Kennett Square, PA 
Anson B. Nixon Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #15 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Approach



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great mix of open & technical holes

5+    1/10/2016   1/14/2016
Review By: Js_TechX
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course w/ a good mix of open holes with some trees/obstacles and others with many providing a good challenge to both beginners and pros. All short tees are concrete while long tees are a mix of concrete or flypad. The course has multiple layouts and a course map at hole-1 with QR-codes for graphic-picture or GPS-enabled versions. Tee signs at each hole show "to scale" layout and suggested flight path for preferred throw. Elevation comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Can get muddy on some holes after heavy rain or Spring thaw
Other Thoughts: Multiple course layouts for standard 18 hole, 20 hole, and a "Tom's long" for big arms or those wanting the challenge of a longer hole play. All course maps are downloadable via QR-code including GPS-enabled version which puts the course map into your navigation app and shows your position on it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

ISSUES OF THE PAST ARE NO MORE

5+    11/29/2015   12/3/2015
Review By: Adelaurentis
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A mix of wooded and open holes. Most holes have 3 tee off options including short, long, and Tommy Longs. You can download maps to your smartphone at the Information Board located at Hole 1 short tee. Each Long Tee position has a detailed map that includes surrounding holes so you can see where to go next. You can download digital maps, maps at info board, detailed tee signs, arrows on each basket.
Other Thoughts: I have been playing Anson B. since 2004 or so and the previous comments/issues/concerns from years past are no longer current issues. "This is a great course with multiple layouts, open holes, wooded holes, some OB. It can be super scoreable, or a challenge to make par depending on the layout, and your experience.
New signage has made the biggest criticism of Anson a problem of the past!!
Tuesday night random draw Doubles plus Thursday night and Sunday morning Tags, combined with a great group of people, make this a must hit course on your Delaware Valley course list!!!"-- quote by Alex J, a fellow K.S.D.G. member

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Better than I expected

1    5/31/2015   6/3/2015
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very fair and rewards good throws. The forested areas are mostly clear with little undergrowth, with the exception of only a few spots. The hole designs are full of variety and keep you interested. The different tee locations are actually very different on many holes which makes it almost like playing a completely different course.
Cons: The signs are very confusing and some of the baskets were labeled with the wrong number, so I had to ask some locals where to go. Some of the walking paths are kind of close to the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This is an underrated course. I really enjoyed playing here. The course design was fun and fair. If they ever fix the signs and clear up the confusing things, it will be hard to find any cons with this one.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Clean, Challenging

1    4/25/2015   4/28/2015
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean course, plenty of garbage containers, grass and off the beaten path/undergrowth were mowed and fairly easy to access. (Late April 2015)

Decent signage with arrows pointing to the next tee pad location. Baskets all had flags and were in good shape.

Great little course, not too big, not too small, lots of challenging shots needed, my forehand was put to work, anny's, hyzers, tomahawks, great mix on every hole.

Perfect blend of wooded holes to open holes, lots of trees, area was maintained and mowed, no garbage, plenty of people in the background AND NOT ON THE COURSE which was nice.

Cons: Got a tad confusing, some holes have two tee pads and i believe some tees have 1-2 basket locations ??? signs are sometimes not near the tee pad for some reason, a little clarification goes a long way. Played with a friend who has seen the course before, so we made out fine.
Other Thoughts: GREAT little course.... I had a great time, we played the course twice, i finished with a +3 and a +1 for the day.

Would absolutely come back.... I can see in the summer months the undergrowth being a little hairy, but for spring time it was amazing conditions.

I loved the challenge and variety of each hole and the approach constantly switching. Come with many discs and shot types and you should be fine.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

2-4    4/29/2007   6/4/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 89  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2008
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: 18 holes with concrete tees, and two pin placements. I think the club is either installing a second set of tees or something, course was looking good when I stopped there yesterday. Number of good ace runs combines with some longer and tougher holes for a better challenge. Rt. 1 is less of an issue now but can still arise for a bad righty shot on 14. The water holes are no longer in play and that is some welcome news. Nice mix of lefty and righty holes as well as open and tight shots.
Cons: Not all the newly positioned holes have baskets yet. Got just a bit confused as to where hole two is from the first pin... maybe a few pointer signs would help.
Other Thoughts: This layout is better than the last time I was here. Just a few minutes from Brandywine Creek, and not far from Rt.1 and Rt. 202, as well as I-95.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.