Lincoln, NE 
Max E. Roper Interstate Park Share
Uploaded By: gfellerjm Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
3 courses in 1

1    7/24/2015   7/25/2015
Review By: hollman
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great opportunity to mix it up with 3 groups of 9 holes; each group has a little bit of a different course feel. Some holes really let you throw it far.

Good use of trees to create some challenging throws, but not heavily wooded to where you should have troubles losing discs.

Park is quite nice. There are no roads going through the park, so the traffic is limited to minimal foot traffic.

It doesn't seem to get overly busy and there are enough holes there that players would likely be spread out. Fairways typically don't cross each other.

There are some decent elevation changes with the hills, but no cliffs or anything real dramatic.
Cons: It looks like the mowing might be a little sporadic. There were wind rows of grass clumps the day we played, making me think the grass might get a little high at times if they wait a while between mowings.

Some signs were missing, which made it a bit of a challenge to find some tees since this was our first time. A few of the signs seemed a little confusing (maybe they contained too much info on them to make them quick to read). A local told us a couple baskets were missing and/or moved because of recent construction. Prior to learning that, we thought we were losing our sanity wandering around trying to figure things out. Otherwise, most holes are in place and it plays pretty well. A couple of the fairways and baskets are rather close to private property, which could be an issue if you are new or if you sometimes have really errant tee offs. You can easily adjust your shot to play away from the borders to be safe; there is plenty of room.

Other Thoughts: This course has that golf course type of feel. If you like those courses, you'll likely enjoy playing this one. I really enjoyed the idea of being able to pick whichever 9 holes you felt like playing that day, from a little shorter and shaded, to really open and long, or the middle group of 9, which is a bit in between.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A lot of potential

1    6/29/2015   6/30/2015
Review By: luckless_pedestrian
Played: 20  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes is really nice. It's good how you start small on the front 9 and build up. You really could just start at 10 and have a great round.

Nice concrete tee pads.

Good use of the land. The holes flow pretty logically. I could pretty much guess or see where the next tee was when standing at the basket.

On a day that's not too windy it would be kind of hard to lose a disc. But I still managed to, so...
Cons: Tee signs probably used to be great. Now there are many that are missing or inaccurate. Mostly, you can see where you're throwing but not always. Another nice addition would be the little arrows under the basket pointing to the next tee.

Late in the day there are all kinds of bugs swarming around the ditch. You really don't want to go down there.

I got used to the traffic noise eventually but the park is tucked in where two interstates meet so there is a lot of noise.

Some flags or bright paint on the baskets would be nice. Worn gray baskets can be hard to spot when you don't know where you're looking -- and the move them around sometimes.

They seem to be doing some work right now at the far end with plowing going on in several fairways. But you can only assume this will be a temporary con.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot. I think I caught it at an off time -- grass was high, no basket at 12, major landscaping happening.

I'd call this course more fun than challenging. And that's good.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Max E. Roper course review

1    4/4/2013   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I like this course because it is one of the very few 27 hole courses out there. Low traffic and well maintained, it is a fun course with short to long throws and a few elevation changes.
Cons: The course throws along a highway, a neighborhood, and a creek with a 15 foot drop off so it is easy to lose a disc in some places especially on very windy days.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open & Long holes

5+    2/10/2013   2/22/2013
Review By: Birdie30
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice short front nine, gets you warmed up for the long bombers in the back 18. Wide open for big long lines. Alternate tees are great for us that play only at roper. Also a great course for playing safari.
Cons: To open when its real windy. Ne gets some killer wind and makes those big hill shots very tough. Not sure if thats completely a bad thing though.
Other Thoughts: Great course, fun to play. Not an easy course but is all at the same time. New challenges every time I play

