Lamesa, TX 
Forrest Park Share
Uploaded By: P-Katt Hole #13 (Taken 9/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Nice W. Tx course

2-4    9/2/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: Jroc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 tees on each hole (each hole has 2 pin positions as well). Easy to follow (look for the tape on each basket to point you to the next tee...great idea btw). Good mix of easy (front 9) and more challenging (back 9). Restrooms, RV hookups at the park. Mostly shaded. Practice basket. Lots of parking
Cons: A few too many tweener holes. Several low hanging limbs that should be trimmed (for safety and hole playability).
Other Thoughts: This course makes you throw several different shots. 2,3, and 11 have good elevation to deal with, and though the rest is flat several pins are on mounds of dirt, just enough to make you think about your putts. I think the white tees should be blue and red tees should be white..those colors are more indicative of the skill levels that are tested. Overall, I think anyone would have a fun, enjoyable round on this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Who knew Lamesa had such a good course

1    7/18/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Soooooooo easy to navigate this course. Whoever though of those red and white markers on the baskets is a genius. There a lot of shade and no exreme thorny rough (as someone who plays is south texas I like not have extremerough). Plays under a beautiful canopy of trees. When I was there they were watering the course, like a ball golf course. All the grass was cut really low, it looked really nice. I also like the lone hole that is 900' and exposed to the wind. That's a good represetnation of west texas golf.
Cons: A lot of tweaner holes from the longs. I could reach a lot of the holes and was always like 60' short. I throw 350-400'.
Other Thoughts: If you are passing through play this course for sure, it is really fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem!!

2-4    5/7/2012   5/10/2012
Review By: greybush
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Shade!!!!! Only four holes give any exposure to the sun at all! What a treat!! Clearly marked, and it has great flow from hole to hole. the majority are short holes which are more difficult to me than long shots. Trees blocking almost every drive, what a challenge.
Cons: It is an hour away. 11 is across the street and missing any grass or trees, just a 20ft tall hill and a mile to the basket. Not always access to public bathrooms, no drinking fountain.
Other Thoughts: this course makes you excited to play 'chunk' as we call it! I love this course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Another West Texas Oasis!

1    2/14/2012   2/15/2012
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new DGA baskets.
Two sets of tees on every hole.
A putting practice basket.
A driving range basket. A driving range from the top of a 40 ft high hill!
Lots of shade from 60 -120 ft tall trees throughout the park. The trees make a canopy over 75% of the course.
Course design requires low shots (good for west Texas) and some "air it out" bomber holes for the big arms.
Front 9 is very beginner friendly. Get your birdies!
Back 9 is good times for the experienced player. But not insane hard, just a longer version of the front 9.
Older, well cared for park. Well maintained.
No chance at losing a disc.
I saw bathrooms, but did not need them. Not sure if they are open, nice, etc.
Not crowded. Safe town / part of the world.
Pro and Rec tees for every hole.
Well thought out and executed design.
Camping "hookups" on site.
Lots of parking.
Very nice visually.
Easy to navigate if you look at a map and know where the tees for 11 are at.
Cons: Repetitious. A good repetition, but repetition none the less. Most throws are under a 20 foot canopy around large tree trunks. The designer did a good job forcing righty/lefty shots, but it is what it is.
85% flat. No water hazards and you really have to mess up to throw it out of bounds.
Not a lot of punishment for bad throws. (easy pars on most holes).
Other Thoughts: Hole 11 is an epic bomber hole from the top of a 40 foot high hill. 1000 feet for pro. 700 feet for rec. The bottom of the hill is 500 feet away for pro, 200 feet for rec. Wide open with casual water about 200 feet in front of the basket. (will be dry in summer). Stops the roller this time of year. The hole plays to the south (into the wind during the warm months).
The only other elevation changes are on holes 2 and 3. Maybe 10 feet of change. No biggie.
The trees will help with slowing the (famous west Texas) wind down.

This is a really nice course that's a lot of fun to play. If you pass anywhere near Lamesa, you should stop and play this course.

If I were to set par for this course - 55
All par 3's except 11 (par 4)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.