Kennett Square, PA 
Anson Nixon Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #9 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 194ft.   4 / 291ft.   4 / 220ft.   4 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nixon has Molded me

5+    11/26/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: CrispyDisc
Played: 70  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is constantly changing, evolving and providing returning players with new looks at each hole. There is a good mixture of wooded and open holes that test a variety of shots and approaches for each player. Short and long tee pads are optional on 14 of the holes which allow for a multitude of different looks at the course layout. Fun to play casually, or competitively. The potential to shoot a hot round exists, but be ware, It can be hard to recover if you don't get off the tee pad and down some of the fairways. The Park crew does a great job maintaining the grounds and keeping the course looking good. The summer music series lets players hear live music while they play, which is pretty amazing.
Cons: --Tee signs need updating and improvement
-- Occasionally baskets are moved, so it helps to check to see if they are in the same location before teeing off
-- Recent park renovations have made playing holes 11-14 difficult at times.
-- Pedestrian traffic can be heavy during during the summer
-- Concrete Tee pads could be bigger
Other Thoughts: This is my home course! I feel like its easy to be bias towards the course that has help mold me into the golfer I have become, however I have played all over the country and truly believe this course is GOOD! Every time I play here I am truly excited to play, even though I've played here well over 300+ rounds here. As far as courses are concerned, its a little gem that will improve your game and push your abilities to improve should you choose to push yourself and try new tee pads, new drive selections and new approaches...... every course can get a little repetitive, challenge yourself and try taking a new look at it. I absolutely LOVE Nixon, its where I trained for the 2011 Am Worlds and 2011 USDGC.... and it payed off.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in a nice park if you're in the area

1    11/8/2011   11/15/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Anson Nixon Park is a quaint park with a quaint disc golf course. The multiuse park is located in a nice area on the outskirts of the Philadelphia region, just north of Delaware and is very easy to locate. Once in the park, the first tee isn't difficult to find. The first thing that you'll probably come across is the alternate first tee. One of the big pluses at Anson Nixon are the multiple tees on most holes. While some are just longer versions of the original tee, some provide the opportunity to play the same fairway quite differently. The primary tees (and several of the alternates) are concrete and provide ample footing for short run-ups or "stand & deliver" throws.

Multiple moving pin positions are in place on many of the holes. This, in concert with the alternate tees, provides a lot of variety with regard to the course layout.

Specific to the course itself, there are a mix of different fairway types (wooded, open, and both wooded/open) frequently incorporating a variety of distances, elevations, and fairway shapes.

Somewhat detailed tee signs on the primary/permanant tees (distance, fairway, and expected flight path) are a big plus. Most of the alternate tees had laminated signs showing distance and par. Additional signage included next tee signs on many of the holes, making navigation a lot less difficult.

In terms of ammenities a the course, bathrooms were located centrally near the first, middle, and last holes. A big thumbs up for the maintenance of DG course at Anson Nixon park as the course was CLEAN without a scrap of litter to be found.
Cons: Being a multiuse park (tennis, soccer, playgrounds, etc.), stray throws can be very dangerous for pedestrians at times when the course plays near walking & biking paths. While one of the fields is being regraded there are temporary holes set up that could be dangerous to players as the temporary holes require players/throws to cross fairways.

While the concrete tees were nice from a footing perspective, they were small by most standards and won't accommodate a typically run up. For the alternate tees, they're succeptable to all the cons of natural tees including being muddy when wet and rutted after lots of use.

Despite the variety of lengths, distances felt repetitive among many of the holes. Along these lines, a few long bomber holes would have been great.

One thing that kept blindsiding me was that the baskets were located in positions not depicted on tee signs so any distance or projected flight path shown on the tee sign goes out the window. Speaking of the signage, some of the next tee signs were small and somewhat hidden. While it wasn't difficult to find the next tees in most circumstances, more prominant next tee signs would have been helpful. That said, given the current layout, some additional direction for the first half of the back nine would be very useful.

Despite having water on site, this natural aspect was not incorporated into the design of the course and would have added a nice risk vs. reward factor to the some of the more vanilla holes.

Without knowing what the constraints were for the development of the course, you need to assume that the designers used what land they had available, but the design featured a lot of mandos (which I assume are saftey mandos).
Other Thoughts: This review only minimally takes into account the current construction within the park and my rating is not impacted by the work being performed.

