Weston, WI 
Yellow Banks Park Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #5 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 411ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Extremely challenging nine holer

2-4    6/16/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 140  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set in a beautiful, wooded section of the park. There were good signs by all the holes except nine with a good map of the hole layout, distance and the par. The river can come into play on holes 4, 5 and 6. This always makes a course more challenging and was awesome to see how they used this here. Hole 6 even gives you the option of throwing over the river to the basket or taking the safer but tighter route to the left. Very undulating terrain here also with tight challenging lines on all holes. Very punishing rough on most holes as well making you REALLY want to stay in the fairway. I'm not sure the basket type but they were in fantastic shape, caught great and looked great with the yellow powdercoating. The tees were marked with 2 red painted 4x4's imbedded in the ground at the front of the tee pad. Nice big sign at the beginning of the course for any disc golf related info. There is an awesome set of steps leading down the hill after hole one, a real nice touch. Very big gravel parking lot which is nice as this place gets some heavy use. This course has a very solid mix of right, left and straight on shots for a 9 hole course. Also there is a good mix of different length holes. Hole 7 is the longest at 455 feet. Hole 9 is the shortest at 205 feet but plays longer as its back up the very steep hill hole 1 throws down. Hole 9 also had 2 sets of tee pad markers with one being maybe 30 or 40 feet further ahead of the one we played. Not sure which set is the 205 feet. The navigation is a breeze here as well. There are well defined trails leading to the next hole on all holes. This section of the park is exclusively for discing too which is always a plus.
Cons: The tee pads are dirt and can get a little slick when its dry. Also a few had ruts right in the middle. But again this is a really new course, they're still breaking it in. Concrete tees would be a great idea in the future. There is a LOT of thorn bushes and pricker bushes on this course as well, but again as this course gets broken in a bit more this will become less of a problem. With as much as this course is used a few sets of garbage cans would be nice to see so people wouldn't leave empty cans and bottles in all the logs set up as benches by the tees. That or people could just pack it out with them. Also a portopotty would be nice. Again, this course is new and i'm sure many of these will be addressed.
Other Thoughts: All in all this course is a blast to play, If they do add a back nine eventually it would most certainly bump the rating up. But as it it stands now this is one of the top nine hole courses I've played to date. I'm just glad its located less than an hour from me. DEFINATELY worth stop here if you're in the area. Very good course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Thinking Man's Course

1    10/28/2012   12/5/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Unique property along the river. It has all sorts of interesting undulations that I am unsure where it all came from. Perhaps a flood rearranged the topography here, or it is just the way the ground formed overtime with all of the trees in the area. Either way it is unique and fun to throw this property.
2) Yellow Powder Coated baskets help for visibility. Even if the yellow band would have been more visible, these seem to do the trick.
3) This course is moderately wooded. It is pretty clean around the good trees and will eventually be a lot cleaner because it is clear there is a very active group here.
4) Some log benches in a few places for sitting.
5) Excellent risk/reward design on #6. You can take a tight gap up the middle with late turn or you can take a slightly larger gap out over the river . . . pick your poison. Think back to the days of "Choose Your Own Adventure" books.
6) Nice distance variation with a couple of legitimate longer holes in the woods. These holes will force you to display good shot making and strategy to get a 3 and 2's will be a challenge.
7) Nice elevation change used on 2 of the 9 holes . . . while the rest of the course is flat . . . it has continuous undulations which will make landing our disc a little tricky. You will really need to land your disc in the right spot to avoid bad skips and roll-a-ways so plan out every shot to include this detail. It is a subtle but welcome feature in my opinion.
8) This course has some really good disc golf. The design is interesting, the holes are challenging, the features are highlighted, and it is just a plain fun round of disc golf on a unique property. These are all the things that would keep me coming back.
9) This is a thinking mans course . . . you cannot just throw all willy nilly and let your disc do what it does in the air to sit right under the basket. You need to analyze the risk of going for long putts and risk going into the water hazards or down the undulations. I think the strategy is integral to the design of this course and I absolutely love it!
Cons: 1) Dirt tees leave a lot to be desired. There are markers to show where the tee is but it is mostly just a worn down area right now. I am sure they will eventually put in concrete and I will update my review and rating when it happens because these tees definitely take this course down a notch right now.
2) Directionals would help in navigating this course but paths are already being worn in. Regardless I would like to see some navigational aids to getting people around the course.
3) No signs or garbage cans yet . . . I understand only so much can be done at any given time, but it wouldn't take much effort to put up a temporary laminated sign. Garbage cans could be as simple as 5 gallon buckets too. This may be by design so people pack out what they pack in, but there are always people willing to litter to make their bag lighter while out on the course.
4) The walk from 8 to 9 is confusing and long . . . I can only assume this means that perhaps #9 will become #18 and #9 will be a shorter walk to the side of #18 instead. Just speculation on my part, regardless it is a long walk that might confuse people.
5) There are some areas of thorny and nasty brush. You will want to avoid these areas with your disc for sure. While it doesn't often become an issue for throwing, it will become an issue for stance.
6) This course is not what I would declare to be beginner friendly. It will challenge better players and frustrate beginners. You will need to learn from all your disc golf experiences to play well out here.
Other Thoughts: This review was written after one visit to the 9 holes that was open and playable. I do not know what the other 9 has in store but I am sure if they are using similar land it will only make the 18 better as a whole.
The property is unique, the trees are nice, the shot shaping is good, and the challenge is there too including some distance but not reliant on the distance. This course has a little of everything and only needs a few more things to make it better than it is currently. A little more maintenance, some navigational aids, and of course tee-pads that are consistent. I cannot wait to revisit this course next year.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Off to a great start

