Kennett Square, PA 
Anson Nixon Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #15 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 196ft.   3 / 196ft.   4 / 326ft.   4 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Most Technical Course with Variety in the Area

5+    12/24/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: Rcurran
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of turning shots in the woods and up and down hills shots in the fields. This course can also be played numerous different way with the many alternate tee locations and the ability to play from one box to a basket it is not intended for.
Cons: Poorly marked boxes and tees.
Other Thoughts: Could use a few trash cans throughout the course.
Temporary hole #13 basket is very old and in poor condition.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A fun course

5+    11/3/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: argo_yamato
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a nice mix of wooded and open holes. A few holes require some good accurate throws while some of the holes (especially on the back 9) let you just throw hard. 12 and 14 have you tee off of a hill so you can get some decent distance even if you are a newer player.

Several holes have multiple basket locations and they are moved every now and again to keep it different. There is not too much traffic and is generally a nice quiet course.

No fees, the course is in a public park. Also it is not uncommon during the summer to see/hear bands playing on the stage during a round.
Cons: The signage is not that great. Some holes have incorrect distance and some are not marked. It gets a bit confusing around 11 through 13 but not impossible to navigate.
Other Thoughts: All in all it is a fun course to play. As other reviews mentioned there is an old pet cemetery on hole 6 which is kind of neat but in a weird spooky way.

A couple of tips:
If you go during the summer bug spray helps.

Be cautious of poison ivy as well. You will see dead brown vines on some trees where it has been killed off but it still is around on the ground.

To get to hole 2 after finishing 1 you need to double back on the gravel road.

On hole 10 beware of some water. The drainage creates a temporary pond to the left of the basket. Some days it is there and some days it dries up. On occasion I play from the pad on 10 to a shorter basket which is down the hill. Not quite sure which basket it is (maybe an alternate 9) but it works and avoids the drainage pond.

Hole 11 goes over the hill by the pussy willows.

Hole 12 goes down to the hill and the basket is by a large tree.

Hole 13 has two different holes as far as I can tell. The shorter one uses the gravel tee box (the only one) and goes straight to a basket near two trees. Sometime this basket is moved up the hill a ways.

The other hole 13 tees off from a temp black tee back near Rt. 1 and the basket is on the hill.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course With Drainage Issues From Soccer Fields!

1    7/17/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in a nice city type park. It starts off OK. The signs were hand painted although many were caked with mud (?) and hard to read. The concrete pads are fine and the baskets catch well enough. I'm thinking this is a fine little recreational level course. Then when I get to about hole # 6, everything starts to come apart. First thing, navigation becomes nightmarish! I'm wondering around in circles. Secondly, the course is wet and soggy here in mid-July. Third, the signs are all screwy and the distances are way off and there is no way to tell which position the basket is currently in and on some holes that difference might be 150 feet. So I'm having to walk up on every hole trying to locate the current pin position and my feet are getting soaked, in the driest part of the summer!

I eventually figure out that the all the water down here is run-off from the upper soccer fields. It has no where to flow but down into the disc golf course. That's a shame.

The back nine part of the course, although still confusing, was more open, and presented a totally different feel than wooded earlier part.
Cons: Terrible navigation.
Wooded area of course is soaked from soccer fields run-off.
Signs are bad, misleading.
It appears that constant changing of basket positions confuses even local players.
Other Thoughts: Anson Nixon DGC should have been a more enjoyable experience than it was. Perhaps hooking up with a local would have helped. This is a pretty nice little area for a course. Maybe stop tinkering with the basket positions and putting in some solid signage might really help the situation.

I'm really sorry about the drainage problem. That's really unfortunate, IMO.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Course, Navigation is a little tricky

5+    9/22/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: sqorbit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety. Fun course. Baskets are in good shape. It provided it challenging fun time for me, my wife who was 1st time out and my 9 yr old daughter who played a few times before. There were a number of holes that I really had to think about my tee off shots and approach shots. Wooded holes provided nice technical challenge and open back holes provide a change of pace. Downhill and uphill, wood and open, the course uses the space well.
Cons: Signage is lacking. Hard to navigate. We found two hole 9s? Not exactly sure where hole ten was,even with the printed map from the link here. Almost every hole we had to scout ahead to find out where the basket was. Map shows alternate tees but we really couldn't locate any of them.
Other Thoughts: Overall we had a great time at the course and for beginners it was a good challenge without being too difficult. It provided the right amount of variety and challenge to keep our mixed skill levels interested. I'd play again. We drove about 30 mins to play there and it was worth it for a change.

UPDATE: Played this course a few more times and they have updates some signs pointing to the next tee on most holes. The course is in good shape. Still a little confused on hole 9, but the 1st 8 holes are a fun challenge. This has become a go-to course for my 9 yr old. I'd recommended giving this a chance and I think the pros are enough to outweight the cons if you are looking for a good round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Oh what could be...

1    10/24/2012   10/25/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a nice little community park. Pretty area with lots of family activities and bathrooms on site.

Good sized concrete tee pads with signs at each one.

