Utica, MI 
River Bends Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 277ft.   3 / 277ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Almost Unplayable

5+    6/7/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: futant462
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 24 Holes
Some nice elevation changes including a beautiful shot over the river.
Lots of potential if the course is maintained….
Cons: …but the course has not been maintained. Missing signage, cracked tees, missing baskets. No discernible navigation between holes. The most recent 1/4 of a round I played there I was only able to find and play 7 holes.
Other Thoughts: The first few times I played River Bends my only Cons would have been a few missing signs, un-mowed grass, and the fact that it floods really easy. I still would have rated the course around a 3.5 or 4 because of the unique layout and some truly wonderful river holes and shots through the woods.

I was extremely dismayed with the course condition during my last round earlier this summer. After 7 holes I just stopped looking for the tees and baskets. They didn't exist.

If and when the course receives the much needed TLC, I will return.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So much potential but currently a disaster.

1    5/8/2014   5/8/2014
Review By: GMFS05
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course if fixed up and maintained has the potential to be a absolutely amazing course. Many challenging holes using elevation, terrain, and the river. Very scenic and relaxing. The locals seem very friendly. There is a nice variety of brands of baskets keeping it interesting.
Cons: Missing baskets. Missing tee pads. Signage is missing. Hole numbers are missing. Random pads and pins that make no sense without a map. The entire course was flooded. Tee pads were cracked and coming apart. Pins were leaning or surrounded by water on multiple holes. So much potential wasted.
Other Thoughts: If this course was updated and fixed up with new signs, tees and pads. It honestly would be a top rated course. But neglect and decay has ruined it for me. If it ever gets some TLC I'll be back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a Sherpa

5+    9/29/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: wyndorf
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: This course is wild, lots of rough, lots of alley shots and lots of distance. This place will test every shot you have and you'll love it if you have the time to spend here.
Cons: You need a guide to play every hole. This place is nuts with its layout and nothing is all that clearly marked. Many holes have spray painted rocks that have the same number of them...
Other Thoughts: I've played this course many times over the past 15 years and it never gets old. On a beautiful day, there's nothing better than being out here. Keep your eyes out for hawks, deer and snakes...

  Could be a good course

1    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: loki993
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/9/2012
Pros: Wooded with high rough, some very tight shots. Nice elevation changes and some water. A variety of shots are needed.

Course was dry even after raining a bunch this weekend, though before that Its been bone dry for a month or more so it could have probably taken all the water it could get.
Cons: Course layout is terrible, or at least finding the next hole is next to impossible. Example after hole 2 there are 3 tee boxes near the basket, none of which are for hole 3. For that you need to go across the bike path. Each tee pad had an orange rock, good, but half of them don't have the hole numbers on them, bad. There really isn't anything at the basket that indicates where you need to go for the next tee.

Lost track of what hole I was on near 8 or 9 and played the holes that I figured, logically, should have been the right holes and somehow ended up on 22. I still don't know where 10 is.
Other Thoughts: I can see how this could be a nice course, but at the bare minimum give people a sign pointing them to the next hole and paint the hole numbers on the rocks.

 Not my favorite course

1    8/16/2010   5/16/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A wide variety shots to take, nice scenery.
Cons: Baskets were in terrible condition, leaning in every direction, bad layout for some holes. Also hole one screwed me up apparantly it nessed other people up that they needed to put up a giant sign to point people to the right basket.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 disappointment

1    5/19/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: waterhyzerd
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good mixture of long, short, wooded, and open holes. Nice water holes.
Cons: Course layout, too much standing water EVERYWHERE, and lots of mosquitos.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend playing this course as it is currently. There is mud and standing water on almost every hole except of #1. The bugs are horrible and the place smells like sewage.

I also was not impressed with the layout of the course. The walking distance between some holes was longer and more confusing than i'm used to and it's easy to get lost in certain places.

But from a standpoint of when the course is dry (which at the moment seems not possible), it is not bad. There is a good variety of shots that you must use and birdies are not too easy to come by.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center