Providence, UT 
Von Baer Park Share
Uploaded By: Disc Buddy Hole #5 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Where did the love go?

5+    8/4/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 380  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 32.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Once upon a time: this was the fairest course in all of Northern Utah beloved by all, or secretly hated but not mentioned, in fact at one point it was the only course in Northern Utah, but then came the fairgrounds, and everybody forgot all about little Von Baer. Cache County Fairgrounds and Von Baer Park are a tale of opposites. The fairgrounds are flat and long while Von is hilly and short. The fairgrounds are groomed and beautiful while Von is treacherous and ugly. The fairgrounds allows players to rip long drives down fairly wide open fairways with little penalty, while Von requires more finesse shots and placements to avoid severe trouble. There is little chance to lose a disc at Cache while at Von it would be quite easy. While the fairgrounds are 18 holes you could play rounds all day on them without needing a break, with Von you will be winded after the first couple of holes let alone all 9 or 18 if you play alternates. The fairgrounds are an afternoon walk in the park, while at Von you could trip and kill yourself. I actually think these two courses complement each other rather nicely providing the best of both worlds. Obviously, I would want the fairgrounds as my daily course to play on all the time, but Von would provide for a nice change of pace and a chance to spice up the game a little every now and then. But I could see why, a lot of players would simply choose to leave Von in the rear view mirror.

Von Baer is an all Par 3 course, except for hole 4 on the red tees which is listed as a par 4, although at 430 feet it is an iffy call. It has excellent signage for all tees provide by Infinite Discs, which show all of the relevant information: par, distance, and map. It has 9 Innova Discatchers that do the job. It has an interesting variety of shots and challenges for all skill levels. There are plenty of elevation changes and obstacles to keep the course interesting. Of the 9 baskets all but 3 are not located on the hillside. Hole 9 was a nice little finishing hole, with a big hyzer across a gully to the basket, a nice risk/reward shot; I would have liked it a little more if the incorporation yard had not been there underneath.
Cons: Ugly. We were there in summer and this course was quite dry and desolate, it doesn't help you have to walk past the city's green waste dump to get to hole 1 from the parking lot, or that the city's truck yard is located on the left of hole 1 and under hole 9s fairway. I have seen pictures of the course at other times of year when it is green and lush and it is a much prettier picture, but in August this was ugly. If the little creek had water it would also have improved the feel of the park.

Treacherous Footing. Snow and rain have cause quite a bit of erosion on these hills making a lot of the course a little dangerous and difficult to find footing. Once you've played a while there are lines that make the course easier and safer but it is a matter of learning the course and where not to go.

Lost Discs. Losing your disc is never fun and the weeds are definitely tall enough here to eat them a plenty.

Traffic. The course, especially hole 8, plays too close to the road; and to the truck yard on hole 9, for comfort.

Crossing Fairways. Holes 5 and 6 have crossing fairways, a no, no in course design, but considering you will probably be the only one on the course anymore, a minor quibble.

Tees. There are no tees, just cleared patches of dirt.

Navigation. The navigation wasn't intuitive especially when looking for alternative tees, the map would definitely be needed.

Shorter Holes. Not a lot of distance on holes to really air out some drives, but holes are definitely technical and challenging.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot to like and a lot to dislike about Von Baer disc golf course. Von Baer could definitely use a few tweaks and could definitely use better tee pads. Like I said I probably would not want this for my everyday course, but it does provide a fun challenge and "hike" for an occasional throw or a small tournament challenge. The treacherous hilly nature of the course is probably going to find this as a love it/leave it type course, where if you like a good mountain course then you will favor Von Baer, or if you prefer a more groomed flatter course you won't. You can definitely get a little bruised and scraped up on this course. Von Baer is a very rough and rugged course with a variety of difficult shots and obstacles.

One last thing on the comparison between the fairground and Von is that Von is always open. I have heard from many a local that the fairgrounds pull the baskets quite often. In fact, when I was there the first day we played, the baskets were in we came back the second and were told they had been pulled for horses and the fair. So at the very least Von will provide a good alternative when the fairgrounds are not available.