The locals that I ran into were really friendly and quite helpful. This is always a welcome aspect at any course.

With regard to the pros and cons that I have listed, there really isn't anything wrong with Anson Nixon Park, but there didn't really seem to be anything that really sets it apart or puts it on a pedestal above other courses of similar lengths and layouts. I considered a 2.5 rating, but given the work that is constantly being performed at the course and the different playing options that were available (rotating baskets and multiple tees), I opted to give this course the benefit of the doubt and gave it a 3.0.

My overall thought is that this is a fun course that makes for good local play, especially when a trip to DE or elsewhere isn't an option. I enjoyed playing here and if I was in the area I'd play it again.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 111  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a nice mix of wooded/open holes. There is a nice use of rolling hills. This course will be fine for any level disc golfer to play.

Other Pros:
- short tees have concrete pads (some pads are short but there are wood chips before the pads start)
- long tees are wood chips boxed in with logs
- bathroom near first tee
- look for the "next tee" signs in confusing areas
- tee signs
- Multiple basket positions*
Cons: Although the multiple basket positions is a pro, I did not know which position the basket was in. I had to walk over to see where they were for the blind shots. Not all of the baskets match the tee numbers which added to the frustration.

Other Cons:
- park was busy with non disc golfers and some kids were near baskets, use caution
- no memorable hole
Other Thoughts: It's not a bad course but there's no reason to make a special trip here.

I wish they still had the ponds in play.

There is a sign in the bathroom stall that really made me laugh. They need a sign to tell you where to put used toilet paper? Sadly, that was my most memorable moment.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Always Changing

5+    6/17/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: jonhat42
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes from heavily wooded technical shots to wide open bombers. The course has great flow (once you get to know it) Good variety of tee placements and multiple pin placements on all holes make this course slightly different every time you play it. Local disc golf club puts a ton of time keeping this course well manicured and free of underbrush which was a problem at this course years ago.
Cons: Very pooorly marked course and with the fact that the pin placements constantly change it makes it even difficult for those who play it regularly to find the correct pin placement. Course is often crowded and unfortunately you do run into the occassional idiot who came to party not to play. As well as the people who dont respect the rules or let their dogs off their leashes etc.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and my wife and I have easily played it 100+ times. I really likes the old course that played over the water and had a number more ace runs on the back 9 but the new couse has its fun holes. Definately play this course with someone who has played it before to enjoy it on your first or even 2nd time playing it. I really like this course, it is a great after work course as you can easily finish a round quickly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 eh.

2-4    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: relatively close to many places such as philly, delaware, etc.
funny signs
good core of local players who upkeep this course
lots of other stuff to do at the park.
some very interesting holes.
enjoyable play for players of all skill levels.
course plays very short-could get a couple rounds in in 2 hours probably.
Cons: confusing layout. TOO MANY "next tee" signs. theyre everywhere. multiple tees only contribute to the confusion. no way to tell which position the basket is in. holes 11-16 are utterly confusing. theres baskets, tees, and signs everywhere. very tough to decipher where to throw to
Other Thoughts: if i played here more often i'm sure the layout would become very easy to follow, but for a first timer, it was hell.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent But Unspectacular

1    10/2/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 65  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 4.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Probably the best thing about Anson B. Nixon is that it has great balance. There is an equal number of both wooded (technical) and more open holes. The course treats righties and lefties equally, calling upon you to throw a comparable number of both hyzers and anhyzers. It is a course that is challenging enough for the advanced player yet manageable for the recreational disc golfer. The wooded fairways are generally well maintained and the cement tee pads sufficient. There is good use of elevation. The baskets, though old, work fine. Most holes have dual basket positions. Bathroom and plenty of pavilion/picnic amenities are present.
Cons: Tee signs are in terrible shape. Navigation could be made easier with more visible "next tee" signs. Several holes are TOO densely wooded for my taste- hole #4 gave me a Lum's Pond flashback- and good drives can go unrewarded. Course is undergoing renovations and cement pads do not yet exist for many of the proposed long tees. Would have been nice if the ponds could have somehow been incorporated into the layout. Beware of joggers and picnickers at various junctures throughout the course. Benches at each hole would be a welcome addition.
Other Thoughts: Anson Nixon is a nice park with plenty for the family to do, featuring everything from basketball courts to a jogging path to swing sets. The disc golf course is decent, but lacks any real signature holes or characteristics that set it apart from some of the other fine courses on the Eastern or Southern side of Pennsylvania. The course does not have the beauty of Little Lehigh Parkway or the intimacy of Hickory Run, for instance. Simply put, it is not a destination course, but it is a good play for anyone within a reasonable distance.

