Utica, MI 
River Bends Share
Uploaded By: Zinc_Alloy Hole #15 (Taken 11/2014)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 316ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Give it a try, it's dry (right now)

1    6/23/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: ovar
Played: 75  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: Teepads, baskets were in good condition. Each tee area had a bright orange rock marking the hole #. Fairways were mowed. All holes were dry and playable. No missing baskets. Variety of hole types and throws needed. Good use of the river to throw over, around.
Cons: Limited signage.
The course could use a good course map. Maybe someone who frequents the course could make one.
I can be difficult to know which way a hole dog legs.
Other Thoughts: I honestly had low expectations heading to this course based on previous reviews on this site. I was lucky to meet up/play with some regulars to the course so navigation was not a problems. The course seemed to be well maintained and the actual course layout was interesting and kept me excited to see what the next hole had to offer.

I feel this course would benefit from some solid guides to help first timers. I also feel a course map (other than the poor one currently on the site) would benefit many first time players.

 Unique

1    5/6/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: dirtdog48188
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: 24 holes with a variety of terrain. Allows you to use multiple shots. Nice use of water on 3 holes. Decent scenery in a pleasant park setting.
Cons: Whole course was under water. There was 1 missing basket. Course layout can be a little confusing the first couple times you play it so use a map to ensure you are throwing at proper basket.
Other Thoughts: All in all even with the water on most fairways and approaches, and moats around the baskets it was worth the trip. We created a lot of our own ways to play around the flooded areas. I will DEFINATLY be coming back.

 needs improvement

5+    4/24/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -open for long distance drives.
-has 24 holes.
-has some tricky shots over water.
-very good variety of holes.
-great locals.
Cons: -baskets in bad condition.
-A very confusing course if it is your first time playing.
-signage is either gone or wrong.
Other Thoughts: you will need a map on this one because there are multiple tee pads for many holes here and the directions are horribly marked. other than that it would be an excellent course if they just made a few changes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/5/2011   11/6/2011
Review By: Thomas437
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Concrete pads
24 holes
Plays over and next to river
Cons: Not kept up
Limited signage
COnfusing layout
Plays over walking path
Other Thoughts: A great course for fall/winter rounds. Early into the summer the course almost becomes unplayable due to bugs and tall grass. Course may also lose 6 holes and become an 18 hole course

 Not my favorite course

1    8/16/2010   5/16/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A wide variety shots to take, nice scenery.
Cons: Baskets were in terrible condition, leaning in every direction, bad layout for some holes. Also hole one screwed me up apparantly it nessed other people up that they needed to put up a giant sign to point people to the right basket.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting

5+    10/28/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: Ymeister19
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging Holes, Very scenic. Many holes with water in play.
Cons: Course flow sucks. Baskets are in really bad shape. Tilting both left and right they are extremely finicky with any putt especially when trying from long distances.
Other Thoughts: they need to change the order of the holes so that your not walking half a mile between them. All new baskets, and signage to navigate the course would make this course a 4 instead of a 1.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Bad

1    10/27/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 38  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of shot types, tough holes, easy holes, tucked baskets, over the river shots.
Cons: Most of the baskets are absolutely horrible. There are 4 or 5 different types of baskets. Some ancient ones that have broken chains. Quite a few leaning baskets.

The course layout isn't great, makes it impossible to find your way around. Some signage would be very nice.

Takes a long time to play because of the distance between quite a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall not too bad. I absolutely hated the baskets though. They completely ruined the round for me. A 5 foot putt should not miss. Maybe once, but not 7 times. All 7 times hitting the center of the broken chains.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A great course screaming for some TLC

5+    9/3/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 184  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great design and plenty of shot variety in a pleasant park setting.

