Beaumont, TX 
Klein Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 359ft.   3 / 359ft. Par / Distance:
Basket #2 after it's rained can be a muddy mess



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
"Klein" is for "small," but not at Klein Park

1    4/26/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Klein Park offers an enjoyable challenge factor for a park course, with tree-dotted fairways, some holes carved out of the available woods, a recurring drainage ditch water hazard, and occasional sidewalk or road OB. The distances are refreshingly ample for a park course, especially from the pro tees, where over half the holes are above 350', including a few well beyond the 400' mark. While shot shaping isn't overly tested, there are plenty of tight or tightish windows to hit, so control is important. Variation is mainly provided by the changing levels of woodedness: some holes play across open fields towards guarded pins, some have mid-fairway obstacles that steer your drive one way or another, some fairways are surrounded by woods or bordered by water, forming tight lanes. It's a nice, effective mix. The design here isn't overly novel, but it's solid, and offers some good looks. Altogether, Klein Park struck me as more challenging than your standard city park course, and well conceived given the land's limitations, if slightly packed in.

The course has nice, level concrete tees (not pictured on DGCR) and quality baskets. Signage is informative. The course seems like it's regularly mowed, owing to its centrality in the park. Bathrooms and parking are readily available. It's easy to get to from off the highway if you're just passing through.
Cons: Klein Park has no real wow moments either in scenery or in golf: the pedestrian park environment, lack of elevation, and limited terrain conspire to make that difficult to achieve. There's a decent mix of shots here, and the woodedness certainly adds to the challenge, but overall the course is fairly straightforward, with no signature holes or memorable features. Klein Park is the kind of course that you enjoy but don't rush to return to; it doesn't really stick in your mind. The across-the-board par 3s reinforce this straightforward quality. Holes and lines are pretty one dimensional, even where a hole may allow a bit of variation off the tee.

There's a lot of potential for conflict with other park goers here. The long, narrow layout of the park doesn't provide a lot of options to separate the course from other activities. The course also routinely runs along or across the park's main walking path. With the apparent popularity of the park, you'll likely find yourself waiting out unaware pedestrians at one point or another; we did numerous times.

While the drainage ditch water hazard mixes things up a bit, it seems like a poor choice for a regularly used obstacle: the water is truly gross. It makes for a few holes that you just want to get through rather than truly play. It's arguable whether to fault the designers for maximizing what's available to them, but I didn't enjoy having to contend with such a hazard multiple times.
Other Thoughts:
Klein Park made for a fun stopover in the midst of a longer road trip. The golf is challenging enough to keep you interested, but isn't high pressure. After playing Texas greats such as Shawshank and Selah, it was a perfect, relaxing coda. I'd recommend a stop to anyone passing through the area. It's a solid park course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Variety for a Park-Style Course

1    4/26/2014   5/10/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Klein Park is a very nice, spread out park outside of Beaumont with plenty of parking space, a course map, practice basket, and bathrooms near hole 1. The course plays through two large and somewhat different sections of the park in terms of topography. The course is nicely manicured and has two sets of huge concrete tee pads (courses in Texas have awesome tee pads!) and nice tee signs for each tee.

Being a par 54 course, it has some very tough par 3's with long distances (holes 1, 3, 11, 17) and some tight, tough lines to hit (9, 10, 14, 15, 18). On more holes than not, I lost the battle to achieve par and felt like I really earned it when I did. This is better than the standard park course in regards to offering a challenge.