On a final note I normally preface all of my reviews by going to the city's page and learning more about the park, but I was greatly confused by Providence's webpage for this course. In fact, I wasn't even sure that I was remembering the right course. The city's site lists a reserveable picnic pavilion, restrooms, and other amenities and shows a picture of large trees and a black iron gate. I got to say I saw none of those things here, and I actually had to go and look at the aerial view of the park from home just to make sure I was thinking about the same course. If that stuff is here on this property it would definitely help with the appeal, my guess is that if it exists that's its somewhere in the woods beneath hole 4s tee to the right of the parking lot when you pull in. I really didn't do much exploring of the area other than the course, so I didn't see any of this stuff, but there is a big parking lot, it makes sense that somewhere there is an actual park.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What was that!!

1    7/19/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good signs once you found the tee boxes.
Cons: The city piled rocks and planted way to many weeds on this course to make it fun. Bring the bug spray and long pants with hiking spikes to walk the course. If you like to play long stay away from going for it, you will suffer if you can not place the throw exactly right.
Other Thoughts: I have never plays such a bad course and will never do it again. I gave it half a disk only because there was a course, even though it was a far stretch to call it a playable course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quarry Disc

1    7/9/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: tstack10
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like that this course has a variety of shot from elevated tees throwing down hill to the first hole which plays quite a bit uphill. Plus the final hole had an island feel being perched atop a hill with severe drop off of you miss short or right. When I played the growth or trees and bushes made shots more difficult which could change depending when you play the course. Course map is easy enough to follow and helpful to find number 1. If I played it again id start with hole 3 and after 9 hit up one and two.
Cons: Was a little difficult to navigate and some holes such as 3 to 4 you have back track to the tee pad and holes five and six the fairways overlap which could be difficult if the course is busy. Later in summer growth can make getting to baskets and finding discs somewhat difficult. Tee pads are marked but not always the best shape.
Other Thoughts: Was fun to see the little town had a disc golf course. The elevation changes on most throws is fun for the area and the views of Utah State and Logan are excellent.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Treacherous course, needs some love

1    6/9/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 48  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course.
Multiple Teepads are nice.
Hole 9 is a very cool, signature hole.
Cons: Course is extremely treacherous, lots of elevation but really bad footing, a lot of dirt and river rocks. I have bad knees and was really worried about injury.

The poor footing also made finding discs more frustrating, and with all the drop offs and vegetation losing your discs is a very real possibility.

Many of the baskets are blind shots, and the signage is mostly gone or unhelpful, I had a hard time knowing what i was aiming at.

Teepads are slanted, uneven, just dirt and rocks, and often too short.

I would worry about fairways overlapping.
Other Thoughts: Course seems to have fallen into disrepair. Needs some love from a local club or something.

I would never play this course again. I kind of hated this course.

It was hard, but in many ways for the wrong reasons. I want a course that will challenge my skill, but this was more an exercise in frustration.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Technical Course

5+    5/19/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: abarker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a fun challenging technical course for experienced players. It really tests your skills and requires a variety of different shots and techniques. It keeps you thinking, and helps you develop your game with a variety of high risk/reward shots.

The course designer did an excellent job making use of otherwise unusable city land. Great views of Cache Valley.

Cons: Tee pads struggle.
Can be very frustrating for beginners who don't have much control or power, especially in the spring when foliage is deep.
Other Thoughts: While there are only 9 baskets, the alternate teepads give this course 18 unique holes.

There are lots of blind shots and it can be difficult to find the baskets the first time you play, but the tee-signs are very informative and make it navigable even without playing with an experienced player.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee signs.
One or two passable holes.
Multiple Tees.
Good baskets
A good effort has been put forth here and my hat is off to those who worked hard to make this happen.
Cons: Poor course design.
Nearly every hole is poorly conceived. Expect one or more of the following when you step on the tee.
-Straight uphill throw
-Blind
-Difficult to traverse fairways
-Unimaginative and wide open
-parallels a very close road
-Built on a gravel pit/dumping ground
-High risk of injury unless you have some mountain goat in your blood.
Other Thoughts: I never met a disc golf course I didn't like, however, this one comes close. This course would be unplayable (due to confusing layout/blind holes) were it not for the remarkably informative tee signs showing exactly where the baskets are. Much of the area is beautiful with trees, bridges, dry riverbeds, etc. It would interesting to see what a professional course designer would do with this same location. Good work establishing a designated area, but before concrete tees are considered... the future of this course would be well served by some professional design work.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rock Pit

2-4    6/15/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 73  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: The pictures of the course don't do it justice. It really is a beautiful course (when it's green anyhow) in an absolutely beautiful surrounding area. The Cache valley is a fantastic area, perfect for disc golf courses.

