Kennett Square, PA 
Anson B. Nixon Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #5 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

5+    2/27/2016   2/27/2016
Review By: BRIANREVIVAL
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most holes have concrete tee pads in good condition.
-Options to play more than 18 holes.
-Decent signage.
-Multiple tee pads on some holes. (Forgive me for not knowing all of the setups, haven't had a chance to play with locals that know the course really well yet.)
-Walking paths aren't typically in too close proximity to tee pads.
-Definitely a challenging course where a variety of shots are necessary!
-Decent playground if you're a discing dad/mom that wants to drag around the kiddos and needs a bargaining chip to get through the round!
Cons: -Course can be very swampy after rain/snow. Seriously, the mud will be deep so bring boots!
-Restrooms have been locked every time I've gone since October.

Other Thoughts: Layout was confusing for me the first time I went. I am still not certain of all layouts (Tommy long tees?)
But I would also say that I'm at least slightly challenged when it comes to navigation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great mix of open & technical holes

5+    1/10/2016   1/14/2016
Review By: Js_TechX
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course w/ a good mix of open holes with some trees/obstacles and others with many providing a good challenge to both beginners and pros. All short tees are concrete while long tees are a mix of concrete or flypad. The course has multiple layouts and a course map at hole-1 with QR-codes for graphic-picture or GPS-enabled versions. Tee signs at each hole show "to scale" layout and suggested flight path for preferred throw. Elevation comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Can get muddy on some holes after heavy rain or Spring thaw
Other Thoughts: Multiple course layouts for standard 18 hole, 20 hole, and a "Tom's long" for big arms or those wanting the challenge of a longer hole play. All course maps are downloadable via QR-code including GPS-enabled version which puts the course map into your navigation app and shows your position on it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/9/2016   1/14/2016
Review By: Mad Dog
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fantastic variety of holes in a beautiful chester county park. Wide open downhills, tight wooded straight aways, tight technical turns...Anson has it all. Multiple layouts to provide great options for all skill levels. Well maintained by the club and the township. They are constantly adding to the course to make it more interesting and challenging.Many holes have multiple tee pads and almost every single hole has multiple basket positions. Great tee signs with good visuals, yardage and positions.
Cons: Nit picking since I play there frequently...only one trash can except for at the start, but it is about halfway through your round. Only bathrooms are at the start as well. If you are not familiar with the course, hole 2 might be hard to find but that is it.
Other Thoughts: Sometimes during the winter they close the main gates. You can access the course by parking up top nearest the soccer fields, walk down the hill and start on hole 7. Thats what I do anyway. Many layouts are advertised at the board on hole 1. My friends and I generally play a 21 hole format just to get more golf in. A lot has been done since many of the reviews on here were posted. My wife doesn't even play but she will still come to the park and jog since it is such a great park. Go throw at Anson B. Nixon park!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Varied Technical Course

5+    1/10/2016   1/13/2016
Review By: Shamis
Played: 47  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes good use of the terrain available. Has multiple tees, and multiple pin positions. It is possible to play an 18, 19, or 20 hole layout.

This is one of the most technical courses in the area. There are some extremely tight gaps that must be hit. It also has one of the very few holes in the area that requires players to lay up on their drive. That is hole 4 and it is a very difficult hole that rewards strategic play.

The course favors the technical player over a powerful distance thrower, but there are a couple holes that will benefit somebody capable of throwing 400+ feet.

There are dog legs left and right, several nice elevation shots, and a few ace run holes. About half the course will strongly benefit people that can throw putters/mids well at fairly long distances. If you are a driver only kind of golfer, then you will struggle on most of the wooded holes.

The park itself is very active with disc golfers and other people, has a playground, a music stage, several large pavilions for parties and picnics, and running/walking trails. You could conceivably entertain your entire family here all day while you disc golf.

Most of the tees are properly sized concrete.

There is a QR code on the board at the first hole you can scan with your phone to get the complete course map.
Cons: Due to holes 9a and 11a, and signs that are falling down, the course can be difficult to navigate with certain layouts. You will always find another hole to play, but it may not be the one you were looking for.

The signs are great when they are present, but are not of sturdy construction and some are falling down.

A few more "next tee" arrows on the baskets would be nice.

Easy to get lost going from hole 1's basket to hole 2's tee.

As great it is to have a park full of people enjoying the outdoors, there will be times when the weather is nice when you will have to yield to other park users so you don't risk hitting them.

A few of the baskets don't have as many chains as the others.
Other Thoughts: The best reason to play here is the community and the club. There are frequent club tag/doubles events here, there is also an endless stream of casual players showing up to play.

