Disc Golf Center
Kennett Square, PA 
Anson Nixon Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #14 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 372ft.   3 / 372ft.   3 / 550ft.   3 / 550ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 construction hampers playability

1    3/21/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.9 Years
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The number one good thing about this course is that is must have been designed by a lefty. I am left handed and the majority of the shots hooked to the right, perfect lefty shot. But on a serious note there is a good variety of holes ranging from wooded to wide open grip and rip, to shooting up and down hills. The tees are made of concrete which is very useful especially if you play during mud season (beginning of spring). Seventeen of the holes were much cleared of debris and relatively easy to spot at least one basket. The only hole that was a problem was 18 because the basket is tucked away behind a large tree and several shrubs. The approach to it was also tough because of the debris on the fairway. You might have to walk this hole before you play to find the basket which is a huge dogleg right after the clearing. Also there are some bathrooms, a water fountain and playground right next to hole 1. probably the two best things about the course are the friendly locals and that the course is beginner friendly.
Cons: The course is being redesigned, so said a local, and that is why there are several holes (1, 2, and 5 spring to mind) that have PVC piping where baskets used to stand. This makes some of the holes more complicated because you have to really look for the other basket. Probably one of the creepiest things I have ever seen is the pet cemetery on the right side of hole 6's fairway. Some of the headstones were from the late 50' to the early 60's. The tee signs pointing to the next tee were very small and the tee signs themselves were missing on more than half the holes. The tee pads were also much smaller than I am accustomed to but still very throwable from. Holes 7-11 were very muddy and the holes were exceptionally slick. 12-15 offered little guidance and were clumped together. More than once I found myself shooting at the wrong basket. My biggest complaint is that this course lacked a signature hole, one that will be talked about as a monster or a tricky one.
Other Thoughts: Brandywine Creek is just 10.5 miles away (20-25 minute drive) and is most defiantly worth the drive if you finish here early. Hole 16 has a small lake near it that offers fishing. Print out the course map as you will need it.

Dogs are allowed as long as they are leashed.

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Nice palce to play

1    3/20/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a nice place to enjoy a day of disc golf. The tees are concrete (except 13 which I cover below) and the baskets are in good shape. I like a course where there is space for technical shots and some grip and rip and you will find it here. On several holes you deal with elevation changes and baskets on the side of the hill or on top near the edge. So be careful with your putts or you get to chase a disc downhill. The hill is not hard to climb but who wants to do it extra times. The park is in good shape with some facilities and plenty of parking. There were 3 of us playing. One rookie, one who had not played much in last 2 years, and me the addict. This course fit us all. We were joined by a local for a few baskets and he was very helpful. If you have time and want to play a course do not hesitate.
Cons: All of the tees have multiple basket positions, as many as 3. There is nothing at the tee to let you know which one to use. However, if you look down the fairway you will see white poles sticking about 3 feet out of the ground these are the positions not in use. On 1 they need to update the map because the new position is about 200 feet past the blue basket. We never did find it. The guy who joined up with us help us find it. The course is doable again until you get to 13 which has been moved on top of the hill on a dirt tee. The old tee still is still there but the sign is gone. On 18, which was also moved according to the guy who joined us, the basket area was messy.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a good experience. The park department, apparently, is not real fond of the disc golf according to the guy who joined us but tolerates it. The course needs a real good sprucing up and new signs would really help. Also the the map here needs to be updated. They have had to, recently, move several baskets because the park insisted.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Anson B. Discin

1    2/22/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very well maintained 18 hole course in a very nice town. It is close to the famous Brandywine Course in Delaware. This course offers both tight old school technical holes with little to no underbrush thanks to some real dilligent workers and some big open holes with protected pins or elevation shifts. Alternate tees on all holes.
# 1-6 are tight and technical and will challenge your mid-range finesse game, many of the alternate pins really change the shot making on these holes rather than just changing distance....imagine for a tourney the second round is quite different from the first.
#7 gets you into the open
#8 is a fun righty hole shooting from an elevated tee hyzering back into the woods.
#9 shoot out of the woods to an elevated pin
#10 nice open drive to a protected pin
#11 the only completely treeless hole but watch out for the wind as your disc climbs way up that hill it will be prone to being swept away due to the vulnerability that a disc is under when the nose is up and that crosswind across the plateau grabs it...my disc was carried to a galaxy far far away....very frustrating but interesting hole.
#12-15 are all semi-open with longer tees available that really stretch this area of the course out.
#16-18 meander back into the woods gradually and save you just as you may be getting sick of big arm holes.
It is a well thought out course. Usually when I play I look for more interesting routes or possible holes but I can truly say this property is maximized. There is really is nothing more that could be done with this property. Kudos!
Cons: There are not many really memorable holes here. Basically a bunch of really solid but not spectacular holes. Highway along holes 13 and 14 breaks up the peacefulness. Although I believe if I had not seen the pins from that highway I would have never found the course! haha! Tee pads are smallish like most courses this old. Pins for holes 12 and 15 are very close to one another and a bit confusing.
Other Thoughts: Nice lake nearby. I never saw or found the infamous Pet Cemetery...I don't think this is a destination course but it would probably balance out the famous wide open Brandywine course due to it's tight and fun technical holes. Brandywine is only 7-8 miles away.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

