Disc Golf Store
Providence, UT 
Von Baer Park Share
Uploaded By: Disc Buddy Hole #7 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
What was that!!

1    7/19/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.1 Years
Pros: Good signs once you found the tee boxes.
Cons: The city piled rocks and planted way to many weeds on this course to make it fun. Bring the bug spray and long pants with hiking spikes to walk the course. If you like to play long stay away from going for it, you will suffer if you can not place the throw exactly right.
Other Thoughts: I have never plays such a bad course and will never do it again. I gave it half a disk only because there was a course, even though it was a far stretch to call it a playable course.

Quarry Disc

1    7/9/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: tstack10
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like that this course has a variety of shot from elevated tees throwing down hill to the first hole which plays quite a bit uphill. Plus the final hole had an island feel being perched atop a hill with severe drop off of you miss short or right. When I played the growth or trees and bushes made shots more difficult which could change depending when you play the course. Course map is easy enough to follow and helpful to find number 1. If I played it again id start with hole 3 and after 9 hit up one and two.
Cons: Was a little difficult to navigate and some holes such as 3 to 4 you have back track to the tee pad and holes five and six the fairways overlap which could be difficult if the course is busy. Later in summer growth can make getting to baskets and finding discs somewhat difficult. Tee pads are marked but not always the best shape.
Other Thoughts: Was fun to see the little town had a disc golf course. The elevation changes on most throws is fun for the area and the views of Utah State and Logan are excellent.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Treacherous course, needs some love

1    6/9/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.8 Years
Pros: Challenging course.
Multiple Teepads are nice.
Hole 9 is a very cool, signature hole.
Cons: Course is extremely treacherous, lots of elevation but really bad footing, a lot of dirt and river rocks. I have bad knees and was really worried about injury.

The poor footing also made finding discs more frustrating, and with all the drop offs and vegetation losing your discs is a very real possibility.

Many of the baskets are blind shots, and the signage is mostly gone or unhelpful, I had a hard time knowing what i was aiming at.

Teepads are slanted, uneven, just dirt and rocks, and often too short.

I would worry about fairways overlapping.
Other Thoughts: Course seems to have fallen into disrepair. Needs some love from a local club or something.

I would never play this course again. I kind of hated this course.

It was hard, but in many ways for the wrong reasons. I want a course that will challenge my skill, but this was more an exercise in frustration.

Fun Technical Course

5+    5/19/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: abarker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: This is a fun challenging technical course for experienced players. It really tests your skills and requires a variety of different shots and techniques. It keeps you thinking, and helps you develop your game with a variety of high risk/reward shots.

The course designer did an excellent job making use of otherwise unusable city land. Great views of Cache Valley.

Cons: Tee pads struggle.
Can be very frustrating for beginners who don't have much control or power, especially in the spring when foliage is deep.
Other Thoughts: While there are only 9 baskets, the alternate teepads give this course 18 unique holes.

There are lots of blind shots and it can be difficult to find the baskets the first time you play, but the tee-signs are very informative and make it navigable even without playing with an experienced player.


1    6/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: Disc chaser
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee signs.
One or two passable holes.
Multiple Tees.
Good baskets
A good effort has been put forth here and my hat is off to those who worked hard to make this happen.
Cons: Poor course design.
Nearly every hole is poorly conceived. Expect one or more of the following when you step on the tee.
-Straight uphill throw
-Blind
-Difficult to traverse fairways
-Unimaginative and wide open
-parallels a very close road
-Built on a gravel pit/dumping ground
-High risk of injury unless you have some mountain goat in your blood.
Other Thoughts: I never met a disc golf course I didn't like, however, this one comes close. This course would be unplayable (due to confusing layout/blind holes) were it not for the remarkably informative tee signs showing exactly where the baskets are. Much of the area is beautiful with trees, bridges, dry riverbeds, etc. It would interesting to see what a professional course designer would do with this same location. Good work establishing a designated area, but before concrete tees are considered... the future of this course would be well served by some professional design work.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rock Pit

2-4    6/15/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 57  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: The pictures of the course don't do it justice. It really is a beautiful course (when it's green anyhow) in an absolutely beautiful surrounding area. The Cache valley is a fantastic area, perfect for disc golf courses.

A lot of work has obviously been done on this course and it shows. Someone has gone to the effort to (for the most part) level off the dirt tee pads and provide some pretty good signage, which is important given the first con I mention.

The beginner and pro (B and A respectively) tee pads for every hole are a nice touch. Some of the A shots are quite challenging which I think adds to the rating of the course.

It makes good use of the terrain, not that it has a lot of uphill/downhill shots, (Holes 1, 7 and 8 do, mind you), but it gives great risk/reward opportunities on almost every hole. No more than hole 9 where you throw over the gravel pit of doom!
Cons: Although I think this is a very good course, it certainly has some little issues.

First, there are several blind shots that, if you aren't familiar with the course, can prove exceptionally difficult. Hole 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7 come to mind, but only when throwing from the A tees. This is where the risk/reward bit can come into play, for sure, but it's just a touch excessive on this short little course.

A couple holes cross each other, 5 &6, which is never a good thing on a disc golf course. They aren't too bad though.

Dirt tee pads are a little uneven. Cement pads would go a long way.

As mentioned, there is a lot slippery hills. It's easy to lose your footing, particularly on holes 8, if your disc goes left, and 9 if you can't clear the chasm, but in general footing can be tricky on the course. I can't even imagine how horrific this course must be in inclement weather!
Other Thoughts: Someone mentioned that taking a beginner here could turn them off from disc golf. I think that is pretty accurate. It is a tough course, particularly from the A pads. My wife has been throwing for a few months and she was put off after three holes.

