New Holstein, WI 
Kiwanis Park Share
Uploaded By: icedpuck Hole #8 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very average park 9 hole course

2-4    8/10/2014   8/12/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 81  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course set in a very nice city park.

Grippy cement tee pads, trapezoid in shape. Very nice, except for being about 3 feet too short. To be fair, they are very level with grade, so the transition from grass to concrete is hardly noticeable.

Decent tee signs. Small, plastic molded signs show distance and basic topography, and are mounted on sturdy metal poles. More on these in cons.

Solid DGA baskets, in great shape, and easy to see.

Ace runs abound, which can be fun.

Cons: Navigation here is a little wonky. Once you park, there really isn't anything telling you where to go for hole 1. You'll need to follow the trail around the duck pond, with hole 1's tee being on the other side, just past the bridge. After the first three holes, you'll need to traverse back past the pond to hole 4, which runs back adjacent to the parking lot. From there, it's pretty simple.

Not much in the way of obstacles here. The water in the park doesn't come into play, and even the trees are few and far between, and really only affect your shots on holes 1, 2, and 4. Holes 5-9 are completely open, with only a little elevation on the last few holes.

Other Thoughts: All in all, this isn't a horrible place to spin a couple rounds. The park also includes walking paths, baseball diamonds, tennis courts, a pavilion, and children's playgrounds. It's very clean, and very well kept.

Beginners will enjoy this course, as it's nearly devoid of obstacles, and the distances are fairly reasonable. Only holes 8 and 9 offer anything over 300'.

As said below, you could definitely develop some good safari holes here, as the only thing in your way might be some walkers on the paths.

All in all, a decent 9 holer, even if it is unspectacular.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Take a Kiwanis Safari

2-4    11/20/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. This topographically bland area offers a decent mix of holes, utilizing mostly the trees on the first few holes to designate routes (but neglects the opportunity to use the drainage creek or the small pond as potential risks; more in Cons), and using the bowl-like depression and prevailing wind on the finishing holes. Hole #7 and #9 baskets are both strategically perched on the slope of this bowl, creating potential rollaway greens that adds some fun and risk (in fact, tallpaul and I talked extensively about how much we liked the randomness of such holes while playing these two, and I'll stick by that assertion no matter how "unfair" other players think it is!).
2. Tees. The first time I played out here in 2006, the tees were marked by wooden planks installed flush with the ground; in other words, you had no indicator after finishing a hole as to where to walk for the next tee. While navigation is still a slight issue here (see Cons), the addition of sufficiently sized trapezoidal concrete tees adds a visible affirmation of the direction of the subsequent hole...and I guess they also serve the purpose of providing a reliable teeing surface. :)
3. Baskets. These are in good shape, minimal to no rust, number plates help identify which basket you're throwing to in this relatively open area where multiple baskets are usually visible. There's a practice basket near the parking lot.
4. Signage. Simple, sufficient...some distances seemed *slightly* questionable, but otherwise pretty accurate.
5. Maintenance. A very clean park...seems like the locals walk on the paths here quite frequently, (lots of elderly with little yapping ankle-biter dogs kinda crowd), and the surrounding neighborhood seems pretty ritzy, and the budget for this park must be sizable with the generous footbridges (those things can't be cheap, and there are several aiding in crossing the creek). No garbage cans around the course, but there are a few off the paths and near the parking lot. Pack in, pack out.
Cons: 1. Navigation. Getting around here is a bit goofy -- you'll immediately notice the practice basket near the parking lot, and basket #4 near the creek...#1 starts up past the "looking pond" and plays over the creek (as noted above, the creek doesn't even come into play here...it's about 30' in front of the tee, and then #2 similarly plays over the creek without utilizing it as a risk whatsoever. After the first 4 holes, you'll need to head past the parking lot and past the pavilion/shelter to play the "bowl holes," which are actually quite fun and, although bland in terms of obstacles like trees, quite challenging when the wind is roaring (which it always has been when I've been here)...I guess that little digression could be put up in the Pros section, but it popped into my head here, so here it will remain. If questioning where to head, keep an eye out for the metal sign posts, which stick out of the back left corner of each tee pad.
2. Keep an eye out for the metal sign posts, which stick out of the back left corner of each tee pad. I've seen some courses do this -- install the signs ON the concrete pads -- but at least here it wasn't on the front of the pad directly in the follow-through region, which I would knock off BIG points for.
3. Design. Bland. Blah. Meh. To squeeze the most enjoyment out of these pin positions, you'd be best served by making up your own holes, designing tees where water will come into play or trees are more of an issue (of course, do this only on non-busy days -- which I'm guessing are MOST days). The repetitive feel of the first few holes actually lends to the final holes feeling somewhat refreshing in their design, yet overall the whole course falls short of its potential.
Other Thoughts: Nothing special here. Locals would probably have the most fun making up their own holes -- tallpaul and I played a normal round, then played backwards safari, which gave us some holes we figured were close to 800' with multiple OB areas. Not much drawing power here unless you're going for TR stats or attempting to play every course possible!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    7/26/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads
Nice usage of trees and the creek
Good open shots to let it all out
Good mix of holes that can ace or not
Cons: Very spread out
Trash cans would be nice
Other Thoughts: I play this course almost every day and it is a fun course to play with a nice enviroment