For being a park-style course, it also has some nice variety. There is a real good variety of holes with different levels of woodenness. There are some very tight shots in the woods (8-10, 14-15) and the rest are still pretty moderately wooded. Hole 11 is the only hole that is really open, but I wouldn't call it a boring hole with its length and tee position starting from inside the woods. It was also good design that it followed multiple heavily wooded holes. I particularly enjoyed how many holes offered multiple lines from the tee and were not just one dimensional.
Cons: -The creek that plays next to many of the middle-later holes is pretty filthy. I wouldn't want to have to search for a disc in there.
-A minor complaint, but for scoring purposes I don't think that all of these holes should be a par 3
-There's effort in the design to create some elevation with the small man-made mounds, but the course is basically dead flat.
-There are definitely some fun holes, but none that are really memorable. A few that were pretty bland.
-There is a good bit of conflict with other park-goers. People like to play on the open field near 11 as well as hang around the creek that plays near about 1/3 of the holes. Holes 6 and 16 even cross the road and creek to get to the other section of the park, which could cause some conflict. Also, numerous holes at the front and back parts of the course play directly next to a jogging path. We had to wait many times for people to go by.
-It felt like most of the course was RHBH dominant.
Other Thoughts: Using Klein Park as a pit stop from Shawshank to New Orleans, I was pleasantly surprised with the amount of variety it offered. The course is a good balance in difficulty as none of the holes are insanely hard, but it offers a consistent challenge. None of the holes were particularly signature-type holes, but I really enjoyed the holes that were in the heavily wooded part of the park. The designers used this part well and it was a nice surprise considering the rest of the park's setting.

My favorite holes:
10-Slight hyzer with two tight lanes to choose from. Guarded pin position among trees.
15-I enjoyed how this hole started with two lanes to choose from, then opened up, then again gave two different lanes to play through to the pin.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/2/2010   4/2/2010
Review By: matt27d
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tees allow you to choose your own difficulty. Smooth flowing course with open and wooded holes. Even the open holes have trees that need to be considered during throws.
Cons: A lot of the red tees have nice, concrete tees, whereas the blue tees are only dirt. It was stated before and the course does get muddy in spots very easily; however, the course counteracts this with dual tees and multiple approaches.
Other Thoughts: User friendly course, a bunch of regular disc golfers out there. Not a lot of people traffic to get in the way of any throws.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Little Fun in Beaumont

1    7/11/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 98  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a well laid out decent course in the heart of the Golden Triangle. It boasts 2 very distinct tee positions and good double chained cages. The tee boxes are natural and for the most part in good shape. The course offers a good mix of holes ranging from tight corridor shots like 8,9,10, and some open holes like 4,11,12 finally there are some tricky boundry shots with 6,17,18 where going OB is a definite possibly. The course is on a nice piece of land and has loads of potential. The two different tee positions offer two very different experiences. With longs being quite challenging and the shorts being a pretty low stress, fun setup. The locals told me the course is never really busy and that getting in a quick round is quite easy.
Cons: Some of the alternate tee positions can be down right ridiculous with no clear line to the basket and almost no chance for a bird (the addition of different pars would solve this). Although the majority of teeboxes were well kept some were downright BAD, so watch your step. There are few holes where losing a disc is a distinct possibilty such as 6 when the water is higher and the corridor holes have heavy brush on both sides. The layout is a little confusing at first and be sure to print out a map before going. No real elevation to speak of, but it is in Beaumont so I wasn't really expecting any.
Other Thoughts: Being that Im not often in Beaumont and dont get to the play the courses there. I was excited when I heard they were hosting a tournment and immediatley signed up. I would say this course is about equal to alot of other courses in the Houston area and offers enough variety to be distinct in its own right. If your ever make a the trip down I-10 stop by, its definetly worth a round or two.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course!

1    7/4/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: coldtoe
Played: 113  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was fun to play. The park land is utilized well and the flow is fairly straightforward. There is a healthy mixture of open/wooded, short/long, lefty/righty holes. Probably my favorite hole would be 6. The pin placement creates an island hole effect and is not righty friendly. Loved it! Holes 10 and 13 were also memorable due to their technicality. The course is shady, with tall pines and small hills at some of the baskets. A creek comes into play on many holes.
Cons: Only complaint was the unmarked short tee on hole 14 but some locals were very friendly and helped us out. If I were the course manager my top list of things to do would be: install tee pads, get baskets straightened up a bit (i bet hurricane rita/ike had something to do with that), and update the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: The course map was on the billboard making it very easy to know how to navigate the course after taking a look at the flow. The short tees were fun, I can't wait to come back and play the long tees!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.