Beaumont, TX 
Klein Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: dgalmo Hole #18 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
"Klein" is for "small," but not at Klein Park

1    4/26/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 66  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Klein Park offers an enjoyable challenge factor for a park course, with tree-dotted fairways, some holes carved out of the available woods, a recurring drainage ditch water hazard, and occasional sidewalk or road OB. The distances are refreshingly ample for a park course, especially from the pro tees, where over half the holes are above 350', including a few well beyond the 400' mark. While shot shaping isn't overly tested, there are plenty of tight or tightish windows to hit, so control is important. Variation is mainly provided by the changing levels of woodedness: some holes play across open fields towards guarded pins, some have mid-fairway obstacles that steer your drive one way or another, some fairways are surrounded by woods or bordered by water, forming tight lanes. It's a nice, effective mix. The design here isn't overly novel, but it's solid, and offers some good looks. Altogether, Klein Park struck me as more challenging than your standard city park course, and well conceived given the land's limitations, if slightly packed in.

The course has nice, level concrete tees (not pictured on DGCR) and quality baskets. Signage is informative. The course seems like it's regularly mowed, owing to its centrality in the park. Bathrooms and parking are readily available. It's easy to get to from off the highway if you're just passing through.
Cons: Klein Park has no real wow moments either in scenery or in golf: the pedestrian park environment, lack of elevation, and limited terrain conspire to make that difficult to achieve. There's a decent mix of shots here, and the woodedness certainly adds to the challenge, but overall the course is fairly straightforward, with no signature holes or memorable features. Klein Park is the kind of course that you enjoy but don't rush to return to; it doesn't really stick in your mind. The across-the-board par 3s reinforce this straightforward quality. Holes and lines are pretty one dimensional, even where a hole may allow a bit of variation off the tee.

There's a lot of potential for conflict with other park goers here. The long, narrow layout of the park doesn't provide a lot of options to separate the course from other activities. The course also routinely runs along or across the park's main walking path. With the apparent popularity of the park, you'll likely find yourself waiting out unaware pedestrians at one point or another; we did numerous times.

While the drainage ditch water hazard mixes things up a bit, it seems like a poor choice for a regularly used obstacle: the water is truly gross. It makes for a few holes that you just want to get through rather than truly play. It's arguable whether to fault the designers for maximizing what's available to them, but I didn't enjoy having to contend with such a hazard multiple times.
Other Thoughts:
Klein Park made for a fun stopover in the midst of a longer road trip. The golf is challenging enough to keep you interested, but isn't high pressure. After playing Texas greats such as Shawshank and Selah, it was a perfect, relaxing coda. I'd recommend a stop to anyone passing through the area. It's a solid park course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Variety for a Park-Style Course

1    4/26/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Klein Park is a very nice, spread out park outside of Beaumont with plenty of parking space, a course map, practice basket, and bathrooms near hole 1. The course plays through two large and somewhat different sections of the park in terms of topography. The course is nicely manicured and has two sets of huge concrete tee pads (courses in Texas have awesome tee pads!) and nice tee signs for each tee.

Being a par 54 course, it has some very tough par 3's with long distances (holes 1, 3, 11, 17) and some tight, tough lines to hit (9, 10, 14, 15, 18). On more holes than not, I lost the battle to achieve par and felt like I really earned it when I did. This is better than the standard park course in regards to offering a challenge.

For being a park-style course, it also has some nice variety. There is a real good variety of holes with different levels of woodenness. There are some very tight shots in the woods (8-10, 14-15) and the rest are still pretty moderately wooded. Hole 11 is the only hole that is really open, but I wouldn't call it a boring hole with its length and tee position starting from inside the woods. It was also good design that it followed multiple heavily wooded holes. I particularly enjoyed how many holes offered multiple lines from the tee and were not just one dimensional.
Cons: -The creek that plays next to many of the middle-later holes is pretty filthy. I wouldn't want to have to search for a disc in there.
-A minor complaint, but for scoring purposes I don't think that all of these holes should be a par 3
-There's effort in the design to create some elevation with the small man-made mounds, but the course is basically dead flat.
-There are definitely some fun holes, but none that are really memorable. A few that were pretty bland.
-There is a good bit of conflict with other park-goers. People like to play on the open field near 11 as well as hang around the creek that plays near about 1/3 of the holes. Holes 6 and 16 even cross the road and creek to get to the other section of the park, which could cause some conflict. Also, numerous holes at the front and back parts of the course play directly next to a jogging path. We had to wait many times for people to go by.
-It felt like most of the course was RHBH dominant.
Other Thoughts: Using Klein Park as a pit stop from Shawshank to New Orleans, I was pleasantly surprised with the amount of variety it offered. The course is a good balance in difficulty as none of the holes are insanely hard, but it offers a consistent challenge. None of the holes were particularly signature-type holes, but I really enjoyed the holes that were in the heavily wooded part of the park. The designers used this part well and it was a nice surprise considering the rest of the park's setting.