New Holes

5+    6/4/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 241  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/17/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A.B. Nixon is a fun course to throw, and beginner friendly. several wooded holes take you to several open shots with some obstacles then back into the woods. 5 new holes have recently been put into place, 2 in the middle of the course and 3 at the end. Most all holes have 2 pin placements and short/long tees. 2 new holes in middle offer nice challenge, throwing in and out of woods, 1 down hill, 1 uphill. Final 3 move through trees and brush, 18 has a nice long pin placement to finish on.
Cons: The old final 4 holes by the water are missed. jumping into the creek on a hot summer day was never a bad thing.
Areas of the course can be muddy at times.
Some of the new pin placements need to be worked out. For instance #12 the tee now points well away from the new pin placement, driving hard uphill at it is kinda awkward.
Also because of the new pin placements and the way some of the new holes flow the course has become 'lefty' dominant and lost some of its variety. I hope eventually a couple holes can be put back to old pin locations and bring back some shot variety.
Other Thoughts: Keep an eye out for the mentioned Pet Cemetery on #6. A number of the front 9 offer ace runs.

**Update**
AB Nix is currently under construction. Plans for long tees on most holes and some additional pin positions are underway (Some new pin positions are already completed on 1 & 4 and are a nice new challenge to the course) Because of all the new work, most tee signs are incomplete and inaccurate. Obviously new signs will not be put in until all work is complete so for the time being the course is constantly improving, but may be a little hard to navigate. Most holes have 2 pin placements, but only 1 basket so the white PVC piping you see sometimes from the tee is just a placeholder for the sleeve. There is a basket on the hole, but as stated it may not be marked on the outdated maps. The course website has a map of the planned course layout being worked on.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Decent local course

4/5/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging but short narrow holes through the woods, and open ones to air everything out. Decent variety. Good for beginners because of the length. Solid tees (at the amateur level). Some alternate pin placements. Excellent restrooms and drinking water.
Cons: Lots of traffic; one kid threw our disc back at us because he thought he was being helpful! Pet cemetery very creepy. Signage is very poor after the first few holes. Holes seem to be being rearranged at this time (Spring '08). Long tees are muddy.
Other Thoughts: A decent local course, but probably not worth a long trip to get here. Bring a picnic for the many tables, especially by the scenic lake.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Various tee and pin placements. Wooded to open holes, with elevation changes. Did make some lasting impressions, which I will NEVER forget. Probably doesn't deserve to be ranted so low. When I played there were a few baskets missing (darn vandals), very muddy, and playing through an old pet cemetery didn't seem to be "right". I also believe this park used to be a landfill and toward the end, the course looked "junky". This was back in 1998 so it may have improved greatly since then. I only played the short tees this day. I do think I would enjoy playing a tournament here.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mushroom Capitol of the World!

8/31/2007   8/31/2007
Review By: Neonnoodle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees and baskets are in good shape and if weather is bad are a decent challenge even for Experts. Course is well-maintained. The course walk and play is nice. Holes 6 (Pet Cemetary), 9 Long (drive in woods to outside guarded Pin), Long 12 and 13 (where 4s are birdies) and Long 18 (requires careful placement shots to par) are the signature holes.
Cons: The long tees are natural, though in decent shape. Signage needs improvement. Highway on holes 12 and 13 is noisy. The short layout lacks length variety (if you play it you may want to pick the long tees intermittantly).
Other Thoughts: The Kennett Square area is beautiful Brandywine Valley horse farm area with rolling hills and streams. The town has many quaint shops and restaurants including a great ice cream shop. As mentioned in another review, Brandywine Creek State Park, our sister course, is only 20 min south in DE. Playing these two courses makes a decent day of disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

2-4    4/29/2007   6/4/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2008
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 18 holes with concrete tees, and two pin placements. I think the club is either installing a second set of tees or something, course was looking good when I stopped there yesterday. Number of good ace runs combines with some longer and tougher holes for a better challenge. Rt. 1 is less of an issue now but can still arise for a bad righty shot on 14. The water holes are no longer in play and that is some welcome news. Nice mix of lefty and righty holes as well as open and tight shots.
Cons: Not all the newly positioned holes have baskets yet. Got just a bit confused as to where hole two is from the first pin... maybe a few pointer signs would help.
Other Thoughts: This layout is better than the last time I was here. Just a few minutes from Brandywine Creek, and not far from Rt.1 and Rt. 202, as well as I-95.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.