Kennett Square, PA 
Anson B. Nixon Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #3 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft.   3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Alt. Basket Position



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    7/15/2016   7/15/2016
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 100  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of park elements...elevation, wooded areas, open space. Use of multiple pin placements made for variety of throws both left and right. Not so wooded that it was impossible to make your par hitting a tree off the tee. No memorable holes, but no clunkers either.
The usual positives: concrete tee pads, at least one per hole, basic signage in place, next tee markers on basket.
Cons: Hard to follow course. We may have thrown at wrong basket on at least one occasion, if not two. Signage was inconsistent.
Other Thoughts: All that said, I did enjoy the course. Just needs some better coordination on the layout, signage etc. With a bit more effort, it could be a 4.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/27/2016   2/27/2016
Review By: BRIANREVIVAL
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most holes have concrete tee pads in good condition.
-Options to play more than 18 holes.
-Decent signage.
-Multiple tee pads on some holes. (Forgive me for not knowing all of the setups, haven't had a chance to play with locals that know the course really well yet.)
-Walking paths aren't typically in too close proximity to tee pads.
-Definitely a challenging course where a variety of shots are necessary!
-Decent playground if you're a discing dad/mom that wants to drag around the kiddos and needs a bargaining chip to get through the round!
Cons: -Course can be very swampy after rain/snow. Seriously, the mud will be deep so bring boots!
-Restrooms have been locked every time I've gone since October.

Other Thoughts: Layout was confusing for me the first time I went. I am still not certain of all layouts (Tommy long tees?)
But I would also say that I'm at least slightly challenged when it comes to navigation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Varied Technical Course

5+    1/10/2016   1/13/2016
Review By: Shamis
Played: 49  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course makes good use of the terrain available. Has multiple tees, and multiple pin positions. It is possible to play an 18, 19, or 20 hole layout.

This is one of the most technical courses in the area. There are some extremely tight gaps that must be hit. It also has one of the very few holes in the area that requires players to lay up on their drive. That is hole 4 and it is a very difficult hole that rewards strategic play.

The course favors the technical player over a powerful distance thrower, but there are a couple holes that will benefit somebody capable of throwing 400+ feet.

There are dog legs left and right, several nice elevation shots, and a few ace run holes. About half the course will strongly benefit people that can throw putters/mids well at fairly long distances. If you are a driver only kind of golfer, then you will struggle on most of the wooded holes.

The park itself is very active with disc golfers and other people, has a playground, a music stage, several large pavilions for parties and picnics, and running/walking trails. You could conceivably entertain your entire family here all day while you disc golf.

Most of the tees are properly sized concrete.

There is a QR code on the board at the first hole you can scan with your phone to get the complete course map.
Cons: Due to holes 9a and 11a, and signs that are falling down, the course can be difficult to navigate with certain layouts. You will always find another hole to play, but it may not be the one you were looking for.

The signs are great when they are present, but are not of sturdy construction and some are falling down.

A few more "next tee" arrows on the baskets would be nice.

Easy to get lost going from hole 1's basket to hole 2's tee.

As great it is to have a park full of people enjoying the outdoors, there will be times when the weather is nice when you will have to yield to other park users so you don't risk hitting them.

A few of the baskets don't have as many chains as the others.
Other Thoughts: The best reason to play here is the community and the club. There are frequent club tag/doubles events here, there is also an endless stream of casual players showing up to play.

If you want to go out and meet some people to play with, this is the place to do it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Diamond in the Rough

5+    12/12/2015   12/17/2015
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 65  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tees on most holes. Multiple basket positions. Good mix of holes. Straight wooded, left to right, right to left. Technical and open. Some mild elevation in the back.
Cons: Multi-use park. Some possible interaction with joggers, playground close to hole 1 and 18. Really need to shank that bad boy for it to come into play, though. But, definitely need to be aware and respectful of other park patrons. Some tees including Toms Longs a little undefined. Most notable complaint has always been navigation on back nine.There are nice next tee signs, great map at course start and informative tee signs at each tee. Could it all be a little better? Sure. But, it's getting there, and there is a good group o guys who truly love this course and are trying to continue to make it better. I actually like the possible options on the back and feel most holes are pretty obvious. However, I have played here enough times tone able to play the variations in my sleep.
Other Thoughts: Anson B is truly a diamond 💎 in the rough. It has so much potential, but is also a great, enjoyable play as I is. Enough challenge to continue to bring me back despite some other closer options.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Improved

