Myerstown, PA 
Jackson Rec. Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #12 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 459ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Approach



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A bit of everything

1    12/27/2013   12/27/2013
Review By: Bleeder973
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety is definitely a major factor here. The course has a little of everything. Wide open, some holes with trees(not needle and thread type but...) uphill, downhill. The course plays fairly well and I'm venturing to guess it would be a favorite for new players as a good many holes are pretty wide open. The course has its's challenges too
Cons: It's Pro's kind of translate into it's Cons. The wide open holes are more or less straight shots. On Hole 8 I was confused about which basket belonged to hole 8 or 9. After ripping my shot to the basket I thought it was and walking to my lie, I realized I mistakenly threw to basket 9. Water is a major factor here. Definitely making it more challenging but the holes with water use the water as OB. These water ways are canal channels so good luck if you throw a swimmer.

With water playing such a huge part of the course, access to both sides via bridges of the waterways would be useful without taking a tour of the entire park.
Other Thoughts: Over all I'd say this is a nice course. I would play here again. For the more experienced players I'd say bring your flippers and have fun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course

5+    7/14/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: mSchmoe41
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee pads are great. A great place to work on distance. Very well kept. The mando on hole 17 is something I like. A nice quiet place. I like how hole 1 is a hole that goes right instead of straight or left and contend with the water.
Cons: Too open. I love working on distance but I like the idea of throwing a long way accurately and trees are a wonderful teacher. Too much forgiveness with the wide openness. Needs to be more ways to cross the little creek because of placement of the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think this course is a good course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Zoro

1    6/15/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Excellent teepads - long-n-wide, raised, pad on crush/gravel.

New baskets in a pretty park near food/petrol options.
Cons:
While the teesign abutting the back of the teepad may bother those with longer run-ups (not me), it was actually the small post at each front corner of the teepad that disturbed me, i.e. will I catch it with my foot on my follow-through?

The single crossing point causes one to retrace one's steps after teeing off on #1.
Other Thoughts:
If you're an aquaphobe or an arborist, avoid this course, as what it lacks in trees it makes up for in water (a creek thickly-lined by grasses and weeds, or a murky canal). Water may come into play on ~2/3rds of the holes, while trees are intentionally involved on holes 6/17, as you must throw through narrow windows early.

So, the course is primarily open, and fairly flat, with some elevation in the far corners. The water simply parallels the fairways on ~1/3rd of the holes, so avoiding too much turn/fade is the challenge, while on another 1/3rd, the water needs to be crossed, typically early, but late a couple of time. Number-5 probably has the most challenging basket location, with the creek along the length of the right-side, and the canal behind and left of the basket.

There are a few open holes, more so on the back nine, which will let you air-out yoru favourite distance driver, but with half the holes sub-300', there are birdy opportunities.

Oh, and to show the Universe requires balance, my playing partner aced #5 :-) - after which I threw my disc into the water/weeds behind the hole, not to be found. :-(

A fun, pretty, open course, with an omnipresent water-hazard - play as your course-preferences motivates you.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A little more than your typical municipal park!

1    6/21/2013   6/23/2013
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice super grippy rubber tees in nice boxes. The course was well-maintained with short grass and a manageable rough in case your discs end up there. A kiosk with disc golf into and a disc return box is by hole #1.

- A chance to air out some katanas, nukes, destroyers, and the like. Some holes exceed 300' and hole #16 is a monster 480 slight downhill bomb to the basket. Very memorable! Another memorable hole is #11, a 500' drive that crosses a creek at about the 420' mark. Thus, you have to think about the water on your first or second (in my case) drive.

- Holes #6 and 17 are both interesting tunnel shots through dense vegetation. Even more interesting is that both times, you must clear the tunnel or your disc goes into the stream. Moreover, the basket on each hole is 200' or so away once you clear the tunnel. The key here is throwing low enough to get through, but high enough so it flips back up to get enough distance to the chains.

- Overall, the course is very wide open, which can be good for airing out discs and making it hard to lose your plastic. Placement of pins by trees helps break the monotony of throwing in wide open fields.
Cons: - On the other hand, it's a little too wide-open. I know I spoke of #6 and 17 with the tunnel shots, but that's really the only wooded holes that can be spoken of here. Everything else is out in the open and deją vu kicks in after while. Even now, shortly after playing, many of the holes run together.

