Greece, NY
Sawyer Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Interesting par 3's

2-4    9/28/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: Schmankster
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.8 Years
Pros: -A beautiful 9 hole course around a park. The park has a pavilion, playground, restrooms, and walking trails. It would be perfect to have a disc golf themed BBQ!
-A lot of variety on the course. Water shots, wooded, and doglegs make it interesting. A lot of tight shots are required
Cons: -Be sure to print out a map before you play. It can get confusing. Natural tee pads. Watch for the spray painted numbers/arrows on trees.
-There's not a single bench on the course. Not a big deal, I just like to sit and relax every so often.
-A few of the holes put you right next to the play/party areas. Watch for innocent bystanders!
-Thick woods. Trees/scrub everywhere. A little trimming back would help a lot.
Other Thoughts: -Great course to kill an hour with. My 11 yo Son loves it!

-1 Trees on the left. Trees/playground on the right. Straight ahead through all this mess.
-2 Basket is back on the left of the fairway. trees everywhere!
-3 My favorite! I am a leftie - throw over the water to the left, curves perfectly! Thick trees on the right. Good luck righties!
-4 I'm not a big fan of this hole. Throw through a mess of trees, slightly to the left, and over water. This hole is right next to the pavilion and the bathrooms.
-5 Nasty wooded uphill hole. Tomahawk/thumber?
-6 Another nasty wooded hole! Kinda reminds me of a baby Basil Marella. Thonk Thonk $#@#@# Thonk Clang!
-7 A great leftie hole. Curves to the right. Watch out for the creek on the left!
-8 Yet another nasty wooded shot. Straight ahead.
-9 Curves to the left through thick trees. Watch out for the creek/bridge/people at the bottom of the trail.

Good for recreational play

2-4    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 77  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - tees marked usually on trees
- hole number marked on basket
- I could navigate the course pretty easily only checking the map once or twice
- lots of directional signs towards next basket
- even though the holes are short good use of the trees and creek as obstacles
- location near picnic area if you want to have lunch
- great for recreational players who just want to have fun
- even though the park is busy, the disc golf course avoids the people
- can be played quickly if you are in a hurry
- the woods and creek add a little character to the course
- some nice risk and rewards opportunities
Cons: - very short and not reasonable for a serious disc golf round
- no tee pads although the footing is not too bad on the tees
- no official signs but not a big deal because all the baskets are visible from the tees
Other Thoughts: This course is not a destination course but quite fun if you are in the are and want to have a picnic with the family. The course is pretty decent for children because of the short holes but might be a little difficult because of the trees and creek. I especially enjoyed this course when I carried just one disc (Roc) and didn't have to lug all my discs around. Note on the rating- I would only give a 9 hole course a max rating of 2.5 since it only has half the baskets and I not as critical on tee pads and signage as long as its fairly easy to navigate because I think nine hole courses are more for relaxing. I am looking for how fun the course is and the layout more in the rating and this course was enjoyable to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

So So

2-4    4/8/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: jkanick38
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
Pros: Great for beginers due to the short and generaly straight holes, has a mix of forest and open hole with some water, the stream is not deep enough to loose a disc.( update ) has been cleared out a bit
Cons: not well taken care of, and has alot of flaws, mostly overgrown with poorly lables tees and directions on what way to throw picnic area close to tee 4 not everyone is DG friendly
Other Thoughts: could be a nice nine hole course just needs some work done to it, just feels like ur playing through wood thats someone set baskets up in. will play again to see if they improved this year

 better than i thought

5+    3/18/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was alot better than i had pictured. it also deserves more respect than others have givin it. A short 9 hole course that requires a bit of focus to warm up the short game for a round at Basil (which is right around the corner)
Also has alternate tees set up further back from front nine tees to make same holes longer for a back 9
Cons: -could use better directional ( just arrows painted on trees.)
-right next to a playground (watch for the little ones)
Other Thoughts: worth the quick round while in the area

