Kennett Square, PA 
Anson Nixon Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #2 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 249ft.   3 / 273ft.   5 / 635ft.   5 / 651ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Decent Course With Drainage Issues From Soccer Fields!

1    7/17/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in a nice city type park. It starts off OK. The signs were hand painted although many were caked with mud (?) and hard to read. The concrete pads are fine and the baskets catch well enough. I'm thinking this is a fine little recreational level course. Then when I get to about hole # 6, everything starts to come apart. First thing, navigation becomes nightmarish! I'm wondering around in circles. Secondly, the course is wet and soggy here in mid-July. Third, the signs are all screwy and the distances are way off and there is no way to tell which position the basket is currently in and on some holes that difference might be 150 feet. So I'm having to walk up on every hole trying to locate the current pin position and my feet are getting soaked, in the driest part of the summer!

I eventually figure out that the all the water down here is run-off from the upper soccer fields. It has no where to flow but down into the disc golf course. That's a shame.

The back nine part of the course, although still confusing, was more open, and presented a totally different feel than wooded earlier part.
Cons: Terrible navigation.
Wooded area of course is soaked from soccer fields run-off.
Signs are bad, misleading.
It appears that constant changing of basket positions confuses even local players.
Other Thoughts: Anson Nixon DGC should have been a more enjoyable experience than it was. Perhaps hooking up with a local would have helped. This is a pretty nice little area for a course. Maybe stop tinkering with the basket positions and putting in some solid signage might really help the situation.

I'm really sorry about the drainage problem. That's really unfortunate, IMO.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Oh what could be...

1    10/24/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a nice little community park. Pretty area with lots of family activities and bathrooms on site.

Good sized concrete tee pads with signs at each one.

Excellent mix of open and wooded holes. There are tight wooded holes, moderately wooded holes and mostly open holes. This is the type of course that lets you use many shots and discs.

Baskets were a mix of old and new DGA's. They all catch well, and are in good shape.

There are some next tee signs and navigation aids. More on this later.

Multiple basket positions available.
Cons: Signs are old and outdated. Many are inaccurate or downright misleading.

Naviagtion is a nightmare! Hole #2 is a backtrack down the side of 1's fairway and around the corner of the woods. Not real obvious

After hole #10 you enter the DG Bermuda Triangle. I have no clue what is going on there. Baskets and signs don't match up, and it is chaos. You can see several baskets from several pads. Hopefully this is temporary, but it was frustrating as hell.

Wooded holes seem to be RHFH friendly as a way to add challenge to short layouts. Kind of repetitive. 4 holes in a row on front 9 that favor this approach, and are under 200'.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course at all. And with a few improvements it could be pretty darn good. When I played there were many baskets in really short positions. Alternate positions seems much better in most cases.

The navigation on the back side seemed to be some kind of new layout, or change going on at the course. Hopefully this gets sorted out because it could be a really fun, good looking group of holes. It is a mostly open area with large trees mixed in, and some woods to the right. In fall if was a gorgeous area. Right now #15 is a neat hole. It's about 365' of open fairway with the basket tucked into the woods on the right. There's even a little stream behind the basket if you get carried away and overshoot it. Fun little design.

This course has a fun mix of open and wooded holes. If the basket positions were mixed a little differently, and the tee signs and navigation aids were accurate and updated I would have rated this course higher. Right now this course isn't worth much of a roadtrip, but with a little work it could be pretty nice. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this one, but if you are nearby it will give you a fun round.

Signs were not accurate, but by my count there were at least 13 holes under 300'. Even with alternate basket positions this course is mostly a putter and mid course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix of wooded/open holes. There is a nice use of rolling hills. This course will be fine for any level disc golfer to play.

Other Pros:
- short tees have concrete pads (some pads are short but there are wood chips before the pads start)
- long tees are wood chips boxed in with logs
- bathroom near first tee
- look for the "next tee" signs in confusing areas
- tee signs
- Multiple basket positions*
Cons: Although the multiple basket positions is a pro, I did not know which position the basket was in. I had to walk over to see where they were for the blind shots. Not all of the baskets match the tee numbers which added to the frustration.

