Utica, MI 
River Bends Share
Uploaded By: Zinc_Alloy Hole #20 (Taken 11/2014)
3 / 390ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    5/25/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: torihanus
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As a beginner and new to the disc golf community, I enjoyed the different elevations and terrain of this course.
Cons: Holes are poorly marked. River Bends uses big rocks painted in a bright orange color to show its users where the tees are. However, some of the paint on the rocks are chipped off. In addition, the rocks are tell you the hole number and how many feet it is away from the tee. On a couple of the holes, my boyfriend had to walk to find the basket. It was so poorly marked that on one of the holes, my boyfriend and I threw to the wrong basket! The course has a total of 27 holes, but we quit after ten.
Other Thoughts: This could potentially be a great course, if it was marked better and maintained. I was disappointed with it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Under construction but certainly playable

5+    12/30/2014   1/2/2015
Review By: Zinc_Alloy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of tight and open fairways. Well thought out and timed course in terms of shot making execution. Has a handful of severe elevation changes mixed throughout the round. 27 holes. Decent but mixed baskets overall. Great parking. Majority of holes measure over 300 feet. Hole 13 is played from atop a twenty foot cliff overlooking a river and bridge. 360ish to the basket.
Cons: Missing signs throughout and three teepads. Potential to lose a disc on many holes if not careful. Terrible bug problem at certain time of the year and will be under water during heavy rains. Poison ivy can be a serious concern if you are not throwing from the fairway. Hole 11 is borderline unfair but fun...
Other Thoughts: this course is almost completely under construction, at the moment. Do not go there expecting to play 27, if you have never been there previously. Park in the north east corner of the park to locate hole one. The course is half old/half new for those who have played there previously. Not too much has changed since the 90s. I like this course. You must be accurate and throw for some distance to score well. Played as a par three course, any round under par would be applauded by me(unless you throw over 400feet).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Almost Unplayable

5+    6/7/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: futant462
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 24 Holes
Some nice elevation changes including a beautiful shot over the river.
Lots of potential if the course is maintained....
Cons: ...but the course has not been maintained. Missing signage, cracked tees, missing baskets. No discernible navigation between holes. The most recent 1/4 of a round I played there I was only able to find and play 7 holes.
Other Thoughts: The first few times I played River Bends my only Cons would have been a few missing signs, un-mowed grass, and the fact that it floods really easy. I still would have rated the course around a 3.5 or 4 because of the unique layout and some truly wonderful river holes and shots through the woods.

I was extremely dismayed with the course condition during my last round earlier this summer. After 7 holes I just stopped looking for the tees and baskets. They didn't exist.

If and when the course receives the much needed TLC, I will return.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/10/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: Owannabeawinner
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are lots of different challenges here, up hills, down hills, across water and around trees. The scenery is great and it's not very crowded. This course gives you an opportunity to use lots of different disc from your bag.
Cons: Finding your way from one hole to the next is darn near impossible unless you have a map. There are missing tee-pads on about 6 holes and there are tee-pads that go nowhere.
Other Thoughts: All 27 baskets have been installed and I was told that the tee-pads will be installed on the rest of the holes in a few weeks. I was also told that signs will be put up to guide you through the course. The grass was just mowed before I played. If all this is done I would rate this course at least a four or better depending on how it's maintained in the future.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 So much potential but currently a disaster.

1    5/8/2014   5/8/2014
Review By: GMFS05
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course if fixed up and maintained has the potential to be a absolutely amazing course. Many challenging holes using elevation, terrain, and the river. Very scenic and relaxing. The locals seem very friendly. There is a nice variety of brands of baskets keeping it interesting.
Cons: Missing baskets. Missing tee pads. Signage is missing. Hole numbers are missing. Random pads and pins that make no sense without a map. The entire course was flooded. Tee pads were cracked and coming apart. Pins were leaning or surrounded by water on multiple holes. So much potential wasted.
Other Thoughts: If this course was updated and fixed up with new signs, tees and pads. It honestly would be a top rated course. But neglect and decay has ruined it for me. If it ever gets some TLC I'll be back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

what the flux!?

1    4/21/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 254  Reviewed: 249  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a VERY large "metro park feel" park. Limited interaction with amenities but intertwines and crosses several walking paths... Watch out for walkers.

teepads-- where there were teepads, they were nice... some of the short tees were a bit narrow and overgrown but the course is a work in progress.