Plays in and around the scenic Clinton River Valley, making nice use of elevation changes. Features five holes that have you throwing either down into the valley or up and out of it, but otherwise plays fairly long and flat. Mostly open fairways, with some light to moderately wooded holes, and a few densely wooded stretches. Several Ace/Birdie runs, many over 300' and a couple over 450 including a 700+ bomber that'll stretch your arm out. The mix here lets you use every disc from the tee: putters, mids, fairway and distance drivers. Great use of the river to ratchet up the challenge and eye appeal, with 2-3 holes over water (depending which tee you play 15th hole from) and another fairway running parallel to the river. Signature hole has you throwing through a tight window, nicely framed by trees, way down into the valley below. Throw in some nicely tucked pin locations and a few baskets located in a clearing off the fairway and Riverbends offers a little of everything.

Concrete tees with dual pads on quite a few holes, including safer alternatives on the water holes.

Although there are other visitors to the park, the land the course is on is all but dedicated to disc golf, not too many other folks come down in the valley where most of the course lies.

Nice pavilion with picnic table/benches near the first/last hole.
Cons: Course maintenance is truly a crying shame. Due to budgetary constraints, infrequent mowing means grass in the fairway can exceed 3 feet. Check course conditions - if grass has been recently mowed, course plays well, otherwise, it's probably not a great idea to play a round here when the grass is so high that shots right in the middle of the fairway can take 10 minutes to locate.

Maintenance nightmares extend beyond mowing: Pro tee on 15 has literally collapsed and fallen into the river. At least 4 different types of baskets employed on the course. Most are in decent shape, but some are ancient, and have really seen better days. Many have been stolen over time and replaced with whatever was available through the local club, but the hodge-podge of basket types only adds to the bastard child feeling of neglect this course has.

Navigation: Can't argue with claims that it's tough to find your way around here - can be quite tricky if you're not familiar with the place. The spray-painted rocks for tee markers idea is OK, but completely useless when the grass is 3' tall. Any type of vertical, numbered, tee marker along with some next tee signs would make things a LOT easier for new visitors. However, once you learn your way around, the course actually flows quite well from basket to next tee (17th being the sole exception).

Because it plays through a river valley, some holes can get flooded after a hard rain, and take a while to dry out - makes the local mosquito population quite happy.

Some of the tee pads are on the small side and area around many looks bare.
Other Thoughts: Riverbends is a truly great course that is dreadfully in need of help. Playing here is hugely dependent on the current conditions. If recently mowed, it's a great place to play (3.5), but if the grass is high, or it's rained hard recently, it's simply miserable (1.0). The low lying ground means it retains moisture and the grass really grows well.

When I first played here years ago, I was thoroughly impressed, and would have given this a 4.0, but this place has been sadly neglected. I'm certain it's because the tax base has eroded, and there's simply not enough funding to go around, but regardless of why or how understandable it is, the fact is the course upkeep sucks, and most definitely affects play. Never seen a course that could benefit more from pay to play than this one, but I'm not sure the local Parks and Rec agency thinks it's feasible.

That being said it's still a good round if the grass isn't too high.

Update 10/26/11: Course looking a lot better:
fairways getting mowed regularly
fresh coat of bright orange paint on tee marker rocks
no missing baskets ( most are old, but all are OK).
Still litter scattered about and 15's Pro pad is non-existent, but overall course is in much shape than I'd seen it towards the end of last season.
Rating bumped from 2.5 to3.5...great place to play (except after it rains or when the grass in the valley hasn't been cut).

4/1/12: Still looks like it's being kept up.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Water

5+    6/20/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tough Water Holes, clean, cement tee boxes. has some tough holes that make you feel great what you blast your drive down it. Has one of my favorite hole there. good variety
Cons: Hard to get your disc once your in the water, some tall grass. could have more upkeep. low elevation. very little elevation change but still has some.
Other Thoughts: if it rains you will be skipping some holes for sure unless you have some big boots and a bunch of towels

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Disapointed

1    5/30/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 24 Holes
Cons: I gave up before I played them all. I play 2-3 times a week in Minneapolis and if our courses were like this I wouldn't play at all. The fairway grass was almost knee high and becasue of it the bugs were un-barable.
Other Thoughts: The signage to let you know where the next hole was located was poor at best. Probably could have been a decent course if it was better maintained.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.