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

short 9. needs help

5+    8/19/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 43  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - description: short 9 hole course heavily wooded with a stream in play on several of the holes.
- time: fastest course i've ever played. took around 20 minutes.
- difficulty: easy. i put this as a pro because it can be a quick warm-up course if you're looking to play basil (a nice wooded course only a few minutes away) or if you just want to work on your midrange and putting.
- signature hole: would have to be hole 7. tee off standing along the stream, up and over a tiny hill. two fairways available, a backhand one that takes you closer to the edge of the woods or a sidearm shot that flirts with the stream.
Cons: - tees and signs: poor. signs are simply numbers on white boards and tees are dirt. no directional arrow from one hole to the next.
- hole maintenance: needs some clearing out in different places and more clarity of where the tees are meant to be. for instance, hole 9. where the sign is actually placed, there is NO fairway to the basket because it's all literally overgrown with branches, leaving you the only option of teeing off 5-10 feet to the right of the sign and skipping an overstable disc down a walking path.
- hole designs: i think a little tinkering in length and fairways could be done, but the space may be too small for drastic changes
- children/playground: watch out. kids could become obstacles at any second or decide to retrieve a thrown disc for you :)
Other Thoughts: - short on time and like woods, stop on by for a round or two. have fun creating alternate tees, too.
- examples of alternate tees: coolest one i could find is for hole 9. continue on walking path along stream past basket 9 and away from the parking lot. at around 200 feet, by a big tree next to the stream, turn back around and face basket 9. this could be a fun hole 10, leaving you a fairway either out over the stream (pretty gutsy because of overhanging branches) or out over land with a tree or two to navigate.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short Game Practice

1    6/28/2011   6/30/2011
Review By: Stairyo
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun mini-course. Good for quick 1 or 2 disc rounds. A little creek runs through the course which adds a slight challenge to 3 of the holes. I really like hole 3 which is over a bend in the creek and is definately an ace run. Good chance to work with midrange, approach, and putting.
Cons: Basket #9 was missing. Tough to follow the signs to the next hole. Had to use map on cell phone for most holes. Screaming children running around the park and woods from a day camp.
Other Thoughts: This course is definately not on par with the other courses in Rochester, but it's still not a bad little course to stop by for a picnic and a quick 9.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sawyer

2-4    5/7/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: keithbkessler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short quick games making it good for beginners. Creek play on multiple holes. Nice foliage. Plenty of chances for aces for birdies.
Cons: Muddy during spring. Too short at some points. Without a map it can be hard find your way around.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad course at all

1    8/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 71  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2011
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tight, short shots. Not a bad course, but easy. Plenty af ace chances keep it interesting.
Cons: Tricky to navigate, and all the holes are very short. In the summer, it can get fairly overgrown. This course seems to be the skinniest of five brothers at the dinner table. I just don't think it gets the attention it should with better courses so near.
Other Thoughts: I usually don't play 9 hole courses, but this was around the corner from Basil, so I gave it a shot. It's pretty primitive, and probibly the weakest course in the area, but it's still fun. "Easy" seems to sum it up, but couldn't we all use the confidence boost every now and then? I wouldn't plan a trip around it, but if you're sick of the other Rochester area courses, and need a change of scenery, check it out!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Basil's Runaway Bastard Child

1    9/26/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not as terrible as I was expecting. I have played far worse....I'm sure Rochester Dgers shudder at that thought. It's a short course thats a good warm up for Basil or a nice practice course or a place to have a fun round and not worry about crowds or backups.None of the holes are long so it plays real quick with a midrange and a putter. Very tight lines that offer rewarding birdies and punish misfires.
Course had straight, left, right and plinko style holes so I never got bored. If you focus on what this course has and not what it lacks you can appreciate it. I love a good plinko hole where you are forced to find a line. Hole #1 with its grove of trees rising out of mowed and manicured grass is as good as plinko gets. 3 holes incorporate a wide yet shallow stream into the shot. Good use of banks and undulating terrain to create some fun approaches. The tight gnarly lines will only make you a better player as I birdied and double bogeyed here......I think I could break 20 here but might try all day trying.
Cons: Theres plenty to disgust DG snobs here. No Tees, No easy way across the stream, signs consist of just a white piece of wood with a number tacked to it nailed to a tree, It's a little unkempt, and the attempt to provide 18 holes with dual tee off positions is laughable as there are no tees and often zero lines due to overvegetaion from these extra positions. (good idea poorly executed)
Really has no appeal as the lines are too tight for beginners and the course is too short for experienced players. Course doesnt even have many ace chances either as the density of the trees and obstacles makes aces unlikely. (I almost got hole 6 though) It has some decent variety and intersting features but it just seems like it's uncared for and left to go on iit's whimsical way.
Other Thoughts: I came here looking to get an easy ace and to course bag....shame on me. I'm glad I played it though and if I had a course like this near me I am sure it would benefit my game with the tight lines required. Supposedly these 9 baskets were holes 19-27 at Basil and they got taken out and placed here....seems crazy to do that and put the baskets in a park right around the corner that is far inferior to the mighty Basil.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: couple of holes just far enough for some practice, or if you have 20 minutes to kill.

maybe one scenic hole (hole #7)
Cons: poor signage (pieces of wood with numbers on them, or spray paint on trees)

extremely difficult to find your way around.

poor layout, different tee placements with different numbers is a sad attempt at 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: play it if you gotta go to wegmans or esl and then have 20 minutes to kill. other than that don't even bother. Basil is 5 minutes down the road.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.