If you want to go out and meet some people to play with, this is the place to do it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Diamond in the Rough

5+    12/12/2015   12/17/2015
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 65  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tees on most holes. Multiple basket positions. Good mix of holes. Straight wooded, left to right, right to left. Technical and open. Some mild elevation in the back.
Cons: Multi-use park. Some possible interaction with joggers, playground close to hole 1 and 18. Really need to shank that bad boy for it to come into play, though. But, definitely need to be aware and respectful of other park patrons. Some tees including Toms Longs a little undefined. Most notable complaint has always been navigation on back nine.There are nice next tee signs, great map at course start and informative tee signs at each tee. Could it all be a little better? Sure. But, it's getting there, and there is a good group o guys who truly love this course and are trying to continue to make it better. I actually like the possible options on the back and feel most holes are pretty obvious. However, I have played here enough times tone able to play the variations in my sleep.
Other Thoughts: Anson B is truly a diamond &#128142; in the rough. It has so much potential, but is also a great, enjoyable play as I is. Enough challenge to continue to bring me back despite some other closer options.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Improved

5+    11/26/2015   12/4/2015
Review By: carlp
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: plays quick if you're looking to get in and out, very clean park setting, good variety, and well maintained. I can tell the folks that play here regularly really care about this course and while it's not at it's full potential, I constantly notice upgrades each time I play. The painting on hole 3 cracks me up every time i see it...would love to know the back story on that one.
Cons: The new signs are great, but I would love to see them in a steel post. I know the layout, but I still see folks getting lost on the back side of the course.
Other Thoughts: i think the course should be a par 55 with hole 4 being the only par 4. Just my opinion.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

ISSUES OF THE PAST ARE NO MORE

5+    11/29/2015   12/3/2015
Review By: Adelaurentis
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A mix of wooded and open holes. Most holes have 3 tee off options including short, long, and Tommy Longs. You can download maps to your smartphone at the Information Board located at Hole 1 short tee. Each Long Tee position has a detailed map that includes surrounding holes so you can see where to go next. You can download digital maps, maps at info board, detailed tee signs, arrows on each basket.
Other Thoughts: I have been playing Anson B. since 2004 or so and the previous comments/issues/concerns from years past are no longer current issues. "This is a great course with multiple layouts, open holes, wooded holes, some OB. It can be super scoreable, or a challenge to make par depending on the layout, and your experience.
New signage has made the biggest criticism of Anson a problem of the past!!
Tuesday night random draw Doubles plus Thursday night and Sunday morning Tags, combined with a great group of people, make this a must hit course on your Delaware Valley course list!!!"-- quote by Alex J, a fellow K.S.D.G. member

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than I expected

1    5/31/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very fair and rewards good throws. The forested areas are mostly clear with little undergrowth, with the exception of only a few spots. The hole designs are full of variety and keep you interested. The different tee locations are actually very different on many holes which makes it almost like playing a completely different course.
Cons: The signs are very confusing and some of the baskets were labeled with the wrong number, so I had to ask some locals where to go. Some of the walking paths are kind of close to the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This is an underrated course. I really enjoyed playing here. The course design was fun and fair. If they ever fix the signs and clear up the confusing things, it will be hard to find any cons with this one.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Clean, Challenging

1    4/25/2015   4/28/2015
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean course, plenty of garbage containers, grass and off the beaten path/undergrowth were mowed and fairly easy to access. (Late April 2015)

Decent signage with arrows pointing to the next tee pad location. Baskets all had flags and were in good shape.

Great little course, not too big, not too small, lots of challenging shots needed, my forehand was put to work, anny's, hyzers, tomahawks, great mix on every hole.

Perfect blend of wooded holes to open holes, lots of trees, area was maintained and mowed, no garbage, plenty of people in the background AND NOT ON THE COURSE which was nice.

Cons: Got a tad confusing, some holes have two tee pads and i believe some tees have 1-2 basket locations ??? signs are sometimes not near the tee pad for some reason, a little clarification goes a long way. Played with a friend who has seen the course before, so we made out fine.
Other Thoughts: GREAT little course.... I had a great time, we played the course twice, i finished with a +3 and a +1 for the day.

Would absolutely come back.... I can see in the summer months the undergrowth being a little hairy, but for spring time it was amazing conditions.

I loved the challenge and variety of each hole and the approach constantly switching. Come with many discs and shot types and you should be fine.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 wasted time?

1    4/20/2015   4/20/2015
Review By: Greybeard
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I liked the different, short shot selections needed. Multiple pin and tee locations, that could be found, where nice... Very clean. No thorns. Mulched paths in places.
Cons: Unfortunately, I wasted a full hour attempting to find and play certain tees and pins. I love multiple pins...but when you have pvc poles instead of baskets..it takes allot away from it. I was hoping for better elevation changes. Not climb a hill, then throw down it. I was hoping to find holes 12 through 14. But I didn't. I was hoping for an enjoyable round. But it wasn't.
Other Thoughts: It truly was a shame. The layout on the Web looked good, short, but technical. Unfortunately the signage was poor, or missing, or completely wrong. When some one new comes to play there is no way to get through 10 to 15 correctly...no chance. The long tees weren't always marked. The baskets were old so seeing them was impossible...a little bright paint would do wonders. It seems that it just needs a little tlc. Some love and pride in their home course. With some really good courses near by...this was a waste of time.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.