1    5/21/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: koogs
Played: 95  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big elevation change on holes 1(down) & 9 (up), smaller elevation used on 4 other holes in the form of dropoffs behind the basket. Some of these are definite water hazards and some are seasonal water hazards, but either way, going into these gullies will probably cost you a stroke. So if you made a good drive and have a chance to "go for" a deuce, you'll have to decide if it's worth the risk. Another hole,(5), runs next to the river the entire length of the fairway and the closer you get to the basket, the closer the river is on the right. Hole 6 has a clear choice: throw to the right side over the river (more open) or throw to the left side forehand (tighter but safer). Great use of the terrain and water. Equal use of right and left turning shots and some holes that can go either way. Hole 7 has a pretty tight gap at about 100' that will make or break par for most players.
Nice, bright yellow baskets are very visible. This is a must in wooded courses. I've played other wooded courses that only have gray metal baskets and they're nearly impossible to see sometimes.
Some baskets are open once you get past the mid-fairway obstacles and some are well protected
There isn't a practice basket per se, but basket 9 is right by the parking lot and it could double as a practice basket because you can see if anyone is throwing from tee 9.
There is now a large parking lot, so forget about parking across the road in the Scouts lot.
Cons: No tee pads yet, just dirt with 4 x 4's to mark the front edge, but they weren't terrible. Also no tee signs yet, but using the map from the link, I had no problem navigating.
The rough is typical Northern Wisconsin---ferns, thorns, downed trees, etc. I spent maybe 15 minutes total looking for discs and didn't lose any and , in fact, found one.
There are no facilities at the parking lot. I don't know if anything is planned or not.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. Great use of the big hill and the smaller dropoffs . Combined with the water, there's lots of risk/reward opportunities. Some baskets open, some protected. About equal left and right turning or finishing holes. I never felt like any hole was too similar to any other. Some tight gaps, and of course, being wooded, most holes had a ceiling to contend with. I also never felt like any hole was ridiculously wooded with no lines to be seen, like some other wooded courses. All in all, this course is off to a great start. I can't wait to play it again when some things are a little more complete and especially when there's 9 more holes.
My rating of 3.5 is temporary, I'm sure. When things are more finished, I will no doubt raise it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/17/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: canthurtsteelUK
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of length and elevation. A lot of places to get in trouble. Many baskets have steep terrain that drops off after the hole which can reward gutsy players or bite you in the ass. As a player for a long time I can't appreciate and don't mind the difficulty. In addition, it does not favor backhand or forehand .. you best better be able to do both.
Cons: I rated this course a 3.5 in it's current condition. There's a lot of work to be done still especially with the tee pads and the thick ruff. I recommend wearing jeans for beginning players unless you're a stud. It's very challenging and I think it would be hard for starting players to be able to learn the game at this venue.
Other Thoughts: Some holes have water come into play which is awesome. One in particular has a route that requires a hyzer backhand for an easy deuce but if you miss it you're in the water... the other option is a conservative forehand. This is just one example of a hole that has many ways to play it.

There's 2 holes that essentially play as par 4's that are super challenging. This could be a top 5 9-hole course in Wisconsin with some work over the next year.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.