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Open course with little variety

1    4/7/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: adeehr
Played: 20  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great course for beginners-No hole is over 400ft so there is no real long shots needed here. Beginners can really get a feel for the game and get some good obsticals on holes 1-4.
-Small river doesn't come into play much, but is a nice diversion on a couple holes.
-Course is in a city park along walking paths so the maintenance of the course is always really good.
Cons: -Layout is awkward-You have to walk quiet a ways down a path to get to hole one, then play 3 holes in that area. Walk along the river to play hole 4 and then across the road behind the community center sits holes 5-9.
-On a windy day holes 5-9 are just too much out in the open. There is no variety on these holes, just straight open field shots.
-Little needed in the terms of variety of shots. A straight shot on every hole will get you where you need to be.
-There are concrete tee pads here, but they are very short. I have long legs and like to stride into my tee shot, so I have to either start on the grass or finish on the grass. Not ideal but workable. (At least the entire pad isn't bare ground.)
Other Thoughts: I play here often enough because it's the closest course to my house. On a calm day I like playing the open holes on 5-9 to practice technique and different types of shots.

It's not a course I would frequent if it wasn't convenient, but it gets the job done for me on a regular basis.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 C- = Decent, but slightly below 9-holer

1    10/15/2010   3/6/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Here is what I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses (over 110 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C+
(About half the holes are open without much decision making to make interesting shot planning, nor is there much punishment to let you know about your errant throws. The other half have a little intrigue to them - water close-ish to the basket on a couple, a big drop-off behind another, and trees strategically placed to make you work your shot on 2-3 others. Not bad at all…..but nothing too special either. I was impressed at how the design worked well around other park activities and used a variety of available challenges to the max. Kudos to the designer!)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(Most of the holes are too short and too open to be rewarding. There are 2-3 exceptions - perfect holes to challenge me and let me know when I am on my game. This is a tad below average for what I see in 9-holers.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C-
(Not a wooded courses at all. As mentioned in #1, there are some interesting challenges at Kiwanis Park, but unfortunately very little has to do with shot shaping. I really like the long downhill bomb (#9) where the pin is protected on the left. This is not as cool for a RHBH since it is a simple hyzer shot, but as a lefty it takes a finicky line drive or anny to get into putting range.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
(An average feeling multi-use town park. No seclusion at all anywhere, but nice grass and trees. At times you do get away from the other activities for a hole or two, but there are other times when you are transitioning from hole to hole right through the center of everything.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (0 bonus points for this)

PS: I grade courses on a school grading system…60-100 with no F's and the average/center point being a B-….been doing that for a long time and started transferring my ratings list to the similar 11 level rating system here when this cool/amazing site came online.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Definetely Skipable

1    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: Shuie
Played: 617  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Concrete Teepads
-Signs that kind of describe the hole.
- course is well maintained
Cons: - holes are not very long most are around 275'
with 8 being 350' and 9 being 325'
- most holes are wide open
- very hard to find first tee
- the whole course lay out, u got the first three holes out by the pond then walk past the number one tee pad to get to four which is like more of a transition hole to just get to the last 5 holes
- the whole back 5 are all just wide open shots.
Other Thoughts: - no really worth playing unless u live in the area......
- the whole course lay-out just made this course not fun

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nicely maintained DGC in a nice large park with tons of activities.

1    5/9/2009   5/9/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Very beginner friendly. Don't let the water (10' wide creek) scare you if you are a beginner as it is only being thrown over twice and so close to the tee area it shouldnt be a problem. The hole running along the river has a large open area to bailout to the right to avoid the water.

2) Nice newer baskets that hold the discs well.

3) Despite being a beginners course the distance adds a challenge to the beginner. Short beginner courses are boring even for the beginner. This course at least gives the beginners some challenge in distance and although the water isnt really in play it will enter their minds! A few of the baskets also have some challenge because of trees and slopes.

4) Nicely maintained park with lots of other amenities. I even grabed a Mountain Dew after I finished #4 at the building. It was a good time for a cold in the can Moutain Dew.
Cons: 1) Could not find 3 tee areas because they are only marked with a 4x4 in the ground. With turf that is growing ridiculously fast right now, they are difficult to find. No signage to tell you where to start, the supposed course map was not there when I played. Got very confusing for me a couple times, so I just arbitrarily picked a spot to tee off from.

2) Practice basket is near the soccer goal, and nowhere near hole #1.

3) Concrete tee pads would be a reasonable upgrade along with a tee post indicating where the next tee is. The grade level tee areas are not very visible and difficult to spot when turf is growing so fast.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course, well maintained, and beginner friendly. Could use some signage to help out a newbie.

I am slightly embarrased I only had 1 birdie. There are 5 good birdie chances, the others are a little too long, at least for me to try and make birdie.

Would I go back no, but if I lived int he area and had limited choice I wouldnt mind playing this course again. It would get very boring though because there is not enough challenge to the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.