5+    11/26/2015   12/4/2015
Review By: carlp
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: plays quick if you're looking to get in and out, very clean park setting, good variety, and well maintained. I can tell the folks that play here regularly really care about this course and while it's not at it's full potential, I constantly notice upgrades each time I play. The painting on hole 3 cracks me up every time i see it...would love to know the back story on that one.
Cons: The new signs are great, but I would love to see them in a steel post. I know the layout, but I still see folks getting lost on the back side of the course.
Other Thoughts: i think the course should be a par 55 with hole 4 being the only par 4. Just my opinion.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course

5+    11/3/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: argo_yamato
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a nice mix of wooded and open holes. A few holes require some good accurate throws while some of the holes (especially on the back 9) let you just throw hard. 12 and 14 have you tee off of a hill so you can get some decent distance even if you are a newer player.

Several holes have multiple basket locations and they are moved every now and again to keep it different. There is not too much traffic and is generally a nice quiet course.

No fees, the course is in a public park. Also it is not uncommon during the summer to see/hear bands playing on the stage during a round.
Cons: The signage is not that great. Some holes have incorrect distance and some are not marked. It gets a bit confusing around 11 through 13 but not impossible to navigate.
Other Thoughts: All in all it is a fun course to play. As other reviews mentioned there is an old pet cemetery on hole 6 which is kind of neat but in a weird spooky way.

A couple of tips:
If you go during the summer bug spray helps.

Be cautious of poison ivy as well. You will see dead brown vines on some trees where it has been killed off but it still is around on the ground.

To get to hole 2 after finishing 1 you need to double back on the gravel road.

On hole 10 beware of some water. The drainage creates a temporary pond to the left of the basket. Some days it is there and some days it dries up. On occasion I play from the pad on 10 to a shorter basket which is down the hill. Not quite sure which basket it is (maybe an alternate 9) but it works and avoids the drainage pond.

Hole 11 goes over the hill by the pussy willows.

Hole 12 goes down to the hill and the basket is by a large tree.

Hole 13 has two different holes as far as I can tell. The shorter one uses the gravel tee box (the only one) and goes straight to a basket near two trees. Sometime this basket is moved up the hill a ways.

The other hole 13 tees off from a temp black tee back near Rt. 1 and the basket is on the hill.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Always Changing

5+    6/17/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: jonhat42
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes from heavily wooded technical shots to wide open bombers. The course has great flow (once you get to know it) Good variety of tee placements and multiple pin placements on all holes make this course slightly different every time you play it. Local disc golf club puts a ton of time keeping this course well manicured and free of underbrush which was a problem at this course years ago.
Cons: Very pooorly marked course and with the fact that the pin placements constantly change it makes it even difficult for those who play it regularly to find the correct pin placement. Course is often crowded and unfortunately you do run into the occassional idiot who came to party not to play. As well as the people who dont respect the rules or let their dogs off their leashes etc.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and my wife and I have easily played it 100+ times. I really likes the old course that played over the water and had a number more ace runs on the back 9 but the new couse has its fun holes. Definately play this course with someone who has played it before to enjoy it on your first or even 2nd time playing it. I really like this course, it is a great after work course as you can easily finish a round quickly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated

5+    6/7/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: gdev
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of wooded and open holes
Recently been mulched all over the place
Short enough to be beginner friendly, technical enough to be a challenge.
Cons: Signs need some work.
Many holes have multiple pins and it often isn't clear from the tee which way to go.
Many of the long pin positions feel somewhat contrived
Does not drain well
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I think it is an often underrated course. It is not super long so if you want to do a lot of grip and rip you aren't going to find it here. It does have a lot of wooded holes requiring some technical shots to stay on line and out of the trees. The local club is doing work regularly to improve the course so be sure to continue to check it out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.