Precision is a must on many of the technical holes. Veering off the fairway will have dire consequences, as the dense woods offer little relief or hope of finding an alternate route to the basket. There are a couple of mandos but nothing too outrageous. The only real OB to speak of are the walking/jogging paths that surround the park.

I beg to differ with those who took issue with course drainage- after two days of torrential rain, the course played just fine in all but a couple of spots. The locals have worked hard to maintain and upgrade A.B. Nixon, and the experience will be enhanced when the new tee pads are completed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Richard Williams

1    8/21/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 392  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Multi-tee (concrete at shorts)/multi-pin position. Bathroom at start/end. Petrol/food options nearby. Signs currently being replaced. Nicely mulched paths on the front nine.
Cons:
No current basket position, so need to scout ahead. A few of the long pin positions were pretty extreme (tree density). Course undergoing some changes, so map somewhat out-of-date (primarily 11-13). Non-players potentially near baskets on early/late holes - #16 was closed due to nearby pavilion users.
Other Thoughts:
Course initially (1-10) plays in the woods, then (11-13) around the rim of a large, elevated, open space, finishing (14-18) on mostly-open/slightly-wooded changing to slightly-open/mostly-wooded at the end. Other than a short/steep initial drop on #8, a short/steep rise at the end of #9, and near-steep-slope baskets on #12 and #13, the course plays quite flat. Fairly even blend of right-/left-turning shots needed from the tee on the wooded holes (1-10, 17-18), while long-n-straight will serve you well on the longer and more-open 11-16.

The day we played, there was an extra basket between #13 and #14, located about even with #14's short tee, halfway up the slope. After finishing #13, there was a large metal pipe protruding from the ground, down the slope and near the edge of the woods, and it seemed a reasonable place from which to tee for this #13.5 basket.

Decent course - had all the essentials, suitable for many levels of players. Worth a play if in the area, but lacked any real "Wow!" factor.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated

5+    6/7/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: gdev
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of wooded and open holes
Recently been mulched all over the place
Short enough to be beginner friendly, technical enough to be a challenge.
Cons: Signs need some work.
Many holes have multiple pins and it often isn't clear from the tee which way to go.
Many of the long pin positions feel somewhat contrived
Does not drain well
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I think it is an often underrated course. It is not super long so if you want to do a lot of grip and rip you aren't going to find it here. It does have a lot of wooded holes requiring some technical shots to stay on line and out of the trees. The local club is doing work regularly to improve the course so be sure to continue to check it out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nixon in transition

5+    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: dray
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 37.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As of may 2010 there are 19 different holes which allows for a short 18 and a long 18.The long 18 combines holes 3 and 4 into a single par 5(or 6).Good mix of short finesse shots and some long wide open shots .New (moved from it's old position) tee pad on #12 is a pretty downhill shot to a well guarded pin.
Cons: The local club is still working on getting new long tee pads on most holes.The signs are outdated and the baskets don't all have numbers or a number that doesn't reflect the correct hole.
Other Thoughts: When all of the upgrades are completed (hopefully this year) the course should be a nice addition to the other layouts in nearby Delaware.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing if you're already there

1    8/11/2008   11/11/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 121  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 20.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mixes in some VERY technical forest holes, especially at the beginning, with some more open holes. Mostly flat, with a couple holes on a big hillside for variety. Not great holes, but most if not all are interesting to play. Nice short course for beginners and others who don't want to wear out their arm.
Cons: I rarely consider signage and navigation in my ratings, but this was one course that really gave me fits. Perhaps it has improved (since August 2008), but the woods on the early holes included a maze of trails leading in wrong directions, and on the later holes I had trouble matching teepads to baskets.

Aesthetically, part of the course is near a busy highway, not the most peaceful walk in the park.
Other Thoughts: Other than the navigation, nothing really wrong here. Course was easy to get to, and all the shots were reasonable.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.