with a tiny gap. And then you finish with # 9. It's just 132' but very well protected. I was impressed with the lack of vandalism considering the remoteness of the course.
Cons: As easy as it is to find the # 2 hole, we found # 1 just as difficult to locate. It's actually just down the road 50 or 75 yards and there are steps leading down to it.
$7 to play a quick little round is kinda steep.
A spotter is welcome on many holes, especially your first time playing the course.
It's short and rather technical.
Other Thoughts: There's a reason this course has such a lofty rating. It's a fun play. Although short, as I quickly discovered, a birdie two can become a double bogie in a blink of an eye. Having three tee pads could change things up but I doubt if many players end of playing this course often owing to it's remoteness. I think most of it's play comes from players driving by.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth going out of your way for.

1    6/20/2014   7/22/2014
Review By: osopolare
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very creatively installed small course in a wooded area on a mountain.

Three tee pads for each hole going from Eazy->Fair->Hard. That gives this course a lot of replay value.

I found most of the shots to have a good risk/reward balance that makes for an exciting round.

Easy to navigate, decent signage.

I would definitely play here again.
Cons: Dirt tees. The start of the course can be a little tricky to find.
Other Thoughts: It's definitely worth the side trip if you're traveling down highway 40 already.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course

2-4    3/26/2014   3/26/2014
Review By: SpinDoctor
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The designer made great use of all the features of the terrain. Although there are only 1 set of 9 baskets, there are 3 separate tees for each hole. Each tee makes for a completely different hole; the shots, angles and obstacles are so different you can almost think of it as a separate course!

Another feature that makes this interesting is that the shorter holes are not necessarily easier; they're just more technical.

The signage was great and we had no trouble navigating once we found the first hole.
Cons: It's a little bit of a drive outside the city.

Some tee pads were a little small for the bigger throws, not leaving a big enough run up.

I'm from out of state, so I'll probably never get to play this park again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A must play course

1    11/11/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: Wood Chuk
Played: 298  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 36.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * well signed
* interesting throws
* beautiful scenery
Cons: * some erosion problems
Other Thoughts: It is a great joy to watch your disc sailing through the piney fresh mountain air. A bad shot may be hard to find. If you play uncontrolled and don't like to lose discs, you may be happier playing a city park course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden gem

1    11/23/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: BloodDust
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful landscape, wild life all arround, easy to navagate holes, new equipment.
Cons: mtn ness climbs to get your disk if you have a bad throw.
Other Thoughts: The BEST course in kingman az. Hole 7 was pulled out but I fixed it, Still not solid in ground but it will do. A must play course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Haulapai Mountain (Deer Canyon)

5+    5/6/2012   8/24/2012
Review By: Havasu Chain Rattler
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very Technical course, Beautiful scenery, Cool in the summer. Hilly and very wooded. Should bring heavier disc to play the winds. Don't forget your hiking boots.
Cons: Needs 9 more holes. Some more T pads
Other Thoughts: 9 more to come.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.