Spokane Valley, WA 
Greenacres Park Share
Uploaded By: bdubya Hole #3 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 156ft.   3 / 156ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tiny Little Pitch-and-Putt

2-4    5/21/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 57  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: This nine-hole course is in a small neighborhood park. The main attraction of the park is a nice splash-pad type water park for kids. When I was there several families were enjoying it.

With a whole lot of mowed grass left over, someone decided to install a nine-hole course around the perimeter of the park.

The baskets are double-chain and in perfect condition. The concrete tee pads are smooth and level. And each tee has a sign listing distance and par.

The course consists of nine short holes. Seven are under 200', one is 242', and the long one is 320'. The 320' hole is listed as a par 5, so here is your chance for a certain Eagle, or perhaps your very first Albatross!

Ample parking, nice restrooms, lush mowed grass.
Cons: I think that this is the least interesting course that I've ever played. I'm a big fan of fun little 9-hole courses, but this one offers nothing except direct throws to the basket across mowed grass.

There is not one single tree or shrub in play, not a foot of elevation change, nothing. Just nine throws to a basket. Stick a basket behind a tree, for crying out loud!
Other Thoughts: This would be a decent course to introduce someone to the sport, or for youngsters from the splash pad to play on. But once you've played it once, you'll likely never see a reason to go back. It is that dull.

Swell Park To Bring That Newbie!

2-4    5/4/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Greenacres Park is an extremely clean well kept green space. It features adequate parking, a nice children's play area complete with water feature, bathrooms open seasonal, and lots of wide open green spaces. Because the park is newly created, the trees are small. In time, as they mature, they will become more of a factor in the course's difficulty and challenge. At present, the course is just a simple little pitch and putt. Lengths range from # 1's 114' to # 4 and it's 320'. The baskets are nice new double chain models. There are fairly small concrete tee pads and fiberglass tee signs with the hole #, distance, and par. The par is basically listed as a children's par such as # 4 being a 320' par 5. But I always play these as listed and try for that exclusive double eagle or at the very least, another eagle.

Cons: I don't think this course is ever going to get enough use that the baskets being too close to each other is going to be a big factor. Because it's complete wide open, you just have to wait until the other players are clear.

I guess inexperienced players could hyzer their shot into the playground on # 2. And I could see players throwing shots into the neighbors yard on # 7. I believe might have offended these same neighbors with my words after one particularly poor tee shot on # 8.

Other Thoughts: Someone laughed at me for coming over here to check this course out but when I got here I encountered two very nice young college aged guys with two discs each. They said they loved disc golf and were practicing on this course until they were ready to tackle Camp Sekani Jamboree, a much more challenging 18 closeby. And the one young man, playing for just his third time, ACED the 114' # 1 hole!

And then as I was leaving, a guy and his wife/girlfriend started a round. She was throwing about 50 feet. This is a perfect course for her to enjoy a round on while working on increasing her distance.

And by the way, I also ACED the 114' # 1 and NO, I DID NOT WRITE MY NAME ON THE BASKET! But I did immortalize it with my sharpie by my writing the date, course, hole and distance on my DISC!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Beginners.

1    4/28/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: dengsauve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Park is quite clean, well trimmed, and green.
-Baskets are in great condition.
-No obstacles.
-Great for Putt/Approach.
-All Concrete Tees
Cons: On Hole #9, there is a fence close enough to the basket that an accidental overshoot may result in climbing the fence to retrieve a disc.
-Distance measurements may be off (tee to basket)
-Not located in a good neighbourhood.
Other Thoughts: I think the course is definitely aimed at kids/beginners, but also makes for a wonderful putting practice course for the more experienced.

Will go again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course for an introduction to the sport

1    8/26/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: Soggystargazer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to introduce someone to the game.
Wide open holes.
9 holes makes for a quick play.
Flat easy to walk
Good for a lunchtime round.
Cons: Short.
Short teeboxes
Close proximity to a playground on hole 2.
Other Thoughts: Played this course at lunch today. Really nice park, brand new and has many amenities not usually found at the public courses I play. I could see how it could get busy at times and to be honest I feel like the course plays pretty close to other shared resources (ramadas, sidewalks, playgrounds, and private property) Will play again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well Done Pitch and Putt

1    7/27/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: Dadio
Played: 74  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 29.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: City of Spokane Valley spent some time and money on good baskets, nicely laid tees, and now have signs with hole, par, and distances. There is also a board by the gazebo with basic rules, scorecards with maps, and pencils.
Park has nice amenities including nice bathrooms and one of the fanciest small playgrounds I've seen. Park is very new and with the trees planted should grow into a great place to throw a practice round or introduce a noob to the sport.
Cons: This course is SHORT! And par set by city is suitable only for the newest of the new. I entered White tees with par based on PDGA guidelines and all holes under 150 ft are par 2s. Small park makes for tight course and Pin for 2 is way too close to kids playground, Park was somewhat busy and will probably become worse as playground becomes popular.
Some holes are very close to fences bordering on private property and we are asked not to cross them.
Other Thoughts: Playground is so cool kids are less likely to be running around on course. There is some larger open space to practice drives and can throw from tee 1 to pin 4 or tee 7 to pin 9 for longer safari holes if course not busy.
I generally don't like 9 hole courses but this is an ok little local one, well appointed.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Thumbs up 9 hole..

5+    7/15/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: DiscNoid
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent 9 hole course for beginners (broke my wife of nasty throwing habits) and working on approach and putt for advanced/pro players. Concrete pads, signage is now up and tee pads are numbered. Play the whole course barefoot..
Cons: Basket 2 is too close to kids play area. Bad hyzer = injured kid...
Other Thoughts: Again, Basket 2 needs to be moved directly south 40 - 50 feet to avoid kids! Other than that, killer little 9 hole for the beginners as well as approach and putt for experienced players. I like this one better than Bluegrass in Hayden, Id. Stop by and check it out!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent pitch n putt

2-4    1/8/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: Simmeltron
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Park is new.
-Nice cement teepads.
-Nice new baskets.
-Good for beginners.
-Nice new bathroom on-site (currently closed for season)
Cons: -No signage (just numbers on baskets).
-Several teepads are way too close to previous basket.
-A couple baskets are located dangerously close to the children's playground.
-Not much variety. Course is in a brand new park with freshly planted young trees so no obstacles at all to speak of.
-Grass seed has not taken hold yet. Course is VERY soft and muddy until grass root helps firm ground.
Other Thoughts: This is an attractive looking little 9 hole course. Its really pretty hard to call half the holes a par 3 as over half of them are ace runs for even weak arms. But it seems clear the course is for beginners and as that, it should help the sport grow.

For the size of the park, there could have been a better layout established, however the park is designed for multi-use. Therefore, the main open fields of the park look to be designed for youth soccer or football and the likes. The course is laid out around this. As a result, several teepads have been pretty much jammed right next to the previous hole. This would potentially be a problem if the course received good play on a nice day. You just could not throw until the person/group on the next tee has moved on.

I will update this review next spring/summer as soon as the park opens for regular use, the grass has (hopefully) taken hold, and the trees begin to grow. It won't fix the layout/flow of the course, but it will give it a more "real" feel I believe. Right now it feels like a skeleton, if you will.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center