Other Cons:
- park was busy with non disc golfers and some kids were near baskets, use caution
- no memorable hole
Other Thoughts: It's not a bad course but there's no reason to make a special trip here.

I wish they still had the ponds in play.

There is a sign in the bathroom stall that really made me laugh. They need a sign to tell you where to put used toilet paper? Sadly, that was my most memorable moment.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 eh.

2-4    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: relatively close to many places such as philly, delaware, etc.
funny signs
good core of local players who upkeep this course
lots of other stuff to do at the park.
some very interesting holes.
enjoyable play for players of all skill levels.
course plays very short-could get a couple rounds in in 2 hours probably.
Cons: confusing layout. TOO MANY "next tee" signs. theyre everywhere. multiple tees only contribute to the confusion. no way to tell which position the basket is in. holes 11-16 are utterly confusing. theres baskets, tees, and signs everywhere. very tough to decipher where to throw to
Other Thoughts: if i played here more often i'm sure the layout would become very easy to follow, but for a first timer, it was hell.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Richard Williams

1    8/21/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Multi-tee (concrete at shorts)/multi-pin position. Bathroom at start/end. Petrol/food options nearby. Signs currently being replaced. Nicely mulched paths on the front nine.
Cons:
No current basket position, so need to scout ahead. A few of the long pin positions were pretty extreme (tree density). Course undergoing some changes, so map somewhat out-of-date (primarily 11-13). Non-players potentially near baskets on early/late holes - #16 was closed due to nearby pavilion users.
Other Thoughts:
Course initially (1-10) plays in the woods, then (11-13) around the rim of a large, elevated, open space, finishing (14-18) on mostly-open/slightly-wooded changing to slightly-open/mostly-wooded at the end. Other than a short/steep initial drop on #8, a short/steep rise at the end of #9, and near-steep-slope baskets on #12 and #13, the course plays quite flat. Fairly even blend of right-/left-turning shots needed from the tee on the wooded holes (1-10, 17-18), while long-n-straight will serve you well on the longer and more-open 11-16.

The day we played, there was an extra basket between #13 and #14, located about even with #14's short tee, halfway up the slope. After finishing #13, there was a large metal pipe protruding from the ground, down the slope and near the edge of the woods, and it seemed a reasonable place from which to tee for this #13.5 basket.

Decent course - had all the essentials, suitable for many levels of players. Worth a play if in the area, but lacked any real "Wow!" factor.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing if you're already there

1    8/11/2008   11/11/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mixes in some VERY technical forest holes, especially at the beginning, with some more open holes. Mostly flat, with a couple holes on a big hillside for variety. Not great holes, but most if not all are interesting to play. Nice short course for beginners and others who don't want to wear out their arm.
Cons: I rarely consider signage and navigation in my ratings, but this was one course that really gave me fits. Perhaps it has improved (since August 2008), but the woods on the early holes included a maze of trails leading in wrong directions, and on the later holes I had trouble matching teepads to baskets.

Aesthetically, part of the course is near a busy highway, not the most peaceful walk in the park.
Other Thoughts: Other than the navigation, nothing really wrong here. Course was easy to get to, and all the shots were reasonable.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Simple Course

1    10/11/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: CraigC
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has some nice variety of wooded & open holes. The wooded holes are a much fairer test than my home course of Lums Pond. This is a great course for beginners, as there isn't much heavy rough and the holes aren't terribly long (most seemed about 250-300 ft). Most holes had nice looking tee signs.
Cons: Bring a map with you. There are some signs that try and point you in the right direction of the next hole, but they're hard to find. The tee signs, while they looked nice, didn't nearly show the drastic turns that some holes have at the end.
Other Thoughts: I was there during a dry spell, so I can't comment on whether it gets muddy or not. Park seemed nice and was easy to find. For a sunny Sunday afternoon, I didn't come across many non-disc golfers on the course, so that shouldn't be a big concern. Saw two deer standing no more than 15 feet from me on hole 2. While this website shows 4 different tee positions, only the shortest ones seemed clearly marked. I probably only saw 3-4 alternate tee positions clearly labelled throughout the entire course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Not bad but confusing

