Disc Golf Store
Greece, NY 
Sawyer Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 194ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 What do you expect fo a nine hole course

5+    5/17/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you want to get in a round before dinner or a night out this is the perfect course for it or you can throw some glowers on you dics and play a quick roughe night game. Not very difficult and the likely hood of loosing your disc are very low.
Cons: If you have not played there before bring a map the tees are very hard fo find and poorly marked most people just start from a cental location and play the last holes from there it is not on a lynks system so you will be walking back to throw your nexy hole on the last cupple it was sort of crammed in a park but what do you realy expect for nine holes its not unplayable

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs Work

1    8/10/2008   8/15/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park, kinda out-of-the-way. Hole # 1 easy to find and a nice thread the needle fell to it through some pines. Baskets are in good shape. Some interesting shots where the creek comes into play.
Cons: After hole# 2 the tees are poorly marked, some just spray painted numbers on trees. No hole lenghts or pars listed anywhere. No indicators to next tee on baskets, and even with the map it was difficult to find my way.
Other Thoughts: Very nice map available online, I sugggest first time players bring it along. I think this course has some potential, but if I'm travelling to this area I will play Basil Marella instead. If you lthrow your disc into the creek here there is practically 0 chance of retrieval. The water is muddy and runs quick.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I consider this the "rec" course in the area. Last I knew it was only 9 holes Length and accuracy were respectable. Not a tournamnet course and not one I would recommend out of towners to visit, but nice to have.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short and tight

11/26/2006   11/26/2007
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: tight and challenging, need pin point accurate throws to get up for the 2.
Cons: still alot of brush in "fairways" on the back side a guy I met up with was adding second tee positions so the course would play like 18. He said the course was a "work in progress"

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 makes a nice addition to Basil Marella

2-4    9/27/2007   10/13/2007
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Course for such a small area. Just minutes from Basil Marella in Greece.
There are tees to make this an 18 hole course but it wasn't worth the time.
Some nice birdie opporunities for a par 3 course.
Cons: Don't hit the kids on the playground on hole 1. It's only an 8 hole course and can not compare to local courses like Chili and Ellison. Hard to find tees and holes.
Other Thoughts: Try it sometime after Basil Marella, its a quick course and has a lot of character for such a tiny course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 In the shadow of Basil

9/5/2007   9/5/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: More than I expected from a little par 3 course. Up and down shots, over the creek, through the woods...short but not too bad. Also, unlike other short park courses, this one is at least somewhat out of the way: no shots through playgrounds or ballfields.
Cons: While most of the tees are marked (though some with only spray paint on trees), there is often no clear line one has to stand behind; some tees appear from the signs to be actually in the brush. The woods are a tangled mess, and nearly all of the throwing lanes favor only right-handers. The length of the course relegates it to new players, but the amount of water in play may be a bit much for those who only own a couple of discs and don't want to risk having to wade in after them.
Other Thoughts: It's too short for serious players, and too hazard filled for beginners. With a superior woods course (Basil Marella) only a mile away, I'm not sure how many people would want to play here. Beginners would have a better time at Basil, and I'm sure pros would rather play a real 18 hole course as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.