Greece, NY 
Sawyer Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Basil's Runaway Bastard Child

1    9/26/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not as terrible as I was expecting. I have played far worse....I'm sure Rochester Dgers shudder at that thought. It's a short course thats a good warm up for Basil or a nice practice course or a place to have a fun round and not worry about crowds or backups.None of the holes are long so it plays real quick with a midrange and a putter. Very tight lines that offer rewarding birdies and punish misfires.
Course had straight, left, right and plinko style holes so I never got bored. If you focus on what this course has and not what it lacks you can appreciate it. I love a good plinko hole where you are forced to find a line. Hole #1 with its grove of trees rising out of mowed and manicured grass is as good as plinko gets. 3 holes incorporate a wide yet shallow stream into the shot. Good use of banks and undulating terrain to create some fun approaches. The tight gnarly lines will only make you a better player as I birdied and double bogeyed here......I think I could break 20 here but might try all day trying.
Cons: Theres plenty to disgust DG snobs here. No Tees, No easy way across the stream, signs consist of just a white piece of wood with a number tacked to it nailed to a tree, It's a little unkempt, and the attempt to provide 18 holes with dual tee off positions is laughable as there are no tees and often zero lines due to overvegetaion from these extra positions. (good idea poorly executed)
Really has no appeal as the lines are too tight for beginners and the course is too short for experienced players. Course doesnt even have many ace chances either as the density of the trees and obstacles makes aces unlikely. (I almost got hole 6 though) It has some decent variety and intersting features but it just seems like it's uncared for and left to go on iit's whimsical way.
Other Thoughts: I came here looking to get an easy ace and to course bag....shame on me. I'm glad I played it though and if I had a course like this near me I am sure it would benefit my game with the tight lines required. Supposedly these 9 baskets were holes 19-27 at Basil and they got taken out and placed here....seems crazy to do that and put the baskets in a park right around the corner that is far inferior to the mighty Basil.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/16/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 70  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: couple of holes just far enough for some practice, or if you have 20 minutes to kill.

maybe one scenic hole (hole #7)
Cons: poor signage (pieces of wood with numbers on them, or spray paint on trees)

extremely difficult to find your way around.

poor layout, different tee placements with different numbers is a sad attempt at 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: play it if you gotta go to wegmans or esl and then have 20 minutes to kill. other than that don't even bother. Basil is 5 minutes down the road.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the time.

1    6/1/2010   6/3/2010
Review By: jlandry117
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Just like everyone else...this is close to Basil. Other than that i have no pros for this course.
Cons: Horribly assembled. No clear paths. Completely over-taken by weeds.
Other Thoughts: Don't even waste your time. This was not the least bit enjoyable to play. Only attempted 4 holes and then gave up. I became completely covered in poison ivy on my arms and face. Its a shame that these baskets have been put to such poor use; this course needs a complete overhaul or the baskets need to be used elsewhere.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth it

1    5/5/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: swiltse
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is nice, but the course is really a waste of good baskets.
Cons: Course it hard to navigate, even with a good map had trouble finding a couple tees and then determining where the pins were. Really overgrown on most holes, #9 didn't even seem to have a throwing lane. I know this course is supposed to be for beginners/kids, but it's really short and there's really not much throwing lanes.
Other Thoughts: This course either needs to be worked on to improve it or just pull the baskets and make a better course somewhere else. I played it to try it out, but wouldn't go back, it's really not worth it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 If you're in the area, stop by for a Quickie!

5+    7/14/2010   12/15/2009
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variation of different shots, one over water, some amongst trees, some more open. Few nice left hooks.

Wonderful use of the space. Great place to teach people the sports, fun place to work on your short game!
Cons: Not a big course, only 9 holes, and might have a lot of people around at certain times of the year...but I've never seen anybody.

****UPDATE**** this course has sort of been taken back by nature. It may get a facelift soon...but we'll have to see what happens. Essentially storms took down trees and weeds grew up and weren't pulled and leaves fell and gather loosely everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I play this course with a mid and a putter. Or a mid, approach, and putter....or maybe just approach and putter.

If you like a Challenger for putting and approaching maybe just bring that. I could certainly score well on this course with just a Challenger.

This course is a fun little trip. I like to play speed 1-2 disc rounds with my dad here. This course is like a mile away from Basil so sometimes when we leave Basil we realize we're up for more, and stop off at Sawyer Park and get in a quick 9-27 holes.

Parma and Basil are both really close...so if you're traveling play those...but if you have the time to stop over, Sawyer is a welcome little detour.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Not THAT Bad

2-4    11/7/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: Rooster09
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Relatively short and easy, good for beginners. Some cool shots.
Cons: Needs to be better maintained. With a little brush clearing, and if it was a little easier to navigate, this would be a really good course.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun at this course, even if it's a bit overgrown and hard to navigate. If it got a bit of work it could even be a favorite of mine.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 pretty bad

1    5/10/2008   8/25/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: it's close to a really nice course - Basil Marella

nice, wooded area. potential for some great holes.
Cons: don't know if any of this has changed but there were no signs, no tees and the course was very difficult to navigate.
interesting topography with the creek and woods but muddy, overgrown, etc.
Other Thoughts: could make an interesting course if some work was put into it but this course is just not worth it in it's present condition. especially since Basil Marella is minutes away.

the time of year may have played a part in the course condition. it was right after the thaw.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

2-4    7/19/2008   7/19/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very close to Basil if you are passing through the area and want to play as many courses as possible.

Holes have a nice concept for the type of shot to be played. Park has lots of potential for a very sweet course. Open pine woods for the first few holes and dense hardwood forest for the last. And a creek to add difficulty.
Cons: Holes were just "thrown" into the park. No signage to speak of except for a course bulletin board with a map that doesn't describe much. No real "flow" to the hole layout, lots of criss-cross and backtracking.
Other Thoughts: Could be a great little nine hole course with some clearing of fairways, marking of teeboxes, and directions pointing to next tee.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth the trouble...

1    6/23/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: TheRicker
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Close to Basil so you can get 27 in without much driving around.
Cons: Muddy, overgrown, hard to find tees and baskets. plays around a playground, with lots of kids running around.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't bother coming back here unless there was some improvements made to the course, it's just too overgrown to have any fun.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 at least it exsists

5+    6/22/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DanDwyer
Played: 40  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: that its so close to basil that when your all the way out there you can just go an extra mile or so and get fresh 9
Cons: its a fresh nine but its not that great and kind of complicated to play the first few times
Other Thoughts: some kind of tee and maybe a sign at the holes would be great

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.