Fredonia, WI 
Marie Krause Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mocheez Hole #8 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hidden Gem

2-4    11/13/2014   11/17/2014
Review By: Mocheez
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging 9 hole course. The designers have put in a lot of work with close attention to detail. There are dual concrete teepads on most holes. The teepads are trapezoidal similar to nearby Tendick but about half the size (I feel that Tendick's are too big and these are just right). Wooden retaining walls have been created on a couple of the holes which should prevent erosion and run off. Hole 1 plays across a small valley and into a conglomerate of apple trees, approximately 300 feet from the short tee. There are two cows and a bull over a fence about 30 yards to the right which are very intimidating. Holes 2-6 play across the side of a hill. There isn't a lot of distance variation between the short and long tees but they are spaced apart which creates a lot of variety. Hole 2 is a 300 foot hyzer across the side of the hill with a 10 foot gap immediately in front of the teebox followed by scattered trees at about 220 feet and all the way to the pin. Hole 3 is a steep down hill with two pin placements... one pin is around 230 feet down hill and to the right. The other is about 290 feet at the bottom of the hill and to the left. Currently there is only one teepad but it appears that they have plans for a second teepad shorter and to the left. Hole 4 plays back up the hill, approximately 240 feet from the short. Trees are about 40 feet apart but branches extend on both sides making a tighter gap, especially on a higher line. There is brush 15 feet in front of the pin and thick brush to the left and right. Hole 5 is a slightly down hill tunnel shot with creepy sideways trees that create a low ceiling. You need a strong and accurate sidearm to birdie this hole. Hole 6 plays through the woods across the side of the hill approximately 250 feet from the short. There is a trench that guards the basket which is slightly uphill and to the right... a mid thrown on a slight anyhzyer works well on this hole. Hole 7 has a tight gap for a RHBH throw with a large bush and a tall tree 40 feet from teepad and thick trees / brush to the right. A good sidearm is the best option on this hole... it is wide open once past the initial obstacles in front of the teepad but the basket is 370 feet from the tee and surrounded by thick brush. The teepads for hole 8 are out in the open but the basket is tucked into the woods. It's around 250 feet from the short tee... a big hyzer into the trees is the safest route but there is also a small gap directly towards the basket. Hole 9 is the longest hole, around 380 feet from the short and fairly open. The basket is on a mound and tucked behind a few trees.
Cons: Currently only 9 holes but plans are in place to add an additional 9. There is open land with soccer fields near the course with wooded land on the opposite side. It would be neat to have the additional set of 9 holes in that wooded area but I am not sure if that is a possibility. I don't see the space available where they have the current 9 holes.

*edit - I guess there is additional land to the west and plenty of room for 9 additional baskets across the road from #7.
Other Thoughts: The temporary tee signs are nicely done... I don't think they list distance but they are accurate. There are benches and trash cans on some of the holes. A practice basket is located near the parking lot. There is some tall grass on a few of the holes but paths have been cut in those areas making it much easier to locate discs. This course is a true challenge for advanced players and still a lot of fun for recreational players. If the final 9 holes are as good as the initial 9, this will easily be a 4.5 star course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slow and steady

5+    11/1/2013   2/16/2014
Review By: roggenb3
Played: 69  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Difficult.
Great elevation usage.
Red Kingpin baskets, which are sexy.
Perfect warmup for Tendick.
It's in Fredonia!
At least there's a port-a-potty.
Cons: Kind of tough to walk - on the side of a hill for most of it, but the paths are getting better
Current signs are temporary and have no distances, but will be replaced when all 18 holes are in.
No water or bathrooms (there is a port-a-potty though)
Other Thoughts: For most of my life I lived not a mile from where this course is, but they put it in only a year before I moved. When I still lived there, I hated this course. It was nearly impossible to walk, and some of the drives you had to make were just absurd. Since I moved, I come back to Freetown every month or two, and every time I come here, it is better. All the updates that GooB talks about below I have seen round by round, and each time the course is more enjoyable. I envision a day where this could be a 4-rated 9 holer. There's a couple holes that you get to air it out, and a bunch of very tight windows through the woods.

There's a strange little teepee like structure by the tee of hole 6, and I cannot figure out if it was made by the course designers or children from the nearby apartments.

Update: There is a plan in place to add 9 more baskets to this course, at which point the permanent tee signs will arrive.
The curent 9 now have 2 tee pads for all holes (except 6), some of which give you a completely different line, and some that just add a bit more distance. They really never stop improving this place.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress

5+    8/12/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: GooB
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a work in progress. Alot of thought is going into making it tough but fair. This review is more to let people know what is going on with and what is planned for the course. I am personally giving it 3 discs because I am involved with the course through village and the course designers. The designers are looking to make a tough but fair course. The majority of the hole's tee pads are in drastically different places to hopefully encourage the feel of 18 holes if played from both sets of tees.
Cons: Young course, not very beat in. Still needs alot of work.
Other Thoughts: 7/14/13 Hole #1's fairway had the apple trees trimmed up quite a bit. The basket can now be seen from the tee pads. Hole #2's fairway has been widened and had a few trees removed. All other trees on #2 have been trimmed up. Hole #8's fairway has been widened and had trees and underbrush removed.