My favorite holes:
10-Slight hyzer with two tight lanes to choose from. Guarded pin position among trees.
15-I enjoyed how this hole started with two lanes to choose from, then opened up, then again gave two different lanes to play through to the pin.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beamounts Best

2-4    10/24/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 67  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The PROS:

1. Concrete tees.

2. Multiple tees.

3. Tee Signs.

4. Course Map by Practice basket.

5. Practice basket.

6. Cleared fairways.

7. DGA baskets. StorkeSavers.

8. Good mix of open/wooded fairways.

9. Well kept and maintained.

10. Restrooms near beginning of course.
Cons: The CONS:

1. Course floods after rain. Lots of standing water that could be drained to the creek if the course was redesigned.

2. Alt tee for one is either not there or not clearly marked seeings how the tee are are concrete.

3. Some of the tees are smaller than others. Some even need to be redone.

4. Course heavily favors RHBH.
Other Thoughts: Klein is a really good mix of open and wooded fairways. Trees come into play on every hole. The alternate tees actually offer a difference in difficulty. The blue tees (long tee) offer a good mix of distance and difficulty that will challenge you. The red tees (short tee) offer a beginner a chance to learn and have fun. The course is very easy to navigate. I wont go int best/worst holes. I think the course offers fun on every hole. You will need your distance driver and mid range. With a couple of greens being set on top of small hills, you need to choose which baskets to attack and which ones to be cautious. Watch the creek on holes 6, 12, 16, 17, 18. If you're in the Beaumont area definitely check out this course along with Copperhead.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun in the Sun

1    4/6/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: KimD
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of trees! Nice concrete slabs for both regular and pro tees with information signs. There is a good mix of open area and wooded paths. It's beautiful. There is a creek running through the middle of the park that I saw several people digging there discs out of, but it's shallow enough that it's an easy retrieval. The targets are in good condition, and there are picnic tables randomly along the way. There is a nice paved running track around the park as well.
Cons: There are bathrooms, though there are NO DOORS!
There is one large water hazard where the creek/ditch goes under the road and it's a little deep and dirty!
Other Thoughts: We stopped off here on our way home from Louisiana and it was a great pit stop! We got to stretch our legs for an hour.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad Beaumont, Not bad at All.

1    4/29/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the interesting mix of technical wooded holes versus the open run and gun shots. The water areas, although not a main feature are just present enough to make you work - especially as you end your round. The course also plays just enough hyzer and anhyzer holes to keep your attention. The baskets are in decent shaped and the layout is easy enough to follow in case you forget a map.

The best feature however may be the duel tee boxes. Playing from the short tees makes for a nice casual round with enough difficulty to keep first-timers working and rec. players focused. The long tees on the other hand add over 1000' feet of necessary distance to make this course palatable for the more advanced player. In addition, the long tees don't just add distance, but many holes also change your line and approach to the basket. Basically for the majority of players the two for one layout is a great pro in helping someone improve their game.

BEST HOLE/S: #9; #14
Cons: Holes #5 and #6 play too close to the road for my taste, and I wish there was a little elevation to give the course that last little piece to push it up a notch. Signage was also a bit rough in spots. Also, can be too far from my house by a negative?

However, most agree that the lack of concrete boxes on the long tees is the biggest complaint. In time I'm sure they get installed, but if the same attention and quality would go into the longs as have the shorts then it would give this place a major bump.

Finally, even with the added length, some players will argue that the course is still too short and lacks a decent number of long holes where big arms can open up a bit.

WORST HOLE/S: #5
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course - period. It has most of the features players want when you think of a decent and diverse course on the gulf coast. Beyond that - you can argue about the finer details and points of preference, but I think most agree that it would be a great place to call a home course. Between this and the lesser played Copperhead DGC outside of Vidor, the greater Beaumont area made for a nice little pit stop off the highway, and is about the best thing you can hope for between Lafayette and Houston.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/15/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: scuddyp4
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great mix of holes. There are holes that require hyzer, annies, straight shots, even a few that you could break out the roller on.
-Plenty of challenge. This course has water, woods, old trees, difficult lines and is still a blast to play.
-Trees and Woods. Holes #8-#10,#14 and #15 are the wooded holes. They are short but require you to throw accurate shots with the right shape. The other holes on the course aren't wooded but do have plenty of trees on them to get in your way.
-Tee pads. There are now cement tee pads on both sets of tees.
-Alternate tees. There are two sets of tees that are marked. There is also a "white" set of tees. From talking to some of the locals, the whites are a mixture of the blues and reds. It seems like it is the best of both tees to make the course play as challenging as it can. The red tees are shorter and on most holes easier as well. The blue tees add a good bit of length and on most holes different lines as well.
-The flow of the course is very intuitive. There are no places where it's hard to locate the next hole or where you have to really look around to find it.
-Signs at most tees.
-Clean. the park has plenty of trashcans and is very clean.
-Nice restrooms by the parking lot.
-Fun factor. This is one of the most fun courses that I have played. It's a nice park and the course is really well designed.
Cons: -This course holds a lot of water when it rains in the area. Many of the baskets will be surrounded by mud.
-I do wish there were some slightly longer holes here. Most holes can pretty easily be reached with the exception of #11. The short technical holes more than make up for this though.

