Kennett Square, PA 
Anson Nixon Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #9 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 194ft.   4 / 291ft.   4 / 220ft.   4 / 367ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Always Changing

5+    6/17/2011   6/25/2011
Review By: jonhat42
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes from heavily wooded technical shots to wide open bombers. The course has great flow (once you get to know it) Good variety of tee placements and multiple pin placements on all holes make this course slightly different every time you play it. Local disc golf club puts a ton of time keeping this course well manicured and free of underbrush which was a problem at this course years ago.
Cons: Very pooorly marked course and with the fact that the pin placements constantly change it makes it even difficult for those who play it regularly to find the correct pin placement. Course is often crowded and unfortunately you do run into the occassional idiot who came to party not to play. As well as the people who dont respect the rules or let their dogs off their leashes etc.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and my wife and I have easily played it 100+ times. I really likes the old course that played over the water and had a number more ace runs on the back 9 but the new couse has its fun holes. Definately play this course with someone who has played it before to enjoy it on your first or even 2nd time playing it. I really like this course, it is a great after work course as you can easily finish a round quickly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 eh.

2-4    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: disc gopher
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: relatively close to many places such as philly, delaware, etc.
funny signs
good core of local players who upkeep this course
lots of other stuff to do at the park.
some very interesting holes.
enjoyable play for players of all skill levels.
course plays very short-could get a couple rounds in in 2 hours probably.
Cons: confusing layout. TOO MANY "next tee" signs. theyre everywhere. multiple tees only contribute to the confusion. no way to tell which position the basket is in. holes 11-16 are utterly confusing. theres baskets, tees, and signs everywhere. very tough to decipher where to throw to
Other Thoughts: if i played here more often i'm sure the layout would become very easy to follow, but for a first timer, it was hell.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent But Unspectacular

1    10/2/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Probably the best thing about Anson B. Nixon is that it has great balance. There is an equal number of both wooded (technical) and more open holes. The course treats righties and lefties equally, calling upon you to throw a comparable number of both hyzers and anhyzers. It is a course that is challenging enough for the advanced player yet manageable for the recreational disc golfer. The wooded fairways are generally well maintained and the cement tee pads sufficient. There is good use of elevation. The baskets, though old, work fine. Most holes have dual basket positions. Bathroom and plenty of pavilion/picnic amenities are present.
Cons: Tee signs are in terrible shape. Navigation could be made easier with more visible "next tee" signs. Several holes are TOO densely wooded for my taste- hole #4 gave me a Lum's Pond flashback- and good drives can go unrewarded. Course is undergoing renovations and cement pads do not yet exist for many of the proposed long tees. Would have been nice if the ponds could have somehow been incorporated into the layout. Beware of joggers and picnickers at various junctures throughout the course. Benches at each hole would be a welcome addition.
Other Thoughts: Anson Nixon is a nice park with plenty for the family to do, featuring everything from basketball courts to a jogging path to swing sets. The disc golf course is decent, but lacks any real signature holes or characteristics that set it apart from some of the other fine courses on the Eastern or Southern side of Pennsylvania. The course does not have the beauty of Little Lehigh Parkway or the intimacy of Hickory Run, for instance. Simply put, it is not a destination course, but it is a good play for anyone within a reasonable distance.

Precision is a must on many of the technical holes. Veering off the fairway will have dire consequences, as the dense woods offer little relief or hope of finding an alternate route to the basket. There are a couple of mandos but nothing too outrageous. The only real OB to speak of are the walking/jogging paths that surround the park.

I beg to differ with those who took issue with course drainage- after two days of torrential rain, the course played just fine in all but a couple of spots. The locals have worked hard to maintain and upgrade A.B. Nixon, and the experience will be enhanced when the new tee pads are completed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Richard Williams

1    8/21/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Multi-tee (concrete at shorts)/multi-pin position. Bathroom at start/end. Petrol/food options nearby. Signs currently being replaced. Nicely mulched paths on the front nine.
Cons:
No current basket position, so need to scout ahead. A few of the long pin positions were pretty extreme (tree density). Course undergoing some changes, so map somewhat out-of-date (primarily 11-13). Non-players potentially near baskets on early/late holes - #16 was closed due to nearby pavilion users.
Other Thoughts:
Course initially (1-10) plays in the woods, then (11-13) around the rim of a large, elevated, open space, finishing (14-18) on mostly-open/slightly-wooded changing to slightly-open/mostly-wooded at the end. Other than a short/steep initial drop on #8, a short/steep rise at the end of #9, and near-steep-slope baskets on #12 and #13, the course plays quite flat. Fairly even blend of right-/left-turning shots needed from the tee on the wooded holes (1-10, 17-18), while long-n-straight will serve you well on the longer and more-open 11-16.