Excellent mix of open and wooded holes. There are tight wooded holes, moderately wooded holes and mostly open holes. This is the type of course that lets you use many shots and discs.

Baskets were a mix of old and new DGA's. They all catch well, and are in good shape.

There are some next tee signs and navigation aids. More on this later.

Multiple basket positions available.
Cons: Signs are old and outdated. Many are inaccurate or downright misleading.

Naviagtion is a nightmare! Hole #2 is a backtrack down the side of 1's fairway and around the corner of the woods. Not real obvious

After hole #10 you enter the DG Bermuda Triangle. I have no clue what is going on there. Baskets and signs don't match up, and it is chaos. You can see several baskets from several pads. Hopefully this is temporary, but it was frustrating as hell.

Wooded holes seem to be RHFH friendly as a way to add challenge to short layouts. Kind of repetitive. 4 holes in a row on front 9 that favor this approach, and are under 200'.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a bad course at all. And with a few improvements it could be pretty darn good. When I played there were many baskets in really short positions. Alternate positions seems much better in most cases.

The navigation on the back side seemed to be some kind of new layout, or change going on at the course. Hopefully this gets sorted out because it could be a really fun, good looking group of holes. It is a mostly open area with large trees mixed in, and some woods to the right. In fall if was a gorgeous area. Right now #15 is a neat hole. It's about 365' of open fairway with the basket tucked into the woods on the right. There's even a little stream behind the basket if you get carried away and overshoot it. Fun little design.

This course has a fun mix of open and wooded holes. If the basket positions were mixed a little differently, and the tee signs and navigation aids were accurate and updated I would have rated this course higher. Right now this course isn't worth much of a roadtrip, but with a little work it could be pretty nice. I wouldn't go out of my way to play this one, but if you are nearby it will give you a fun round.

Signs were not accurate, but by my count there were at least 13 holes under 300'. Even with alternate basket positions this course is mostly a putter and mid course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Local favorite

5+    8/15/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 40  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the closest courses to me. A good woodsy front 9 requiring technical shots and little room for error. A nice change in pace to a more open back 9 to let loose some loftier throws and more birdie opportunities. Very pretty park with a lake/pond view on back 9. Free. Both inexperienced and experienced players can find joy in playing here.
Cons: The course is currently shifting some holes around on the back 9, and though some people like that this can turn into a 20 or 21 hole course, I would like to know the standard 18 with signs, etc. This will come, as they're working around the soccer field fence around holes 11-15, but for now, it hurts my review since it has been 4 months with no change in layout. Most people I know play this course as a par 3 course as do I, but the signs don't confirm or deny what pars are meant to be, although hole 4, 8, 11, and 18 I guess are the 4's that make the par 58? Sometimes you can't play certain holes during the summer bc of the camp doing kids' activities in certain fairways, namely 11 and 15. Tee pads could use work.
Other Thoughts: AN OLD DOG/HORSE GRAVEYARD ON HOLE 6 OFF TO THE RIGHT UNDER THE WEEDS AND TALL GRASS...WHAT!!! SO COOL, SOME GOLFING GHOST PUPS!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/13/2010   3/13/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A good mixture of wooded and open holes.
- A good variety of holes with length and shorter technical holes. This couse will test your shot making ability.
- Some of the holes on the course have secondary tee pads which gives different looks for returning players, evens out some of the competition for people of different skill levels.
- A perfect course for a casual round. Although I wouldn't necessarily suggest this as a beginners course, you don't have to be an highly skilled by any means to play this course.
-Some of the tight fairways can provide a challenge
-Nice maintenance in the park. Clean and in good condition.
- A pretty good atmosphere here, nice people who usually have proper etiquette/ knowledge of the game.
Cons: -Tee signs left a little to be desired when I was there. a couple times I threw to a basket and then realized they had moved it but had no signs to notify you.
- Because it's a park, it can get pretty crowded in the summer. with disc golfers and park goers.
- The tee pads could be a little better (kind of small)
Other Thoughts: I have not played here in a while (probably about 2 years) but it used to be one of my home courses. I'm not sure what has changed.

It is pretty much one of two courses where I learned the game. This course did well to teach me that you need to develop many facets of your game to be good. This course demands technical skill, yet lets you open up and rip some.

All in all, it's a nice course that I would definitely check out if you find yourself in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nixon has Molded me