7/28/13 A new fairway has been cut in on hole #5! Makes playing from the short tee have a fair line. The leveling of #2's long tee pad has begun. Hole #6's fairway has been trimmed but still needs some work.

8/11/13 Hole #2 long tee is leveled and has gravel! Work is beginning on hole #3's short tee pad. More polishing of #5's fairway for the long tee. #7's fairway cleaned up for the short tee. Moved the short tee back a little bit. Trimmed up low hanging branches on #9.

8/25/13 Cleared a new fairway on hole #4!

Future plans. (Nothing is set in stone yet! Just a few thoughts.) Create a new fairway for #4, Clean up more of #8's fairway back to the short tee. Move #8's long tee up the hill and create another fair way. Move # 6's long tee up the hill and create another fairway. Clean and remove trees from #3's long fairway. Fill in around #3's alt pin placement. We still need to find good spots and put in #5,6,and 8,s alt pin placements.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun 9 holer

1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a small uncrowded park where the course won't interfere with other activities. They do an excellent job using the hillside and woods to make for a surprisingly challenging round. There were homemade wood signs by every tee with hole #, a hand drawn directional to the pin and shot shape needed and distance. There also were a number of next tee signs to guide you between holes as there are a few longer walks. Very nice brand new red powdercoated baskets that catch well. There is also a practice basket right before hole one which is always nice. Awesome variety for a nine holer, with great uphill and downhill bombs and left, straight and right turning shots. A very well rounded course in this regard.
Cons: The tee pads are rough. The ones on the hillside are not level and although it was dry when we went I would imagine they get very muddy after rain. The signs serve their purpose but i could see these getting stolen or broken which would make the course impossible to play if you were new to it. A few holes on the hillside have basically no real path to the basket, you just got to throw and hope it somehow gets through. I was confused as to where to start as there is no signs. When pulling into the parking lot you will see a basket to your right. This is the practice basket with hole 1 being just northeast of the practice basket throwing up the hill.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was one of the more challenging nines i've played. It's still a relatively new course so maybe they'll trim some trees, add concrete or gravel tees, and upgrade the signage. This is why i gave it a 2.5 instead of a 3. Not worth a long trip just for this, but with Tendick Nature Park about ten minutes away in Saukville it makes for a fun day of discing.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  A good start

5+    5/18/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: Olliez
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1)Decent distance holes
2)Baskets are easily visible
3)Hole 3 is a nice down hill shot
4)Hole 5 is a tricky blind shot
5)Hole 7 is a straigh way
Cons: 1)Some of the ground is rough from the course being newly made.
2)They have pretty basic signs for the holes.
3)Hole 1 has a lot of thorns so watch out.
Other Thoughts: They cleaned up the course a bit so its not as rough. The course is decent i think for being made on such short notice. They also left it open at the end for a possible 18 hole course some day. Overall i thought i was an okay course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fredonia Fun

1    12/28/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice red powder coated baskets really stand out in the fall and wintertime, but might be hard to see when everything is green.

2) Tees are currently marked with posts in the ground and the tops painted red. the posts have the distance and the hole # which helps with navigation as people play this course for the first time.

3) Nice variety in elevation. Holes #1 and 4 go straight up the hill. #3 goes straight down the hill. Holes 2, 5, 6, and 8 go along the side of the hill creating interesting shots. This is a nice variety of elevation change and isn't just straight up and straight down.

4) Density of the foliage here is diverse. There are a couple fairly open holes, there are a couple with open fairways but baskets tucked into the woods or protected wooded areas, along with a couple of tight densely wooded holes.

5) The challenge on this course will com from multiple things. The wind will be a factor on many of the holes as the baskets are more exposed than some of the fairways. The elevation will alter hole distances significantly on a couple of the holes. The tightly wooded fairways have plenty of places to knock you down and force a challenging upshot. The dense underbrush will most certainly become something you need to be concerned with because if you get in it, you might not have an easy way out. All in all good variety and good challenge. You also need to be able to work your disc all directions and at varying heights too.
Cons: 1) Course is incomplete in its clearing at this point. I expect this work to be completed and I will immediately update my review to reflect it has been completed. There are quite of few trees and scrub that likely should be removed in order to create fair shots.

2) The ground in the fairways is really uneven. There are pockets all over the place that could lead to tripping or ankle injuries. These areas could be taken care of easily with a brush hog to remove the vines, stumps, etc and help level out the ground.

3) Grass tees currently. Not sure if concrete are planned, but I will update as soon as I hear if they have changed.

4) Not beginner friendly really because of the tighter dense fairways. This is a recreational to intermediate level course. Beginners will struggle unless serious clearing takes place.
Other Thoughts: As always . . . take this review with a grain of salt. The course has not been open long and still has a bit of work to be completed. I wanted to get the course listed so people knew it was there and give it a shot.

It is fun to throw many of these holes despite the troubling trees and other maintenance issues, but I am sure most of my issues will be handled in short order as the city has the funds to attack those areas.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.