Utica, MI 
River Bends Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 450ft.   3 / 450ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 If got em, Throw em!

1    10/10/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: PNovak22
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course was definitely fun. Many drives from different spots made the game very challenging and fun. Some drives along open fields made you have to bring it and some other shots threw the woods down a cliff, made you have to use finesse and acuracy. Shots over the river and along the rivers edge, made for a great challenge and stirred things up a bit. If you are looking for a course with a variety of shots, and a very nice scenic round of DG this is the one.
Cons: Some tee pads are kinda of beat up. The course maybe a little hard to navigate considering the markers are just big rocks painted orange with the hole number and the distance on them. But it wasn't really to bad. Some drives you throw across the bike path which seems a little odd. But just look out before you throw, and you should be alright.
Other Thoughts: This course was very fun, if you are ever in the area you have to check it out. If I was out in this area of town again I would definitely play again.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    9/24/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: VeeAreSix
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course mixing up short holes with some long ones and lots of open shots. The signature hole on this course is hole 15 which runs the entire length of the river and is one of the most challenging holes in disc golf I've played. It's consumed many discs but I never pass it by!
Cons: The river likes to steal discs from everyone. There are kids that will get the discs out and even if its your disc and has your name on it and phone number, they'll still try to sell it back to you.
Other Thoughts: If you like Stoney then you'll like Riverbends!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A river runs through it

1    9/7/2008   9/12/2008
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What really stood out for me here is the variety. Two holes play up the ridge, two play down. There are two holes were you have to play over the river and two where you can play over or alongside of it. Some of the baskets are out in the open, some are on the edge of the woods and some are tucked into the woods. I really had to think about how I was going to play my shots, and that added to the enjoyment.
Cons: The noise from the nearby shooting range echos through the valley, and disturbs what otherwise could be a peaceful round of golf. The tee pads should be bigger, and some are in disrepair. The alternate, shorter tees were perplexing - some holes had two sets of tees and some only had one. The hole info on the giant orange rocks is a good idea in that the rocks are too big to be stolen, but the info on them really is just the bare minimum. As such, navigating the course the first time through may take longer than it should, but follow your instincts and you should make it through.
Other Thoughts: Of the three courses I played on my recent trip to Michigan, the others being Raintree and Firefighters, this one seemed to be the toughest and the most interesting.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 eh...

2-4    8/5/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: iDisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: it does have a challenge to it. very nice scenery and the river is swim-able. other than that nothing much to say. you can full drive on almost every hole but it is considered the best in the area.
i found it easy to lose a disc here
Cons: -tee pad are tiny
-there aren't signs that tell you where the basket is, it tells you the hole number and the par on orange rocks (ghetto huh?).
-the first cage is on the edge of a hill so if you miss the putt it will roll 100 feet away.
-if you lose a disc then the next time you go there there will be a kid there trying to sell it back to you.
Other Thoughts: not the best
more cons than pros im afraid

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 We'll be back

8/9/2008   8/10/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: From what we saw of this course, it looks like a good place to return to and revisit. We didn't get a chance to play any of the water holes, but what we did play was varied and interestingly laid out. Looking forward to a return visit and will update the review to reflect that.
Cons: There is a bike path that we had to shoot over on the 6th hole which seemed kind of dangerous, especially since part of it was blocked by trees and you couldn't see if someone were coming.
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: We only had time to play the first 6 holes on this course due to time constraints and weather. Will be back to Utica again to give this course another try in the future.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gone swimming

7/20/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: eugy9228
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellant for driving practice. Always kept the next shot challenging .
Awesome holes that the river plays through.
Cons: When it's crowded the pople can defenmiatly get in the way if not paying attention.If you lose control of your disc your more then likely gonna go swimming for it.
Other Thoughts: Nice upkeep , all the passerby's are friendly and famialiar with whats going on. If it's a hot day you can cool off in the river at a few different holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wear your boots and a swimsuit

11/15/2007   11/15/2007
Review By: JoePublic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of holes and a good 24 hole layout. Some hard water shots with real risky lies.
Well established course, with plenty of locals and various styles of play. Interesting place to throw, and meet people. Enjoy a BBQ while your there.
Cons: They've been working hard on this course for many years, but it still needs some solid design work. Tees are getting old, and sometimes city maintenance forgets to visit the park. Mosquito heaven in the early summer.
Other Thoughts: Unless it's been dry and hot for alt least a week, expect some mud and swamp; wear your boots. Also, plan to swim on a hot day; but not too long, its not the cleanest river in the Detroit area.
This was my first home course back in 1997. Fell in love with it, then they changed it. And added a bike path through the middle, which gets real busy. Careful, most of these travelers though dont care about you or what your doing out there. They may move, but most likely they prefer if you throw over their head.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.