1    4/25/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: Unintentional Dowser
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fairly varied shot selection--though most of them involve threading through trees.
Concrete Tees--at least for the short tees, I never saw the long tees.
Nice scenery.
Cons: Tee signs were not always helpful and sometimes seemed incorrect.
Baskets not always visible from the tee (combined with the signage made it worse)

Other Thoughts: Hole 14 actually had two baskets in the ground--I don't know which one I was supposed to play but it didn't really affect my round otherwise. Seemed to be a little lefty biased but I won't call that a con for my first time playing.
Parking was also a little crowded.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 construction hampers playability

1    3/21/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.1 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The number one good thing about this course is that is must have been designed by a lefty. I am left handed and the majority of the shots hooked to the right, perfect lefty shot. But on a serious note there is a good variety of holes ranging from wooded to wide open grip and rip, to shooting up and down hills. The tees are made of concrete which is very useful especially if you play during mud season (beginning of spring). Seventeen of the holes were much cleared of debris and relatively easy to spot at least one basket. The only hole that was a problem was 18 because the basket is tucked away behind a large tree and several shrubs. The approach to it was also tough because of the debris on the fairway. You might have to walk this hole before you play to find the basket which is a huge dogleg right after the clearing. Also there are some bathrooms, a water fountain and playground right next to hole 1. probably the two best things about the course are the friendly locals and that the course is beginner friendly.
Cons: The course is being redesigned, so said a local, and that is why there are several holes (1, 2, and 5 spring to mind) that have PVC piping where baskets used to stand. This makes some of the holes more complicated because you have to really look for the other basket. Probably one of the creepiest things I have ever seen is the pet cemetery on the right side of hole 6's fairway. Some of the headstones were from the late 50' to the early 60's. The tee signs pointing to the next tee were very small and the tee signs themselves were missing on more than half the holes. The tee pads were also much smaller than I am accustomed to but still very throwable from. Holes 7-11 were very muddy and the holes were exceptionally slick. 12-15 offered little guidance and were clumped together. More than once I found myself shooting at the wrong basket. My biggest complaint is that this course lacked a signature hole, one that will be talked about as a monster or a tricky one.
Other Thoughts: Brandywine Creek is just 10.5 miles away (20-25 minute drive) and is most defiantly worth the drive if you finish here early. Hole 16 has a small lake near it that offers fishing. Print out the course map as you will need it.

Dogs are allowed as long as they are leashed.

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

New Holes

5+    6/4/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 246  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A.B. Nixon is a fun course to throw, and beginner friendly. several wooded holes take you to several open shots with some obstacles then back into the woods. 5 new holes have recently been put into place, 2 in the middle of the course and 3 at the end. Most all holes have 2 pin placements and short/long tees. 2 new holes in middle offer nice challenge, throwing in and out of woods, 1 down hill, 1 uphill. Final 3 move through trees and brush, 18 has a nice long pin placement to finish on.
Cons: The old final 4 holes by the water are missed. jumping into the creek on a hot summer day was never a bad thing.
Areas of the course can be muddy at times.
Some of the new pin placements need to be worked out. For instance #12 the tee now points well away from the new pin placement, driving hard uphill at it is kinda awkward.
Also because of the new pin placements and the way some of the new holes flow the course has become 'lefty' dominant and lost some of its variety. I hope eventually a couple holes can be put back to old pin locations and bring back some shot variety.
Other Thoughts: Keep an eye out for the mentioned Pet Cemetery on #6. A number of the front 9 offer ace runs.

**Update**
AB Nix is currently under construction. Plans for long tees on most holes and some additional pin positions are underway (Some new pin positions are already completed on 1 & 4 and are a nice new challenge to the course) Because of all the new work, most tee signs are incomplete and inaccurate. Obviously new signs will not be put in until all work is complete so for the time being the course is constantly improving, but may be a little hard to navigate. Most holes have 2 pin placements, but only 1 basket so the white PVC piping you see sometimes from the tee is just a placeholder for the sleeve. There is a basket on the hole, but as stated it may not be marked on the outdated maps. The course website has a map of the planned course layout being worked on.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center