Kennett Square, PA 
Anson Nixon Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #10 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 272ft.   3 / 272ft.   3 / 376ft.   3 / 376ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Alt. Basket Position



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Course, Navigation is a little tricky

5+    9/22/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: sqorbit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety. Fun course. Baskets are in good shape. It provided it challenging fun time for me, my wife who was 1st time out and my 9 yr old daughter who played a few times before. There were a number of holes that I really had to think about my tee off shots and approach shots. Wooded holes provided nice technical challenge and open back holes provide a change of pace. Downhill and uphill, wood and open, the course uses the space well.
Cons: Signage is lacking. Hard to navigate. We found two hole 9s? Not exactly sure where hole ten was,even with the printed map from the link here. Almost every hole we had to scout ahead to find out where the basket was. Map shows alternate tees but we really couldn't locate any of them.
Other Thoughts: Overall we had a great time at the course and for beginners it was a good challenge without being too difficult. It provided the right amount of variety and challenge to keep our mixed skill levels interested. I'd play again. We drove about 30 mins to play there and it was worth it for a change.

UPDATE: Played this course a few more times and they have updates some signs pointing to the next tee on most holes. The course is in good shape. Still a little confused on hole 9, but the 1st 8 holes are a fun challenge. This has become a go-to course for my 9 yr old. I'd recommended giving this a chance and I think the pros are enough to outweight the cons if you are looking for a good round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Local favorite

5+    8/15/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 43  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the closest courses to me. A good woodsy front 9 requiring technical shots and little room for error. A nice change in pace to a more open back 9 to let loose some loftier throws and more birdie opportunities. Very pretty park with a lake/pond view on back 9. Free. Both inexperienced and experienced players can find joy in playing here.
Cons: The course is currently shifting some holes around on the back 9, and though some people like that this can turn into a 20 or 21 hole course, I would like to know the standard 18 with signs, etc. This will come, as they're working around the soccer field fence around holes 11-15, but for now, it hurts my review since it has been 4 months with no change in layout. Most people I know play this course as a par 3 course as do I, but the signs don't confirm or deny what pars are meant to be, although hole 4, 8, 11, and 18 I guess are the 4's that make the par 58? Sometimes you can't play certain holes during the summer bc of the camp doing kids' activities in certain fairways, namely 11 and 15. Tee pads could use work.
Other Thoughts: AN OLD DOG/HORSE GRAVEYARD ON HOLE 6 OFF TO THE RIGHT UNDER THE WEEDS AND TALL GRASS...WHAT!!! SO COOL, SOME GOLFING GHOST PUPS!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/13/2010   3/13/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A good mixture of wooded and open holes.
- A good variety of holes with length and shorter technical holes. This couse will test your shot making ability.
- Some of the holes on the course have secondary tee pads which gives different looks for returning players, evens out some of the competition for people of different skill levels.
- A perfect course for a casual round. Although I wouldn't necessarily suggest this as a beginners course, you don't have to be an highly skilled by any means to play this course.
-Some of the tight fairways can provide a challenge
-Nice maintenance in the park. Clean and in good condition.
- A pretty good atmosphere here, nice people who usually have proper etiquette/ knowledge of the game.
Cons: -Tee signs left a little to be desired when I was there. a couple times I threw to a basket and then realized they had moved it but had no signs to notify you.
- Because it's a park, it can get pretty crowded in the summer. with disc golfers and park goers.
- The tee pads could be a little better (kind of small)
Other Thoughts: I have not played here in a while (probably about 2 years) but it used to be one of my home courses. I'm not sure what has changed.

It is pretty much one of two courses where I learned the game. This course did well to teach me that you need to develop many facets of your game to be good. This course demands technical skill, yet lets you open up and rip some.

All in all, it's a nice course that I would definitely check out if you find yourself in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nixon has Molded me

5+    11/26/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: CrispyDisc
Played: 66  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is constantly changing, evolving and providing returning players with new looks at each hole. There is a good mixture of wooded and open holes that test a variety of shots and approaches for each player. Short and long tee pads are optional on 14 of the holes which allow for a multitude of different looks at the course layout. Fun to play casually, or competitively. The potential to shoot a hot round exists, but be ware, It can be hard to recover if you don't get off the tee pad and down some of the fairways. The Park crew does a great job maintaining the grounds and keeping the course looking good. The summer music series lets players hear live music while they play, which is pretty amazing.
Cons: --Tee signs need updating and improvement
-- Occasionally baskets are moved, so it helps to check to see if they are in the same location before teeing off
-- Recent park renovations have made playing holes 11-14 difficult at times.
-- Pedestrian traffic can be heavy during during the summer
-- Concrete Tee pads could be bigger
Other Thoughts: This is my home course! I feel like its easy to be bias towards the course that has help mold me into the golfer I have become, however I have played all over the country and truly believe this course is GOOD! Every time I play here I am truly excited to play, even though I've played here well over 300+ rounds here. As far as courses are concerned, its a little gem that will improve your game and push your abilities to improve should you choose to push yourself and try new tee pads, new drive selections and new approaches...... every course can get a little repetitive, challenge yourself and try taking a new look at it. I absolutely LOVE Nixon, its where I trained for the 2011 Am Worlds and 2011 USDGC.... and it payed off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in a nice park if you're in the area

1    11/8/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Anson Nixon Park is a quaint park with a quaint disc golf course. The multiuse park is located in a nice area on the outskirts of the Philadelphia region, just north of Delaware and is very easy to locate. Once in the park, the first tee isn't difficult to find. The first thing that you'll probably come across is the alternate first tee. One of the big pluses at Anson Nixon are the multiple tees on most holes. While some are just longer versions of the original tee, some provide the opportunity to play the same fairway quite differently. The primary tees (and several of the alternates) are concrete and provide ample footing for short run-ups or "stand & deliver" throws.