Other than figuring out something to eliminate the crossing holes I think the best improvement this course could see would be a couple Eagle projects to install cement tee pads.

Adventure golf

1    5/30/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.8 Years
Pros: Nice signs with photos

Nice baskets

Dual tees

Cons: Too many blind baskets for my taste

A lot of scrambling around on a loose scree hillside to get to the last basket

Overlapping fairways

Half the course is set around a municipal junk yard. It's ugly.
Other Thoughts: Good effort put into this course.

This course is an example of how hard it is to find a good piece of land in Utah for disc golf. In all of cache valley this is the only course so far.

Great use of park for a smaller course

5+    3/26/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: Disc Buddy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the park and its layout. I love having a course that has a lot of elevation change to give a bit of a challenge. Great short and long tees depending on if you want to really push yourself or just have a short easy game. Tee Pads are pretty easy to find. You can play a quick nine in about 30 minutes.
Cons: Even though it is nice having a course with elevation change, this course takes it to the extreme. It would be wise to have hiking shoes for this course. The hill is SO steep. Even with the nice new bridge between holes 6 and 7, it still could use some stairs up. Expect to spend extra time scrambling up the hill causing a massive rock slide behind you. There are a few trails to get up or down.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to improve your short game. On the last two holes, it feels like you are throwing around a gravel pit. If your disc ends up down the hill it is not fun scrambling down to fetch it. It takes away some of the fun from the game and you end up more frustrated just because it isn't just a hill you have to climb. I am glad there is at least one real course in cache valley.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Finally a new course in Logan

5+    5/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: Topher
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical- requires a variety of different throws to do well on this course.

Short- only takes about an hour or less to play, allows multiple rounds in a day.

"A" and "B" tee pads allow for 18 holes or a friendly alternative to beginners.

Sturdy Posts marking pads.

Cons: Rough tee pads, although they are significantly better than they were last fall, and I heard that they will be replaced with concrete this summer.

Aggressive terrain, it's like hiking the mountains in some areas.

Not really beginner friendly, try to take new players somewhere else first so they catch the itch for disc golf, I've accidentally turned some people off to the sport by taking them here first.

Easy to lose discs. Watch discs carefully when entering trees and rolling down hills, it's easy to spend an extra thirty minutes looking for discs. Losing a disc in the reeds on hole 8 and 9 (bottom of the hill) means you're pretty much SOL, it's nearly impossible to find a disc in there.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a very fun course, and it's great to have one back in the Logan area. After better tee pads are put in, and possible some stairs or railings (this is just wishful thinking on my part) on the hill for holes 8/9 it will be a very welcoming course that I think could be 3.5 or maybe even 4. A few holes have new tees this year which I actually really like, it makes it just that much more challenging. Exit by walking back through the top of hole 1 instead of off the backside of 9, it's a lot easier on yourself and you won't risk sliding down half the hill.

Make sure to keep a close eye on the disc if it rolls down the hill between 8 and 9, if you don't you may not find it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great little course with some work

1    12/25/2011   12/26/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent use of aggressive terrain. Bring boots, as some holes will have you climbing big hills.
-Brand new DisCatcher baskets.
-Two sets of tees on every hole make it accessable for a range of players.
-A very fun mix of righty, lefty, open, short, uphill, and downhill holes.
-Some very interesting pin placements.
-A river comes into play on a few holes. When I played it was dry, so I'm not sure if it will eat discs in the summer. As it stands, it will just add strokes, especially on hole 6!
-A very fun finishing set of holes in #s 8 and 9.
-Plenty of parking.
-I would love to have this as my home course.
Cons: -No restrooms that I saw.
-The natural teepads are rough on some holes, notably #7.
-No signage at all, just stakes in the ground and some were missing. Download the map I provided here. That said, navigation wasn't much of a problem.
-Holes 5-6 share a fairway. I don't know how crowded it ever gets here, but it could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: This is a new course, and I understand signage is on the way. That, paired with some work on the tees would really make this a special course. Even as I played it, it was absolutely worth hitting up, especially considering the lack of courses in Northern Utah. I really enjoyed my round.

Since there are no reviews, I'll give a hole by hole with a guess on distances:

#1- Steep, straight 200'ish uphill throw with the basket at the top behind some trees. Plays long.
#2-Slight downhill throw with the basket behing a tree about 225' out.
#3-Blind 250'ish hyzer throw down a gully. Basket on left protected by trees.
#4-Around 300' up a walking path into a meadow. Basket is on left of clearing.
#5-Around 300' across another meadow to a basket on the left. Basket is protected by a mature tree. (Look for #6 Basket on left as you walk up the fairway)
#6-About 280' back across the meadow. The well protected basket is hidden on the right near the stream. There was a ribbon marking the opening when I played, but a big RHBH anny, or RHFH is needed. OB river is right behind basket. I was lucky to 4 it.
#7-Only about 250', but up a very steep hill on the right. Basket is at the top protected by trees.
#8-About 320' down a slight hill. OB road on the right and behind the basket, but DO NOT GO LEFT! There's a huge ravine, and IF you find you're disc, you will hate trying to throw back out.
#9-Signature hole, and a great finish to the round. A 350'ish hill-top to hill-top hole, with a ravine between the tee and basket. Accuracy is essential, or the disc can roll quite a ways away from the basket here.

Again, the course is very new. Signs and some work on some of the tees could bump this to a 3.5, or maybe even a 4. It's a very solid 9-holer that can be played in about an hour that will leave you wanting to run through it again. It's worth noting that there is no drinking on the course. Residents of Northern Utah are lucky to have gotten this course put in!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.