A lot of work has obviously been done on this course and it shows. Someone has gone to the effort to (for the most part) level off the dirt tee pads and provide some pretty good signage, which is important given the first con I mention.

The beginner and pro (B and A respectively) tee pads for every hole are a nice touch. Some of the A shots are quite challenging which I think adds to the rating of the course.

It makes good use of the terrain, not that it has a lot of uphill/downhill shots, (Holes 1, 7 and 8 do, mind you), but it gives great risk/reward opportunities on almost every hole. No more than hole 9 where you throw over the gravel pit of doom!
Cons: Although I think this is a very good course, it certainly has some little issues.

First, there are several blind shots that, if you aren't familiar with the course, can prove exceptionally difficult. Hole 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 come to mind, but only when throwing from the A tees. This is where the risk/reward bit can come into play, for sure, but it's just a touch excessive on this short little course.

A couple holes cross each other, 5 &6, which is never a good thing on a disc golf course. They aren't too bad though.

Dirt tee pads are a little uneven. Cement pads would go a long way.

As mentioned, there is a lot slippery hills. It's easy to lose your footing, particularly on holes 8, if your disc goes left, and 9 if you can't clear the chasm, but in general footing can be tricky on the course. I can't even imagine how horrific this course must be in inclement weather!
Other Thoughts: Someone mentioned that taking a beginner here could turn them off from disc golf. I think that is pretty accurate. It is a tough course, particularly from the A pads. My wife has been throwing for a few months and she was put off after three holes.

Other than figuring out something to eliminate the crossing holes I think the best improvement this course could see would be a couple Eagle projects to install cement tee pads.

 Adventure golf

1    5/30/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice signs with photos

Nice baskets

Dual tees

Cons: Too many blind baskets for my taste

A lot of scrambling around on a loose scree hillside to get to the last basket

Overlapping fairways

Half the course is set around a municipal junk yard. It's ugly.
Other Thoughts: Good effort put into this course.

This course is an example of how hard it is to find a good piece of land in Utah for disc golf. In all of cache valley this is the only course so far.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of park for a smaller course

5+    3/26/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: Disc Buddy
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the park and its layout. I love having a course that has a lot of elevation change to give a bit of a challenge. Great short and long tees depending on if you want to really push yourself or just have a short easy game. Tee Pads are pretty easy to find. You can play a quick nine in about 30 minutes.
Cons: Even though it is nice having a course with elevation change, this course takes it to the extreme. It would be wise to have hiking shoes for this course. The hill is SO steep. Even with the nice new bridge between holes 6 and 7, it still could use some stairs up. Expect to spend extra time scrambling up the hill causing a massive rock slide behind you. There are a few trails to get up or down.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to improve your short game. On the last two holes, it feels like you are throwing around a gravel pit. If your disc ends up down the hill it is not fun scrambling down to fetch it. It takes away some of the fun from the game and you end up more frustrated just because it isn't just a hill you have to climb. I am glad there is at least one real course in cache valley.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finally a new course in Logan

5+    5/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical- requires a variety of different throws to do well on this course.

Short- only takes about an hour or less to play, allows multiple rounds in a day.

"A" and "B" tee pads allow for 18 holes or a friendly alternative to beginners.

Sturdy Posts marking pads.

Cons: Rough tee pads, although they are significantly better than they were last fall, and I heard that they will be replaced with concrete this summer.

Aggressive terrain, it's like hiking the mountains in some areas.

Not really beginner friendly, try to take new players somewhere else first so they catch the itch for disc golf, I've accidentally turned some people off to the sport by taking them here first.

Easy to lose discs. Watch discs carefully when entering trees and rolling down hills, it's easy to spend an extra thirty minutes looking for discs. Losing a disc in the reeds on hole 8 and 9 (bottom of the hill) means you're pretty much SOL, it's nearly impossible to find a disc in there.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a very fun course, and it's great to have one back in the Logan area. After better tee pads are put in, and possible some stairs or railings (this is just wishful thinking on my part) on the hill for holes 8/9 it will be a very welcoming course that I think could be 3.5 or maybe even 4. A few holes have new tees this year which I actually really like, it makes it just that much more challenging. Exit by walking back through the top of hole 1 instead of off the backside of 9, it's a lot easier on yourself and you won't risk sliding down half the hill.

Make sure to keep a close eye on the disc if it rolls down the hill between 8 and 9, if you don't you may not find it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.