Multiple moving pin positions are in place on many of the holes. This, in concert with the alternate tees, provides a lot of variety with regard to the course layout.

Specific to the course itself, there are a mix of different fairway types (wooded, open, and both wooded/open) frequently incorporating a variety of distances, elevations, and fairway shapes.

Somewhat detailed tee signs on the primary/permanant tees (distance, fairway, and expected flight path) are a big plus. Most of the alternate tees had laminated signs showing distance and par. Additional signage included next tee signs on many of the holes, making navigation a lot less difficult.

In terms of ammenities a the course, bathrooms were located centrally near the first, middle, and last holes. A big thumbs up for the maintenance of DG course at Anson Nixon park as the course was CLEAN without a scrap of litter to be found.
Cons: Being a multiuse park (tennis, soccer, playgrounds, etc.), stray throws can be very dangerous for pedestrians at times when the course plays near walking & biking paths. While one of the fields is being regraded there are temporary holes set up that could be dangerous to players as the temporary holes require players/throws to cross fairways.

While the concrete tees were nice from a footing perspective, they were small by most standards and won't accommodate a typically run up. For the alternate tees, they're succeptable to all the cons of natural tees including being muddy when wet and rutted after lots of use.

Despite the variety of lengths, distances felt repetitive among many of the holes. Along these lines, a few long bomber holes would have been great.

One thing that kept blindsiding me was that the baskets were located in positions not depicted on tee signs so any distance or projected flight path shown on the tee sign goes out the window. Speaking of the signage, some of the next tee signs were small and somewhat hidden. While it wasn't difficult to find the next tees in most circumstances, more prominant next tee signs would have been helpful. That said, given the current layout, some additional direction for the first half of the back nine would be very useful.

Despite having water on site, this natural aspect was not incorporated into the design of the course and would have added a nice risk vs. reward factor to the some of the more vanilla holes.

Without knowing what the constraints were for the development of the course, you need to assume that the designers used what land they had available, but the design featured a lot of mandos (which I assume are saftey mandos).
Other Thoughts: This review only minimally takes into account the current construction within the park and my rating is not impacted by the work being performed.

The locals that I ran into were really friendly and quite helpful. This is always a welcome aspect at any course.

With regard to the pros and cons that I have listed, there really isn't anything wrong with Anson Nixon Park, but there didn't really seem to be anything that really sets it apart or puts it on a pedestal above other courses of similar lengths and layouts. I considered a 2.5 rating, but given the work that is constantly being performed at the course and the different playing options that were available (rotating baskets and multiple tees), I opted to give this course the benefit of the doubt and gave it a 3.0.

My overall thought is that this is a fun course that makes for good local play, especially when a trip to DE or elsewhere isn't an option. I enjoyed playing here and if I was in the area I'd play it again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent But Unspectacular

1    10/2/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Probably the best thing about Anson B. Nixon is that it has great balance. There is an equal number of both wooded (technical) and more open holes. The course treats righties and lefties equally, calling upon you to throw a comparable number of both hyzers and anhyzers. It is a course that is challenging enough for the advanced player yet manageable for the recreational disc golfer. The wooded fairways are generally well maintained and the cement tee pads sufficient. There is good use of elevation. The baskets, though old, work fine. Most holes have dual basket positions. Bathroom and plenty of pavilion/picnic amenities are present.
Cons: Tee signs are in terrible shape. Navigation could be made easier with more visible "next tee" signs. Several holes are TOO densely wooded for my taste- hole #4 gave me a Lum's Pond flashback- and good drives can go unrewarded. Course is undergoing renovations and cement pads do not yet exist for many of the proposed long tees. Would have been nice if the ponds could have somehow been incorporated into the layout. Beware of joggers and picnickers at various junctures throughout the course. Benches at each hole would be a welcome addition.
Other Thoughts: Anson Nixon is a nice park with plenty for the family to do, featuring everything from basketball courts to a jogging path to swing sets. The disc golf course is decent, but lacks any real signature holes or characteristics that set it apart from some of the other fine courses on the Eastern or Southern side of Pennsylvania. The course does not have the beauty of Little Lehigh Parkway or the intimacy of Hickory Run, for instance. Simply put, it is not a destination course, but it is a good play for anyone within a reasonable distance.

Precision is a must on many of the technical holes. Veering off the fairway will have dire consequences, as the dense woods offer little relief or hope of finding an alternate route to the basket. There are a couple of mandos but nothing too outrageous. The only real OB to speak of are the walking/jogging paths that surround the park.