Elevation/water-- reasonable use of both. I would like to see more water come into play but I suppose that would entail more bridges. the holes that play up and down the ridge to the valley are interesting and welcomed..

Challenge-- this course is challenging. Not only is it (going to be) 27 holes of disc golf, it does truly challenge every throw in you bag.

Signature-- #15 (I think) where you throw down the river is beautiful and a complete mindbender... Would love to have more holes like this around.
Cons:
Baskets-- a wide variety of baskets are in use here: DGA, DisCatchers, and discraft to name a few...not all in great repair and some are uber invisible on some of the "deeper" holes.

Routing and Nav-- some of the worst I've seen. the map, which I copied from disc golf scene, is reasonable BUT hole 5, 6 and 18 don't exist. Five and Six are roughed in but no teepads or baskets exist, 18 has markers for a teepad (flags) but no cut fair way exists. The transition from 20-21 (or what ever they are curently numbered) on the map sucks. you have to traverse back down the fairway of 20 to get to the pad for 21 (which is right next to 20's pad) The orange rocks are helpful to some extent but some sort of teesignage is so essential to this course. Next Tee signs need to be implemented as well.

Logic-- There are some missed opportunities here. after you throw over the water (#10?) you could throw back over off the big ass hill but instead you throw from the river bank back across the bridge? Not the best design idea.

Nitpicky-- it's a long walk back to your car after a long round. not sure how this could be tackled but, seriously.
Other Thoughts:
I expected a lot of the leg work to be done here over the winter but I guess I was wrong. I hope this course can pull it together. It will be a 4-5 star course when all the amenities listed in the cons are added!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 "Home Course" for nearly two decades

5+    8/27/2012   3/11/2013
Review By: Michael.Christian
Played: 47  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 21.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --Very wooded and bucolic setting; it is very common to encounter hawks and deer during rounds. The course is rarely crowded.
Cons: The entire course seems to be located in a flood zone and so early spring, late summer and soon after rain the course has poor playing conditions.Also, many of the baskets are old and in disrepair

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a Sherpa

5+    9/29/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: wyndorf
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: This course is wild, lots of rough, lots of alley shots and lots of distance. This place will test every shot you have and you'll love it if you have the time to spend here.
Cons: You need a guide to play every hole. This place is nuts with its layout and nothing is all that clearly marked. Many holes have spray painted rocks that have the same number of them...
Other Thoughts: I've played this course many times over the past 15 years and it never gets old. On a beautiful day, there's nothing better than being out here. Keep your eyes out for hawks, deer and snakes...

  Could be a good course

1    8/5/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: loki993
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 8/9/2012
Pros: Wooded with high rough, some very tight shots. Nice elevation changes and some water. A variety of shots are needed.

Course was dry even after raining a bunch this weekend, though before that Its been bone dry for a month or more so it could have probably taken all the water it could get.
Cons: Course layout is terrible, or at least finding the next hole is next to impossible. Example after hole 2 there are 3 tee boxes near the basket, none of which are for hole 3. For that you need to go across the bike path. Each tee pad had an orange rock, good, but half of them don't have the hole numbers on them, bad. There really isn't anything at the basket that indicates where you need to go for the next tee.

Lost track of what hole I was on near 8 or 9 and played the holes that I figured, logically, should have been the right holes and somehow ended up on 22. I still don't know where 10 is.
Other Thoughts: I can see how this could be a nice course, but at the bare minimum give people a sign pointing them to the next hole and paint the hole numbers on the rocks.

 Give it a try, it's dry (right now)

1    6/23/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: ovar
Played: 75  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.2 Years
Pros: Teepads, baskets were in good condition. Each tee area had a bright orange rock marking the hole #. Fairways were mowed. All holes were dry and playable. No missing baskets. Variety of hole types and throws needed. Good use of the river to throw over, around.
Cons: Limited signage.
The course could use a good course map. Maybe someone who frequents the course could make one.
I can be difficult to know which way a hole dog legs.
Other Thoughts: I honestly had low expectations heading to this course based on previous reviews on this site. I was lucky to meet up/play with some regulars to the course so navigation was not a problems. The course seemed to be well maintained and the actual course layout was interesting and kept me excited to see what the next hole had to offer.

I feel this course would benefit from some solid guides to help first timers. I also feel a course map (other than the poor one currently on the site) would benefit many first time players.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.