5+    11/26/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: CrispyDisc
Played: 66  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is constantly changing, evolving and providing returning players with new looks at each hole. There is a good mixture of wooded and open holes that test a variety of shots and approaches for each player. Short and long tee pads are optional on 14 of the holes which allow for a multitude of different looks at the course layout. Fun to play casually, or competitively. The potential to shoot a hot round exists, but be ware, It can be hard to recover if you don't get off the tee pad and down some of the fairways. The Park crew does a great job maintaining the grounds and keeping the course looking good. The summer music series lets players hear live music while they play, which is pretty amazing.
Cons: --Tee signs need updating and improvement
-- Occasionally baskets are moved, so it helps to check to see if they are in the same location before teeing off
-- Recent park renovations have made playing holes 11-14 difficult at times.
-- Pedestrian traffic can be heavy during during the summer
-- Concrete Tee pads could be bigger
Other Thoughts: This is my home course! I feel like its easy to be bias towards the course that has help mold me into the golfer I have become, however I have played all over the country and truly believe this course is GOOD! Every time I play here I am truly excited to play, even though I've played here well over 300+ rounds here. As far as courses are concerned, its a little gem that will improve your game and push your abilities to improve should you choose to push yourself and try new tee pads, new drive selections and new approaches...... every course can get a little repetitive, challenge yourself and try taking a new look at it. I absolutely LOVE Nixon, its where I trained for the 2011 Am Worlds and 2011 USDGC.... and it payed off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in a nice park if you're in the area

1    11/8/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Anson Nixon Park is a quaint park with a quaint disc golf course. The multiuse park is located in a nice area on the outskirts of the Philadelphia region, just north of Delaware and is very easy to locate. Once in the park, the first tee isn't difficult to find. The first thing that you'll probably come across is the alternate first tee. One of the big pluses at Anson Nixon are the multiple tees on most holes. While some are just longer versions of the original tee, some provide the opportunity to play the same fairway quite differently. The primary tees (and several of the alternates) are concrete and provide ample footing for short run-ups or "stand & deliver" throws.

Multiple moving pin positions are in place on many of the holes. This, in concert with the alternate tees, provides a lot of variety with regard to the course layout.

Specific to the course itself, there are a mix of different fairway types (wooded, open, and both wooded/open) frequently incorporating a variety of distances, elevations, and fairway shapes.

Somewhat detailed tee signs on the primary/permanant tees (distance, fairway, and expected flight path) are a big plus. Most of the alternate tees had laminated signs showing distance and par. Additional signage included next tee signs on many of the holes, making navigation a lot less difficult.

In terms of ammenities a the course, bathrooms were located centrally near the first, middle, and last holes. A big thumbs up for the maintenance of DG course at Anson Nixon park as the course was CLEAN without a scrap of litter to be found.
Cons: Being a multiuse park (tennis, soccer, playgrounds, etc.), stray throws can be very dangerous for pedestrians at times when the course plays near walking & biking paths. While one of the fields is being regraded there are temporary holes set up that could be dangerous to players as the temporary holes require players/throws to cross fairways.

While the concrete tees were nice from a footing perspective, they were small by most standards and won't accommodate a typically run up. For the alternate tees, they're succeptable to all the cons of natural tees including being muddy when wet and rutted after lots of use.

Despite the variety of lengths, distances felt repetitive among many of the holes. Along these lines, a few long bomber holes would have been great.

One thing that kept blindsiding me was that the baskets were located in positions not depicted on tee signs so any distance or projected flight path shown on the tee sign goes out the window. Speaking of the signage, some of the next tee signs were small and somewhat hidden. While it wasn't difficult to find the next tees in most circumstances, more prominant next tee signs would have been helpful. That said, given the current layout, some additional direction for the first half of the back nine would be very useful.

Despite having water on site, this natural aspect was not incorporated into the design of the course and would have added a nice risk vs. reward factor to the some of the more vanilla holes.

Without knowing what the constraints were for the development of the course, you need to assume that the designers used what land they had available, but the design featured a lot of mandos (which I assume are saftey mandos).
Other Thoughts: This review only minimally takes into account the current construction within the park and my rating is not impacted by the work being performed.

The locals that I ran into were really friendly and quite helpful. This is always a welcome aspect at any course.

With regard to the pros and cons that I have listed, there really isn't anything wrong with Anson Nixon Park, but there didn't really seem to be anything that really sets it apart or puts it on a pedestal above other courses of similar lengths and layouts. I considered a 2.5 rating, but given the work that is constantly being performed at the course and the different playing options that were available (rotating baskets and multiple tees), I opted to give this course the benefit of the doubt and gave it a 3.0.

My overall thought is that this is a fun course that makes for good local play, especially when a trip to DE or elsewhere isn't an option. I enjoyed playing here and if I was in the area I'd play it again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix of wooded/open holes. There is a nice use of rolling hills. This course will be fine for any level disc golfer to play.

Other Pros:
- short tees have concrete pads (some pads are short but there are wood chips before the pads start)
- long tees are wood chips boxed in with logs
- bathroom near first tee
- look for the "next tee" signs in confusing areas
- tee signs
- Multiple basket positions*
Cons: Although the multiple basket positions is a pro, I did not know which position the basket was in. I had to walk over to see where they were for the blind shots. Not all of the baskets match the tee numbers which added to the frustration.

Other Cons:
- park was busy with non disc golfers and some kids were near baskets, use caution
- no memorable hole
Other Thoughts: It's not a bad course but there's no reason to make a special trip here.

I wish they still had the ponds in play.

There is a sign in the bathroom stall that really made me laugh. They need a sign to tell you where to put used toilet paper? Sadly, that was my most memorable moment.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.