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    2/2/2013   2/6/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 359  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes (see below), as has been already noted, you can play variations of 9 or 18 that loop fairly well to the parking lot.
-Cement tees of adequate size
-Old but solid baskets
-Close to I-80 and even closer to I-180 so it is easy to find without driving all over Lincoln
-Multiple tees and basket locations to switch it up.
-Much needed elevation on a few holes including the big downhill throw.
-The creek is a bit of a hazzard
Cons: -27 holes is great if you are playing an awesome pay to play where every hole is a different challenge but there isn't enough variety here for that.
-Signage is lacking and on open courses like this one with lots of baskets it is hard to know which one you are supposed to throw at. Bad flow.
-This is one of two courses in a large college town. I imagine it is quite busy during the nicer months. Not busy at all on my Saturday morning in February.
-Some holes are super short and easy. Like overthrow with Aviar at half power easy.
-Could be windy, it is very open and in Nebraska
-Bike path is a hazzard, used frequently.
Other Thoughts: Lincoln is in desperate need of another quality course. This one is alright but is very old. I expected better with its 3.6 rating but there are a few sketchy 4 and 4.5 reviews bringing up the average. I played Tierra park and it was pleasant but all reports from the summer are that it is bad. Play Tierra in the winter and here in the summer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Max E. Roper

5+    5/18/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: ulickeldroma
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a 27 hole course. The front 9 aren't too long and are a good warmup for the back 18, which has a good mix of short and long holes. Every hole has an alternate tee position and multiple hole locations. The hole locations are changed frequently in the summer. A creek running through the middle of the course provides additional challenge, and most holes (warning not all) have easy access to the creek for disc retrieval. A good mix of holes with trees, hills, open space, and wind.
Cons: Recent tree maintenance has really decreased the challenge on a few of the holes. This is the only reason I didn't give it a 5. The course can get quite busy late spring-early fall, and some of the college kids don't have good course etiquette.
Other Thoughts: Warning: If you learn to play on this course many other courses will not be challenging or as fun to play as Roper. It's the price to pay for having an excellent course.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Good course

5+    4/23/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: jboyer318
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging course with many different shot types. I am new to the sport and feel I can really hone my skills here. Long shots, short short, benders each way! Really enjoy this course.
Cons: A lot of grass over grown with weeds and long grass makes finding great shots hard some times. Missing some signs. Pretty open so wind is a pain on those days where it is really blowing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice

5+    4/18/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of holes(27) The holes move often enough. Lots of shade on hot days. Long and short holes give a good variety. Putting practice hole.
Cons: A bad throw could be lost in the creek. The last nine are usually not "wind friendly".
Other Thoughts: I like this course :) Very fun

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/14/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: bluedvl228
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of holes to be played ranging from short and technical shots on the first 9, to a better mixture of short and long on the second 9, to a larger open style on the back 9. There is an easy and difficult drive for every style of play. Creek running through a few of the holes makes for some hazards to be aware of. Easy access from parking lot puts you at the tees for hole 1 and 10.
Cons: Tee 19 for the back 9 can only be accessed after walking some distance or playing the middle 9 first so you can't exactly start on the back 9. I've played the course several times in the past with trash cans available but as of right now there are none so the course is starting to show litter. Also pin locations do change in the summer but seem to stay in place at any other time of the year.
Other Thoughts: Great course to cut your teeth in if you are a beginner. In the summer the course does get quite busy and there are walking paths throughout so you have to beware of walkers and runners. The designers did put some real thought to pin locations so it will be a mediocre challenge to veterans.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/9/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Park is kept in great condition.
-The layout and flow of the course is really easy to follow and never confusing.
-Holes are mostly wide-open, so it's great for people new to the game or people who really want to work on their drives.
-Hole 3 is interesting in that you need to throw through a narrow group of trees off the tee and then hook to the right a ways.
Cons: -The course for the most part lacks any real technical holes. The trees on hole 7 that added a challenge to it were recently removed, thus making the hole much more boring.
-The back 18 are pretty much all the same in that you just have to throw far in the open.
Other Thoughts: Roper is overall a decent park to play at if you're just looking for a relaxing round of disc golf. It's a great course for new players as well because it isn't too technically demanding. The course does get quite busy during the summer months because on certain nights the local dg league plays there, but they have no problem letting you tee off while it is going on.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.