- The water could mess with your head. It didn't for me really, but I did have to let off the gas on a few holes for fear of it going in the water. (Even if it doesn, you can easily wade in there; the water's only a foot or two deep)

- Not exactly a 950-rated round of disc golf, but an excellent one for a beginner or someone looking to add some distance to his/her drives.

- Slight chance of an errant drive hitting another disc golfer, since many of the holes stand by another. There isn't fairway crossing per se, but I can see the need to be cautious during a tournament, league round, or just a busy day.
Other Thoughts: At first glance, you look at the flat, wide-open holes in a recreational park and think "UGH. NOT AGAIN!." But then you play it and realize it has a lot to offer: multiple water hazards, long wide open bombs, controlled tunnel shots on #6 and 17, and a variety of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Is the water all a gimmick and lose its novelty after awhile? I'll let you decide when you play, but I found it to be a great asset. In general, this is a great course for learning to tame the water hazard boogie monster, throw long drives, and introduce new people to the sport.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long and short

1    12/23/2012   4/29/2013
Review By: AaronMonier18
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Discatcher baskets and rubber tee pads. Score cards give distance. Nice mix of long open shots and short mid range/putter approaches. Par 3, 501 ft hole with a water stream hazard and OB offers some technicality. Need the disc to work both directions at certain holes. Very wide open and baskets are visible from a majority of the pads.
Cons: Pads are slightly narrow and no signs yet. Chances to cross stream are far between. It is difficult with in wind.
Other Thoughts: Living in New Hampshire it was a nice chance to play an open course and disc down. Water hazard makes shot selection relevant. You really can't blame low hanging branches or unkept fairways. Field will be tough on to play with any sort of rain/dampness. Nice open 18.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

5+    5/15/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course will over time give you confidence to throw around water, over water, and through trees over water. This course is fantastic for beginners, and advanced alike. Beginners wont feel that the baskets are too far away, and advanced players will be delighted with the variety of holes. Most holes are wide open, but not too open where it feels like you've played the same hole twice.
Cons: I cant complain too much about this course. more bridges would be great! teesigns as well, but these things will come in time. Because most holes are wide open, you wont get to test your technical skills too many times. Although the water is mostly shallow, there are some very deep parts (Hole #1) And Remember, you WILL get wet.
Other Thoughts: The park is pupular for soccer tourneys, but i havent had it become an issue with wandering kids/adults. beware the local tween who claims to have mastered the course and can "throw an ace on every hole." Rumor has it he lives across the street - his boasting was grating.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course

1    3/24/2012   4/3/2012
Review By: chuckfor20
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Looks are deceiving. At first glace it looked very open and simple, but once you get started it was very challenging. The creeks and out of bounds areas make for very fun play.
Cons: The course is brand new, but there definately needs to be a few bridges over the creeks. If you happen to through over the creek by accident, you can either wade across or walk all the way around the course to get to your disc.
Other Thoughts: Its going to be a great course in a few years once the bridges are in place and some of the young trees grow.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 very nice

5+    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: harmonicajoe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course. One of my favorites. Mostly open holes but there are challenges. The creek winding throughout the course is a disc magnet but fun to play around. The best tee pads anywhere.
Cons: No cons
Other Thoughts: The course keeps getting better and better with new sign and lost disc box, score cards and regular course maintenance and improvements.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Donnie F

1    2/18/2012   2/19/2012
Review By: Donnie F
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. Fly pads were some of the better ones I have played on. Easy to follow the course as you can see the whole park.
Cons: Course is for begginers or for someone trying to work on the up shots. Pins are easily reachable on the drives. Could use a couple of foot bridges to cross the creek more easly.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner friendly

1    2/18/2012   2/18/2012
Review By: Obiwankaneobi
Played: 144  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Discatcher baskets. Good use of water hazards requiring accuracy. Tee pads are uniform fly pad type. Course was well manicured with little to no rough. Has good parking and restrooms (seasonal? Locked on our trip).
Cons: Very open with almost no true obstacles other than pin placements proximity to water. All but two holes are easily reachable from tee. Hole markers location on front edges of tee present a tripping hazard as well is not having level ground off front of the tee for your follow through.
Other Thoughts: A good course for beginners but birdie opportunities on every hole present little challenge to the pro player. If your looking to practice your short game and placement shots its alright but other than that I can not recommend it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.