I beg to differ with those who took issue with course drainage- after two days of torrential rain, the course played just fine in all but a couple of spots. The locals have worked hard to maintain and upgrade A.B. Nixon, and the experience will be enhanced when the new tee pads are completed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nixon in transition

5+    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: dray
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 36.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As of may 2010 there are 19 different holes which allows for a short 18 and a long 18.The long 18 combines holes 3 and 4 into a single par 5(or 6).Good mix of short finesse shots and some long wide open shots .New (moved from it's old position) tee pad on #12 is a pretty downhill shot to a well guarded pin.
Cons: The local club is still working on getting new long tee pads on most holes.The signs are outdated and the baskets don't all have numbers or a number that doesn't reflect the correct hole.
Other Thoughts: When all of the upgrades are completed (hopefully this year) the course should be a nice addition to the other layouts in nearby Delaware.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice palce to play

1    3/20/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a nice place to enjoy a day of disc golf. The tees are concrete (except 13 which I cover below) and the baskets are in good shape. I like a course where there is space for technical shots and some grip and rip and you will find it here. On several holes you deal with elevation changes and baskets on the side of the hill or on top near the edge. So be careful with your putts or you get to chase a disc downhill. The hill is not hard to climb but who wants to do it extra times. The park is in good shape with some facilities and plenty of parking. There were 3 of us playing. One rookie, one who had not played much in last 2 years, and me the addict. This course fit us all. We were joined by a local for a few baskets and he was very helpful. If you have time and want to play a course do not hesitate.
Cons: All of the tees have multiple basket positions, as many as 3. There is nothing at the tee to let you know which one to use. However, if you look down the fairway you will see white poles sticking about 3 feet out of the ground these are the positions not in use. On 1 they need to update the map because the new position is about 200 feet past the blue basket. We never did find it. The guy who joined up with us help us find it. The course is doable again until you get to 13 which has been moved on top of the hill on a dirt tee. The old tee still is still there but the sign is gone. On 18, which was also moved according to the guy who joined us, the basket area was messy.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a good experience. The park department, apparently, is not real fond of the disc golf according to the guy who joined us but tolerates it. The course needs a real good sprucing up and new signs would really help. Also the the map here needs to be updated. They have had to, recently, move several baskets because the park insisted.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Anson B. Discin

1    2/22/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very well maintained 18 hole course in a very nice town. It is close to the famous Brandywine Course in Delaware. This course offers both tight old school technical holes with little to no underbrush thanks to some real dilligent workers and some big open holes with protected pins or elevation shifts. Alternate tees on all holes.
# 1-6 are tight and technical and will challenge your mid-range finesse game, many of the alternate pins really change the shot making on these holes rather than just changing distance....imagine for a tourney the second round is quite different from the first.
#7 gets you into the open
#8 is a fun righty hole shooting from an elevated tee hyzering back into the woods.
#9 shoot out of the woods to an elevated pin
#10 nice open drive to a protected pin
#11 the only completely treeless hole but watch out for the wind as your disc climbs way up that hill it will be prone to being swept away due to the vulnerability that a disc is under when the nose is up and that crosswind across the plateau grabs it...my disc was carried to a galaxy far far away....very frustrating but interesting hole.
#12-15 are all semi-open with longer tees available that really stretch this area of the course out.
#16-18 meander back into the woods gradually and save you just as you may be getting sick of big arm holes.
It is a well thought out course. Usually when I play I look for more interesting routes or possible holes but I can truly say this property is maximized. There is really is nothing more that could be done with this property. Kudos!
Cons: There are not many really memorable holes here. Basically a bunch of really solid but not spectacular holes. Highway along holes 13 and 14 breaks up the peacefulness. Although I believe if I had not seen the pins from that highway I would have never found the course! haha! Tee pads are smallish like most courses this old. Pins for holes 12 and 15 are very close to one another and a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: Nice lake nearby. I never saw or found the infamous Pet Cemetery...I don't think this is a destination course but it would probably balance out the famous wide open Brandywine course due to it's tight and fun technical holes. Brandywine is only 7-8 miles away.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mushroom Capitol of the World!

8/31/2007   8/31/2007
Review By: Neonnoodle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees and baskets are in good shape and if weather is bad are a decent challenge even for Experts. Course is well-maintained. The course walk and play is nice. Holes 6 (Pet Cemetary), 9 Long (drive in woods to outside guarded Pin), Long 12 and 13 (where 4s are birdies) and Long 18 (requires careful placement shots to par) are the signature holes.
Cons: The long tees are natural, though in decent shape. Signage needs improvement. Highway on holes 12 and 13 is noisy. The short layout lacks length variety (if you play it you may want to pick the long tees intermittantly).
Other Thoughts: The Kennett Square area is beautiful Brandywine Valley horse farm area with rolling hills and streams. The town has many quaint shops and restaurants including a great ice cream shop. As mentioned in another review, Brandywine Creek State Park, our sister course, is only 20 min south in DE. Playing these two courses makes a decent day of disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.