This course really doesn't have that many cons. The biggest complaint that I have is that I have to drive almost 2 hours to get to it. That's absolutely the only reason I don't play this course everyday.
Other Thoughts: If you are going to be going anywhere within 30 minutes of Beaumont, you owe it to yourself to check this course out. As I said it takes me about 2 hours to get there and I still try to play this course about once a month or at least every other month.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Fun

1    5/11/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: RHBH player playing the Red tees. I had a blast. Balance of somewhat open, somewhat treed, and "don't look for any daylight in here" holes. Lefties will be pleased to have fairness in the course. Rest Room available. Concrete tees for the Reds. Benches at most holes. Signage is great for the Reds. Blues were mostly marked, but without yardage. Get that off DGCR. Locals play a "White" course with a combination of Blue and Red tees. Many baskets are on island-type hills, which makes for some fun putts. The course is not as scary in person as in the DGCR pictures. The aforementioned drainage creek is a challenge on #6, due to basket placement. I OB'ed on #17 on my second shot, which I got too high and had the belly exposed to the wind. Creek was dry this day. Lots of shade. No problem with joggers and dog-walkers, of which there were a few. Baskets are double-chained and fine. Good parking at Hole #1. Next hole directions are on all of the Red tee box signs, but I strongly suggest printing out the map on DGCR or GT Disc Golf.
Cons: .

If the creek ever gets real full and you OB, that disc is gone. Poison ivy is available for discs like mine. Streets are OB on a couple of holes, but that would be caused by a really bad throw, or heavy winds. The club is working on concrete tees for the blues, I believe.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course and I will stop again. It is challenging, especially if you do the Blue tees. Downright hard on some of them. Overall the GT Disc Golf guys have a fun, challenging course to offer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Baskets on Ant Hills?

1    4/11/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm not a huge fan of courses when almost every hole is like 250 feet, but this was an acception. There are older trees here, well cleaned up wooded holes, along with hilly pin placements, and a decent sized drainage ditch/creek. This place just has a nice all around feel to it. I couldn't really choose a picture hole, but everything seemed to fit together. The layout was well planned. The pins on the mounds (I joke that they looked like giant ant hills) were really fun to go after. The wooded holes had decent, and fair fairways. They were a fun challenge. The signs here were really good. I loved the next tee notations on them The concrete tees were nice. I wish I had time to play it again and try the grass tee Long Tee locations. They are marked by a blue stake. Bathrooms, drinking fountains, and good parking were all available.
Cons: There were a couple of tee signs missing, which did cause me to lose my way momentarily. And upon a first visit, finding number 1 could have been easier to find. (From the parking lot, keep walking past the shelters and it is on the left, still in the tree line.)
Other Thoughts: The fun factor here was actually pretty good. This is one of those courses where the ace runs are just tough enough to make them really fun. The older trees were cool and the wooded holes were fun tunnel like throws. I would play this one again no problem. Thanks Beaumont for a great road trip.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: matt27d
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tees allow you to choose your own difficulty. Smooth flowing course with open and wooded holes. Even the open holes have trees that need to be considered during throws.
Cons: A lot of the red tees have nice, concrete tees, whereas the blue tees are only dirt. It was stated before and the course does get muddy in spots very easily; however, the course counteracts this with dual tees and multiple approaches.
Other Thoughts: User friendly course, a bunch of regular disc golfers out there. Not a lot of people traffic to get in the way of any throws.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Gem of Beaumont

5+    3/28/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: ragnark999
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course with enough different looks to require you use all the discs in your bag. There are dog legs left and right which require technical shots through trees and over water hazards. Each hole has short (red) and long (blue) tee boxes with an added white strip per each whole to get a little of both. The part of the course that goes through the woods has been opened up a bit but still requires technical shots to stay in line with the holes. The course has been steady worked on by the GTDG association and is starting to look really nice. Many of the problem tee boxes have been replaced with concrete tees: holes 3, 4, 6,7,8,9,10,16,17. This course has been designed nicely and is very easy to follow.
Cons: There are few things that are bad about the course. For instance there could definitely be a few more garbage cans located through out the course. The lack of garbage cans has resulted in some trash being spread through out the course. Also, some of the blue tee boxes could be better. Some of the tee posts have been knocked down but it doesn't affect the flow too bad. There is rarely any problem with non-dgers getting in the way but on some occasions families do briefly get in the way.
Other Thoughts: I live in the Souteast Texas area and frequently play Klein Park. Over the years the GTDGA has made vast improvements on the course. I recommend playing the course if you are near the area. For the best of both long and short course i suggest playing from the white stripe tees.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.