The day we played, there was an extra basket between #13 and #14, located about even with #14's short tee, halfway up the slope. After finishing #13, there was a large metal pipe protruding from the ground, down the slope and near the edge of the woods, and it seemed a reasonable place from which to tee for this #13.5 basket.

Decent course - had all the essentials, suitable for many levels of players. Worth a play if in the area, but lacked any real "Wow!" factor.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Underrated

5+    6/7/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: gdev
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of wooded and open holes
Recently been mulched all over the place
Short enough to be beginner friendly, technical enough to be a challenge.
Cons: Signs need some work.
Many holes have multiple pins and it often isn't clear from the tee which way to go.
Many of the long pin positions feel somewhat contrived
Does not drain well
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I think it is an often underrated course. It is not super long so if you want to do a lot of grip and rip you aren't going to find it here. It does have a lot of wooded holes requiring some technical shots to stay on line and out of the trees. The local club is doing work regularly to improve the course so be sure to continue to check it out.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nixon in transition

5+    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: dray
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 36.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As of may 2010 there are 19 different holes which allows for a short 18 and a long 18.The long 18 combines holes 3 and 4 into a single par 5(or 6).Good mix of short finesse shots and some long wide open shots .New (moved from it's old position) tee pad on #12 is a pretty downhill shot to a well guarded pin.
Cons: The local club is still working on getting new long tee pads on most holes.The signs are outdated and the baskets don't all have numbers or a number that doesn't reflect the correct hole.
Other Thoughts: When all of the upgrades are completed (hopefully this year) the course should be a nice addition to the other layouts in nearby Delaware.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing if you're already there

1    8/11/2008   11/11/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mixes in some VERY technical forest holes, especially at the beginning, with some more open holes. Mostly flat, with a couple holes on a big hillside for variety. Not great holes, but most if not all are interesting to play. Nice short course for beginners and others who don't want to wear out their arm.
Cons: I rarely consider signage and navigation in my ratings, but this was one course that really gave me fits. Perhaps it has improved (since August 2008), but the woods on the early holes included a maze of trails leading in wrong directions, and on the later holes I had trouble matching teepads to baskets.

Aesthetically, part of the course is near a busy highway, not the most peaceful walk in the park.
Other Thoughts: Other than the navigation, nothing really wrong here. Course was easy to get to, and all the shots were reasonable.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Simple Course

1    10/11/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: CraigC
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has some nice variety of wooded & open holes. The wooded holes are a much fairer test than my home course of Lums Pond. This is a great course for beginners, as there isn't much heavy rough and the holes aren't terribly long (most seemed about 250-300 ft). Most holes had nice looking tee signs.
Cons: Bring a map with you. There are some signs that try and point you in the right direction of the next hole, but they're hard to find. The tee signs, while they looked nice, didn't nearly show the drastic turns that some holes have at the end.
Other Thoughts: I was there during a dry spell, so I can't comment on whether it gets muddy or not. Park seemed nice and was easy to find. For a sunny Sunday afternoon, I didn't come across many non-disc golfers on the course, so that shouldn't be a big concern. Saw two deer standing no more than 15 feet from me on hole 2. While this website shows 4 different tee positions, only the shortest ones seemed clearly marked. I probably only saw 3-4 alternate tee positions clearly labelled throughout the entire course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 F for failure of a course

1    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: Dr.awesome
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 7/2/2009
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Okay baskets, tees, and layout.
Cons: No challenge. Poorly marked. No next tee signs. So much more!!!!! Me and my family were lost on holes 2, 15 8, and many more.
Other Thoughts: Avoid this course. If you are in kennet try the great ice cream/popsicle place, it's the only thing that makes it worth the trip.

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Not bad but confusing

1    4/25/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: Unintentional Dowser
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fairly varied shot selection--though most of them involve threading through trees.
Concrete Tees--at least for the short tees, I never saw the long tees.
Nice scenery.
Cons: Tee signs were not always helpful and sometimes seemed incorrect.
Baskets not always visible from the tee (combined with the signage made it worse)

Other Thoughts: Hole 14 actually had two baskets in the ground--I don't know which one I was supposed to play but it didn't really affect my round otherwise. Seemed to be a little lefty biased but I won't call that a con for my first time playing.
Parking was also a little crowded.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.